Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Avoid staying around those big vehicles.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Race Concepts ECU - Yamaha R15 - Review and updates

  1. #1
    Rusted Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Race Concepts ECU - Yamaha R15 - Review and updates

    The Race Concepts/Race Dynamics - PowerTRONIC - Yamaha R15 ECU, developed in partnership with Race Dynamics India (P) Ltd, is now finally on series production.
    The first batch of ECUs have already been sold to a few fellow members and all are extremely happy with the performance and also the fuel efficiency.

    The ECU was discussed earlier in this thread - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/pit-stop...mance-ecu.html but created this thread to let owners discuss and review the performance.
    I will also be posting the performance and fuel efficiency figures with various engine combinations, in order to benefit new prospects.

    The ECU has been tested for over 5000kms in street/touring and additionally in the race track, helping us clock the fastest laptime in the Group D - Stock class racing, during the MRF International challenge.

    The ECU has undergone rigorous testing in terms of reliability, stability and other factors. Our fellow member, Meghan Naik (Kwokfist) has contributed to the development and its doing duty for a long time now, in his bigbore - stage 3 modified R15. Performing, yet delivering class leading fuel efficiency. Meghan will post the figures himself on this thread.

    The ECU on a bone-stock R15 has shown tremendous improvement in acceleration, rideability and overall performance.

    Performance
    0-100 kph - around 13.6 secs - stock
    0-100 kph - 12.4 secs - Race Concepts ECU (with a 75kilo rider)

    Attached is an on-board video of an R15 with the Race Concepts ECU.


    We have also noticed a gain of around 5% in fuel efficiency, apart from the performance gains. Which benefits tourers and regular street riders in a great way. Rideability and throttle response is much better than stock, making the stock R15 more responsive even in the lower rpms.

    The ECU is being manufactured by our technical partners - Race Dynamics. All the ECUs are mapped, sold, serviced and supported by Race Concepts only. We will provide a helpline number to offer phone based assistance and all the ECUs will be tracked with its unique identification number.

    Race Concepts is associated with Ten10 Racing and Apex Racing India, for the 2011 racing calender, for the FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship. All the bikes will be running the very same module for the season.

    Features of the ECU.
    *12000rpm rev limit for stock engine
    *Shift light for optimal shifts
    *Re-programmable module
    *Closed loop idle system to ensure smooth start and idle
    *Self diagnosing
    *Plug and play into the standard wiring harness
    *Auto choke enabled

    All enquiries for the ECU may be sent to joel@raceconcepts.in

    Existing and upcoming owners may please post up your reviews on this thread to provide constructive feedback.

    Joel
    Race Concepts
    Last edited by Joel; 05-25-2011 at 07:02 PM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    joel@raceconcepts.in

  2. #2
    Super Moderator sunilg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ghaziabad
    Posts
    8,243
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    topic approved.
    (Been There Done That) x 3.25

  3. #3
    Rusted Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The first lot of series production is now ready.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    joel@raceconcepts.in

  4. #4
    Rusted Parth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    760
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel View Post
    We have also noticed a gain of around 5% in fuel efficiency, apart from the performance gains. Which benefits tourers and regular street riders in a great way.
    Joel
    Race Concepts
    I"m confused, I thought that the 5% gain was due to the big bore, and this thread clearly says "Race Concepts ECU - Reviews and updates". So why are the merits of big bore being mentioned of here?

    Or would this thread serve as a review station of ALL your Yamaha R15 goodies?
    A good long ride can clear your mind, restore your faith, and use up a lot of fuel.

  5. #5
    Rusted Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Parth View Post
    I"m confused, I thought that the 5% gain was due to the big bore, and this thread clearly says "Race Concepts ECU - Reviews and updates". So why are the merits of big bore being mentioned of here?

    Or would this thread serve as a review station of ALL your Yamaha R15 goodies?
    the bigbore gives nearly 15% bump in power and nearly 10% bump in FE. This 5% is only with the ECU and nothing else is related here. Other topics will be discussed in seperate threads. This is dedicated only to the ECU.
    Nothing of the Bigbore is discussed here!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    joel@raceconcepts.in

  6. #6
    Rusted KwokFist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    KA19
    Posts
    822
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Race Concepts - ECU Review

    After lot of PMs and coaxing here's a detailed review of the ECU for everyone.

    Joel has infact hit the nail on its head. It performs and does what it is claimed to do. I can't give percentage increase in power but it makes the real 'big difference' on my bike's setup. There is no Magic but simply WYSIWYG. RaceConcept ECU allows you to tweak all engine parameters required to improve engine performance.

    Low-Midrange Performance

    Low-end and midrange performance is far better with this ECU. Fueling is the key to performance on the bike and ECU delivers exactly that. Stock ECU makes the bike feel very sluggish and gets it moving once the cam wakes up as I hit the powerband from 6000rpm but with the RaceConcepts ECU bike builds power very low in the RPM range (read idle rpm) and builds up rpms very fast and gets its screaming after all the way to my current rev-limit of 11800 RPM. Bike revs up super quick and the performance has been consistent on every ride. Feels like a little 2stroker and it powerwheelies all the way to revlimiter with a pillion/single rider on a speedbreaker whenever you go WOT in first gear.

    Top Whack

    I've managed a decent top speed of 155-156kph (speedo) couple of times. My setup is built for purely for touring with focus on low-end and midrange and wasn't designed to break any top speed barriers but bike still pushes towards the 150kph mark easier than before. ECU has made it possible to cruise sitting upright at over 130-135kph with ease hitting 140+ sometimes with some tail wind.

    Fuel Efficiency

    Fuel Efficiency is averaging at around 35kmpl+ mark with my current map but I go WOT on every ride everyday so this is still a good figure but I've seen much better results when I've been easier on the bike. Stock ECU runs the bike extremely lean which technically improves the FE but results in a loss of power. Fueling is smooth all the way from idle rpm. End of the day it's built to improve performance and not fuel efficiency but it still delivers!

    Reliability

    9000 kms done on this bigbore setup and in that 4000 with the ECU in 5 months the setup still remains partly developed and its still not purpose built. But I intend to get there later this year. Still running stock clutch and most engine internals including valve train is stock. Performance has been consistent throughout.

    Battery

    The battery consumption is slightly higher than stock ECU so to compensate for the additonal load on the battery from my twin HID setup I've upgraded battery to a 5AH Amaron. It seems to be working well with the ECU and on a recent trip back from Bangalore at night I was able to use the HIDs for a longer duration without the malfunction light coming on at anytime, which was the case with Stock ECU also.

    Credits @Joel

    Thanks for the ECU. Your custom mapping of the ECU as per my requirements has made it a joy to ride the bike every time. Puts a huge smile on my face=

    Joel knows his tuning very well and listens to my inputs. He's an expert at mapping ECUs now. His tuning kit covers all areas of engine management and he is able to tweak all parameters required to push the performance on your R15. The ECU compensates for varying altitudes and the performance is consistent everywhere, everytime!

    @Joel: Thanks for letting me in on the ECU while taking it through the development stages. Will be back in bangalore later this year to further tweak my bike's setup and mapping and take it for a short ride.

    Budget Performance is VFM?
    Hell Yeah!

    Reaction
    A ride on the bike tells it all. People seem to change their minds quite quickly about the bigbore setup with a single ride on the bike. But a little more faith in Joel's work should do more good for everyone interested in souping up their R15s. After all there aren't options which work consistently, are there? IMHO

    P.S. All speeds mentioned are from the Speedo.

    Not bad for a 165cc setup eh?...So What next?...
    Last edited by KwokFist; 04-29-2011 at 05:00 AM. Reason: typo errors
    --------------------------------
    Own:
    2009 Yamaha YZF-R15
    2009 Ford Fiesta 1.6S

    --------------------------------
    Fuel Your Motoring Passion!

  7. #7
    Rusted Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks or the input Meghan. Once you come here, we'll do some more testing. I hope we can do the V-box if possible, maybe!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    joel@raceconcepts.in

  8. #8
    Rusted RanjithMN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Cochin/Riyadh,KSA
    Posts
    2,957
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    A second quicker?so tht means Meghans set up will do a 100 in less than 8 secs?damn i need to ride this setup one day!
    Btw does this have the launch control?
    Smoke rubber,not tobacco.

    -Life Through-the-Lens
    -For HELLA/VALEO [BMW/AUDI/FORD/LINCOLN/SKODA],P220,Aftermarket Projectors,pls contact me!

  9. #9
    Rusted Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^No launch control on street bikes. His bike is in the 8s to 100kph indeed.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    joel@raceconcepts.in

  10. #10
    Rusted Parth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    760
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel View Post
    We have also noticed a gain of around 5% in fuel efficiency, apart from the performance gains. Which benefits tourers and regular street riders in a great way.
    Quote Originally Posted by KwokFist View Post
    Fuel Efficiency

    Stock ECU runs the bike extremely lean which technically improves the FE but results in a loss of power.
    I'm confused again, Meghan says that the stock ECU provides better FE, while Joel says that his ECU gives 5% increase in FE over the stock. Contradictory statements? or am I missing something here, again.
    A good long ride can clear your mind, restore your faith, and use up a lot of fuel.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Race Concepts - Next Level performance!
    By Joel in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 515
    Last Post: 08-26-2015, 05:34 PM
  2. Race Concepts - Pulsar 220/200 goodies
    By Joel in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 411
    Last Post: 07-06-2015, 11:24 AM
  3. Yamaha r15 one make race - 2010
    By JOSH5898 in forum Motorsports
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 01:37 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 06:18 PM
  5. Prices for yamaha race kits
    By themadrussian in forum News
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 01:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •