Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Keep your helmet tightly strapped up.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

    After reading lot of posts in this forum & after enquiring with people, i have come to the conclusion that adding a chain lock or something similar is better solution than electronic anti-theft solutions. I will require to lock my bike only when i park my bike in beach or open ground and not in my home or office as there is adequate security here. But i don't want to carry a thick chain lock whenever i go to beach or other public places as it is cumbersome and i find it somewhat awkward to be using it in public place.

    My mechanic instead suggested that he can weld a small piece of metal between the place where the handle bar meets the bike body/tank (the place he suggested is below the tank & meets the handle bar steering there though i forgot the exact term he said for that place. I hope my description helps you understand the place in bike iam describing). There will be a space/hole in that welded piece of metal & i can add a lock there as secondary protection.

    1. I understand if thief decides to lift the bike into a truck, this isn't going to help but hoping it may help in other situations. Do you think it can be a effective deterrent? 2. If i were to weld this metal in bike, i have been told that if i ever met with an accident, then insurance may not pay for the damaged parts in my bike as my bike has been modified. What do you think about this?

  2. #2
    Moderator Samarth 619's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rajasthan
    Posts
    4,757
    Blog Entries
    4
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Re: Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

    Topic Approved & moved to Help section.

    I think its not a good idea. Better go for frame locking, if you have a bike like KTM or so. (You didn't mention which bike you have)

    The basic rule is that in case of severe impact or theft attempt, the weakest thing will break first. If your lock & frame are both strong enough, your welding may break first. If the welding is too strong, obviously the bike part will suffer impact.
    Plus, without extensive testing, nothing can be recommended.

    Its therefore better to lock in an existing component first, like the leg guard's sub frame or grab rails or so.

    Pratically, a lot of people have modified their vehicles, and this may result in a rejected claim in case of an accident, if its discovered that the cause of accident was the modification. However, not too much of an issue otherwise.
    However, the claim is almost sure to be rejected if you tried to hide this welding from the surveyor who examins your vehicle. There should be clear pics of the same with the surveyor, then this makes your claim stronger...
    I suggest you not to do it.
    Last edited by Samarth 619; 1 Week Ago at 04:34 PM.

  3. #3
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

    I don't think that mechanic will take you to a skilled plasma welding shop, most likely he will get the welding done at a roadside iron welder and they will Definitely screw up the chassis! Nobody should weld or unweld anything on the chassis of a vehicle UNLESS it becomes absolutely necessary due to some accident or rusting. Tell him to keep his low IQ ideas to himself.

    I have bought a bike disc lock for both my and my brother's bikes, they are easy to use and you can store it below the seat, no need to carry it in a bag. You just snap it on the disc's holes and leave it there. The thieves won't be able to move your bike from there without using a crane or truck. When I get paranoid about safety, I put disc locks on both my front and rear discs (karizma ZMR). Don't buy the cheap chinese ones which are sold for rs. 250 or such. I bought this one:

    https://www.amazon.in/Abus-WV01RCA07...ateway&sr=8-10

    It's costly but worth it, nobody will be able to break or cut it.

  4. #4
    Rusted Zapps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Ludhiana, Punjab
    Posts
    727
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

    Another idea if you want to go thewelding way without playing with the chasis is to take a piece of metal and weld it around some part for the frame, you can make a lock mechanism on that instead of playing with he frame.

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

    Thanks for all your suggestions!!

    I don't want to undermine the options you have considered for anti-theft but the reason i considered this welded metal was because after reading anti theft related posts here as well as enquiring with others, it seems to me that a thick chain lock or something similar is more effective deterrent than anti theft alarm, disc lock or throttle lock. I understand even a chain lock will not stop a thief from shoving the bike into a truck & driving away unless chained to ground but my only hope from adding a secondary protection is to increase the time it takes for a thief to unlock my bike which will hopefully make him forget my bike & go for another one. I have heard that disc lock, throttle lock, anti theft alarm can also be bypassed relatively easily (unless you have xena lock kind of thing) using a tool by a determined thief (even within 30 secs-1 min). A thick chain lock is supposed to be more difficult to bypass easily though not foolproof.

    There is adequate security in my home & office, so i will only need secondary protection when parking near beach, open ground, new places, etc. Since i don't want to carry around a clunky chain lock, so i considered this option suggested by mechanic. But thanks for letting me know not to mess with chassis as i was not aware of this. As suggested by zapps, i will try to weld in some other place.

  6. #6
    Rusted Zapps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Ludhiana, Punjab
    Posts
    727
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mechanic has suggested welding a metal to my bike as secondary lock, need your opinion on it

    Quote Originally Posted by vikram112in View Post
    Thanks for all your suggestions!!
    But thanks for letting me know not to mess with chassis as i was not aware of this. As suggested by zapps, i will try to weld in some other place.
    Do pay heed to the fact that if not done properly, the clamp around frame might vibrate and ring at speeds. You might require something to act as cushion between the frame and the welded metal. It would keep it in place and stop m take clanking noise.

Similar Threads

  1. [SELLER] Never-used summer gloves and Bike Disc-lock
    By trotsky in forum xBhp Classifieds: Buy, sell, rent, or give away!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Days Ago, 08:59 PM
  2. Want to Buy a pair of Disc Lock for my Bike
    By Pinak-the stunner in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-21-2016, 11:49 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 06:45 PM
  4. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 02:34 PM
  5. bike mechanic
    By paths_of_glory in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 04:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •