Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Keep your helmet tightly strapped up.

Our Partners


9000 KMS AROUND INDIA FOR MOTORCYCLYING UNITY.
16th DEC'17 - 5TH FEB'18

SUPPORTED BY

indian suzuki nissan hp helmet Red FM

SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 76,073
Products 110
Reviews 119
Views 337,395

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« January 2018
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Random Products -
[Hero Moto Corp]


CD_deluxe.jpg
Hero moto corp HF-De


Passion-plus_1_1.jpg
Hero Moto Corp Passi


hero-honda-glamour-fi.jpg
Hero Moto Corp Glamo


Super_Splendor.jpg
Hero Honda Super Spl


CBZ-extreme.jpg
Hero Moto Corp Hero


cddawn.jpg
Hero Moto Corp HF-Da

· more ·
 












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Super Moderator
Posts: 8,010
Registered: April 2004
Location: ghaziabad

 

Hero Moto Corp Hunk
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 5692 Mon May 20, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers Rs.69,725.00 8.0

 

Description:
Hero Moto Corp Hunk is a 150 cc premium bike . It is offered in two variants-kick start and self start, priced at 55,000 and 57,000 Indian rupees respectively.(Ex showroom, Delhi)

Engine
Type Air cooled, 4 - stroke single cylinder
Displacement 149.2 c.c
Max. Power 10.6 kW (14.4 Ps) @ 8500rpm
Max. Torque 12.80 N - m @ 6500 rpm
Bore x Stroke 57.3 x 57.8 mm
Carburettor C.V Type
Compression Ratio 9.1 : 1
Starting Self Start
Ignition AMI Advanced Microprocessor Ignition System
Engine oil capacity 1.2 Litres
Engine oil grade SAE 10 W 30 SJ grade
Transmission & Chassis
Clutch Multiplate wet
Gear box 5 Speed constant mesh
Chassis Type Tubular, diamond type
Suspension
Front Telescopic hydraulic shock absorbers
Rear Swing arm with nitrox GRS (Gas reservoir suspension)
Brakes
Front Brake Dia 240 mm Disc
Rear Brake Disc Dia 220 mm
Rear Brake Dia 130 mm
Wheels & Tyres
Rim Size Front 18 x 1.85, 5 spoke cast wheels
Rim Size Rear 18 x 2.15, 5 spoke cast wheels
Tyre Size Front 2.75 x 18 42 P, Tubeless tyres
Tyre Size Rear 80 / 100 X 18 - 47 P, Tubeless tyres
Electricals
Battery 12 V -4 Ah, MF battery
Head Light 12 V -35 W / 35W - Halogen bulb (Multi reflector type)
Tail Stop Lamp 12 V -0.5 W / 4.1W LED lamp
Turn Signal Lamp 12 V -10 W (Amber bulb) x 4 nos. (Multi reflector clear lens)
Dimensions
Length 2080 mm
Width 765 mm
Wheelbase 1325 mm
Saddle Height 795 mm
Ground Clearance 145 mm
Fuel Tank Capacity 12.4 litres (Minimum)
Reserve 2.2 litres (Usable Reserve)
Kerb Weight 146 kgs
Minimum Turning 2.20 mtrs.
Find the lowest price for the :
Fuel Efficiency
Keywords: Hero Moto Corp Hunk

<<
HH_Karizma-R.jpg CBZ-extreme.jpg bike.png Hero-Honda-Achiever.jpg hero-honda-glamour-fi.jpg
>>

 

Author
dineshaugustin

Rusted

Registered: May 2011
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Posts: 974
Review Date: Thu January 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Rs.74,450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good low end torque and initial pickup Very comfortable for both short and long rides.Very stable at high speedWeight is well balanced which helps in brakingBetter mileage if maintained well Good throttle response and acceleration due to short gear
Cons: weak horn and heal lightbrakes are at little bit soft sidepaint quality is not much admirable
Fuel Efficiency: 10-20

 
EARLY BIKE EXPERIENCE:
Its all started with TVS Champ when I was in 3rd standard. Then followed by TVS SUZUKI Max-R 100, TVS Victor, Hero Honda Splendor (old tri colour stripes) simultaneously with Bajaj Discover first model. And now I am with my Mighty HUNK.
SELECTION PHASE:
It is quite obvious from my early experience that I have never rode any powerful cylinders before. Soon the time came for me to buy my first Bike in my own salary. But I was much confused which bike should I buy, which bike will suite for me, for my needs, etcsince there are plenty of bikes available in the market.
My initial choice was Hero Honda Karizma ZMR. But then I thought it was not wise to jump directly from 100CC bikes to 220CC bikes without having any experience in higher CC bikes. So I settled myself with midrange 150CC bike. I didnt except any advanced technology in the bike, all I needed is, the bike should satisfy my needs.
WHY HUNK?
Soon after lot of research I came down to
1. HUNK/CBZ
2. FZ
3. APACHE-160
But my requirements were very clear. I need a bike which has good performance, low maintenance, good mileage, good engine refinement, and good look . In short I need a complete package.
I dint go for Unicorn since it looks pure commuter and lacks power. So I ended up with HUNK/CBZ. Both the bikes has good mileage, comfort, less maintenance, good look. . After riding CBZ I felt the comfort level and turning ability is better in Hunk than CBZ along with better mileage Moreover HUNK looks bigger in size and the masculine appearance really attracted me.. Im 6feet tall and I really wanted a big bike. After lot of R&D for two months I booked HUNK Ebony Grey and I was very particular in that colour. So I had to wait for 6 months for getting that colour and finally arrived on December 2011. Mean time I was searching for reason so that by any chance I can switch over to another bike, but fortunately none of the reason doesnt convince me to drop the idea of getting HUNK.
BREAK-IN PERIOD:
Break-in Period is like; lets say Childhood stage, where it needs utmost care and guidance. I kept my bike under 45km/hr for 500km then under 55 km/hr for 1500km. while shifting the gears I always raise the engine a bit then I shift the gear. I also followed smooth throttling and I tried to avoid unnecessary braking.
But unexpectedly for the first few hundred kilometers, I felt like I have made a wrong choice. I felt that I should have listened to others. The gear shifting was hard, not a good mileage (40-45 almost same as FZs), vibration problem, most importantly poor pickup. My expectation about HUNK was teared apart. I felt like there was no hope. The only satisfaction is the look. The bike looked really big and tank shoulder adds more beauty. I also felt good about the sportive seating position with elevated handle bar.
When I approached few Hunk owners about the poor performance, they told me Be patient, wait until 3000KM or so and then look for the improvement. But without much hope I continued to first service.
THOSE MAGICAL MOMENTS:
To my surprise, those magical moments happened. My Hunk was getting better and better with each service. It surprised me with its performance with each day passes by. The gear shifting became smooth, pickup improved a lot. Good mileage.no vibration at high speed. I felt like I have got my breath back. The actual performance was attained 5000KM onwards. And now iam very proud that I have made the best choice in my life so far.
PERFORMANCE (9/10):
The heart is borrowed from CB Unicorn with slightly tuned for more power and speed. The Engine is more silent and really defines the meaning of butter smooth. The bike has got wonderful low end torque which makes this bike a lot quicker and has good pickup. One can really feel the torque rushing through the piston and you will feel like you have been pulled by a strong force along with the bike. The throttle response is very good, of course only behind Apache. Though I never tested the top speed, once I reached 105Km/hr with pillion; still I can feel there is more power and torque left in the cylinder ready to rush through the piston and waiting for my throttle but the road limits it. But frankly I never needed those fancy numbers, so called top speed since iam not at all going to be in track.
HANDLING (8.5/10):
The handling so far I felt really good. The cornering is very comfortable and easy, suspension is really good and doesnt reveal you the hardness of the road. The turning ability is really good and is one of the most admiring things in this bike. The Center of Gravity is well balanced that, while hard braking, the bike stops at straight line without any wobbling. Even one can ride really slow, say 2 km/hr without balancing with their legs. Since the bike is heavy, it makes the bike more stable at high speed. I was wondering how these guys able to achieve such a good handling comfort without having any mono suspension or wider tyres.
COMFORT (9/10):
When comes comfort, the bike really scores well. This bike is really comfortable for long and short trips. Even at 100km/hr, this bike doesnt vibrate much and it is rock solid. I went one step further to test how far it is solid at high speed. I took both my hands off from the handle bar when I was going at 97km/hr (without pillion), believe me, the bike kept a strict straight line travel without dragging to the either sides. Right from 0 till 100 this bike is rock solid. Most of the time I felt like I am going in a car. The seating position is in between sportive and commuterish but with elevated handle bar which makes the ride really comfortable. The tank shoulder doesnt bother my knees though I am 6 feet tall. Regarding vibration, I feel tuning fork vibration at 50-60km/h and at 100+ km/h.
MILEAGE (8.5/10):
Here comes the million dollar question; What is the Mileage of this bike? Well most of the people at their first sight will ask for the mileage. For my riding style iam getting on an average of55-60 km/lit in highways ( < 80km/hr) and 47-52 km/lit inside city ( <70km/hr) and 50-55km/l with mixed ride. I am very much satisfied with the mileage it is delivering. Its all depend on the break-in period and riding style. For pure mileage, riding in-between 50-55 kmph would be ideal for this bike.
LOOK (9/10):
Well, this is purely my opinion. This bike is designed in Italy. It looks really big and bulkier. I like the tank shoulder and headlight visor arrangement very much. Mine is a digital-LED version and it really looks cool with those digis. Many feels that rear portion doesnt look great, but in my opinion, Hero Honda tried to give the bike a bull look and thats why they have considered projected tail which looks overall good.
PROS:
Good low end torque and initial pickup
Very comfortable for both short and long rides.
Very stable at high speed.
Weight is well balanced which helps in braking.
Better mileage if maintained well.
Good throttle response and acceleration due to shorter gear ratio.
Butter smooth and silent engine & smooth gear box.
Comfortable for pillion rider.
CONS:
Just like two sides of a coin, I felt there are few things that can be still improved.
As a typical for hero honda, had to change my headlight bulb and Horn for the betterment.
Unlike its rivals, the brakes are bit soft. I feel it should have been little bit sharp.
My bike has no Kick option. Hence when I took my bike after a month or so, the battery drains and I got to push and start my bike. But the new Hunk has Kick start and is very useful.
Though without much strain it reaches 100+ km/h, at 50-55 km/h i feel that there is another gear shift for 6th gear.
Paint quality is not much admirable. My paint coated in the engine has peeled off at some places within a year.
CONCLUSION:
The above said facts and ratings are purely based on my personal experience with my HUNK. I would say my bike is performing exceptionally well .Most owners would agree with this except for mileage which may differ. If someone comes and asks me how is the Bike.?, I would proudly handover the keys and let them feel the awesome experience. Never judge this bike through the theoretical figures, the main thing is how far the engine spec is achieved in reality is the major concern.
In a nutshell, If you are looking for a good all-rounder (at least 8.5/10), then this is the bike for you. This review might be long, but I tried my best to express everything in word so that reader my get complete detail about this bike.
In one liner, HUNK:-ONE OF THE MOST UNDER RATTED BIKES IN INDIA.
IMPORTANT TIPS :
Always wear helmet. Remember Being stylish is not so important than being Safe. I know a guy who lost his life when riding just at 30km/h. Death doesnt care about speed.
Maintain correct tyre pressure. This plays major role in reducing vibration, mileage, tyre life, acceleration and comfort. I use 25psi for front and 35psi for rear on single ride.
Take good care of your bike. Spend some time to clean your bike. I use to clean for nearly 3 hours.

------------------------------
>

HERO HONDA HUNK : 2011 - For Ever


This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sumitpoi
Rookie

Registered: June 2010
Location: Pune,Wakad
Posts: 26
Review Date: Mon May 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Rs.65,000.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hero honda hunk as said great in handling,good stability at high speed.
Cons: poor mileage if maintain speed above 70+,gives perfect 50Km/l if maintain speed with in 60km/h.The provided rear MRF tyre has poor grip and trend to skid
Fuel Efficiency: 10-20

 
I am using Hunk for past 3 year covered 26k and here is my experience with this bike.
Hunk has good riding posture and can travel long trip with put getting tired.
Even at high speed you will feel confident on this bike.The rear shock absorber is bit hard which actually give stability due to this the rear pillion rider might not feel comfortable.
In night the headlight sucks as any other bike in this category except Apache series.

I am using Hunk for past 3 year covered 26k and here is my experience with this bike.
Hunk has good riding posture and can travel long trip without getting tired.
Even at high speed you will feel confident on this bike. The rear shock absorber is bit hard which actually give stability due to which the rear pillion rider might feel uncomfortable.
In night the headlight sucks as any other bike in this category except Apache series.

While riding in high speed sometimes I feel the engine is choking up ,went to many mechanics but could not resolve the issue. Until one day I read an article on internet that Bosch twin electrode spark plug is good to eliminate this problem, so I tried and it worked. Now the engine is smooth at high speed also. Also there was another problem, whenever in summer or winter I start my bike I have to apply the choke, this problem also got eliminated.
Now fuel efficiency has increased upto 5km/l.

If anyone purchase this bike I will suggest to use Bosch twin electrode spark plug from the begining.
Also change the rear Tyre with Ceat Vertigo 80/100 to avoid skidding.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.