Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Look further to stay alive.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
Like Tree56Likes

Thread: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

  1. #21
    Rusted krishna77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Dum Dum, Kolkata
    Posts
    5,272
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    A brilliant review with equally brilliant pictures!

  2. #22
    --- smutall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Old Fox View Post
    Dominar. In all these years of motorcycling, never have I ridden a name. Though I've always ridden motorcycles which had names. What I mean to say is that a name never maketh a machine. Though it can easily be the other way round. The Bajaj Dominar 400 is an interesting name carried proudly by an equally interesting machine but since the proof of the pudding is in the eating, that's exactly what we did from Akurdi to Panchgani. We rode the Dominar 400 through a wide range of road and traffic conditions to find out what it would be like if you owned and rode one.

    https://www.xbhp.com/the-dark-knight...ar-400-review/

    Bajaj Dominar 400 Review Comparison

    Comparison Data provided by Bajaj
    Better to calculate power to weight ratio PS/ton after adding rider weight of 60kg to the motorcycle weight. Because at least one rider will always be on the bike and that weight is significant addition when compared to cars power to weight ratio comparison. So the value of ratio after that addition would give better comparison of acceleration of various bikes.

    Bajaj has done cost cutting in upside down fork, SOHC engine, simpler odo, handlebar switches reuse, etc to offer it at a low price. But retained gearbox, slipper clutch and lower engine of Duke 390. Oil cooling and fuel injection are there, but bajaj should do something to improve Dominar's mileage in cruising speed to compete with Royal Enfield bikes.
    Last edited by smutall; 03-24-2017 at 05:56 PM.

  3. #23
    Rusted IamAditya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Cherthala, Alappuzha, Kerala
    Posts
    852
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Usd is not cost cutting, even r3 and ninja300 doesn't have it how much they costs?

    Sohc is is cheaper but doesn't mean cost cutting, r15 uses sohc, Maybach uses Sohc for their cars.
    Ktms uses the switch gears from older pulsars, with white backlight like pulsar 150,80,220.

    Where as ns, rs and dominar uses blue backlight.

    This shows how much quality is shared between Dominar and KTM.

    Ride safe

    cheers.
    wafa and Neeraj97 like this.

  4. #24
    Rookie wafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Now as I try to punch it, Dominar thrusts forward commandingly with that sweet, mildly bassy exhaust note treating my ears after 3000 rpm, while reaching triple digits swiftly on an empty stretch.
    Finishing the almost 1 kilometer test ride, I never felt like I had a pillion behind owing to the smooth power delivery and relaxed character of the bike.
    As I reach the showroom in lajpatnagar dewan bajaj they don't have dominar for test ride then next day I visit Suman Autos Greater noida,I am overwhelmingly impressed with the machine and wanted to go for another longer ride but I had to end it!
    What I like and dislike
    I like :- Bajaj every one knows that bajaj ki jawani and Honda ka budhapa.
    Bike is looking good what u want under 2 lack 373cc engine, twin channel abs
    Good look in naked
    As I always prefer naked in every department which comes between two legs.
    》fit n finish exhaust quality feel like a bigger bike.
    》As i sit on bike the weight of bike makes it slightly intimidating,telling you indirectly to handle it like a grown-up,
    》I move forward easily with the low end torque giving enough pull to propel both of us (pillion)
    》As I gain speed I find the throttle crisply tuned and gears slotting seamlessly adding linear acceleration without any spiky power delivery.
    》Downshifting quickly from 6th gear for a turn I notice the light clutch and sharp bite of the front Brake.
    》It again pulls nicely from 2nd gear without any hesitayion in spite of the rider and pillion combine weight of around 160kg.
    Now comes on topic which I dislike
    》Expected higher fuel tank and a gear indicator.
    》Limited Colour Options.
    Doubtful A.S.S need some contemplation.
    》Not upside down
    》Handle will not much better comfort for long ride.
    #Wafa #Siddiqui
    JourneyGuy and Shivananda15 like this.

  5. #25
    Rookie DukePete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Chandigarh
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrow View Post
    Had a query - How did the MRF tyres perform? Interested to know so that it can be kept in mind as a possible (cheaper option) for the Duke 390

    Also need to check out in person if the rearview mirrors are a direct fit on the Duke / provide better coverage.

    Regards
    Ronald
    Hi scarecrow,
    I'm putting up a link below. It could be possible that you've already gone through it, but just in case you haven't, it will be useful.

    http://**********.in/rc390-mrf-revz-...1-week-review/

    I own a D390 myself and have been searching for the Revz C1/FC1 ever since this article appeared on web.

    The new pair from MRF seems to do great on the Dukes. At least it's better than the predecessor Revz C/FC which is already known to do good on Duke 200 and okayish on Duke 390.
    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by DukePete; 05-14-2017 at 01:32 PM.
    leechgod27 likes this.

  6. #26
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    I face a weird issue in my dominar. The bike has done nearly 1300 kms so far and I have taken it to a long ride. I gradually opened the throttle and the speedo was touching 105 kmph in 6th gear of rpm range 5000, suddenly the rpm light started to blink and I reduced the bike speed to 80 kmph. Since the bike is running in, I was very gentle on the throttle inputs, but still I doubt regarding the rpm limit kicking in as early as 5000 rpm. Would that be an issue to check it in the service center?

  7. #27
    Rusted krishna77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Dum Dum, Kolkata
    Posts
    5,272
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Prabakar Murali View Post
    I face a weird issue in my dominar. The bike has done nearly 1300 kms so far and I have taken it to a long ride. I gradually opened the throttle and the speedo was touching 105 kmph in 6th gear of rpm range 5000, suddenly the rpm light started to blink and I reduced the bike speed to 80 kmph. Since the bike is running in, I was very gentle on the throttle inputs, but still I doubt regarding the rpm limit kicking in as early as 5000 rpm. Would that be an issue to check it in the service center?
    Hi, you will get useful answers in the Dominor ownership thread here:

    https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...hread-105.html.

    Please post your query/problem and there are owners to guide you. All the best!

  8. #28
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    varanasi
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    can this bike be used as a commuter to villages with rough roads in small cities???

  9. #29
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    varanasi
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Vikramaditya View Post
    Hi All,

    Though the review has been covered in more detail than I can put out at this point, I would still like to share my test ride review which was quite comprehensive by test ride standards.

    Belonging to a Tier B city Vadodara, I did not imagine being able to lay my eyes on a Dominar any time soon. Imagine my excitement when the sales executive not only showed me one but also asked me to take a long test ride without even looking at my license. Add to that he asked my wife also to climb aboard so I could feel how it was like with 2 up riding. Dealerships here are generally very stingy in giving test rides with most even insisting about booking a vehicle before the test ride or they concoct a cock and bull story about the vehicle being damaged in an accident.

    Anyway coming to the point I saw a dark blue Dominar in the showroom and got to test ride a white one. First impressions when i mounted the bike in the showroom were that this is a lot like my NS. The tank view was quite similar, distance between handlebars and seat was similar and the foot pegs too were about similarly placed. I was in my comfort zone. What was immediately different was the seat quality and height. At 6 ft tall I used to feel my NS was custom built for my height and was able to manage it. The Dominar feels shorter and did give me a bit more confidence. The seat felt larger and better padded too.

    Getting on to the test ride. I fired up the bike and it sounded like a refined KTM. No offence to the KTM owners, they sound aggressive, but the Dominar sounded nice. Got my wife behind me on the saddle and set off. One point to note, our combined weight is well over 150 Kgs. I simply loved the pulling ability of this bike. Despite 2 up riding, it was extremely comfortable for both and also very very fast. I had to consciously make an effort to go slow. Vibes in my over 5 km ride were negligible and braking again gave me the same feel as my NS, not a bad thing at all. Couldnt test the slipper clutch action.

    The downside was the combined weight, I attempted some aggressive traffic cutting (I dont encourage this, just wanted to see the bike behaviour) and realised I was having to heave the handle bars along with my body weight in order to make it flickable. Also the throttle seemed too sensitive, coming off the throttle make the bike decelerate quickly and coming on it the surge was jerky initially. Could be because of the new engine.

    What made me happy were also the small things like the clear visibility in the rear view mirrors and the fact that my wife also liked the rear seat size and padding. Since I rode it in daylight I cannot comment on the LED headlamps, but overall at 1.7 lakhs on road this is a very good bike. Even after 3 days the one point that I fondly remember in the entire test ride was the amount of torque it was throwing out at the lower rpms. I have ridden the RE Continental GT too and till this test ride, that was my benchmark for torque and fun factor.

    I think this bike opens up a good option to those who love KTMs but find it a bit too loud in terms of styling. At least thats my interpretation for it. As for beating RE, nah thats not happening. I can agree that Mahindra should be worried but the old gen CBR is still a cut above it in terms of refinement. Sure its long in the tooth but our market still loves faired bikes and maybe if Bajaj came with a faired version of the Dominar in the future it may hit the CBR hard.

    Just my experience.
    I’m 6 ft tall too and I’m desperately looking to buy a comfortable bike for the height. I currently ride a passion pro which is immensely uncomfortable & i’m dying to upgrade. I saw in a video in youtube about list of indian bikes for tall riders & NS was one of them. I also went to the showroom & sat on all the bikes & the most comfort I could feel was in NS & then Dominar & that too only NS200 not the 160. So which is good??

  10. #30
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Vadodara, Gujarat
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Bajaj Dominar 400 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by chaitanya2106 View Post
    I’m 6 ft tall too and I’m desperately looking to buy a comfortable bike for the height. I currently ride a passion pro which is immensely uncomfortable & i’m dying to upgrade. I saw in a video in youtube about list of indian bikes for tall riders & NS was one of them. I also went to the showroom & sat on all the bikes & the most comfort I could feel was in NS & then Dominar & that too only NS200 not the 160. So which is good??
    Hi Chaitanya,

    In terms of comfort the Dominar is definitely better suited. If you plan to tour or spend long hours in the saddle then you should go for the Dominar. The NS is a different bike totally and should not be compared. Lets forget the power difference. The NS is a street fighter and though the tall bike will complement your looks, it will not be as comfortable. Since we are of similar height, let me tell you that despite the Dominar seat height being less than the NS you will not be cramped on it. Sitting on the bikes though is not enough, I would suggest you do a comprehensive test ride of both the bikes to decide.
    Blood, Sweat and Gears - Enough Said.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj Pulsar RS 200 Owners Review and Experience
    By thunderbird_m6 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 5623
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 12:48 PM
  2. Torque of the Town - Bajaj V15 Review
    By sunilg in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-18-2018, 07:43 PM
  3. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-08-2017, 12:51 AM
  4. Replies: 527
    Last Post: 01-15-2017, 10:32 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: New Generation Bajaj Pulsar AS 150 ownership review
    By Sankha S.r.n in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 07:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •