Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Dawn & dusk make slight hard to adjust.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

  1. #11
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ludhiana
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    Bajaj INS vikrant with 150 cc engine is a good deal. In comparison of Avenger 150, most of people don't like to ride on pillion seat as it appeared to be seated low as if on road. No doubt, avenger 150 is good and better option for long long highways. But, instead of INS vik or avenger, I will go with Pulsar 135. I seen its capabilities in Kaza and Leh.

  2. #12
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ludhiana
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    It seemed that P-135 is better option instead of INS vik or avenger. P-135 is more peppy, stylish and reliable.

  3. #13
    Addicted shadcool786's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Navi Mumbai
    Posts
    209
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    Don't underestimate a bike just by reading a bunch of reviews and making some comments on it. I have taken a TD and I can vouch this bike will shut up many. Even I was surprised by it, and I don't like Bajaj at all.

    Other then that, this is an Update for others.
    Bajaj V15 On Road Price:- 73,500 RS in Ghansoli, Navi Mumbai.
    If anyone charging more then 73,500 in Navi Mumbai is ripping you off.
    Kalyan is charging 75,000 RS

    If you want to purchase the bike at the given price above, shoot me a PM, i will share the dealership details there.
    "Biking: the Under-Rated and Drug-Free Antidepressant"
    Don't know if it's illegal to be handsome and ride a bike at the same time but whatever, I live dangerously.


  4. #14
    Rookie shresthasinha22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    MP20
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default To V15 or not to V15

    Hello brothers, this post is regarding to help you make your mind whether if you wish to buy Bajaj V15 or not. I'm 5'10" and 75kg. and I ride a 2012 Bajaj Discover 125 ST. Recently, I happened to rupture the oil seal of my Bajaj Discover 125 ST and I was on the search for the spares. As I was on my way to the SVC, I passed by the Bajaj dealership here in Jabalpur. In an instant I applied my brakes (cautiously) as my eyeballs ogled on the bike parked over the front entrance of the Showroom. It was none other than the might Bajaj V15! Shining with all its glory in Ebony and Red shade. The prodigy which with all might and glory carried the metal from "The Invincible INS Vikrant".
    Met the guy who sold me the Discover 3 years back, exchanged the greetings and then he generously handed over me the keys of the brand new Bajaj V15 (Test Ride model). The feeling was way beyond any words can express, to feel the legacy of the legend incorporated into a whole new machine. Took a good 5 minutes to appreciate the craftsmanship put into this beautiful looking motorcycle (and obviously to calm myself down).
    As I was still trying to concentrate that finally I am sitting on a V15 which could possibly be my next bike. As I switched on the ignition and kicked the machine to life (Yeah I'm old school). The exhaust note is actually a treat for the ears of the owner and bit bassy in nature. With the habit of 1down-4up pattern and knowing V15's all up pattern, I still struggled a bit for few seconds to finally figure out how to engage the first gear (all because the overflow of emotions). In a brief ride of nearly about 5 odd kilometers, I managed to understand few things about it.

    Ergonomics : Yes! the Headlight doesn't looks ugly in person, but then again as they say "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder". In fact it does helps to add the character to the bike. Handlebar felt like straight from Avenger. The arms remain parallel to the ground. Gives the feel of Cruiser rather being categorised as Commuter. The fuel tank is voluptuous and we sculpted at the same time, allows you knees enough room. Seat is comfortable, had no problem. Quality is top notch. The rear cowl is quite easy to operate, didn't faced any hassle. The rear is where the things got clumsy, the rear set being a 16" 120/80 gives a low slung feel. Might not look good on everyone. Though on the other hand, suspension were amazing and thoroughly provided comfort through the rough patches. The material used in foot pegs and foot rest are required to be admired. And it does manages to attract the curious eyeballs on the street.

    Engine : Well to be precise, the 149.5cc mill didn't managed to impress me. Though it easily managed to cruise at 80-90kmph without any vibrations which is not possible with the 125ST. But the absence of power required to tackle the B2B traffic and daily quick commute was highly felt which is present in my 125ST in abundance. The throttle response was good but didn't felt the surge of power deliver as I released the clutch as we are accustomed with the Bajaj bikes. It all felt in contrast with the other 150s. Later, enquired about this point and found out the power delivery is meant to be like that for the V15 giving a solid and steady feel but does have abundance of torque.

    After tackling the roads on Jabalpur the joyride finally came to an end. Yet, somehow it didn't inspired me to toss the key of my ST away and straight forward book this beauty. And thus, the search for a perfect soulmate continues for me as this one is not meant for me.

    Open for all your questions.

    I hope this thread gets approved, as this was just my impression and I hope it will help the people relate and make a good decision.
    Attached Images Attached Images        

  5. #15
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    10,019
    Mentioned
    435 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)

    Default Re: To V15 or not to V15

    Quote Originally Posted by shresthasinha22 View Post
    I hope this thread gets approved, as this was just my impression and I hope it will help the people relate and make a good decision.
    I have merged your post here, since this is where people come looking initially when they are searching for the perfect bike. Thanks for sharing
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  6. #16
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dombivli/HYD/Pume
    Posts
    385
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    saw the first one of these in my office parking lot at HYD.
    jetsetgo08 likes this.

  7. #17
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Silicon Valley of India
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by rugved View Post
    saw the first one of these in my office parking lot at HYD.
    +1...I have spotted about 5-6 v15's around Hitech city in the last 2 days. Yet to spot a white one.
    Looks like the deliveries just started.
    rugved likes this.

  8. #18
    Rusted Adoksh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    Spotted one on the roads of Bangalore recently. Barring the headlight, the rest of the bike looks pretty neat. And as mentioned, the sound is great for a 150
    Every Motorcycle has a tale to be told and there is no greater privilage in the life of a rider than to have truly understood what his Motorcycle stands to tell. Some of the greatest stories in the world are not written, they are experienced.

    One of the many reasons they say, "Four Wheels Move the Body, Two Wheels Move the Soul"

  9. #19
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review

    No one in Pune has a test ride bike available for V15 so far not sure if this is really that limited :P Only issue which I see on paper is lesser BHP compared to other bikes of same capacity. Confused between a V15 or Avenger 150, hoping to get a td soon to come to a decision.

  10. #20
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Thriruvananthapuram
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Owner Review - Bajaj V15 2017

    I bought BV15 on September 2017. I completed 17K Kms right now. Below some of my ride experiences with this one.I was very confused to choose this among other contestants in the segment such as Honda CB Shine, Pulsar 150, TVS etc with a strict budget of below Rs. 1 lakh. I was daily commuting for work back then, so wanted to take a Bike which is not only can satisfy the commuting requirement but I can take a for a weekend ride also. I liked the unique design of it, which is really provoking, out of the box of traditional language and the price is really handy comparing to others.

    I did two semi long trips on this. One was a Trivandrum-Kochi-Munnar-Kochi in one day. BV15 rode the Munnar heights smoothly. Other one is Mumbai - Pune - Mumbai . It was a night trip, Lonavala, Khandala heights, the ride was super awesome. Both times, my lover was with me as a pillion rider and she had no complaints about sitting discomfort other than the height of pillion seat. So this bike is good fit for semi-long trips ( Sub-300Kms ) with fuel efficiency and enough power for 150CC/sub70K price tag.

    BV15 got distinct characteristics. If you ride it with in 40Km/Hr, you can feel the power of 150 cruiser in your hands. The beating sound is awesome. If you go more than 60Km/Hr, then this bike rides like a sportster. However, post 90Km/Hr, you will start to feel the vibration.

    Service is one headache I had to face. The Bajaj Service center in Panvel, Mumbai was a mess, they charged me a lot but really messed up the bike. I lost my oil-check covering, few other mishandling to bike.


    Cons : The fuel gauge is a funny one. Since it shows the level in bar display ( like the mobile phone battery ), we cannot determine the exact fuel situation but can only assume. The Pillion seat is backward slanting. This is really weird, often the pillion may slide down backward. Bajaj should have put a cruiser type upward pillion seat. Then the mileage, it is not stable at all, different digits after each services. I used to get 60 KMPL but it narrowed down to 40KMPL at one point of time, thanks to the service center in Panvel. Gearbox has some issues, sometimes in the traffic, I need to loose the clutch all way in order shift the gear down (multiple gear down with single clutch ). Another incident happened, when I was riding, the GEAR shaft / bar came out completely !! yeah, it came out and I had to put it back by hand and rode to the nearest mechanic shop and got it tightened. I dont know if I should thank again the service center of Panvel or the Bajaj company itself.

    Pros : Value for money, really budget friendly, economic commuter with a cruise effect. Other bikes likes Honda Cb Shine, etc may be arguably better in other terms, but I find this one as more profitable. Riding experience is good, the seating posture and handling are cool. At one point, you may feel like riding an 150 cc Royal En-field Bullet. Yeah, you can feel the thumping beat sound in 40-45 Km/Hr speed. The design is provoking, I find Suzuki Intruder 150 is the only match in design terms among 150 segment.


    Verdict : Its upto you.. You need to consider your parameters as budget, your requirement etc. For me, I had to limit my budget, that was my prime concern, so I bought a RedMi phone instead of a high end Samsung / One Plus. So far now, it fills my requirement satisfactory, but I know this will not last for generations though.










    Last edited by jeevanism; 11-18-2018 at 05:09 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj Pulsar RS 200 Owners Review and Experience
    By thunderbird_m6 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 5658
    Last Post: 1 Week Ago, 02:49 PM
  2. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-08-2017, 12:51 AM
  3. Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS: Long Term Test Review
    By MG in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 217
    Last Post: 05-14-2017, 02:53 PM
  4. [Ownership Thread]: New Generation Bajaj Pulsar AS 150 ownership review
    By Sankha S.r.n in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 07:41 PM
  5. Bajaj Discover 100T Review and Ride Report
    By MG in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-24-2013, 04:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •