Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Check the helmet from inside.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 23 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 230
Like Tree270Likes

Thread: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's Ride Report

  1. #1
    MotoGrapher Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,148
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's Ride Report

    The Suzuki Inazuma 250 ridden and reviewed by xBhp. Complete details, specs and price.




    Suzuki Inazuma: The Time Machine
    I was very excited to learn many months ago of Suzuki coming out with a new 250. I was thinking of something on the lines of a mini GSXR and the B-King to cater to the faired and naked enthusiasts respectively ala Yamahas R15 and FZ16.
    Then the images of the first bike started to roll out on the web. Not everyone was sure is this would be the actual 250 or just a photoshopped image, but everyone knew it would be a naked and everyone wished that it would look like the BKing production, if not the concept.


    BKing concept as showcased in 2001



    What actually came out as a production bike in 2007



    And the Inazuma GW 250S, the faired version of the IZ250

    Rewind a little bit and some of you might know that the original B King concept was the one which attracted most Oohs and Aahs when Suzuki first showcased in 2001. It looked like it meant business and gave the word streetfighter a visual synonym in the world of motorcycles.

    By the time the bike was actually brought into production, it lost its appeal due to some subtle and very obvious design philosophy changes. A concept is always appreciated by its looks first rather than the assumed performance since no one can actually ride and test it. Companies look at the positive feedback and they all forget about this basic fact.

    The sales of the BKing were a disaster, much like Yamahas MT-01. However the bike was fantastic. Having ridden it extensively around NZ in 2010, I can vouch for its brutal power and handling. But that wasnt enough for people to shell out the money.
    Five years since the launch of the production BKing, the Suzuki Inazuma 250 was unveiled. And most people went Facepalm! There was just one question Why couldnt Suzuki just make the bike look like the BKing concept, or at least the BKing production bike.
    Inazuma means lightning and there was a Suzuki Inazuma 750 as well, but it looks nothing like what they have done with the 250.


    Inazuma 750


    Looks
    No matter how hard I try, I cannot say the bike looks beautiful. From some angles it does look meaty, but overall it is very dated and confused. I say confused because it doesnt look like streetfighter, it doesnt look like a caf racer. It just looks very, - commuterish, and it is categorized as such in most countries.















    The rear looks thin, especially with the two exhausts. The best view would be the front 3/4th, where the bike looks its biggest. The lines are very simple and would suit very simple tastes, but when you have precedents like the BKing concept, years to work on it and competition like the CBR250 (on the budget side), then how can the single most important thing in this segment be ignored looks.







    The Indian motorcycling youth is heavily inclined towards looks and then functionality or anything else. There is no brand loyalty legacy here like Yamahas RX100 that would also drive people to buy this.
    Rather than stamping this out as a disappointment just based on this aspect, I would like to now look at the positive sides and delve a little deeper.

    Best thing would be to have a look yourself and decide, it just might hit the right chords.


    Performance
    Twin cylinder, 248cc, 24.5 Bhp@7000 rpm. It will rev up to 10,500, but it feels on edge. The acceleration is nothing to write home about and the gears are pretty short. I was at a speedo indicated 110 kmph at 8000 rpm. And you cant do this all day long, as the engine feels strained though smooth. It is not aimed at the performance bike category hence it can pass of a great premium performance commuter.






    It should cruise at 80-90 all day long with a fly screen however.

    I rode it for around 30 km on the highway and in city. The torque is good enough for you to set up little red light GPs, but watch out if its a bike like the KTM 200. However expect respectable pull only above 4500 rpm.


    Aural
    Sounds decent, in-between the single cylinder CBR250 but definitely not sweet as the Ninja 250 at higher revs. But you will get heard if you are maxing it out at 10500 rpm or thereabouts.




    Rideability
    The bike is incredibly easy to ride. Flip the stand, thumb the starter and you are off. Everything is very functional and the seat is widest in class offering great comfort, especially for the pillion. The build quality is also very good, the kind expected from Suzuki.

























    What Else?

    The success of this bike will depend on the price and the positioning. It can be marketed any which ways, but there are bikes which do not need any marketing and the customer knows they are worth their salt. The Suzuki Hayabusa was an insane success. The Suzuki Bandit 1250 was also a plain looking bike but very functional and served the purpose. It was a decent success. However the IZ250 is different, it is competing in an already very competitive market and its major buyers will be the youth who are very tired of going through decades of drought of good performance bikes in India. I am not sure if they would like to relive that again.
    Put this mill into a mini BKing or a GSXR 250 if you may and I will line up first to buy it!





    *Unofficial figure, could not be verified
    For those who love numbers, here's what market has to offer
    Last edited by The Monk; 09-23-2013 at 08:16 PM.
    Join xBhp On


  2. #2
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Thane/Pune
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Thanks for the review and the beautiful clicks, Sunny. The quality of the panels and paint looks top notch. Candy red colour looks bit tacky though, I remember having a toy plastic motorcycle replica with the same colour!

    The headlight unit is the main objection I can see in the design part. We have had such 'humble' (mundi neeche ) designs of motorcycles before, for example Yamaha Libero, which looked horrible. The wide seats, importance given to pillion seating as well, commuterish (which means good for your back!) seating are perfect. The GS150R has official tank capacity of 15.5, and people have reported filling above 17 liters in that tank. Here the bike is bigger, and still tank capacity is lower. Wonder whether those side fins ate up the tank space!

    Any words on:
    1. Horn sound? Is it loud or low?
    2. Wind effect at speed, as there is no fairing?
    3. Red and black are available internationally. Any more colours for Indian market (rumour: Blue and Silver)?
    4. Expected arrival in India?
    5. Internationally it's cost is as much as CBR250 non ABS, and even lesser in some market. Any idea about costs here?

    Lastly, congrats on a full blown writeup and photoshoot of the Inazuma, which I believe is a first for any Indian website.
    shardul likes this.

  3. #3
    MotoGrapher Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,148
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Quote Originally Posted by animeher View Post
    Thanks for the review and the beautiful clicks, Sunny. The quality of the panels and paint looks top notch. Candy red colour looks bit tacky though, I remember having a toy plastic motorcycle replica with the same colour!

    The headlight unit is the main objection I can see in the design part. We have had such 'humble' (mundi neeche ) designs of motorcycles before, for example Yamaha Libero, which looked horrible. The wide seats, importance given to pillion seating as well, commuterish (which means good for your back!) seating are perfect. The GS150R has official tank capacity of 15.5, and people have reported filling above 17 liters in that tank. Here the bike is bigger, and still tank capacity is lower. Wonder whether those side fins ate up the tank space!

    Any words on:
    1. Horn sound? Is it loud or low? Didnt test it, rode this in Australia, didnt need to
    2. Wind effect at speed, as there is no fairing? There is wind buffeting for sure, but then then many naked and more powerful bikes suffer from the same. A fly screen can resolve this.
    3. Red and black are available internationally. Any more colours for Indian market (rumour: Blue and Silver)? No word on that yet, but Suzuki might create combos for the finicky Indian market. However IMHO only sober colors would look good on this bike.
    4. Expected arrival in India? It has already arrived (courtesy the spottings ), however the official release is anyones guess.
    5. Internationally it's cost is as much as CBR250 non ABS, and even lesser in some market. Any idea about costs here? No idea. However it should cost around 1-1.15 lacs, anything above would mean it has to compete with the likes of CBR250, which as I mentioned is just not worthwhile for it to try and do.

    Lastly, congrats on a full blown writeup and photoshoot of the Inazuma, which I believe is a first for any Indian website.
    My replied in RED besides your questions^
    Last edited by Sunny; 05-20-2013 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Changed Price
    animeher and shardul like this.
    Join xBhp On


  4. #4
    Rusted cosgeo99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Nice clicks.
    The bikes jst too simple for my taste. Looks from another era.
    Sunny, jalex and Antrikshkethwas like this.
    ------------
    The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page

    Mumbai - Banglore - Mumbai (1662 Km) in 24 Hrs.

    Catch me @ TourerByTheLake

  5. #5
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    105
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Nice review Sunny, but I fear if its going to sustain in the current competitive market. Hope for the best. The bike is definitely a cult in its category. But 30 Kms for you would have been too less for the review I think. Great Work though. Cheers to Xbhp.
    Sunny likes this.

  6. #6
    Rusted riazmomin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    2,464
    Blog Entries
    4
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    As usually, beautifully clicked photos. and nice simple and small review.
    @Sunny,
    Question on the pricing point. What made you state that price would be between 1 and 1.5 Lacs? Yes, it is not outright performer but a decent commuter or able tourer.
    2007 - Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme
    2008 - Yamaha YZF R15
    2009 - Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme
    2013 - KTM 390 Duke
    2017 - Yamaha FZ25

  7. #7
    MotoGrapher Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,148
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ithebiker View Post
    Nice review Sunny, but I fear if its going to sustain in the current competitive market. Hope for the best. The bike is definitely a cult in its category. But 30 Kms for you would have been too less for the review I think. Great Work though. Cheers to Xbhp.
    Yes, it is a first impression review. Though a few facts will always remain - the looks et al. A longer test review might result in a conclusion that the bikes starts to rev more freely etc, the standard things. I love the Jap three as a brand, however I feel Suzuki should come up reallys oon with a mass youth oriented product. The R15 and FZ16 were a masterstroke from Yamaha.

    Quote Originally Posted by riazmomin View Post
    As usually, beautifully clicked photos. and nice simple and small review.
    @Sunny,
    Question on the pricing point. What made you state that price would be between 1 and 1.5 Lacs? Yes, it is not outright performer but a decent commuter or able tourer.
    Thanks. I am sorry, I mean 1 to 1.15 lacs (not 1.5). Looks are subjective, however it is easy to say what looks good and bad from a general view point. Another point to note is resellability. It is infinite times easier to find a willing teenage college goer to buy your second hand bike which he wants rather than a mature person who would go only for the functionality.
    riazmomin, mayukh92 and black asp like this.
    Join xBhp On


  8. #8
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    105
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
    Yes, it is a first impression review. Though a few facts will always remain - the looks et al. A longer test review might result in a conclusion that the bikes starts to rev more freely etc, the standard things. I love the Jap three as a brand, however I feel Suzuki should come up reallys oon with a mass youth oriented product. The R15 and FZ16 were a masterstroke from Yamaha.
    Aye Aye Sir... Agreed. Take Care and all the very best for the remaining of your Journey. God be with you.. Nikhil

  9. #9
    CommuTOURer satyenpoojary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    On road
    Posts
    6,783
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Nice pics there! Finally some justice to the legend of Inazuma! Looks quirky but is damn functional!
    Waiting for pricing info for when it comes! Should be a good commuting machine!
    SriKi.GSpian and mayukh92 like this.
    Super CommuTOURer - Talk less, Ride more

    .: FB :.|.: TW :.|*Do Not Click!*|I
    follow POWERDRIFT:.

    #Give thy opinion, write em, dont throw em
    #Everyone errs, accept it, defending/cribbing about it only makes it worse
    #Dont defend a manufacturer as if you work for them
    #Write. Think. If relevant hit submit. If not hit yourself
    #Be kind in your choice of words, you never know who would make you gulp em
    Satyen Poojary

  10. #10
    Rusted yellowspunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Inazuma 250 Review : xBhp's First impression & ride report

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
    The torque is good enough for you to set up little red light GPs, but watch out if it’s a bike like the KTM 200.
    This sentence doesnt make sense? especially the last part.
    Regardless, Life shall go on.

Page 1 of 23 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bajaj Pulsar 200NS Review: xBhp's Ride Report
    By sunilg in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 959
    Last Post: 05-31-2017, 09:17 AM
  2. KTM Duke 200 Review: xBhp's detailed ride report
    By Sunny in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 1077
    Last Post: 09-03-2016, 12:04 PM
  3. Hyosung GT250R Review: xBhp's Ride Report
    By payeng in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-28-2014, 03:35 PM
  4. Replies: 234
    Last Post: 02-27-2014, 03:18 AM
  5. KTM Duke 390 Review : xBhp Ride Report
    By sunilg in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 580
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 01:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •