Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Stop braking before you start turning.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 3 of 89 FirstFirst 12345671353 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 885
Like Tree986Likes

Thread: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

  1. #21
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ,Bhubaneswar
    Posts
    178
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Was waiting for very long time to get the review of the hooligan as said by MG, this bike is really going to be the game changer among all the bikes that are till date in the market ...just an awesome bike and an great review by the MG.Thank you very much for getting this review on-line.

  2. #22
    Rusted ynike99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New Panvel
    Posts
    466
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Finally it comes out.Some roll on timings, whether it can wheelie maniacly like shown in a video or not, and if not why,and most importantly, reason to hold up the review would help.
    And glad you mentioned duke 200 owners feeling lack of low end power, we were hit left right and center in other thread.Anyways, what me and others observed is mentioned here, so that should silence them all. @chinmayakar , @Doga, @splus
    Last edited by ynike99; 08-01-2013 at 02:05 AM.
    Motorcycling heals, big time...

  3. #23
    Rusted splus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Tiruvannamalai, Tamil Nadu
    Posts
    353
    Mentioned
    49 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    @MG, this has got to be the most detailed, practical and useful review I have ever read. Hat off! A review for riders, not for number crunchers!

    Just yesterday I've dropped the idea to get D390 and decided to keep my D200 and upgrade it with ECU remap for extra acceleration and top speed. For my usage and roads a beefed up D200 suits me more than D390. But there was this little bit of doubt left if I should go for D390. This review cleared all the doubts. Thank you MG!

    D390 looks like a fantastic bike though!
    Some points that are important to me about D390 vs D200, whether to upgrade or not:
    - great acceleration
    - great tires (but very expensive to own)
    - option of ABS (which I'm not a fan of, but at least it can be switched off)
    - much worse mileage than D200 (I'm quite surprised the mileage is so low, I expected more, especially at a relaxed 100 kmh in 6th gear)
    - realistic top speed being limited to 130 kmh not because of engine but because of wind blast, which just points to the fact that any street naked bike isn't the best option for fast highway rides. Still, it's a great thing to have a good reserve of power when going at 130 kmh!
    - 6th gear is too tall even for highway rides because you have to downshift to quickly overtake. It looks like tall gears actually make you shift more, not less?
    - bike being less usable at lower speeds because of tall gears combined with strong power that can make the bike accelerate more than intended. Or ending up being stuck in 1st gear in traffic because of too tall gears for low speeds. One can get used to it, but it doesn't make it less convenient for most city rides.

    Overall, Duke 390 looks like a fantastic bike and a fantastic fun on better and emptier roads which allow you to go faster and use that extra power. I'm sure a bigger rear sprocket or smaller at front would make it much better!
    May all the future Duke 390 owners get their bikes as soon as possible and enjoy their bikes to the max!
    A Duke is a Duke, whichever it is, and is by far the most fun bike! Oh, and it will make you feel 10 years younger only if you're 30. If you're 40 it'll make you feel 20 years younger!!! No kidding!
    Last edited by splus; 08-01-2013 at 10:22 AM.
    prasenjit220 and dnewguy like this.

  4. #24
    Rusted DeVille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
    Posts
    474
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Now, we're talking! Was just gonna troll you on that Fb pic you put [email]today@MG :P for teasing us with pics for weeks now. Love the 'Land's End ' pics.
    And do let us know the reason for delay....front suspensions?
    The man who designed the Tower of Pisa was the First Biker ever...

  5. #25
    Rookie studiobindia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Great review...

  6. #26
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Alright, the most awaited review of the D390 is up, Thank you MG for in-depth review. this could be a silly question, however thought i would ask - were the RVMs useful at speeds over 3 digits?

    Thanks & Cheers!!

  7. #27
    Addicted anilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bombay
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Wow, thanks a ton, MG It was very nice to hear from someone who's extensively used the ride. So does this mean that deliveries are finally on track, hahahaha? Also, how long did you get to keep and ride the bike?
    Ride more, browse less.

  8. #28
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Superb review and clicks

  9. #29
    Rusted chinmayakar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Navi-Mumbai
    Posts
    990
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Nice review Gourab Dada. Covers everything, and the comparison between D200 and D390 was spot on. This is what me, splus and a couple of other folks were trying to mention. I had put my D200 for sale when D390 was launched by Bajaj.

    However, after I rode D390 couple of times, I was sure, I like D200 better, hence got it a remap from Kiirus last week, and dropped the plan to sell my D200.

    Hence, I will be keeping D200, but if possible, will also get a D390 to keep it company before Bajaj decides to raise the introductory price.

    Having said that P220 and Karizma owners now do have a very good bike to upgrade to.

  10. #30
    Rusted abhichotu.abhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,591
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Duke 390: Long Term Ride Review

    Very Informative review. But, can you please through some light on the night illumination capacity of the headlight? I mean is the night illumination sufficient to ride at 100 Kmph on a very dark road or say a 4laned highway?

Page 3 of 89 FirstFirst 12345671353 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS: Long Term Test Review
    By MG in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 217
    Last Post: 05-14-2017, 02:53 PM
  2. KTM Duke 200 Review: xBhp's detailed ride report
    By Sunny in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 1077
    Last Post: 09-03-2016, 12:04 PM
  3. [Long Term Plan] CBZ 250R
    By cool_dude_sunn_y in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 121
    Last Post: 04-10-2015, 10:49 AM
  4. KTM Duke 390 Review : xBhp Ride Report
    By sunilg in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 580
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 01:26 PM
  5. Long term ownership review of my Apache 150 after 2000 days and 80000 Kms
    By apacherenator in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 02:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •