Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always wear a helmet.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By harish.krovvidi
  • 1 Post By harish.krovvidi

Thread: Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

  1. #1
    Dr Busa is Broken Beyond Repair harish.krovvidi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    London back in Bangalore
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

    This review is intended to document ownership experience of the dunlop sportsmax tire I used on the busa. Iam hoping that this will help the SBK out her on the forum to get the best.

    Tire Size - Front 120/70 ZR17 Rear 190/50ZR17 for my hayabusa

    Firstly while i was looking out for tires my first priority was
    1)good deep threading that will give me excellent dry and wet performace.
    2)10k km life (maybe am too greedy but just read on)
    3) close to under 25k

    so with this in mind i set off on a long search that started at the end of 2012, December was a month of Research and bargaining finally settled on dunlop sportsmax this was the only tire that was available to me with good threading at 28k INR and from my forum reviews people had experienced 9000-9500km out of them

    Front and Rear Tire - 9070 kilometers covered in 9 months, touring and city driving. The split can be approximately 30% city and 70% highway.

    Add info 21-Jan 19.54

    I mounted the tires to my bike at 10780, they lasted till about 19850KM. The front tire still has about 3-4 K left in it however i decided to change it as a pair as I was very exited to try out the new set of touring tires, I was also advised on several SBK (US/ Canadian) Forums to change a matching set as a mismatch between the front and rear tires in Brand and Model would hamper the performance.

    Overall I would rate the Dunlop SportsMax as below

    3.5 for Good threading that helps in Dry and wet condition
    4 for almost hitting the 10K mark on the rear tire
    4 for Performance as the tire took all the bad roads and adverse condition
    3 for suspension/cushioning on the road (BTW used nitrogen throughout the life)
    3 for the pricing, I know I should not blame Dunlop; as the market is operator based & not by official dealers.

    Overall was I happy with the Dunlop sportsmax, I would rate it 3.5 of 5.

    My new set is a Maxxis M6029, so i will be back again after the first 1000km on it for the benift of out folks here
    Last edited by harish.krovvidi; 01-21-2014 at 08:54 PM. Reason: added information
    princesirohi and Divya Sharan like this.
    I Ride - L12 Busa
    My Vlog DrBusasVlogsPlease do subscribe

  2. #2
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,125
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    248 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

    Review Approved

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  3. #3
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

    Quote Originally Posted by harish.krovvidi View Post
    This review is intended to document ownership experience of the dunlop sportsmax tire I used on the busa. Iam hoping that this will help the SBK out her on the forum to get the best.

    Tire Size - Front 120/70 ZR17 Rear 190/50ZR17 for my hayabusa

    Firstly while i was looking out for tires my first priority was
    1)good deep threading that will give me excellent dry and wet performace.
    2)10k km life (maybe am too greedy but just read on)
    3) close to under 25k

    so with this in mind i set off on a long search that started at the end of 2012, December was a month of Research and bargaining finally settled on dunlop sportsmax this was the only tire that was available to me with good threading at 28k INR and from my forum reviews people had experienced 9000-9500km out of them

    Front and Rear Tire - 9070 kilometers covered in 9 months, touring and city driving. The split can be approximately 30% city and 70% highway.

    Add info 21-Jan 19.54

    I mounted the tires to my bike at 10780, they lasted till about 19850KM. The front tire still has about 3-4 K left in it however i decided to change it as a pair as I was very exited to try out the new set of touring tires, I was also advised on several SBK (US/ Canadian) Forums to change a matching set as a mismatch between the front and rear tires in Brand and Model would hamper the performance.

    Overall I would rate the Dunlop SportsMax as below

    3.5 for Good threading that helps in Dry and wet condition
    4 for almost hitting the 10K mark on the rear tire
    4 for Performance as the tire took all the bad roads and adverse condition
    3 for suspension/cushioning on the road (BTW used nitrogen throughout the life)
    3 for the pricing, I know I should not blame Dunlop; as the market is operator based & not by official dealers.

    Overall was I happy with the Dunlop sportsmax, I would rate it 3.5 of 5.

    My new set is a Maxxis M6029, so i will be back again after the first 1000km on it for the benift of out folks here
    I am in need of some real wide tyres. possibly more than 280mm. Any lead where i can find the dealers to import them ?

  4. #4
    Dr Busa is Broken Beyond Repair harish.krovvidi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    London back in Bangalore
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

    @Someassar Kumar

    Please share the full size based on that i can give you the right dealers phone number.

    Just remember that YZFR1, GSXR1, FZ1, Fireblade, Hayabusa and other liter bikes can take only 210-220 width at the rear using the stock rim and rear stay.
    Larger sized tires will need 1) wider rear stay bracket 2) aftermarket rim that are wider 3) the larger tire.

    also remember that these tires have a lower rating so you can maybe tops do about 180kmph on such wide tires.
    Divya Sharan likes this.
    I Ride - L12 Busa
    My Vlog DrBusasVlogsPlease do subscribe

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

    Quote Originally Posted by harish.krovvidi View Post
    @Someassar Kumar

    Please share the full size based on that i can give you the right dealers phone number.

    Just ........
    I get it. but the bike I'm talking about is a custom build from scrap. I need to fix on a certain tyre before i get going with design. I found tyres from Metzeler Me 880, Michelin scorcher, Dunlop Elite 3 custom wide suiting my needs.

  6. #6
    Dr Busa is Broken Beyond Repair harish.krovvidi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    London back in Bangalore
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Dunlop Sportsmax SBK Tire Review

    @Someassar Kumar

    pls see your PM
    I Ride - L12 Busa
    My Vlog DrBusasVlogsPlease do subscribe

Similar Threads

  1. [xBhp Universal Thread]: Dunlop Geo cruiser tyre on karizma r
    By nabil.sayed in forum Universal Threads
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 11:18 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 08:43 AM
  3. Dunlop Monster 120-80-19?
    By Arun Cheloor in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 10:00 PM
  4. [xBhp Universal Thread]: Help on HH tire
    By kishorenkumar in forum Universal Threads
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2009, 01:48 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 12:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •