Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Practice slow-speed riding.

Our Partners


9000 KMS AROUND INDIA FOR MOTORCYCLYING UNITY.
16th DEC'17 - 5TH FEB'18

SUPPORTED BY

indian suzuki nissan hp helmet Red FM

SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 76,073
Products 110
Reviews 119
Views 337,181

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« January 2018
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Random Products -
[TVS]


tvs_wego.jpg
TVS Wego


TVS-Scooty-Teenz.jpg
TVS Scooty Teenz


TVS-Scooty-Pep_plus.jpg
TVS Scooty Pep+


tvs_Flame_SR_125.jpg
TVS Flame SR


tvs-phoenix-125.jpg
TVS Phoenix 125


tvsSTARSPORT.jpg
TVS Sport

· more ·
 












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Super Moderator
Posts: 8,010
Registered: April 2004
Location: ghaziabad

 

TVS Apache RTR 160
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 6443 Sat April 11, 2015
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers Rs.72,950.00 8.5

 

Description:
TVS Apache is a motorcycle launched by TVS Motors. TVS Apache is currently available in four variants: Apache 150, Apache RTR FI 160, Apache RTR 160 and Apache 180. In each model, RTR stands for "Racing Throttle Response." The RTR FI 160 retails at around Rs 70,000 (on road, Delhi).[1] Currently more than 250,000 Apaches are on road.

ENGINE

Type 4 Stroke, 159.7 cc, Single
Maximum Power: 11.19 KW (15.2 bhp) @ 8500 rpm
Maximum Torque: 13.1 Nm @ 6000 rpm
Bore x Stroke : 62mm x 52.9 mm
Compression Ratio: 9.5:1
Carburettor: Mikuni BS-26
Valve train: 2 Valves, single cam
Power to weight ratio: 111.76 bhp / ton
Idle speed : 1400rpm
Ignition: IDI-Dual mode digital ignition
Engine oil capacity: 1000 ml

TRANSMISSION

Clutch : Wet, Multi-Plate
Primary reduction: 65/21
Final reduction: 44/13

SUSPENSION

Front: Telescopic Forks, 105mm Stroke
Rear: Monotube Inverted Gas filled shox (MIG) with spring aid
Castor angle: 25.5
Trail length: 81.3 mm

BRAKES

Front: 270 mm Petal Disc
Rear: 130 mm Drum

WHEELS AND TYRES

Rim size (Front): 1.85 x 17
Rim size (Rear): 2.15 x 18
Tyre size (Front): 90/90 x 17
Tyre size (Rear): 100/80 x 18

Fuel tank capacity: 16.0 lit
Reserve: 2.5 lit
Useable reserve: 1.7 lit

DIMENSIONS

Length: 2020 mm
Width: 730 mm
Height: 1050 mm
Wheelbase: 1300 mm
Saddle height: 790 mm
Ground clearance: 180 mm

WEIGHTS

Kerb weight: 136 kg
Weight distribution: Kerb (F/R) 60/76 kg
Laden (F/R) (Solo - 65kg) 79/122 kg
Find the lowest price for the :
Keywords: TVS Apache RTR 160

<<
tvs-apache-rtr-180.jpg TVS-Apache-RTR-FI-160.jpg tvs-apache-rtr-160.jpg TVS_Flame-DS_125.jpg tvs_Flame_SR_125.jpg
>>

 

Author
parth rohan
Addicted

Registered: April 2013
Location: Greater Noida, India
Posts: 52
Review Date: Thu February 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Rs.73,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great handling, good power to weight ratio, great on-road body strength
Cons: expensive maintenance, less ground clearance

 
I brought the Apache RTR 160 on 16th october 2011 and i have driven the bike 25000 kms so far and the previous 18000 kms have been at high speeds of around 100 and i must say that the bike handles very well at high speeds and the rear disc helps a lot in sudden braking which used to be a rare back in 2011 in this engine segment. But with performance comes expensive maintenance. I get the bike serviced regularly but my normal service on an goes up to 1000 which for a small engine bike is more than budget for some people. The service quality provided by the company is good till the time you stand on their head and i have seen that in all the cities i have been. I have stayed with this bike in lucknow, patna and now greater noida and the service is same, all over u have to be there for a good service. The spares are a little expensive.

But for those people who prefer performance over money this is the perfect bike in this segment and i would admit that the bike has a high tensile body and does not easily break if you fall once a while.

I have fitted the bike with a K&N air filter, a free flow exhaust, and an NGK spark plug so i cannot really speak of the mileage the bike gives. After all these modifications i was able to squeeze out 124 with rise in acceleration when leaning as compared to 115 from the company. The tire quality could be better which was improved in the later version of apache.

So overall the bike is a true beast in terms of performance and i would recommend the bike because overall this is the best in it's segment but only if you are willing to maintain it else ways the performance will decline gradually and u will have problems.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Harsh092
Rookie

Registered: October 2013
Location: Dehradun
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat April 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Rs.72,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Handling, Acceleration from standstill to 70 KMPH, Build Quality, Good Power to Weight Ratio, Good Exhaust Note, Solid-built engine, Value for money
Cons: Sporty sitting stance isn't great for everyone, Bad seats (very uncomfortable for long rides), Maintenance, Aged-looking

 
I bought my Apache back in 2012, and no its not the face-lifted version. We have been together for amazing 30,000 Kms and we share a long list of cherished memories together. The Apache RTR is a great value for money motorcycle in its segment. It looks good, handles well, has a bunch of attractive lines and curves and it is ready to go when you are. I remember when once a friend of mine asked if I had modified my exhaust, and that's how great it sounds. I have been on a lot of roadtrips on the Apache, most of them were in the Himalayas and the bike has never made me feel nervous or out of power at any instant (even with a pillion). Overtime, it has earned my complete trust and like any other rider I have too been involved in an accident and luckily everytime I have managed to escape without a scratch, thanks to the well built brakes and leg guards. I have clocked a maximum of 121 Kmph (on stock) and 0-60 in about 4.2 sec. I am not a fan of modifying my stuff for looks or performance, so it is the same in that department as it came from the factory. The bike's engine is probably its best asset. I have ridden it over 400 kms continuously with a pillion (at day time) and the engine had no overheating issues whatsoever. The short wheelbase is treat for city rides, the RTR is a great handler, it was built to make your way through the Indian traffic and zoom out if it ASAP. The redundant kerb weight at just 136 kgs, is quite appropriate for cities and for highways as well. It also helps the bike to gain the momentum and also to diminish it quickly.

Apache has its cons too, the seat is probably the worst thing in this bike. I love the sporty stance but I hate the way the company has designed the seat short and narrow (it's like what it would be to ride on a Nimbus 2000 :P), which kills your ass everytime you ride it more than 50 kms but your body adapts to it and you can probably clock more without taking a break. The plastic used isn't the top notch one, it had started cracking on the dash when I had completed just 10K, but at this price something had to be compromised and I get it. The headlights are just average, if you've own an Apache or ridden it at night you'd have noticed a section of light going vertically upwards, which is weird! The vibrations at higher RPMs can be a pain, but I like them anyway. The service can be a little tricky with TVS, it's never Yamaha or Honda but it's also not Bajaj. You need to keep an eye on everything they are doing. But on the brighter side, the company has become a lot more responsive to the customer complaints lately and the service grade has been improving. TVS Oil is the worst, it has been a punishment everytime I've used it. Overheating, gear jamming and reduced pick-up are constant issues with the stock TVS oil. I would recommend Shell AX-7 10W40 or Yamalube 15W50 or Motul 15W50 for best results. Apache can be a high maintenance bike, and it means that it depends on how well you want it to be, your riding style and of course the potholes density in your city! Mostly, if you are keeping it well serviced and parts lubricated, the parts won't worn off too rapidly. Open chain does look great but also happens to be a dust magnet, you have to take care of the chain set if you're coming from a Hero-Honda else you'll end up changing the chain set before you're supposed to. Apache's tyres are probably the most talked thing in this category. The tyres aren't that good, I replaced the rear tyre when it was 2 months old to Michelin Sirac and now with the Zapper-Q. I have clocked almost 30K, and the only things that I had to replace were the brakes and the cone-set in the handle bar and the rear tyre.

To wrap it up, I'd say that the Apache RTR is a great motorcycle to have and to begin with. It has its own grace and beauty, and it may even knock off your socks at times. TVS has put all of their best efforts and knowledge whilst making it and you can see that. Every part is designed to look good and perform. Nothing looks out of place. To an enthusiast the Apache RTR is a treat, it's essentially a performance machine and in terms of performance the pros outweighs its cons. I am really proud of it as an owner and an Indian.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.