Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Avoid staying around those big vehicles.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Viaterra Rapide

  1. #1
    Rusted ABikerAtHeart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Surat, Gujarat.
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Viaterra Rapide







    Disclaimer : I received the Viaterra Rapide under Viaterra’s Sponsorship Programme that helps motorcyclist ease off some of the monetary load involved in taking up a road expedition. It’s a wonderful initiative from a brand that has started off only recently and has already reached offshores. More information on the programme is available HERE : http://www.viaterra.in/pages/Sponsor...id-643536.aspx
    While these bags were sponsored and also that this overview was shared with Viaterra before posting here, I make it absolutely clear that NONE OF THE CONTENT of this post was tinkered with or influenced by Viaterra or anyone associated with Viaterra even remotely. All that you have and are about to read is penned down factually by me and me alone.
    Last edited by ABikerAtHeart; 10-30-2014 at 04:55 PM.
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


    Viaterra Rapide - A Comprehensive Product Overview


    The Art Of Cornering - lots and lots of knee down pics

    Quote Originally Posted by Prakash Solanki
    Bikes or girls, always ride with protection.

    Facebook

  2. #2
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    9,414
    Mentioned
    406 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    Review Approved
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  3. #3
    Rusted ABikerAtHeart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Surat, Gujarat.
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Viaterra Rapide -

    Note: Captions are above the pictures. Description, if any, is below.








    Packing at the time of delivery.








    The package was consigned through FedEx. Was neatly packed in a Viaterra branded corrugate box and sealed with Viaterra branded tape. This assures that the package wasnt meddled with before delivery.









    Open-up

















    Bags when empty

    First look at them and your mind is fumed with doubts. They look extremely small for saddlebags.










    Bag when spread out (still empty, though).









    There! This is when those doubts are cleared. Viaterra has deigned them in such a way that when not needed, they can be flattened out/squeezed up and stored. When you need them again, all you have to do is open the zip and run your palms throughout the interiors once and voila, theyre all ready for another fabulous roadtrip.












    The shape-retainers at the corners. Excellent design.







    This is a small yet a genius way of holding up the corners. Im not talking about motorcycle luggage systems, but luggage systems in general. None of them seems to apply this add-on to help retain the edges.












    The material. From Krypton, maybe.



    1680D x 1680D outer fabric with ULY coating
    150D x 150D inner lining with PU coating

    I am in the textile industry and familiar with the word denier in reference to yarns we use in our raw materials.
    My 2 paisa : this thing is superman strong.













    The stitch quality. Beyond belief generally.



    Viaterra has used Nylon 6 threads to sew these bags. Nylon 6 fibres are tough, possessing high tensile strength, as well as elasticity and lustre. They are wrinkle-proof and highly resistant to abrasion and chemicals such as acids and alkalis. Just to give you an example of its high tensile strength, Id like to point out its used in making ropes used by mountaineers across the globe, where 22 Nylon 6 threads weaved together and 65meters in strength can take a weight of 9 tonnes. Yupp, Nylon 6 is indeed that strong.












    But the velcro wasnt finished right at the edges.







    With time this end of the velcro will give up. Note: Viaterra has been intimated about this and it turns out its only this particular piece specific.













    The length of the velcro



    The velcro parts aren't long enough. Most bikes today have an hour glass shape (when viewed from top). The "hook" part of the velcro of the strap (that is towards the rider seat) runs a lil short when you wish to tighten the bags a little. Hope Viaterra takes note of this and extends the length of the velcro.















    What goes to be noticed and appreciated is the fact that Viaterra has flawlessly covered up even the stitches on the inside.


    Neat and tidy. Impressed!















    Quality of zippers & sliders. YKK on these aswell.



    YKK, it turns out, is a Japanese company. (It stands for Yoshida Kogyo Kabushikikaisha--far too long to print on a zipper.) It's got about half of the world's zipper business. They are one of the oldest and most reliable zipper manufacturers on the planet. Why settle for anything other than the best?













    Reflective strips run along the visible side and the back.











    These are visible from over 100mtrs (tested at 5.30am at twilight)














    Padding






    There is a foam padding that runs throughout the bag. Covers the bottom and top with 3mm foam,and the front and back with 10mm for extra safety.












    Rain cover. Seamless. Comes with velcro. Why? To be packed in a way it takes up the least space.

    Big enough to cover it all.
















    No. of compartments. 1 main and 1 side comparment on each.



    This is the main compartment of one of the bags. Its pretty huge. Place your stuff right and you should have all of this inside both the bags. Thats about 7days of luggage right there.






    Then theres the side compartment. Fits in a lot of extras.
























    Water bottle test. A compartment is reserved one on each bag. Its Capacity?



    I could fit 2x 1litre bottle + 1x 2.25 litre bottle.
    If you use 2 x 2.25litre bottle thats equal to 5 litres of precious fuel with you.

    Note: This is when the bags were unloaded. Once filled up, the capacity could reduce by a little. That will also be tested in a while.
















    Straps.
    2 main velcro straps which go over the bike.
    1 strap which goes behind the tail-light to contain it from sliding in the front.
    2 straps, one on each, which is in the front-bottom section fastened to (preferably the front) leg of the foot-rest.
    Basically 5 straps in total to fasten the bag securely in place.




    Those are 2 main straps which go over the bike. And 1 side strap on each bag which go around the footpeg.

    The rear strap goes behind the tail light.






















    Handles to carry it around your campsite.

    Strong enough to move around. Although, it would have been nice if Viaterra gave them some grips. Even those shape retainers would do.















    How does it sit?




    The rear strap around the tail-light.
    Note: This blocks the tail light much. Alternative is to loop it through the number plate holder.










    There, doesnt touch the rear blinkers either.


























    OBSERVATIONS:
    *The bags, like all other saddlebags from all other brands, will with time rub against the tail-cowl and eventually scratch it or fade away its paint. Use of a microfiber cloth is advised. It costs Rs10/-. Does the job.



    *The best position I could manage to place the bags on my R15v2.0 was where the right bag rested over 2inches above the exhaust. I took it for a short spin of over 200kms. Upon returning and unloading, I found the right saddle noticeably heated up by the exhaust.




    Thats about 2 inches above the exhaust.















    Price of the Rapide




    Video Tutorial on how to fasten the bag.






    NH8 - Surat to Mumbai





    Padamdungri, Gujarat.


    THE END.
    Last edited by ABikerAtHeart; 10-31-2014 at 03:13 AM. Reason: Fixing Image Links
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


    Viaterra Rapide - A Comprehensive Product Overview


    The Art Of Cornering - lots and lots of knee down pics

    Quote Originally Posted by Prakash Solanki
    Bikes or girls, always ride with protection.

    Facebook

  • #4
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ghaziabad, UP
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    thats a good buy and indeed a good review.
    i have just one question though.
    since i have cut the rear tyre hugger, do you think the bag, once fully loaded might rub with the tyre on bumpy roads?

  • #5
    Rusted ABikerAtHeart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Surat, Gujarat.
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    Not at all. It doesnt touch the hugger by quite a gap, won't touch the tyres either.
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


    Viaterra Rapide - A Comprehensive Product Overview


    The Art Of Cornering - lots and lots of knee down pics

    Quote Originally Posted by Prakash Solanki
    Bikes or girls, always ride with protection.

    Facebook

  • #6
    Addicted CH03l7263's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Greater Noida
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    ABikerAtHeart Nice, honest review. This is a functional requirement I feel for me needed at the earliest. While I will go through the Rapide V Rynox nomad thread, how would you rate the Nomad against rapide.

    And I think with the Viaterra Claw you can only use it when riding solo

  • #7
    Rusted ABikerAtHeart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Surat, Gujarat.
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    I haven't used the Nomad, so I can't really comment. Would suggest you ask the same on the other thread.

    Cheers!
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


    Viaterra Rapide - A Comprehensive Product Overview


    The Art Of Cornering - lots and lots of knee down pics

    Quote Originally Posted by Prakash Solanki
    Bikes or girls, always ride with protection.

    Facebook

  • #8
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Thane/Pune
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    Quote Originally Posted by CH03l7263 View Post
    While I will go through the Rapide V Rynox nomad thread, how would you rate the Nomad against rapide.

    And I think with the Viaterra Claw you can only use it when riding solo
    There is no comparison between these two except that they are both saddle bags. Rapide is almost half the size of Nomad, and the 32L storage of Nomad at one side (64L on both!) is humongous. But Nomad may or may not fit on all bikes with upswept exhaust. I wanted to use it, but it was too big and touched the exhaust of my Ninja 300. Also, its wide length resulted in disabling the use of pillion foot rest. Hence I had to go for rapide.

    In short, if your requirement is small saddle bag, then rapide, if extremely big saddle bag, then nomad. Quality is about the same, I felt.

  • #9
    Addicted CH03l7263's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Greater Noida
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    No problems thanks

    Sent from my SM-T311 using xBhp Connect mobile app
    __________________________________________________


    My HD XL883L Ownership Thread



    Claim your life, rejuvenate yourself or JUST RIDE A MOTORBIKE

  • #10
    Addicted CH03l7263's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Greater Noida
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Rapide

    Yeah I think I will go for a bigger one like the nomad which will solve both short and of course long rides on my Harley. Thanks for your inputs.

    Sent from my SM-T311 using xBhp Connect mobile app
    __________________________________________________


    My HD XL883L Ownership Thread



    Claim your life, rejuvenate yourself or JUST RIDE A MOTORBIKE

  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Viaterra Rapide V/s Cramster Colt : User Review
      By phanikar in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 06-05-2017, 06:32 PM
    2. Viaterra CLAW, Nelson-Rigg Spirit 30 & Cramster Colt - Review
      By aargee in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
      Replies: 132
      Last Post: 11-27-2016, 11:34 PM
    3. ViaTerra FLY - Review
      By kaydee_bangalore in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
      Replies: 20
      Last Post: 07-14-2015, 03:55 PM
    4. Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!
      By BloggingWheels in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
      Replies: 28
      Last Post: 08-31-2014, 08:57 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •