Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Castrol Power 1

Fatigue, sleepiness, & alcohol are the same.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 114
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: First Impression: Yamaha R15

  1. #1
    MG
    MG is offline
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pune, Maharashtra, India
    Posts
    6,894
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default First Impression: Yamaha R15

    First Impression in June 2008
    Text: Mg_biker
    Photos: Sunny




    I already had the first glimpse of R-1-5 back in the month of January during Auto Expo 2008.But I never had the opportunity that time to look into the smaller details of the bike. Its only after Ayush (One of the first customers of R-1-5 in Delhi) had given us the opportunity for a photo shoot that I came so close to the bike.

    Looks: I already had an initial impression of the bike as I had seen it sometimes back. My first reaction remained unchanged this time round also. When Yamaha had thought so much about the bike and this is the most important launch for them in years why they have compromised with the final looks?.The bike looks a bit disproportionate. Im not only talking about the rear but the complete bike as a package. The perfect lines which starts from the front seems to get lost somewhere in the middle. In an effort to keep a balance between Supersport and the normal Indian buyer they compromised with the overall looks. When the FZ is coming out in near future Yamaha should have gone all out with this product. That said the bike looks absolutely superb from front or when the bike approaches towards you.
    Switchgear quality is average and I would have loved to see better switchgear for a product which costs 1lakh.The rear view mirrors are pretty well built and are very useful. Light looks good but need to check their usability in night.

    The console is neatly done and looks imposing. The panel looks nice from a distance but a closer look at some of the points gives you the feeling that the job could have been better.

    Riding Position and Stance: I rode the bike for 5 minutes in a very bumpy surrounding. The riding position is sportier than a P220 and P200 but less sporty than Apache RTR. All concerns about tall riders facing problem can now rest as I found the seating perfect for me. For record Im 511.
    Power Delivery: I easily felt there is very little power at lower R.P.M which is like any other Supersport so no complaints on that front. But it will be interesting to see how the bike fares in stop-go traffic as most of the buyers will use the bike for daily commute.

    Right now I wont comment on any other important aspects of the bike and Im looking forward to have a proper test ride of the bike so as to have a complete idea about the bike.

    So did this bike set my pulse racing and and its worthy of saying WOW as Yamaha promised us on the R1 launch. I would say no and will give it a 3/5 for looks and first impression. I though always judges a bike through its performance so I would reserve my final verdict.And yes Im looking forward to FZ16.












































  2. #2
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gurgaon,NCR , India.
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The new colour candy red or what ever red it is.....it looks gud......
    Turbo Charged

  3. #3
    Rusted torque_ankur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    358
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The bike has everything Technology, looks, Performance though low end can be bit more.
    Also i would like to know from R15 owners about the quality of After sales Service provided by the Yamaha.
    You Make Your Choices, And You Don't Look Back

  4. #4
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Anand, Gujarat
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cool pics Sunnybhai!!

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indore
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Blazing Red Yamaha YZF R15 pics

    Hello everyone..specially xbhp welcome back..anyways check out this red yzf r15..its so cool..i am planning to buy it next mont so plz tell me which colour is the best one..because i am plannng to buy the red one..Thanks..!!

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indore
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Blazing Red Yamaha YZF R15 pics..more pics..!!

    Check out some more pics
    Last edited by MG; 09-23-2008 at 12:01 PM. Reason: Please avoid taking images from other sites.

  7. #7
    Addicted realredice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    bangalore...
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by harsh_h3 View Post
    Hello everyone..specially xbhp welcome back..anyways check out this red yzf r15..its so cool..i am planning to buy it next mont so plz tell me which colour is the best one..because i am plannng to buy the red one..Thanks..!!
    Colour is a matter of personal choice my friend... and its better to buy the one which you like because there's nothing called the "best one"...
    Forza Juve!

  8. #8
    Rusted harshaguduru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i second that while i feel the my black r15 is the best i have met many ppl who simply love the blue
    the red surprisingly has not received much appreciation probably beouse of the ugly matt black faring on it
    harsha

  9. #9
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indore
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @harshaguduru..even the black r15 has a matt finish..(side panels i.e fairing)

  10. #10
    Rookie BUSA@TEAM-BHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The images posted are awesome. Loved the way you have reviewed the R15 with emphasis on the looks.

    Read review of the R15 here Yamaha R15 Test Ride Review | Indian Cars & Bikes
    http://www.motorbeam.com/ - Love Cars & Bikes :)

Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. First Impression:TVS Apache RTR FI 160
    By MG in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 10-14-2011, 02:12 AM
  2. First Impression Ride Report: Hayabusa 2008
    By Sunny in forum Superbike And Imports
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 09:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •