Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always wear a helmet.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 108 123451151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 1078
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: KTM Duke 200 Review: xBhp's detailed ride report

  1. #1
    MotoGrapher Sunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, India, India
    Posts
    8,149
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default KTM Duke 200 Review: xBhp's detailed ride report

    The KTM Duke 200 is ridden and reviewed by xBhp. For complete details read on.


    Sunny, Sunny.
    Yes Officer.
    Scraping Your Knee?
    No Officer.
    Show me your knee.
    Ha, Ha, Ha.







    Please bow down for the First Duke of India


    Photos and Text: Sundeep Gajjar / motoGrapher.com and Gourab Das (MG)
    Some graphs: From Bajaj
    Click on the small thumbnails to see the bigger photo
    Honestly, how can you resist after seeing all the wonderful photos that you will below, with all the orange, and then connect it with the specs on paper and then connect the final two dots which say KTM and Bajaj. The former being one of the most respected performance motorcycle manufacturers in the world, and the latter having one of the best reputations to deliver what they promise in the Indian market.

    I have already got what a rider could want riding what could be the best two hundred CC motorcycle ever mass produced on this planet on a track, and being amongst the first to do it. I may add four stroke before the purists come out hollering. Both riding and shooting the bike was a sensory delight, something that you would be able to make out from this review, alright!

    What is KTM?



    Most of you here will know what KTM is it is the name of a manufacturer based in the Austrian town of Mattighofen, near Salzburg in Europe. Its official color is orange. KTM is an acronym for Kraftfahrzeuge Trunkenpolz Mattighofen. Kraftfahrzeuge means motor vehicles. Trunkenpolz comes from its founder Hans Trunkenpolz who founded it in the town of Mattighofen in 1934.

    It has had its share of ups and down, in 1992 it almost faced closure before leaping back and selling a record 80000+ motorcycles in 2005. Who would have thought Orange could be so good for wealth too!

    KTM is best known for its motocross racing pedigree. Only relatively recently did it start making road bikes like the Adventure 990 and the RC8 Superbike.

    Our own Bajaj has a stake of 39.26% in KTM and that began to show when the KTM 125 started production here in Pune six odd months ago. That was 125 CC and 15 Bhp, not bad.

    Both the 125 and 200 are produced at the Chakan plant here in Pune, India. The 125 is exported to Matighoffen where it is put through QA again and then re exported to other markets. Please go here to read about our visit to the KTM factory in Mattighofen. ( KTM Factory Visit : Austria - xBhp.com : The Global Indian Biking Community ).

    Racing Pedigree

    Is evident


    Racing achievements: 188 World Championship Titles
    Endurance 1:
    o Winner 2005, 2006, 2007
    Endurance 2:
    o Winner 2004 to 2009
    Endurance 3:
    o Winner 2004 to 2010

    MX 1:
    o 2010 Winner
    o 2009 2nd

    MX2
    o 2010 Winner
    o 2009 Winner and 2nd
    o 2008 - Winner and 2nd

    Dakar from 2001 to 2010



    The KTM 200 (or the Duke 200)

    But the real kicker came with the news of the KTM 200. Two hundred may not sound groundbreaking but like the old adage goes Winners Don't Do Different Things, They Do Things Differently this is the secret of our hero today the KTM 200. Yes, this is a winner, I wont wait till the end of my review to declare the obvious.

    Why the name Duke?

    As answered by Thomas Kuttruf, KTM Press Manager

    It was already end of 1993 in preparation of the first real KTM street sportbike. It was presented in Cologne in 1994, but there was no name! Project leader Wolfgang Felber wrote 20 different names on a paper and showed it to former Sales and Marketing Boss Mr. Calman Cseh. He ran with his finger down the list, stopped at DUKE and said: This one I like!. From those days the Duke became a key word for the thinking of a pure KTM street motorcycle - and it remains until today!

    So the street sportsbike range name has percolated from the marketing room to the 990, 690, 125 and now the Duke 200.

    Ok, so now lets peel off the orange slowly, shall we!

    READY TO RACE?




    Prologue

    I rode through to Slovenia from the open and single manned border post at the Austria-Slovenia border on the Adventure 990. A couple of hundred kilometres later I was standing inside the small town of Radenci. The home of Rok Bagoros, an upcoming stunter sponsored by KTM. The first time I had a look at the KTM 125, which he stunts on, I could not believe it was, well, a 125. Instantly I knew that this bike would be a hit in India, but only if it was just a tad more powerful and affordable

    (You can buy the single copy of the xBhp Magazine Aug-Sept 2011 Issue from mag.xBhp.com, this was a KTM special issue).

    Present

    I held my breath as I sat pillion, hunched under the weight of all the cameras on my back in the rucksack, over my Alpinestars jacket. This was no mean feat considering that none other than our very own flamboyant Gourab (MG) was maneuvering hard through the Pune traffic and inching closer to Chakan, the place where Bajaj would finally showcase us the KTM 200.

    Thanks, both to my luck and to Gourabs riding skills, we finally arrived at the destination without testing our riding gear.

    First Impression: The Looks of it

    Three bikes were shod with red cloth on a red carpet against a couple of big orange KTM boards. It was anybodys guess what was beneath them. Finally after years, not months, of speculation, hunting down KTMs on Pune highway and putting up with all kind of rumors, the time had come for the Indian bikers to swing there leg over for the First Duke of India.

    Soon enough, without any more drama, the covers were slid off the bikes and there they were three Duke 200s, orange, naked and handsome.
    The bike looks like a Greek god, conceived in Austria but born in India. Need say anything more?

    Curiously organic, resembling an insect crouched and ready for action. Place a headlight assembly like this on any other bike and it would look downright ugly, but here it was a piece of art mated with the right proportions with the rest of the bike. The wide tank also doubles up as a bikini fairing, the under-engine scoop which perfectly rejoins the visual line with the rear tail assembly. The wheelbase extends beyond the tail end of the bike, giving it a true street-fighter look. The white mono also attracts the eyes to where they should be exactly where the center of gravity is located. Just when your eyes travel to the rear monoshock, they notice something is amiss where is the exhaust? Look closely, its tucked away below the engine neatly. This is some serious mass centralization that, as we later experienced, would result in some fantastic corner carving. It is unprecedented to see such level of attention to detail in both function and form in such a small capacity bike targeted within such a price bracket and that too in India.

    The rear tyre hugger actually makes the bike look even better, and bigger!


    ^The tire hugger and the saree guard are integrated seamlessly


    The plastic, the switchgear, and the seat everything exudes quality and expensive about it.


    ^The 690 Duke, now thats greed


    ^the wide tank also doubles up as a bikini fairing


    ^your key to hooliganism


    ^The LED indicators


    ^Hydroformed handlebars : Better strength at clamping location


    ^What everyone else on the road will get to see of this bike


    ^and the alien looking front


    ^The backlit switches


    The one thing that I was intrigued about was the black color of the trellis frame, until someone told me that the orange trellis frame comes in R bikes only, something that I didnt buy into though! However have a look below to see how an orange trellis frame would look on the K200, I think it will look better! This is one thing to be done aftermarket on the bike.


    ^Wish the standard Duke 200 came with the orange trellis frame as well!

    Taking about aftermarket stuff, KTM (I would stop using Bajaj now) would provide the Indian buyer with a series of original KTM branded accessories to personalize their Dukes, here is a list of a few below:

    KTM Merchandise India




    ***Prices tentative, may change later

    Power Parts:
    Sticker Kit: Rs. 4500 5500
    Tank Cap : Rs. 1500 -2000
    Tank Pad: Rs. 1500-2000
    Seat Cowl: Rs. 10,000 11,000
    Alarm System: Rs. 18,000
    Illumination set: Rs. 7000-8000
    Sprocket: Rs. 3500-4500
    Chain: Rs. 6000-7000
    Handle Guard: Rs. 4000-5000

    Power Wear:
    Orange Tee: Rs. 1500-2000
    Black Tee: Rs. 1500-2000
    Vented Jacket: Rs. 14,000 15,000
    R Boots: Rs. 20,000 -22,0000



    ^aftermarket sprockets


    ^number plate holder


    ^seat cowl


    ^headlight mask

    For me one of the best accessories was the stick on tank LED array that was just fantastic and inconspicuously tucked away in the fine recesses of the tank. The LEDs were quite bright and visible in the day as well

    And here is a photo of the tricked out KTM:


    ^The stunning aftermarket tank LED array (KTM original)

    The Tricked out KTM 200

    ^The WP suspension


    ^the tank cap sticker


    ^the LED array, a different look


    ^the tank pad


    ^Objects in the rear view mirror....


    ^to avoid that unwelcomed pillion




    There is no doubt that its visual cues are borrowed from the big Duke 990, making that connection with fun and speed even more immediate.


    ^The 990 connection

    The saree guard that comes stock with the bike is also integrated well, but obviously the first thing that you will do is to take it off, which is also very easy to do and just a two screw job. Sigh for our archaic laws.

    The mirrors were also quite functional, at least on the track I did not detect any considerable vibrations.


    The Console

    A beautiful console complimenting the bikes aggressive and futuristic styling, everything is digital in this and it reads like a computer.


    Multifunction (MFD) cockpit
    :
    Digital Speedo/Odo/Gear indicator
    Two Trip meters with additional F mode.
    Dot matrix messages
    o Ready to race.
    o Side Stand on.
    o Low fuel level.
    o Distance to service.
    o Distance to empty.
    o Average speed during trip.
    o Average fuel consumption.
    o Shift RPM alarm for driver.
    Light dependent console display.
    Digital watch.
    Indicator display
    o Eng Temp.
    o Fuel Level.
    o Tachometer.
    o Turn signal.
    o MIL.
    o Neutral & High Beam.



    ^The console startup...




    ^I am not sure what the hour glass is showing but perhaps thats the trip time which can be reset.rubber on the edges to play around with.







    ^I think you can set at what RPM does the rev limiter light comes too


    ^Distance to service is also shown (not sure what the figure means though)



    ^Average Fuel consumption



    ^Average speed


    This is one bike that gets a thumbs up from me in the looks department straight away! But just one more thing it would have been great if it had projector lamps instead of the reflectors ala Duke 690. I guess that would be in the K200 V2.0!



    Style: 5/5





    For: The insane street-fighter styling and world class finishing quality

    Against: The rear is 150, but the narrow alloys dont take advantage of that, visually that is. In the performance department it helps as you have more rubber on the edges to play around with. The trellis could have been orange.


    Performance and Handling




    ^That says it all!

    On Paper

    What can you expect from a bike whose power to weight ratio is 184 PS/Ton?

    Another cue for you to try and gauge its performance from your chair is its kerb weight 136 Kg. This means that with 10.5 litres of fuel in it (which is its tank capacity) and the engine oil (which should be around 1.5 litres) and the coolant it weighs this, which is astounding considering that the Honda CBR 250R is 161 Kgs (non ABS) with the same power output of 25 Bhp!

    You can now but imagine how the Duke takes off. The first gear is relatively taller (upto 40kmph) than the higher gears.

    Ergonomics and Comfort




    Left Profile:



    Once you sit on the Duke you realize how aggressive and yet comfortable it is. The view in front of you is wide and clear, no obstructions, no windscreens. The tube type handlebar was perfect, with all the controls being at hand without much thumb shifting. The controls are backlit (as with the Pulsars), and that certainly add a lot of techno-charm to it.

    The Pillion seat looks small but surprisingly accommodated me sitting behind Gourab with all my camera gear at speeds over 100kmph. The split grab rails helped.

    Speed




    With the top speed of 138 kmph on the speedo (crouching), no luggage, you will hardly need a windscreen. I suspect the bike can do a little more at the top, but to improve reliability it has been geared as such. The rev limiter even kicks-in while even in the top gear sometimes, which is a little unsettling. The rev limiter kicks in around the 10000 rpm, you can feel the bike wants to rev more though. This again has to be related to its reliability concerns than anything else.

    The gear box is smooth and the gear shifts precise, although I experienced some niggles finding the neutral, but that must be a rough test usage issue here.

    I could literally feel the bike would do a power wheelie very easily in the first, but given the instructions from Bajaj, I didnt try it. The lightness of the bike really shines when you drag it from a stop, which should make red light GPs fun. You sometimes will feel you are riding a more powerful bike than it really is, but sometimes, especially going by the looks of the bike, people may be disappointed it is just 200CC.

    The big console gave a good reading of the rapidly climbing numbers as I approached 100 quickly. From 100 to 120 it was pretty effortless, but beyond that the bike took a while to reach 130. And the console got stuck 138 kmph.



    Max speeds in each gear

    (as noticed while testing - all approx)

    1st gear - 40km/h
    2nd gear-60km/h
    3rd gear-80km/h
    4th gear-100km/h
    5th gear-116km/h
    6th gear-136km/h

    All the above figures are at 10000rpm where it hits the red line

    100km in 6th gear @ 7000rpm

    Roll on figures (approximate):

    0-60km/hr (in sec)
    KTM200 3.33
    CBR250 3.67
    R15 5.41

    0-100km/hr (in sec)
    KTM200 9.21
    CBR250 10.09
    R15 14.14

    Roll on 30-70km/hr (in sec)

    5th gear 6th gear
    KTM 200 7.66 9.76
    CBR250 10.20 12.94
    R15 13.20 15.60

    Here are all the top speed figures by different publications take your pick.We tested the KTM 200 top end at 138 Kmph speedo indicated.

    R15 V1
    ACI0-60 5.020-100 14.14Top Speed 124
    Zigwheels0-60 4.50-100 *Top Speed 130
    BI0-60 5.120-100 14.17Top Speed 130
    OD0-60 4.90-100 13.2Top Speed 124.5
    ZMR
    BI0-60 4.70-100 13.8Top Speed 127
    OD0-60 4.50-100 14.05Top Speed 124.6
    ACI0-60 4.560-100 13.63Top Speed 126
    P220 DTSi
    BI0-60 4.70-100 13.1Top Speed 132.5
    OD0-60 40-100 11.1Top Speed 133.3
    ACI0-60 3.770-100 12.15Top Speed 133
    I am yet to gather info for CBR250R.

    Handling and Braking


    One place where it really shone was the corners. This was my first time at the Chakan track and only my third time ever on any track and I got my knee down in my fourth attempt. The only other bike, which had inspired so much confidence in me, was the Ninja 250. Again this bike will surprise you, street-fighters are not usually meant for the track, but this one had no qualms about dispelling that myth. The MRF REVZ-C tyres served it well.


    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Braking was very good. But not good enough. I say this because it intrigues me why there is no ABS option? Just over here the CBR250 might score a little over this bike, but not enough to outshine it. If you are a good rider then you will rarely need ABS, but when the bike is loaded with so much it could have been as well be there. Hopefully in the next version. The K200 is equipped with front and rear discs powered by BYBRE, a sister brand of the bigger BREMBO for smaller and more economical bikes.


    The bike that we got stalled a couple of times while taking a u-turn. This could be an issue with the way it was being treated by all of us at the track non stop rather than anything else though.





    The Game

    To see how nimble and flickable the bike really was, I took inspiration for the Ducati Panigale video and planned a few knee knockdowns myself.

    Here is the setup:






    And here is the first victim:



    and the second...




    Fuel?

    The compression ratio of the Duke 200 is 11.3:1. Now whether that means it will not behave itself when fed with anything less than 95 octane remains to be seen. That is something we need to find out on a long ride. In comparison the compression ratios of some popular bikes are:


    Ninja 250R: 11.6

    KTM 200 : 11.3

    CBR 250R: 10.7

    Yamaha R15: 10.4

    Pulsar 220: 9.5

    ZMR: 9

    Going by the above it seems that the KTM200 should have no problems in running on any standard Unleaded fuel if required. However we would recommend at least brands like xTra Premium and Speed that fall within 91 - 93 octane.

    The European spec KTM 200 has 95 Octane recommendations, but for India they apparently did some fuel mapping changes, and that was a wise move considering the vast expanse of our nation and their dubious quality controls over fuel (amongst other things).


    [IMG][/IMG]

    ^Thats not the fuel cap, its the coolant cap, right besides the tank!


    PLEASE NOTE: We forgot to add this initially but all the graphs and figures you see below are taken from Bajaj presentations given at the preview. They were redrawn partly from rough sketches and partly from memory. Hence there could be some errors, so please do not eat us up for that,w eare going our best! We would urge people to post more reliable info on figures from a reliable publication here and we will update the figures accordingly.

    Specific Power Output Comparision



    Roll On (Passing Acceleration)



    The KTM 200 vs CBR250R Acceleration Index




    0 to 60 kmph figures



    0 to 100 kmph






    Performance: 4.5/5

    For: Stupendous acceleration and control.
    Against: No ABS?




    Tyres



    MRF ReVZ-C




    Front



    Rear




    For who is this bike suitable for?

    If this is your first motorcycle?

    Yes, if you have the money. Most learner legal motorcycles in the west have a 33 bhp limit and this is lower than that. However, when I say your first motorcycle I dont mean your first two wheeler. This bike is so light and forgiving on the wallet (if it falls) that learning on it and then making it your primary bike for the next many years would be easy than buying a new bike altogether after learning on something else. But its bigger dimensions will get you acquainted with bigger capacity bikes that you might own in the years to come.

    If I am a student or in college?

    Is that even a question? If this bike was available when I was your age and I had the money I would not think twice before buying it. But I would definitely think if I had bullies in my college

    If I am over 40 and have a farm house and a big bike and am well settled?

    This must be change for you then, the monetary kind. On a serious note, as a second bike which you can take to any terrain across the country while looking good and going fairly fast, this one fits the bill. And you will not find it a problem sharing with your counterparts in the west that you ride a small KTM, and not a desi sounding something

    Just make sure you are not too fat though.


    If I like to tour a lot, and abuse my bikes?



    I am not sure on how you abuse your bikes, but I hope its not the gross type. On a serious note I feel that the bike can be an amazing tourer, its light and fast and so much fun around corners. PLUS the ground clearance is a massive 165mm, 15m more than the Karizma! Getting Lehd on this would never be the same.


    If I am a narcissist?

    Then you should not get this one. It will make you look outdated, unless you are a Transformer or a Robocop.


    If I am a cop?

    Definitely Not. Its engine shuts down as soon as it detects a cop is sitting on it.

    A Thug?

    If you are in India, even a CD100 would do, but if you plan to make a getaway on the autobahn then perhaps the SuperDuke 990 would be better.


    If I was going to buy a CBR250 or a Ninja 250 or any bike around the 1 lakh mark?

    Look, I dont want to spoil my relations with other manufacturers here, you knowSo take the hint pls!


    Last Word


    I will be what you want me to be.

    URBAN WARRIOR:



    a BIG YES! This is the ultimate street-fighter availaible today (dont take it literally, the other motorcycle from a red (and my favourite) brand using this very name is worth more than 12 times the Duke 200!). This is a motorcycle that I would like to go to my office on in traffic! The only other bike that was as fun as this is my Ninja 250 with the Two Brothers exhaust! Nothing will feel better than demolishing the traffic with a bike as light and nimble as this. Bring it on Delhi rush hour, show what you got! Show me! Ha hahahaha!

    TRACK JUNKIE



    Above you can see a track novice scraping his knee and annihilating small objects on kept on the track with precision. So you know what this bike can do on the track. Plus its got minimal stuff to break and no fairings and plastics to be taken off before your track day. BRING IT ON!

    TOURER

    25bhp, 135 kgs. I dont think any bike can compare this in India. And definitely not the heavy and bulky ones like CBR 250, or the underpowered ones like . Believe me, I pulled the bike up from an angle so close to the ground where other motorcycles would have refused to budge. Lightness! Supppper Legerra this is how an Italian who rides a KTM 200 would exclaim! Shod it with sport panniers and a tank bag and you can ride the world.
    The only issue might be its small tank capacity of 10.5 litres which with an average of 30kmpl, will give you a striking distance of 300 kms, which is not that bad


    STUNTER

    See Rok Bagoros on a KTM 125 and there will be no doubts on the capabilities of the insanely hooliganistic nature of the 200. It will be for sure the kind of stunt bikes in India. A problem for its sister here in Bajaj (Pulsar you hiding somewhere, eh?)


    ^Mass centralization, good for balance and stunting!

    The World is getting younger, and the power is shifting to Asia . This bike is proof of that. The bike is built for youngsters and also the veteran population who want a second bike. The bike is built for the super economies of the future that have immense disposable income distributed in its middle classes.

    The bike is for the future super-biker who wants a bike which looks good and goes TODAY without breaking the bank.

    The future is orange and the other companies like Ducati and BMW have no option but to get into this game if they have to earn big money.

    Perhaps soon we shall see a Ducati Monster 250 and a BMW S250R, soon!

    Now how do I book an appointment with you Mr.Duke?



    Epilogue

    Its 4 AM. The first sun rays are already reflecting off dew settled over the Duke parked outside the tent nestled somewhere in the Himalayas. From here to our final destination for today are thousands of turns, but I dont care, I have the perfect machine to seduce them into loving the Duke as it caresses them effortlessly. This is it. I have been empowered.


    PRICE?

    We dont know, but it would be max 1.5 lacs on road.


    LAUNCH AND BOOKING DATE

    We guess it to be on 3rd January 2012.


    KTM 200 : Summarized

    200 CC . 25 Bhp . 19Nm . 136 KG (Wet)

    Pros

    • Naked styling matching the bigger KTM dukes
    • Stupendous Power to Weight Ratio
    • Lovely Console
    • Made in India



    Cons

    • No ABS
    • Rear end does not look meaty enough from some angles
    • The sound of the bike is on the timid side
    • The bike that we tested seemed to cut off too soon
    • No orange trellis frame
    • Top end might not meet the expectations of many people because it is easy to forget it is 'just' 200 CC after all
    • The tank capacity might be a tad small at 10.5 Litres
    • The rear seat might prove to be a tad small for a pillion on long rides, but we havent tested that


    In the end a lot will depend on the cost which will be announced in January.


    KTM 200 Duke Specifications

    The Standard Crap

    No. of Cylinders 1
    Cubic Capacity 199.50
    Bore x Stroke (mm) 72 x 49
    Compression Ratio 11.3:1
    Valve and Cooling DOHC 4V, Liquid Cooled, Fuel Injection
    Power (Bhp/RPM) 25 Ps @ 10000rpm
    Torque (Nm/RPM) 19 Nm @ 8000 rpm
    Transmission 6 Speed, claw shifted
    Cooling System Liquid
    Front Tyre Size 110/70 x 17
    Rear Tyre Size 150/60 x 17
    Wheelbase (mm) 1367
    Front Brake 280 mm disc
    Rear Brake 230 mm disc
    Fuel Capacity (liters) 10.5
    Seat Height (mm) 810
    Kerb Weight (kg) 136
    Front suspension USD, Telescopic fork, 43mm dia
    Rear Suspension Monoshock
    Front fork travel (mm)140mm
    Real wheel travel(mm)150mm
    Headlamp 12V 60/55W H4
    Battery 12V 8AH VRLA


    Vehicle Features:


    Trellis Frame.
    o Shortest possible connection of swing arm pivot to steering head.
    o Well triangulated structure giving high rigidity.

    Aluminum swing arm.
    Upside down fork.
    Rear Mono-shock.
    Wide and radial tires.
    Front radial and rear floating caliper brakes.

    Cute looking all LED blinkers.
    KTMs trademark orange color.
    Superbly finished AL die cast swing arm.
    Solid muscular chassis tubes on display.
    Backlit control switches.
    5 spoke & shaped wheels.
    AL cast rider and pillion footsteps.
    Headlamp roll ON during rolling downgrade: This means there is a vertical compensation for the angle created on an incline or decline, something like the adaptive headlight in the K1600, but way less advanced than that since the one on the KTM will not compensate for the lean.
    Zero maintenance 8 AH VRLA battery.
    Hydroformed handlebars : Better strength at clamping location.
    Finger rockers with hard carbon coating to reduce friction.
    Radial mounted front brake caliper.
    One piece forged crankshaft.

    Aluminum Swing Arm
    The light alloy swingarm with directly linked WP shock absorber excels with extreme cornering stiffness and outstanding tracking stability.
    Aluminum swingarm excels in high strength to weight ratio with low unsprung mass.
    Shape and sections designed to maximize strength and reduce deflections under loads.

    Suspension

    Flex resistant and high rigidity upside down forks with WP technology ensure stable and precise performance under extreme handling.
    Larger section module near the clamping with frame for better rigidity.
    Increased inner tube guide length improves rigidity
    About WP: WP means White Power. For more then 30 years now, ever since it was founded in Netherlands (but now that facility is closed) WP Suspension is developing advanced suspension products to satisfy the high demands of motorcyclists, world wide. Various motorcycle manufacturers, such as BMW, Husaberg and KTM use WP Suspension products in the production of their motorcycles. In 1999 it was taken over 100% by KTM. Today it produces OEMS and aftermarkets for BMW as well as KTM at the Munderfing facility in Europe.

    This what I attained after riding the K200 on the track..



    And thats me below..



    thanks to Dream Sporting Gear for providing us with all the awesome riding gear that you see in this photoshoot!
    Last edited by The Monk; 09-23-2013 at 08:25 PM.
    CTCT, jfazer, Pratik91 and 5 others like this.
    Join xBhp On


  2. #2
    MG
    MG is offline
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pune, Maharashtra, India
    Posts
    6,894
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default My first impression

    The Hooligan is here!



    KTM designs are always distinct and this one is no different. One look at the bike and you know that this bike has the best fit and finish that Indian market had even seen. R15 V2 is the only product which comes close to it. The bike has a very mechanical look and it’s criminal not to notice and appreciate it. Couple of months back when I saw the smaller avatar I jokingly said that this will be the only Indian bike where you can appreciate the mechanical elements more than the body panels. USD forks, trellis frame, aluminium swingarm, monoshock, 5 spoke Y shaped alloys, underbelly exhaust are all very tastefully done. Even the rear mud flap is nicely done with the KTM name engraved in it. Not to undermine the bodywork, the tank and the rest of body panels are very neatly done with high quality plastics being used everywhere. It has that radical KTM lines written all over it. The aftermarket bodykit which will be made available will make it even more appealing.

    There are bikes which we buy just to fulfill our need by making certain compromises on the styling front and then there are bikes where the desire quotient is so high that you want to go and buy it the next day. KTM falls in the second category. Unless you have a fascination for full fairing or you are a complete cruiser guy there is no reason why you should not like this bike. The only negative that I can find is that the vehicle would have definitely looked sportier if the trellis were painted orange.

    The Best Street bike ever?

    Still early days but going by the first ride I have a strong feeling that it will be the new king of road. The riding position is spot on true to a street rider, i.e neither too relaxed nor too forward biased. There is ample power and torque as soon you engage the first gear which goes all the way till 130 after which it takes little time to hit the top whack. The bike is a treat to ride and there is a lot of punch in all the gears. With the street riding position I was not very sure about its handling prowess around the corners but that inhibition went away as soon I took the first corner. The light weight and the centralized CG makes it ultra flickable. There was an occasion when Sunny was sitting behind as pillion and we were discussing something while we entered the trickiest corner of the whole circuit and this we realized after we finished the corner at speeds over 60km/h. Even after all this madness the bike is easily rideable in 6th gear from speeds as low as 30km/hr

    This bike will make you go wild, slide around, tearing across an open road, inspire some law breaking, or make you feel like law breaking is in your near future (No I’m not asking anyone to do so).The bike make me remember the famous game Road Rash which I played couple of years back. Even with a 200cc heart it is true to its core i.e Ready to Race!

    This bike can surely do much more than being a street hooligan. From whatever riding feel I got I have strong feeling that it can be a good tourer and excel in off-road conditions with just change of tyres.

    It took three long years for the first KTM to land our shores but this is definitely the best product to start the KTM innings in India.

    For the wholesome ride report wait for the full test ride review from xBhp in the next couple of months.


    Information that will be displayed on the Digital Speedo

    a. Digital Speedo/ Odo/ Gear Indicator
    b. Two trip meter with additional F meter
    c. Dot matrix messages
    • Ready to race
    • Side stand on
    • Low fuel level
    • Distance to service
    • Distance to empty
    • Average speed during trip
    • Average fuel consumption
    • Shift alarm driver for driver
    d. Light dependant console display
    e. Digital watch
    f. Indicator display
    • Eng Temp
    • Fuel level
    • Tachometer
    • Turn signal
    • MIL
    • Neutral & Hi beam
    Last edited by MG; 12-07-2011 at 11:45 PM.
    Shaswat Saxena likes this.
    Join xBhp On



    My photography page: Gourab Das Photography

  3. #3
    Rusted payeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,231
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wow..!!


    Now that's what i call a Review..!! Awesome stuff..!!



  4. #4
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Ahmedabad
    Posts
    517
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Finally its here and I'm loving it, will read the review now

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Siliguri
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Awesome

  6. #6
    Moderator antz.bin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Nasik / Pune
    Posts
    5,292
    Blog Entries
    4
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I did catch you guys in the act

    Seems to be a really detailed one...

    Nice work guys
    Advice is a form of nostalgia.
    Dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it's worth.

    Antz Travelz!! | South India Exploration Ride | Leh Triplog (Work in progress)

  7. #7
    Addicted chris_terror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    The twin sister of kolkata, Howrah
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    The three most important words





    I'll get it.....
    PLAYTIMES' OVER KID

  8. #8
    Rusted Shubz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    BSK BLR
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Too good Too good! Particularly the reference made to the 40's crowd! Waiting for the bookings to open! yay!!!

  9. #9
    Rusted Berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    pollachi, tamilnadu
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    good review and awesome photos........
    and 690 and 990 were cool...
    Nothing is impossible, the word itself says 'i'm possible'! -Audrey Hepburn

  10. #10
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Brilliant review. Loved it..

Page 1 of 108 123451151101 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Yamaha R15 V 2.0 Reviewed: xBhp's Ride Report
    By sunilg in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 105
    Last Post: 09-18-2015, 04:44 PM
  2. Replies: 234
    Last Post: 02-27-2014, 03:18 AM
  3. Replies: 770
    Last Post: 10-22-2012, 11:10 AM
  4. Replies: 686
    Last Post: 12-07-2011, 11:23 PM
  5. Ride Report of 1st Jan 2009
    By johnblr in forum xBhp Offline Meets(G2G's)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 11:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •