Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Check engine oil level before every ride.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
Like Tree63Likes

Thread: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

  1. #21
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon10 Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    reminds me of toothless from the "how to train your dragon"

    Name:  toothless.jpg
Views: 752
Size:  28.7 KB




    2006 > 2014 >PUBLIC TRANSPORT - Singapore(DUH!)
    2005 > disco 125(for dad)
    2003 > Zma
    2003 > ambition (sold)
    1999 > Cd100ss(sold
    1997 > Dad's cd 100 (1990)(sold)



  2. #22
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Lucknow
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Hi guys. Recently joined xbhp.
    Looking forward to some help.

    So I am almost of the verge of buying the TVS 310, but my friends are saying its not good for city commutes. I will be using it mainly for city commutes and some weekend rides with friend. I test rode the bike in the city and did not find any issue. But have received feedback saying it may cause a backache or fatigue over a period of time, especially in traffic.

    Anyone who owns it and has used it in similar condition. Else I am been told to go for Duke 390 as its more comfortable for the city. But I like the way the TVS looks. But also need the bike to be practical, else I will keep regretting after a few months or so, if it turns out to be a pain to ride in the city.

  3. #23
    Addicted jazzysaravana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu
    Posts
    172
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by praths View Post
    Hi guys. Recently joined xbhp.
    Looking forward to some help.

    So I am almost of the verge of buying the TVS 310, but my friends are saying its not good for city commutes. I will be using it mainly for city commutes and some weekend rides with friend. I test rode the bike in the city and did not find any issue. But have received feedback saying it may cause a backache or fatigue over a period of time, especially in traffic.

    Anyone who owns it and has used it in similar condition. Else I am been told to go for Duke 390 as its more comfortable for the city. But I like the way the TVS looks. But also need the bike to be practical, else I will keep regretting after a few months or so, if it turns out to be a pain to ride in the city.
    If your above 6ft or have long legs you can straight away go with Duke 390, it gives good room for tall people due to the 830mm seat height.

    Talking about ergonomics,

    -Let me tell you even if the Duke 390 is naked street machine it still has a slightly forward/aggressive seating posture unlike many neutral naked motorcycles. Also it has a more ON the biking seating.

    -Apache 310RR though TVS advertises as a track racing machine, is more relaxed in ergonomics than RC390 and other supersports. It has a very similar handlebar position like Ninja 650 and R3. Relaxed and very slightly forward biased to aid easy wind deflection while cruising. Typical of the sports tourer genre.

    Now on practicality and everyday usability,

    -Going by the many online reviews coming lately it's clear that the RR310 is the most versatile in the ₹2-4lakh segment. It has linear power delivery, pliant almost supple suspension, good heat management/deflection for the rider, decent headlights for night riding and reasonable fuel economy above 30kmpl even while hard acceleration. So it seems to be practical more usable than it's rivals.

    -Having owned the 2012 Duke 200 and 2015 Duke 390, let me tell you the Dukes are happy ONLY when their on highways and late night city rides. If your stuck in heavy bumper to bumper traffic or wanna hustle them in moderate traffic, you will come to know their many irritating flaws which many will point out. They heat up a lot. I mean sometimes to unbearable limits. The radiator fan then switches on and it's LOUD. Enough to spoil the fun of the insane acceleration. And here is where you will learn once again that the Dukes love to be revved and are dissatisfied with anything less. They want you to always be above 6000 rpm. Hence the public always think you're a hooligan because even if you don't want to, the Duke will bring out the hooligan tendency very easily. I know it has been slightly dulled in the 2017 avatar. But this is inherent design philosophy which make a KTM. If it's not a hooligan it's not a KTM.

    Hope I cleared some confusion. So it's up to you to decide which genre of motorcycle your inclined towards.

    Cheers!

  4. #24
    Rookie zaf7ant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Kochi, Kochi, Kerala
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by praths View Post
    Hi guys. Recently joined xbhp.
    Looking forward to some help.

    So I am almost of the verge of buying the TVS 310, but my friends are saying its not good for city commutes. I will be using it mainly for city commutes and some weekend rides with friend. I test rode the bike in the city and did not find any issue. But have received feedback saying it may cause a backache or fatigue over a period of time, especially in traffic.

    Anyone who owns it and has used it in similar condition. Else I am been told to go for Duke 390 as its more comfortable for the city. But I like the way the TVS looks. But also need the bike to be practical, else I will keep regretting after a few months or so, if it turns out to be a pain to ride in the city.
    I've been using the 310 from the day I got it (JAN 25) for only in-city commutes in moderate to heavy traffic. I haven't had much of a problem yet with the comfort except when carrying a pillion ( can't seem to be able do it even for even short distances). The only thing I would like to point out though, from the comfort point of view, is that the clutch distance seems to be a bit too long (hopefully it can be rectified) and that does put a strain on the hand.
    " life is boring. its static, monotonous and depressing. At least up until i flip the switch and press the starter, that's when i go...OH BABY!"

  5. #25
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    India
    Posts
    385
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by zaf7ant View Post
    I've been using the 310 from the day I got it (JAN 25) for only in-city commutes in moderate to heavy traffic. I haven't had much of a problem yet with the comfort except when carrying a pillion ( can't seem to be able do it even for even short distances). The only thing I would like to point out though, from the comfort point of view, is that the clutch distance seems to be a bit too long (hopefully it can be rectified) and that does put a strain on the hand.
    Where's the ownership thread? Huh?

  6. #26
    Rookie zaf7ant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Kochi, Kochi, Kerala
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default The Shark Named Apache

    Do we really need an introduction with this one machine that has been on every enthusiast's mind since the 2016 Auto Expo, where TVS took their collaboration with BMW to the highest levels possible and revealed an instant hit, The Akula 310! The fierce design coupled with carbon fibre parts and a name that stands for one of the most aerodynamic predators on the planet made most people fall to their knees and pray for the rare release that stayed true to the concept. Did it stay true? I'll leave that answer to someone who has more experience and knowledge about the concept. For now I've locked my sights on an honest review of my 'lil shark'.

    Name:  IMG_4771.jpg
Views: 300
Size:  113.2 KB

    I didn’t pay much attention to the concept. I’d written it off as yet another that would never see production. The fact that it was an Indian Manufacturer seemed reason enough for me. Pfft I remember saying when my friend excitedly handed me his phone, trying to show me the ‘Akula’. Fast Forward to the end of 2017, I was all set to buy myself a motorcycle after a long gap from riding (used to have a 2014 CBR 250R ABS). I was willing to sacrifice my soul and plunge my young self into an everlasting loan debt for the Benelli 302R (Hey! Aim for the moon and rach the top of the coconut tree scene, I Guess). Lucky for me, the test drive unit was unavailable and I insisted on getting it only after knowing what I was in for. Lo and behold! The day I finally got the test drive is the day I heard TVS was going to launch the Akula (Same friend brought it to my attention) with an engine from BMW. Fast forward again to research, spy shots and the rest and there I was in office quietly watching the launch event live while I was supposed to be working. Ahem Ahem. At the end of the day I wanted one, I wanted the first one if I could, Test Drive or not. I lost out on the pole booking and the second by half an hour, but hey! 3 is still a podium finish right. Enough about the story lets get on with what you guys are really waiting for.

    Name:  APC_0234.jpg
Views: 298
Size:  102.7 KB

    While I’ve heard most people compare the looks of the 310 with the Panigale, I belong to the faction of people who believe it is derived from the 2006 Triumph Daytona. The bike is big, definitely doesn’t look like a 300cc at all. The design supposedly aerodynamically perfected in a wind tunnel is a head turner for sure. A tad bit too much of head turning if I may say so (I lied, I love every moment of it )

    Name:  APC_0231.jpg
Views: 290
Size:  108.1 KB

    The thing I like most about the 310 is its patented cooling tech/ fins. It keeps heat away from the body and legs even in bumper to bumper traffic. The radiator fan kicks in everytime you switch off the bike, its loud, but its normal according to the manual (I did read it cover to cover) so meh Let it be so.

    Name:  IMG_4777.jpg
Views: 289
Size:  111.5 KB

    The saddle is something I am reluctant to comment on. It felt very hard and uncomfortable on my long ride to a point where I couldn’t feel by backside anymore. My reluctance stems from the fact that I do not know whether the difficulty occurs because of the seat or because I am just not used to riding long distances. So for this point don’t rely on me, wait for someone who has more Kms to their name to comment on the seating comfort.

    Name:  IMG_4769.jpg
Views: 293
Size:  100.7 KB

    The manual says the suspension is set to 3, which is standard. To me the suspension feels very soft, i guess, I can definitely feel almost the slightest undulations on the road. This is tiring although definitely remediable.

    Name:  IMG_4779.jpg
Views: 289
Size:  120.6 KB

    The ABS brakes do inspire confidence to a certain degree although I did have a slight rear wheel lift situation thanks to an old guy on a scooter in front forcing me into hard braking. Sans the scooter man, I’ve yet to have an Oh! Shit moment where the brakes are concerned.

    Name:  IMG_4776.jpg
Views: 296
Size:  105.9 KB

    The lights are great to look at and do their job well. My high beams need a little adjusting which I’ll get done in the first service. The horn has an ample sound, it will help clear the path or even help you to turn those heads that are reluctant to turn just like that.

    Name:  IMG_4759.jpg
Views: 289
Size:  85.5 KB

    I’ve been using the 310 in city since I got it on Jan 25th. It’s just comfortable, not too much nor too little. The clutch distance seems to be a little too much, something else that’s to be rectified in the first service, which puts a heavy strain on the hand. The mileage (on display) is around 26-28 with the bike completely confined to the city.

    Name:  APC_0238.jpg
Views: 286
Size:  110.7 KB

    One huge negative according to me is pillion comfort, its virtually non-existent even for short distances. Brother, friend and fiancé, all three felt they didn’t want to pillion up after a short ride.

    Name:  IMG_4770.jpg
Views: 288
Size:  113.7 KB

    The instrument cluster is amazing and has tons of stuff I’ll probably never use. I don’t know about the accuracy levels but it does throw a lot of info at you. Learning the complete operation and use of the instrument unit is one more reason you should read the manual, although some of the functions are self-explanatory.

    Name:  IMG_4773.jpg
Views: 285
Size:  103.4 KB

    The bike accelerates like a shark that has prey in sights (Jaws anyone?). I’ve been over taking and accelerating left, right and centre with ease wherever necessary. This doesn’t come as a surprise with the 0-60 TVS promised us.

    Name:  IMG_4900.jpg
Views: 288
Size:  113.5 KB

    Coming to what kept this review pending for so many days, my ride to Athirapilly Waterfalls from Kochi. This is where the bike is in its element. The twisties. I’ve always had a thing for cornering and well on the 310 it’s effortless. The Michelins do their work well. I was zooming in and out of corners more ecstatic than confident. The mileage on I got on the trip was between 33-34, would’ve been higher if not for a stretch of really bad roads.

    Name:  IMG_4890.jpg
Views: 321
Size:  110.7 KB

    That’s it for now I guess, will update if anything else. Also for those of you considering getting the bike, book soon if you’re planning to get from Cochin, bookings have crossed 125. Also show black some love. (Read: Too many reds stop the heads from turning )
    Last edited by zaf7ant; 1 Week Ago at 01:14 AM. Reason: HD pictures
    " life is boring. its static, monotonous and depressing. At least up until i flip the switch and press the starter, that's when i go...OH BABY!"

  7. #27
    Addicted elangoas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    208
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: The Shark Named Apache

    Thanks for the lovely pics and key inputs..

    Quote Originally Posted by zaf7ant View Post
    The saddle is something I am reluctant to comment on. It felt very hard and uncomfortable on my long ride to a point where I couldn’t feel by backside anymore. My reluctance stems from the fact that I do not know whether the difficulty occurs because of the seat or because I am just not used to riding long distances. So for this point don’t rely on me, wait for someone who has more Kms to their name to comment on the seating comfort.
    Some more info could be helpful.. How many kms was the long ride?.. Also share some info on your height & weight..

  8. #28
    Rookie zaf7ant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Kochi, Kochi, Kerala
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: The Shark Named Apache

    Quote Originally Posted by elangoas View Post
    Thanks for the lovely pics and key inputs..



    Some more info could be helpful.. How many kms was the long ride?.. Also share some info on your height & weight..
    It was only around 160-170 kms in total. I’m 6’4” and around 120 kgs.
    elangoas likes this.
    " life is boring. its static, monotonous and depressing. At least up until i flip the switch and press the starter, that's when i go...OH BABY!"

  9. #29
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Apache RR 310 Review

    Nice Review Zaf7ant.

    a few questions -

    1) in the long ride, how was the wind blast reduction due to the windscreen? Is it virtually non -existent?
    2) how is the riding position? dedicated? balanced? did you feel pain in your back over long distances?
    3) I have been riding a RTR ABS for 3 years now, so it begs the question, how BAD or palpable are the vibrations? Most of my fun is lost in the vibrations that is an absolute numb-er.
    4) You SHOULD not have had a real wheel lift off. Trust me, I have been using ABS for ages now. Have braked from 60-0 in a very very short distance with 0 lift off. Get the ABS system checked and tuned in the first service.
    The White Rider #Shadowfax

  10. #30
    Addicted jazzysaravana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu
    Posts
    172
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: The Shark Named Apache

    Quote Originally Posted by zaf7ant View Post
    It was only around 160-170 kms in total. I’m 6’4” and around 120 kgs.
    Damn so that's why you felt the suspension was soft in the rear. Please increase the preload to the highest setting, or one below it. Otherwise you will bottom out the suspension with your riding weight. For now you can only adjust the preload and live with, until someone makes an aftermarket one.

    Cheers!
    zaf7ant likes this.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ViaTerra FLY - Review
    By kaydee_bangalore in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-14-2015, 03:55 PM
  2. Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!
    By BloggingWheels in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 08:57 PM
  3. Long term ownership review of my Apache 150 after 2000 days and 80000 Kms
    By apacherenator in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 02:55 PM
  4. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-28-2009, 05:51 PM
  5. hot rod mag rd 350 review 1974.
    By koolsun216 in forum Thumpers,2-Stroke And Exotics
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-24-2008, 10:56 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •