![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|
|||||||
Superbike And Imports
|
Register Now for FREE!
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
The Auto-Consultant!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indore
Posts: 167
|
as you are aware i have been looking out for a bike from almost a couple of months now.
just came across this particular website Buy Ducati SuperSport in India . Page 1 - Bikes4Sale.in and there was a number mentioned. spoke to the guy - he seemed to be in a hurry, and he asked me to go to sportsbikesforsale.net and see the bike's details there. now here is the snag which i found on the bikes4sale website it was mentioned that the bike is a may 2011 bike. and on the sportsbikesforsale.net site it mentions to be a 2007 bike. when i spoke to the guy - he said this particular number is a marketing number - so i need to contact the number which is mentioned in the sportsbikesforsale.net website which apparently happens to be in USA. anyway - when i spoke to this guy and asked him - whether the bike he is mentioning will come with complete papers. obviously the answer was YES. then i asked him will it be with all the duties. again YES. that got me a bit puzzled - how come a new 1198 be available for Rs. 11,70,000 after all the duties and blah blah. he says not to worry - the bike will be delivered to your door step. now this makes me wonder. if a new 1198 via the official ducati dealership is available for 18.5 Lacs (approx) then how come this guy is selling it 7 lacs cheaper after all the duties (as he claims) paid. i have a gut feeling that it's a scam. transfer the amount to some random account in some random country - and wait for your bike patiently. after few months you realise that the money you paid as advance for your bike would never be seen again. not the bike nor the money. i suggest we should start off with a thread which contains all the types of bike scams in the market today. the dealers who cheat, the owners who hide the truth, the buyers who have pulled a fast one (remember the konika minolta cbr600rr from hyderabad?? it still gives me shivers), and the scamsters who are phishing online for unsuspecting buyers who can easily be fooled into believing anything by just saying - you are getting a great deal. any deal that sounds too good to be true - is indeed too good to be true. stay alert and stay clear from such deals. @ mods : can we do something about this? |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: bangalore
Posts: 6
|
I happened to send that same guy an sms. he replied back from another number asking me to go to the website World Wide Sportsbikes Company and contact the number given there. he also told me not to reply or call back on that number and gave me some toll free number. When I contacted them, they emailed me back saying they will send me an R1 for about $29000 with some engime management system and for an R6 is was $ 12000 or so. Smelt a rat and just dint reply back.
__________________
I want to buy a used sportsbike.. Anyone who can help? |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) | |
|
Moderator
|
Quote:
So, on their sites the 2007 model won't be mentioned. I found this out when someone was selling a R1 which was listed as 2007 but on first call itself, he admitted it was 2004 model and there was no such choice on the site, as R1 was officially released in 2007 only. And maybe the guy is selling some new Ducati 1098S (instead of 1198) that he purchased in 2007, never used it much and imported as a T.R... Bikes used to be cheaper back then. Enough of the optimism, now for the practicality. I suggest you tell this guy that you want to see the bike first and then purchase it. Don't go for this "deliver at your doorstep" BS. This is most probably a fraud. After having contacted a lot of people for a legal second hand import (which I won't buy now after N650 is released) I have a small hint of how fraudsters behave... And getting it registered was no big deal earlier. But yes, you know that much better than me...
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
motorcycle maniac!!!
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pune
Posts: 380
|
Theres a whole lot of scammers out there, a lot of the times even reputed bike dealers pull a scam or two to make a quick buck.
the best thing you can do is see the bike first in the flesh,then if u have enough knowledge about the papers then examine them yourself or take some1 who knows about this stuff and have them examine it, and at the end of it all instead of paying advance pay the full price only when the transfer papers are signed by the selling party and the keys are in your hands. Of course all of us know this. As far as creating a thread for bikes to be away from and people to avoid due to scams, we can try our best bt theres more scammers out there than genuine people.
__________________
Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, 'Wow! What a Ride!' -Hunter S. Thompson
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
funtogoridingon
|
It could be a scam , but I do think It is possible to get new ducati for a cheaper price is India . You must understand the prices in us are much cheaper cuz its a huge market there , the ducati dealer will not be able to sustain the same prices and yet keep the brand exclusivity.its a sensitive balance they are playing with. Here in johannesburg I came across few dealers , and I mean big time dealers who import Italian bikes for a much cheaper price , the down fall , the official dealers will not back you up. Even though you have the factory warrenty.
DO your maths , if some one has an import company and has a room in his container to load a bike , he is literally paying nothing to transport. NOw the duty on a brand new bike , do your maths yourself. Now another catch , ducati and other Italian bikes specially agusta have loads of stock lying around , like say for instance 2009 and 2010 models in show rooms , they are still brand new , if some one puts his mind to it am sure can bring bikes across to India for a decent price My two cents
__________________
drive safely... if not for you then for the sake of others!! |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
MaxBhp'er
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mumbai, India.
Posts: 45
|
My 2C:
If it's too good to be true, it probably ain't. Don't ever send money online for purchases via Western Union or something similar. You will never see it. Lots of these scams abound the Internet. Be careful. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |||||
|
The Auto-Consultant!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indore
Posts: 167
|
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
will still explore this option. and if i get international warranty - the local dealer better not create problems to service the bike. Quote:
DISCLAIMER : I would not deal with any of these kind of dealers EVER. but there is no harm in exploring an option. if it's a scam - all can know about it and be aware. if it isn't - then all can benefit. win win situation anyway. |
|||||
|
|
|
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Rate This Thread | |
|
|