Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Be smooth with your gear shifts.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: India First: The Gilera Fuoco 500 Reviewed!

  1. #1
    MotoGrapher Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,151
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default India First: The Gilera Fuoco 500 Reviewed!




    Imagine riding the twisties on a fast bike. Its front tyre hits a patch of spilled oil on the road and slides. Consequence: The bike skids uncontrollably and you certainly fall. Only two possibilities exist wherein you certainly won’t. One, if ‘you’ have carried the name Valentino Rossi since you were a kid and two, if you’re riding the Gilera Fuoco 500ie. The former, of course, is just ‘one’ on this watery blue ball of dust and too busy winning on the tracks than to be fooling around on ‘piddly’ 500cc production bikes. The latter of course can be beneath you when you hit that oil patch and a mere wiggle will tell you of the ‘oily’ story you left behind while you get busy setting up for the next apex.

    Gilera Fuoco 500 Reviewed by xBhp | India | Australia
    Text: Sandeep Goswami (Old Fox) with inputs of the riding experience by Sunny.

    Photos: Sunny with assistance from BikeCrazy (Kunal Bakshi)
    RoboRider likes this.
    Join xBhp On


  2. #2
    Rusted Ananth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    2,044
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default

    WoW! A wonderful review.. Stunning pictures there Sunny!

    And By the way, The Link Discuss on xBhp doesn't seem to work on the article - Please check!

  3. #3
    Rusted ketan_r15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Dadar, Mumbai
    Posts
    2,471
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey..simply amazing Article.. Pics are just too good...

  4. #4
    Rusted akshaye11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    jaipur
    Posts
    356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Monters !!!!
    life starts at 0 bhp and ends with xbhp

  5. #5
    Rusted cosgeo99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How do u corner on this baby MONSTER.

    Superb Review OldFox & Sunny
    ------------
    The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page

    Mumbai - Banglore - Mumbai (1662 Km) in 24 Hrs.

    Catch me @ TourerByTheLake

  6. #6
    Rusted rossiter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,265
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think our local 3 wheeler manufacturing experts should take a look at this..

    Awesome pics as usual Sunny. You seem to outdo yourself with every pictorial. Text is brilliant as usual. Loved reading it. Just a few questions:

    1) Is this an in-house developed motor by Piaggio?
    2) What's the mode switch on the RHS switchgear?
    "Tough times never last, but tough people do." - Robert Schuller
    ---
    R.I.P Kriss; 15.06.1981 - 11.10.2009 -- You will not be forgotten.

  7. #7
    MotoGrapher Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,151
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks all.
    @rossiter: 1) Will ask. 2) Mode is just for switching between trip meters on the LCD (Trip A,b, Odometer).
    Join xBhp On


  8. #8
    Super Moderator Old Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    1,092
    Blog Entries
    10
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rossiter View Post
    I think our local 3 wheeler manufacturing experts should take a look at this..

    Awesome pics as usual Sunny. You seem to outdo yourself with every pictorial. Text is brilliant as usual. Loved reading it. Just a few questions:

    1) Is this an in-house developed motor by Piaggio?
    2) What's the mode switch on the RHS switchgear?
    Thanks Akhil. And our 'local 3-wheeler' experts will dismiss this as a 3-wheeler with the wrong end up front.

    The Master engine is an in-house Piaggio development. In fact the word 'MASTER' is an acronym expanding to Multi valve Advanced Super Torque Engine. (Don't know what the R stands for. Maybe they added it just to make a complete acronym)

    PS: I guess Piaggio is the inspiration behind our 2-wheeler industry's penchant for loooong model names eh!
    I don't let my motorcycles interfere with my motorcycling...

    Join xBhp On


  9. #9
    Rusted ken cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,718
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Finally this is up! Loved seeing the pix. Now the text is up too!

    Quote Originally Posted by rossiter View Post
    I think our local 3 wheeler manufacturing experts should take a look at this..

    1) Is this an in-house developed motor by Piaggio?
    2) What's the mode switch on the RHS switchgear?
    I am not sure if this is developed in-house at Piaggio or not. But I know who manufactures the components of the front suspensions and the front wheel units. It is very much Indian!

    Edit; OF already answered one part of the question.
    The Wheel was a great invention; Two Wheels with a Motor in between was even better!


    BMW Motorrad Days 2011

    Xbhp's Indo-French Kashmir-Ladakh Tour

  10. #10
    Rusted manan_in_2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Always Crossing borders
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wow! it's as good as I thought about it!

    OF: you were right on it's amazingness.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Get Ready for Gilera, Derbi and the likes
    By UtpalDas in forum News
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-15-2012, 09:35 PM
  2. [Photo Feature]: Diwali Ride: vMax, R46, Ninja 250R and Gilera Fuoco ride to Black Spur!
    By Sunny in forum The Tourer
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 02:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •