Castrol
Max

User Tag List

Page 1 of 24 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 235
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: The KoJap Dilemma : Ninja 650R vs GT650R

  1. #1
    SlowMotionInfinity Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,102
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default The KoJap Dilemma : Ninja 650R vs GT650R



    CREDITS

    Photos & Text: Sundeep Gajjar (Sunny)
    More reviews can be read in the xBhp Magazine by the following people: MGBiker, GS Ferrari, Payeng and Pkon.

    Options make men happy, and they make him sad too…

    There was a study that was conducted amongst two groups of people. The first group was given two types of cell phones to choose from, with some great exclusive features in each; the second was made content with just one. After a few days, a study was conducted to measure the happiness quotient of both the groups. The first group was overall much more sad than the second one. It was clear enough as to why – the people in the first group had a very high tendency to think what if they had chosen the ‘other’ phone.
    As options for the Indian motorcyclist also increase in the Indian market, they are forced to think twice or more about the decisions they take. More time is spent on research. More window-shopping is done. Everything makes for the classic undecided shopper’s dilemma.

    Gone are the days when someone who wanted to have a ‘sports bike’ could walk into the showroom and ride away with the chic CBZ without much ado. And certainly gone are those days when someone who wanted to be a ‘bad-ass on the road’ didn't have to think further than the still super fun RX100.
    Those were the happy-go-lucky unadulterated motorcycling days, unspoilt by choices. Fine and dandy.

    But today, are these choices for real? Or is the Indian consumer too ignorant to see that it is not prudent to classify two bikes based on similar cubic capacities or even the price bracket they fall into?

    The ‘fresh in the mind’ big comparo-mistake was to compare the race derived Ninja 250R and the touring master CBR250R. We did so too (see xBhp magazine June - July 2011 issue), but we told you straight up at the end of it - they are two different bikes and cannot be compared without skewing one's perspective.

    The latest pair in the spotlight to hit the Indian scene are the two middleweights – the Kawasaki Ninja 650R in its signature green and the blood red Hyosung GT650 in the bright red (and other color options as well).
    The Kwacker has come to our shores under the aegis of the mighty Bajaj, while the Hyosung has been bought by a young (in motor vehicle segment), but big enough, company, Garware Motors.

    The Green Goblin has nothing to prove and the red sportster is the classic underdog with a lot of promise. No battle has ever been equal. Neither will this be.

    Should we compare the Ninja 650R and the Hyosung GT650R?

    Yes and No.

    Yes as these are the only two players in the middleweight motorcycle space in India as of this writing (June 2011).

    No, if and only if we need to be politically correct. Because once again we have two very different bikes in the same specification space and they will anyways be compared because of the 'consumer choice dilemma'.

    For the sake of brevity we will now use N650R and GT650R for the Ninja 650R and the Hyosung GT650R respectively.

    Can the N650R and GT650R be compared at all?

    Apples and Oranges cannot be, but Red and Green Apples can certainly be.
    Both the bikes share a lot of similarities and yet possess entirely different characteristics and applications off the shelf. But either can be tweaked to match the other. Let us start with the most obvious and primary,

    The Cost

    This one is very close, the Ninja ( at 4.57 lacs ES Delhi) is a tad cheaper than the Hyosung (at 4.75 lacs ES Delhi ). The Hyosung just crosses over the 5 lacs mark on road while the Ninja stays under that.

    Our comments to the manufacturers:

    Great job done there Bajaj, keep it at that price point! We hope the bigger Kwackers are reasonably priced as well.

    And kudos to Garware to bring on the Hyosungs first despite knowing that the bigger players might be having something on the anvil in this category. The price is terrific for the Hyosung as well considering what it is sold at in countries like Australia (9000 AUD approx, which is 4,27,000 INR minimum) and with the exorbitant import Indian duties to boot. But Garware, just try and get that on road price below 5 for that all psychological advantage. Rest is all good!


    Looks

    A Very subjective issue. Both the bike's signature colors are sporty and striking. The green is unmistakably Ninja and the red of the GT with its 999ish vertically stacked projector lamps lend it a 'Ducatish' look (and that’s a BIG complement). If you ask me, then the Ninja looks more radical than the GT650R from some angles while the GT looks like a proper super sports with its definitive lines, clip-ons and the faux front scoops.

    Overall the fit and finish of the Ninja feels better up close, but the Hyosung is not far away from the Japs either.

    The best style components of the Ninja

    The stunning and large console
    Side mounted mono shock
    Dual wide lights
    Some design cues are taken from the supersports ZX6R

    The best style components of the Hyosung

    Vertically stacked projector lamps
    Proper super sports styling
    The rear with the meaty flanked exhaust
    Exhaust note

    The Hyosung takes my vote for the decided looks and color options available in India.

    Rideability

    The Ninja's good mid range torque and power is suited best for relaxed long distance touring .This is complemented by the upright handle bar lending the rider a very relaxed riding position. It will munch tarmac like no one's business plus it will go off-road at will too.

    The Hyosung is best suited for spirited sports riding, albeit . It’s little more powerful than the Ninja and the V-twin engine lends it some healthy torque throughout the tacho range. It is especially fantastic on curves, the huge tank lending the rider lot of surface to crouch on and direct the bike precisely in and out of corners. But make no mistake, it will blast through the city and highways as well like a hot knife through butter if the need be. However, if you want to tour long distances on this bike, spacers beneath those clip-ons will go in a long way negating the super sports position of the rider and taking some weight off the wrists. That will make it a lot more practical as a tourer. The engine of the Hyosung is similar to the trusted Suzuki SV650 engine which is practically bulletproof like the Ninjas.

    I personally enjoyed the Hyosung much more than the Ninja on the curves and the Ninja was better on the highways (because of it's more relaxed position). This combined with the sweet V-twin note emanating from underneath made it for a truly fantastic and involved experience.

    In the braking department, the Hyosung felt little better than the Ninja, which could be because of the dual discs upfront as well as due to the meaty upside down forks.

    In terms of rideability, both bikes are almost similar with the Hyosung taking my top marks by a hair’s breadth because of its more focused nature. Serious tourers will have to make a few changes mentioned above to make the Hyosung a more potent tool for the same.

    After you buy

    There are some products like the iPhone which are worthy of buying just because of the rich add-on universe they command from third party manufacturers.

    The Ninja has a plethora of options to customize your bike - windscreens, levers, exhausts and more.

    The Hyosung, which is relatively young, also has decent after-market options available with companies like Leo Vince and Two Brothers taking serious interest in them and the commercial success all over the world but in all probability the Ninja will score over the Hyosung in this department if you like to have more customized options available post buying.

    VFM – Value For Money

    I started with Cost and I will end with VFM. The two most important factors in deciding who will be your soulmate for the trips to come.

    This is a tough one as VFM is as subjective as much as the cost is objective.
    However instead of taking one’s perspective and applications as a yardstick we will stick to the old school notion of measuring how much one gets for how much money.

    Ignoring what we have been always saying about these two bikes – they are in two different segments and cannot be fairly compared, we can evaluate each as follows:

    For 4.57 lacs ES for the Ninja you get:

    The Kawasaki and Ninja brand, a great tourer off the shelf and a great service network

    For 4.75 lacs ES for the GT650R you get:

    A complete BIG sports bike, decided looks, sweet sounding mill, a very capable engine.

    Both the bikes will eat miles as no one’s business and both can be set up for either touring or track with minor mods.

    The only way you will get a definitive answer which no comparison or review will ever have is to book yourself a test ride of both the bikes and decide for yourself…*
    *Last we checked the N650R wasn’t available for test rides yet, while you can get one on a GT650R in Delhi, Goa, Bangalore and Pune with more cities being added.

    And as for me, I already have a fantastic Ninja 250R in my garage, so I went ahead and booked a blood red GT650R for myself (and going with the trend these days I am posting the booking receipt of the same below !)


























    Join xBhp On


  2. #2
    Rusted n_aditya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Fantastic pics as always.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
    Apples and Oranges cannot be, but Red and Green Apples can certainly be.
    Nicely put. Loved the unbiased view of both bikes.
    Go Green...


  3. #3
    Rusted csajal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Gurgaon
    Posts
    552
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Amazing images and writeup Sunny!!

    Very much in line with what I had anticipated when I looked at the teaser. The only thing that I would like to add here is that, we in India have a habit of seeing things in close circuit and with things so closely spaced like the Ninja 650R and GT650R, we got to see beyond the obvious to decide upon one.

    More than taking a test ride of both the bikes before we decide, we have to decide what type of bike I want. If I want a full blown super sports, then GT650R is my choice and NOT the Ninja 650R. But if I want a proper sports tourer, then GT650R is a waste of money and Ninja 650R should be my steed. So, first we have to be sure what we actually want
    Sid85 and dirtydude like this.
    Twist your wrist and feel the shift!!

    My own thoughts - Throttle

  4. #4
    Rusted sheelpriye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,944
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its time some data gear is strapped on to know as to how fast the GT is, if it is.

    Thanks for your impression about both Motorcycles.
    Sweat wipes off, road rash doesn't. Wear your gear!!!

    #58 Forever

  5. #5
    Rusted satyajitrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    469
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Mileage figures of KoJap

    Sunny,

    Very nice review and aptly said about the choice.

    However it will be helpful if you can throw some light on the City Mileage & Highway Mileage.
    34567 kms and ZMR sold :(

  6. #6
    SlowMotionInfinity Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,102
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sheelpriye View Post
    Its time some data gear is strapped on to know as to how fast the GT is, if it is.

    Thanks for your impression about both Motorcycles.

    Did 210+ indicated on the speedo up in the Northern Territory on an private airstrip in Australia in 2007 on the GT650R
    Join xBhp On


  7. #7
    Addicted The Bad Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jaipur/Bangalore
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hyosung GT650R after the review....



    Seriously though... nice review. Seems very balanced.

  8. #8
    Rusted Shivanshu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    2,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sunny bro, a great comparo with brilliant pic as always and very nice and practical write-up. These 2 bikes are quite different as well in road manners, so yeah they do differ. Now when we out here in India have the option Legal and Office sports bike and sports tourer within a litre class, this comparo was much needed. Really appreciate the work.

    Save the Earth - We are the one who are running out of time, as Earth will take it own time to heal but that time may not be enough for us.


    http://www.ridesafewith.me
    I dont just ride my bikes, I live with them.
    Yamaha RX100 (1987)
    Yamaha YZF R15 (2010)
    GIRed 2012

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    821
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nice one there Sunny, gives a nice perspective on the similarities and differences between the two competitors in the segment. Even though I was more biased towards the N650R, the review does make me think twice about GT650R.

    And ofc attaching the attestation to the fact that you prefer GT650R (booking receipt ) leaves no doubt about your personal preference of bike. Congrats on the booking

    PS: Lovely pictures as usual!

  10. #10
    Rusted nagoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,013
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default

    @Sunny ,

    i request u , to plz put credits also along the every review
    like ppl's involved in the review , photo's by, models, and thanks credit to respective showroom which provide the bikes

    as i know its not easy task to do a review ..as it consumes both time and money with effort, and it deserves a credit

    Good review ... thank s
    Nothing is Impossible ...

    FaceBook || My Blog - Adventure Land || Group Riding Rules

Page 1 of 24 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. GT650R vs Ninja 650R: Today evening on xBhp!
    By Sunny in forum Superbike And Imports
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 11:34 AM
  2. Kawasaki Ninja 650R or Hyosung GT650R
    By JAKRAP in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 118
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 06:39 PM
  3. Ninja 650R launched!!!
    By sunilg in forum News
    Replies: 650
    Last Post: 06-08-2011, 01:30 PM
  4. [Photo Feature]: [Help]: First service of my Ninja 650R
    By puneetmurarka in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 03:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •