Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Squeeze that brake, don’t grat a handful.

Our Partners


9000 KMS AROUND INDIA FOR MOTORCYCLYING UNITY.
16th DEC'17 - 5TH FEB'18

SUPPORTED BY

indian suzuki nissan hp helmet Red FM

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

  1. #11
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Belgaum
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by sambit View Post
    Nice short review, though we are waiting for a full fledged review soon. I hope TVS starts delivery within 2 months rather than making people wait like RTR200 and eventually loosing the hyped period sales. The more quickly You sale in first lot and make the bike visible on streets, will always give you that advantage (and free advertising aswell).
    ... Really, TVS should not let People wait as it made for RTR2004v.

  2. #12
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Hosur
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by RaajD View Post
    Absolutely gorgeous and class-leading. There's just one thing though......and it's not the absence of slipper clutch or switchable ABS because it does not matter, but what does is the 11-lire fuel tank capacity, especially for people like me with a preference for sports tourer on a budget! and of course lazy to stop every 270 km!! (factoring in the 2-litre reserve required to keep alive the fuel pump)
    @sunilg Another aspect which none of the websites have confirmed is the fuel tank....whether it's plastic or metal. It does look like rounded plastic over a geometric metal fuel tank, but it would be great and helpful indeed if you can confirm. Spoiled by magnetic tank bags....apologies.

    Hey Raaj,

    while watching the manufacturing film video, for my eyes it looked like plastic material tank that's being fitted......we need to have confirmation from TVS.

    -siva

  3. #13
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    too early to say about FE but bike seem classy in terms of look and specification
    TVS is working hard to develop good machine but their last production RTR 200 has still many issues

  4. #14
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    New York/Chennai/Bengaluru
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    I'm not sure if I can compare motorcycles. But I'll do it because this seems to a raging debate online these days.


    Here's my take on KTM RC390 Vs. TVS RR310

    I see people talking about RC 390 being better. There's 2 things I'd like to clarify here:


    1. The RR310's build quality is at par with BMW 310s and has absolutely nothing to do with past TVS products, except the "Apache" trademark. It is extremely ignorant to write this motorcycle off on the quality front by comparing it to even foreign-made motorcycles, let alone a lowly, humble rtr 200. And yes., when you compare this to a Duke/RC, the rr310 totally beats the KTMs on quality, fit and finish and does so by a big margin. I have seen both the motorcycles (RR310 and KTM) and the quality of materials, workmanship and parts are all far superior on the 310 RR. Every little seam, nut and crimp on the rr310 is extremely well finished, even minor details are well designed and there's been absolutely no cutting corners on any level. I went in to the showroom with mediocre expectations - and the thing that caught my eye immediately, more than the styling, was the quality. I remember thinking to myself "My God, this cannot be India-made".. it was as good as the best european motorcycles.
    2. To compare the price and Brake Horse Power (or PS) is a very shallow way to think of a motorcycle. So the argument goes that since the RR-310 is only 310cc, 34hp @2.45 Lacs on road, and the RC-390 is 375cc, 43hp @2.65 Lacs on road, the RC 390 offers a better value on a rupee-to-horsepower basis. No one disagrees with the numbers. The real purpose of horse power is to see how it translates to speed on these motorcycles, and on that front, the top end speed of the RC 390 is about 7 KMPH more than the Apache rr310. This is despite the fact that the RC's engine produces a massive 9hp more than the rr310 (as claimed by KTM). I think with a 9hp "advantage" the RC should go about 15 to 20 kmph faster than the TVS. But then again, the way power is delivered from the engine to the wheels across the entire rev range matters. From the 0-60 figures and the top speed of 160 kmph (claimed by TVS), the RR 310 definitely seems to be doing this much better than the bigger displacement RC 390. At the low end, the RR will accelerate faster than an RC390. (Advantage RR on turns & twisty circuits) In a long straight stretch, the RR310 will top out eventually and allow the RC390 to overtake. (advantage RC on the straights)


    The RC 390 is meant to be track focused. And for a bike that is "focused" or in other words, tasked with "ONLY ONE JOB TO DO", the RC390 isn't really that much faster than a versatile RR310 that can keep up quite well with the RC on a race circuit. (This is my estimate.) Someone needs to do a circuit race and also a drag race as well when the production bikes are out. The RR will be very closely behind the RC IMHO.

    So people have more than just horse power on their minds. So what other value does the RR310 offer? Well, for starters:


    1. A far superior cooling system that makes the RR310 actually road worthy unlike the RC 390. The RC-390 has heating issues in moderate to heavy traffic, and does not use a vent fan (it solely relies on the wind blast from forward motion). So when the Motorcycle is stuck in traffic, it heats up. BMW and TVS have completely eliminated that issue from the RR-310 by putting a fan and a sensor inside the fairing so when the bike slows down, the fan kicks in to compensate - and the hot air is directed downwards onto the road.
    2. Better build quality than RC390. Better comfort.Yes, the RC 390 is faster than the rr310 (not by much, only by a tad bit mind you). But the RC isn't good for inner city roads at all. Not all people look for race track / highway only motorcycle. Versatility is very important.
    3. Some people have said that the RR310 does not have a slipper clutch - that's because it doesn't need one. The Gearbox uses a negative back-rack gears and is as smooth as butter according to every single reviewer that has touched this thing.


    The Verdict:
    RR 310:

    1. Costs 20K less
    2. Can do both the highway and the city (versatility)
    3. Offers better quality
    4. Better Comfort
    5. Has better low end acceleration


    RC 390:

    1. Has 9 more horses (measured at the crank), but that only translates to an additional speed of 10 KMPH
    2. Weighs 20 Kgs less



    I don't think people would lose sleep over the extra 5 or 10 KMPH top speed. TVS has played a commercial and technical masterstroke with this one. The days of RC390 are numbered in my honest opinion.
    Last edited by tirebuster; 1 Week Ago at 11:56 PM.

  5. #15
    Addicted jazzysaravana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu
    Posts
    134
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebuster View Post
    TVS has played a commercial and technical masterstroke with this one. The days of RC390 are numbered in my honest opinion.
    Superb Summary. The KTM's are raw, edgy, aggressive and wild. They always tend to put fuel on your hooligan side, even if you don't want to. They're a very good tool to hone your riding skills on the track, but back on Indian roads where 99% of it's time is spent, they have created this image of a dangerous bike on the minds of the general public. This is where they start to become a pain in the butt for many newbies after the initial honeymoon period gets over. Basically their not versatile for our highly demanding complex roads and traffic conditions.

    This is where like you highlighted nicely the VERSATILE nature of RR310 makes more sense for our roads. It will most certainly spoil the party RC390 had. And at the sweet price point it sits at right now, after the new Ninja 1000 and 650, this is easily THE MOTORCYCLE to buy.

    Cheers!

  6. #16
    Rusted Rahul.g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by tirebuster View Post
    I'm not sure if I can compare motorcycles. But I'll do it because this seems to a raging debate online these days.


    Here's my take on KTM RC390 Vs. TVS RR310

    I see people talking about RC 390 being better. There's 2 things I'd like to clarify here:


    1. The RR310's build quality is at par with BMW 310s and has absolutely nothing to do with past TVS products, except the "Apache" trademark. It is extremely ignorant to write this motorcycle off on the quality front by comparing it to even foreign-made motorcycles, let alone a lowly, humble rtr 200. And yes., when you compare this to a Duke/RC, the rr310 totally beats the KTMs on quality, fit and finish and does so by a big margin. I have seen both the motorcycles (RR310 and KTM) and the quality of materials, workmanship and parts are all far superior on the 310 RR. Every little seam, nut and crimp on the rr310 is extremely well finished, even minor details are well designed and there's been absolutely no cutting corners on any level. I went in to the showroom with mediocre expectations - and the thing that caught my eye immediately, more than the styling, was the quality. I remember thinking to myself "My God, this cannot be India-made".. it was as good as the best european motorcycles.
    2. To compare the price and Brake Horse Power (or PS) is a very shallow way to think of a motorcycle. So the argument goes that since the RR-310 is only 310cc, 34hp @2.45 Lacs on road, and the RC-390 is 375cc, 43hp @2.65 Lacs on road, the RC 390 offers a better value on a rupee-to-horsepower basis. No one disagrees with the numbers. The real purpose of horse power is to see how it translates to speed on these motorcycles, and on that front, the top end speed of the RC 390 is about 7 KMPH more than the Apache rr310. This is despite the fact that the RC's engine produces a massive 9hp more than the rr310 (as claimed by KTM). I think with a 9hp "advantage" the RC should go about 15 to 20 kmph faster than the TVS. But then again, the way power is delivered from the engine to the wheels across the entire rev range matters. From the 0-60 figures and the top speed of 160 kmph (claimed by TVS), the RR 310 definitely seems to be doing this much better than the bigger displacement RC 390. At the low end, the RR will accelerate faster than an RC390. (Advantage RR on turns & twisty circuits) In a long straight stretch, the RR310 will top out eventually and allow the RC390 to overtake. (advantage RC on the straights)


    The RC 390 is meant to be track focused. And for a bike that is "focused" or in other words, tasked with "ONLY ONE JOB TO DO", the RC390 isn't really that much faster than a versatile RR310 that can keep up quite well with the RC on a race circuit. (This is my estimate.) Someone needs to do a circuit race and also a drag race as well when the production bikes are out. The RR will be very closely behind the RC IMHO.

    So people have more than just horse power on their minds. So what other value does the RR310 offer? Well, for starters:


    1. A far superior cooling system that makes the RR310 actually road worthy unlike the RC 390. The RC-390 has heating issues in moderate to heavy traffic, and does not use a vent fan (it solely relies on the wind blast from forward motion). So when the Motorcycle is stuck in traffic, it heats up. BMW and TVS have completely eliminated that issue from the RR-310 by putting a fan and a sensor inside the fairing so when the bike slows down, the fan kicks in to compensate - and the hot air is directed downwards onto the road.
    2. Better build quality than RC390. Better comfort.Yes, the RC 390 is faster than the rr310 (not by much, only by a tad bit mind you). But the RC isn't good for inner city roads at all. Not all people look for race track / highway only motorcycle. Versatility is very important.
    3. Some people have said that the RR310 does not have a slipper clutch - that's because it doesn't need one. The Gearbox uses a negative back-rack gears and is as smooth as butter according to every single reviewer that has touched this thing.


    The Verdict:
    RR 310:

    1. Costs 20K less
    2. Can do both the highway and the city (versatility)
    3. Offers better quality
    4. Better Comfort
    5. Has better low end acceleration


    RC 390:

    1. Has 9 more horses (measured at the crank), but that only translates to an additional speed of 10 KMPH
    2. Weighs 20 Kgs less



    I don't think people would lose sleep over the extra 5 or 10 KMPH top speed. TVS has played a commercial and technical masterstroke with this one. The days of RC390 are numbered in my honest opinion.
    Ktms top out at 180 kmph(speedo indicated)
    Since there is no mention of "vbox tested" in claimed top speed of Apache, i'll consider it to be speedo indicated too
    Secondly ktm has a bigger motor and makes more torque too and is lighter also and is faster than rr310 by a good margin.
    Even the 34 ps of rr310 is measured at crank only, so at wheel the rr310 will also make less power just like the ktm.

    The rr310 is a wonderful bike and I myself would love to own one alongside my rc390
    Both have something to offer.
    But yes the rr310 is far more practical than a rc 390 anyday.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. ViaTerra FLY - Review
    By kaydee_bangalore in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-14-2015, 03:55 PM
  2. Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!
    By BloggingWheels in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 08:57 PM
  3. Long term ownership review of my Apache 150 after 2000 days and 80000 Kms
    By apacherenator in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 02:55 PM
  4. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-28-2009, 05:51 PM
  5. hot rod mag rd 350 review 1974.
    By koolsun216 in forum Thumpers,2-Stroke And Exotics
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-24-2008, 10:56 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •