Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Red to green – let the cager go first.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 93
Like Tree57Likes

Thread: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

  1. #11
    Rusted Adarsh_Bk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Leuven, Belgium
    Posts
    798
    Mentioned
    68 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    The review I was waiting for!! Thanks a lot @Old Fox I am completely smitten by this red beauty

    PS : Just observed that the switchgear is exactly same as what can be found on pre 2012 RTRs!
    Ride hard.. Ride safe.. Always!

    S1000RR ownership experience

    You can also follow me on YouTube here

  2. #12
    Rusted giridhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    chennai
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Silly question, are the tyres tubeless type? I have read somewhere that manufacturing spoke wheel for tubeless tyres is very expensive.
    Biker @ heart

  3. #13
    Rusted Naughty VaIsH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kochi
    Posts
    938
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Good review and beautiful photographs... I was waiting for its review ever since yesterday after I saw it here .. a display model.

    How good is the bike when iy comes for touring ..? Is the riding position comfortable ..

    Sharing a pic that I took it from yesterday visit to Marikar Royal Enfield showroom - Trivandrum.


    Sent from my GT-I9082 using xBhp Connect mobile app
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Only a Biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Old Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    1,092
    Blog Entries
    10
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by harishkumarko View Post
    Top speed is definitely upwards of 140 kmph. A few months back I spotted a GT being tested on the Chennai By Pass Road. When I tried to get a closer look the rider tried to get away. This resulted in a chase(or race?). I remember doing 137 kmph on a straight stretch and yet he was ahead of me. Acceleration was also pretty good since I was really trying hard, to get a good look of the bike's front!

    PS: Both of us did not ride rashly!

    BTW are they providing any aftermarket parts like the an exhaust etc.
    I doubt if it goes much beyond 140 but yes it definitely will go well beyond the 115 that I rode it to. The RE people themselves stated that the bike did fall well short of the ton (100 mph) mark which was the magic figure for the 60's cafe racers. But yes the acceleration is nice between 2000 - 4000 rpm.


    Quote Originally Posted by giridhar View Post
    Silly question, are the tyres tubeless type? I have read somewhere that manufacturing spoke wheel for tubeless tyres is very expensive.
    I am not sure @giridhar whether the tyres are tubeless or not. I missed asking about that. Spoked wheels for tubeless tyres are pretty expensive and so maybe the Sport Demons used here come with tubes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Naughty VaIsH View Post
    Good review and beautiful photographs... I was waiting for its review ever since yesterday after I saw it here .. a display model.

    How good is the bike when iy comes for touring ..? Is the riding position comfortable ..
    If people (including your's truly) can tour on the Duke 200 then the Conti too would be eminently tourable. The seat is plush enough but quite narrow and so a couple of hours do make you feel butt-sore. The riding position is quite comfortable though with a slightly forward tilted torso. Of course you need to be able to take the load off your wrists by using a tight torso core and knees firmly gripping the tank recesses.
    Naughty VaIsH and giridhar like this.
    I don't let my motorcycles interfere with my motorcycling...

    Join xBhp On


  5. #15
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    913
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Nice review but I expected more pictures from different angles. Did you try to kick start to know how tough that it? Can the RVMs be turned forward backward too, because if on long ride we relax the sitting position the RVM might need to be adjusted since they are on handle bars.
    Is the yellow colour also available in production version?

  6. #16
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    10,019
    Mentioned
    435 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by sparky View Post
    Nice review but I expected more pictures from different angles. Did you try to kick start to know how tough that it? Can the RVMs be turned forward backward too, because if on long ride we relax the sitting position the RVM might need to be adjusted since they are on handle bars.
    Is the yellow colour also available in production version?
    Kick starting the bike is a piece of cake.

    RVMs can be adjusted, there is also slots for fitting conventional RVMs, depending on your preference.

    Yes, the yellow colour was launched in Goa, and will be available along with the red for sale.
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  7. #17
    Rusted Adarsh_Bk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Leuven, Belgium
    Posts
    798
    Mentioned
    68 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    The GT comes with tubeless Pirelli Sport Demon tyres!! It is written on the tyre itself and also confirmed that there is no tube installed inside. It is aluminium alloy rim with spokes.

    Tubeless + Spokes is one of the best combo for touring! Another reason for me to get even more smitten by GT
    Ride hard.. Ride safe.. Always!

    S1000RR ownership experience

    You can also follow me on YouTube here

  8. #18
    Rusted incipient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    466
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Nice review!

    While i am not an Enfield fan, the cafe racer does have a certain charm.

  9. #19
    Rookie julyone_modi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Currently In Chennai
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Old Fox View Post
    If people (including your's truly) can tour on the Duke 200 then the Conti too would be eminently tourable. The seat is plush enough but quite narrow and so a couple of hours do make you feel butt-sore. The riding position is quite comfortable though with a slightly forward tilted torso. Of course you need to be able to take the load off your wrists by using a tight torso core and knees firmly gripping the tank recesses.
    Thats some good viewpoint. I am also concerned about this aspect of the bike before plunging on it. Will wait for some long-term review and then decide on it.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Its all about two Wheels!!!!!

  10. #20
    Rusted princesirohi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pune -- Mumbai
    Posts
    8,244
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    137 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Royal Enfield Continental GT Review

    Nice review.... Can someone record an audio or video and post it here for exhaust sound.

    Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Royal Enfield Classic 350 Owner's Review and Experiences
    By RIO in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 554
    Last Post: 3 Weeks Ago, 09:27 PM
  2. Royal Enfield Tractor. A review.
    By forty6 in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 139
    Last Post: 01-20-2016, 11:39 PM
  3. Replies: 117
    Last Post: 03-11-2015, 11:04 AM
  4. Replies: 124
    Last Post: 11-27-2013, 05:58 PM
  5. [Help]: Looking for used Royal Enfield 350 STD
    By saurabh325 in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 06:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •