Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Red to green – let the cager go first.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32
Like Tree56Likes

Thread: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

  1. #11
    Rusted TheArcher84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    2,249
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Amazing review sir, as always photos are impeccable. Stunning...is the word i want to use here. Thank you !!
    R15S - Current
    Honda Dio - Current
    TNT 600i - Sold
    Classic 500 - Sold
    Pulsar 220 dtsi - Sold
    Yamaha YBX125 - Sold

  2. #12
    Rookie vishalmusle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Namma Bengaluru
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Precise and to the point! Honestly done and no gimmicks.
    A very well written review Sir, backed by beautiful photography!
    Nothing is comparable to the simple pleasures of a bike ride.

  3. #13
    Addicted
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Mumbai, Maharashtra
    Posts
    134
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    I just loved the review and the pics. They are just stunning. But there is still somethings that was not covered in entirely - built quality, how do you thing the bike will age as most of the Bajaj bikes tend to age faster. How is the cornering grips? Do you think this can be a replacement for the CBR 250 ?

    Bajaj always made good bikes, but its the quality of service which breaks the deal. They need to get this sorted asap for the bike to flourish. Would have loved to see the illumination of the LED lights on the road during the night time.

    Another concern that I have is the cost of the headlight. Since the headlight is one of the first to break in any untoward event and the headlight being LED, I would like to know the cost.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Old Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    1,092
    Blog Entries
    10
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrow View Post
    Had a query - How did the MRF tyres perform? Interested to know so that it can be kept in mind as a possible (cheaper option) for the Duke 390 Also need to check out in person if the rearview mirrors are a direct fit on the Duke / provide better coverage.RegardsRonald
    The MRF's felt planted through whatever we could throw at the bike. Of course we did not ride in 'all possible' conditions - we were on public roads, good tarmac and a bright sunny day. So wet grip is not something I can comment on yet. But the tyres seemed good enough within the 'normal' usage range. I think these can be a suitable 'less expensive ' option for the 390. Provided you don't freak out with your right hand especially when exiting low speed turns. Remember there's only ABS there - not traction control.
    Quote Originally Posted by kc_1602 View Post
    Really liked the review!! Amazing photography!
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by roy_arnab22 View Post
    Awesome review Old Fox sir!
    Thank you
    Quote Originally Posted by lathiwala_99 View Post
    Very good and concise review sir. Thank you for reviewing one of the most awaited bikes by an Indian manufacturer.
    It sure was the most awaited bike in the country. Glad you liked the review.
    Quote Originally Posted by vdarshan View Post
    Spot on review added with stunning pictures.
    Thank you too
    Quote Originally Posted by Neerajvayu View Post
    Thanks for the most awaited thread sir
    I will be very happy to say you're welcome to more if more brands come out with bikes in this category.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sal View Post
    You have a way with words Sir.Brilliance of a review @Old Fox
    Thank you for the appreciation!
    Quote Originally Posted by jazzysaravana View Post
    Superb..Well written detailed review with gorgeous photography! I'm in the market for a daily comfortable commuter to work and weekend tourer and this fits the bill perfectly! I'm just waiting for many other initial perspectives, hopefully will buy one in Feb-March 2017. So far many of the impressions and reviews are positive. I also loved the two short test-rides I took here in Chennai. I think Bajaj is going to set a new benchmark like the Pulsar, in the below 2 lac segment.
    I am sure it'll be a good buy. I don't mind repeating myself when I say it IS a very sensible bike.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dovahkiin View Post
    Wow. One of the best reviews I have seen so far. Also as everyone else said Amazing Photos. Thanks guys.
    Thanks. And most of the appreciation for the stunning photos should go to @sunilg
    Quote Originally Posted by TheArcher84 View Post
    Amazing review sir, as always photos are impeccable. Stunning...is the word i want to use here. Thank you !!
    Thank you from my end too!
    Quote Originally Posted by vishalmusle View Post
    Precise and to the point! Honestly done and no gimmicks.A very well written review Sir, backed by beautiful photography!
    Glad you liked it. It is a good product.
    Quote Originally Posted by kailashnj View Post
    I just loved the review and the pics. They are just stunning. But there is still somethings that was not covered in entirely - built quality, how do you thing the bike will age as most of the Bajaj bikes tend to age faster. How is the cornering grips? Do you think this can be a replacement for the CBR 250 ?Bajaj always made good bikes, but its the quality of service which breaks the deal. They need to get this sorted asap for the bike to flourish. Would have loved to see the illumination of the LED lights on the road during the night time. Another concern that I have is the cost of the headlight. Since the headlight is one of the first to break in any untoward event and the headlight being LED, I would like to know the cost.
    Build quality seems up to the mark. A pretty solidly built bike that almost makes it to the benchmark set by the Suzuki Inazuma. I believe Bajaj has taken this particular bike very seriously going by the in-depth development, the long gestation period, the inclusive up-to-date technology and the killer pricing. Of course we can just hope they also get the post-sale customer interface in shape. This area of customer relations is actually an endemic problem in our country. The LED's are good with a nice beam spread and uniform diffusion pattern that avoids casting sharp shadows. Sharp shadows make all road imperfections appear worse than they really are.

    The only area of concern with this almost white light would be its relative inability to penetrate fog. The conventional yellow tungsten/halogen lamps win in such conditions. The cost of the light will eventually be available. In any case premium products are the sum total of premium components. So it would be best to go in for zero-dep insurance when buying the bike.

    Note - Been traveling incessantly over the past few days and so this rather delayed response to all your posts. My regrets.
    Last edited by Old Fox; 01-13-2017 at 05:59 PM.
    I don't let my motorcycles interfere with my motorcycling...

    Join xBhp On


  5. #15
    Rookie uday.ere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Thanks Old Fox, as usual an in-depth review and the fabulous pics are the icing on the cake. As you rightly said, Bajaj has a lot riding on this one and so far have made all the right moves. Hoping the after sales and servicing aspects also get a leg-up.

  6. #16
    Addicted tripster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Nagpur
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrow View Post
    Had a query - How did the MRF tyres perform? Interested to know so that it can be kept in mind as a possible (cheaper option) for the Duke 390

    Also need to check out in person if the rearview mirrors are a direct fit on the Duke / provide better coverage.

    Regards
    Ronald
    You can try apache RTR's mirrors. Few of my friends use them on their Dukes and are pretty happy with the results. The rubber cover of the stock mirrors can also be reused so they look equally cool.

    @oldfox great review Sir. Enjoyed reading it.
    One life to ride....

  7. #17
    Rookie Rajen Joshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon4 Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Hi, Great comprehensive review. Covered each and every bit possible. I am planning to buy one tourer bike and I am now super confused between Mahindra Mojo and Dominar. Please help me with which one should I go for. Other than ABS I think Mojo scores better than Dominar in every aspect except value for money

    Thanks,
    Rajen

    Quote Originally Posted by Old Fox View Post
    Dominar. In all these years of motorcycling, never have I ridden a name. Though I've always ridden motorcycles which had names. What I mean to say is that a name never maketh a machine. Though it can easily be the other way round. The Bajaj Dominar 400 is an interesting name carried proudly by an equally interesting machine but since the proof of the pudding is in the eating, that's exactly what we did from Akurdi to Panchgani. We rode the Dominar 400 through a wide range of road and traffic conditions to find out what it would be like if you owned and rode one.


    Last edited by The Monk; 01-16-2017 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Please don't quote all the pictures. Thanks
    Javeed FDz likes this.

  8. #18
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Vadodara, Gujarat
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Hi All,

    Though the review has been covered in more detail than I can put out at this point, I would still like to share my test ride review which was quite comprehensive by test ride standards.

    Belonging to a Tier B city Vadodara, I did not imagine being able to lay my eyes on a Dominar any time soon. Imagine my excitement when the sales executive not only showed me one but also asked me to take a long test ride without even looking at my license. Add to that he asked my wife also to climb aboard so I could feel how it was like with 2 up riding. Dealerships here are generally very stingy in giving test rides with most even insisting about booking a vehicle before the test ride or they concoct a cock and bull story about the vehicle being damaged in an accident.

    Anyway coming to the point I saw a dark blue Dominar in the showroom and got to test ride a white one. First impressions when i mounted the bike in the showroom were that this is a lot like my NS. The tank view was quite similar, distance between handlebars and seat was similar and the foot pegs too were about similarly placed. I was in my comfort zone. What was immediately different was the seat quality and height. At 6 ft tall I used to feel my NS was custom built for my height and was able to manage it. The Dominar feels shorter and did give me a bit more confidence. The seat felt larger and better padded too.

    Getting on to the test ride. I fired up the bike and it sounded like a refined KTM. No offence to the KTM owners, they sound aggressive, but the Dominar sounded nice. Got my wife behind me on the saddle and set off. One point to note, our combined weight is well over 150 Kgs. I simply loved the pulling ability of this bike. Despite 2 up riding, it was extremely comfortable for both and also very very fast. I had to consciously make an effort to go slow. Vibes in my over 5 km ride were negligible and braking again gave me the same feel as my NS, not a bad thing at all. Couldnt test the slipper clutch action.

    The downside was the combined weight, I attempted some aggressive traffic cutting (I dont encourage this, just wanted to see the bike behaviour) and realised I was having to heave the handle bars along with my body weight in order to make it flickable. Also the throttle seemed too sensitive, coming off the throttle make the bike decelerate quickly and coming on it the surge was jerky initially. Could be because of the new engine.

    What made me happy were also the small things like the clear visibility in the rear view mirrors and the fact that my wife also liked the rear seat size and padding. Since I rode it in daylight I cannot comment on the LED headlamps, but overall at 1.7 lakhs on road this is a very good bike. Even after 3 days the one point that I fondly remember in the entire test ride was the amount of torque it was throwing out at the lower rpms. I have ridden the RE Continental GT too and till this test ride, that was my benchmark for torque and fun factor.

    I think this bike opens up a good option to those who love KTMs but find it a bit too loud in terms of styling. At least thats my interpretation for it. As for beating RE, nah thats not happening. I can agree that Mahindra should be worried but the old gen CBR is still a cut above it in terms of refinement. Sure its long in the tooth but our market still loves faired bikes and maybe if Bajaj came with a faired version of the Dominar in the future it may hit the CBR hard.

    Just my experience.
    sumitro_d and JourneyGuy like this.
    Blood, Sweat and Gears - Enough Said.

  9. #19
    Addicted rideon74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Coimbatore & Calicut
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon14 Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    I don't know which part of your superbly crafted review I like more - the pics or the write-up. Simply professional in style and substance, this report of the Dominar shows the deft hand and the eye of a seasoned rider. Bravo! Great reviews and utterly oggle-worthy photography.

    Cheers and Safe riding!
    - ​When Life throws you a curve, Lean into it! -

  10. #20
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Had been to Wakdewadi KTM for 250 and 390 test ride. Was disappointed that 390s weren't yet available for TD. However I did get a 250 TD, but I just circled the periphery of the building from inside for a few times - Thats it !!! Thats what they call a test ride.

    I was disappointed with 2017 KTM 250 - Thought they might've bought more smoothness (I come from a 10year Unicorn relationship). While I was there waiting to call Kawasaki for Versys650, I thought I might as well check how well D400 rides.

    What follows is a direct comparison of KTM Duke 250 vs Dominar 400.

    A few minutes later, I mounted a white one.

    The Mount: The first leg over D400 and felt better than Duke 250. The handle bar reach / width - I thought Duke's bars were wider and I had to reach for them a little more than I had to do over here. I'm 5'7". The seat too felt much better than the KTM.

    Engine Start: Here all the similarities (if any) end. This one felt much smoother. Duke the typical rowdy, notorious vagabond. This one felt like a muscular athlete who also has those gentleman-like abilities. Also Dominar's engine was quick to start; Somehow I had fumbled once or twice on Duke250 to get it running.

    The Start: 10yrs of smooth Unicorn has its downsidesl; You forget that there are meatier machines available. But it has its virtues - refinement, you live with it day and night. Pressed the clutch, hmm... Smoother... Few minutes back it felt like I was pulling a cable that was about to snap (on KTM)!!! Shifted into the 1st gear, Gear felt more or less similar, but definitely not as smooth as Unicorn.

    Clutch release: As I start to release it, I thought - whats wrong !!! Why ain't I moving ahead? The Duke 250 got engaged very early; probably more than half way of complete press of the lever, while Dominar was opposite... and I moved on. A very specific incident happened on Duke 250, I twice stalled the engine while releasing the clutch. I remember another person on Duke250 too had the same problem. May be it was that specific vehicle or we were just not used to the KTM

    Ride: For Dominar, I was lucky to get a ride on the road. First thing I noticed in Dominar was that the power delivery was very smooth (or linear as I've read in TDs) as opposed to Duke 250. Somewhere in the thread replies I read, D400's setup has been tuned to keep new riders too happy. That was very much evident. It felt I was riding a heavier and a stronger commuter. With KTM, I felt I was riding a different beast altogether. I adjusted the mirrors, and they seemed adequate, definitely not what Puslar220F guys complain of. I purposefully raised the throttle to compare the KTM vs Dominar, again power delivery smoothness along with the better smoothened engine shone brighter than the growling KTM. The bike felt fairly light but planted. The gear shifts did happen with some 'clunk', but I guess it will smoothen out over a period of time. Since it was a daytime ride in hard sun, there was no chance of experimenting on the lights.

    Braking: Whatever Dominar will do, so will KTM, but KTM is more exaggerated. Same is true for braking. Bite is stronger on Dukes, sudden. But then again I had done only 10-20 kmph Duke TD vs. 50-60kmph on Dominar.

    Halt: As I killed the engine with the switch and put the side stand, I felt Dominar is definitely a better option for guys upgrading from 100 - 150cc bikes, especially those like me who dislike Thumps (RE) and growls (KTM).

    Booking / Verdict: I went to KTM in a view that 2017 KTMs might've improved on engine and hard, spiky driving dynamics of the bike, giving a beautiful gait to it. But KTM retains its character (I'm happy that the company doesn't deviate from its core). So KTM is definitely out of my wishlist. Then: Dominar ? Definitely looks much interesting. At its price point seems like VFM. Its not in the Honda / Yamaha refinement class, but not bad either. I await Mojo and the Versys TDs.

    Note: I am more inclined towards Versys 650 ( In a league of its own ), but the new KTMs brought me to the showroom in awe (specifically 390). I want a tourer after munching touring miles on the Unicorn. How I hoped a Versys 300 was launched !!! This was actually my first Test Ride of my life. Hope more will follow.
    sumitro_d likes this.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj Pulsar RS 200 Owners Review and Experience
    By thunderbird_m6 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 5623
    Last Post: 3 Weeks Ago, 12:48 PM
  2. Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review
    By sunilg in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-18-2018, 07:43 PM
  3. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-08-2017, 12:51 AM
  4. Replies: 527
    Last Post: 01-15-2017, 10:32 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: New Generation Bajaj Pulsar AS 150 ownership review
    By Sankha S.r.n in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 07:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •