Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Fatigue, sleepiness, & alcohol are the same.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree15Likes
  • 10 Post By hatebreeder
  • 2 Post By hatebreeder
  • 3 Post By Ron Syl

Thread: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

  1. #1
    Addicted hatebreeder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Goa
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    This is my first review on this site. Hope it’s informative enough.


    The helmet buying fiasco actually started with not me, but a friend of mine who wanted to buy a helmet to go with his RE Classic 500. He almost decided on studds, only for me to come and completely discourage him. My argument was simple, yes, maybe they are good and cheap, but would you really try and save a few bucks and rather let your head take the beating? He already owned a studds so he agreed to look for other brands. Then bought an LS2 which was of the wrong size and then finally decided on the SL68SII Metal Man. His helmet was a size M, exactly the size I needed (My head circumference is 23.5inches). So when it was time for me to get a helmet, I simply got a size M in the color I wanted, which happened to be an SL68S – Odyssey.


    SOL is an OEM (I believe) for an American brand called GMax. You can find the same models SOL makes with GMax, where they simply replace the SL from the model numbers to GM. So to get an insight on SOL quality, I did a fair bit of research on GMax and found out that although a lesser known brand, it was a solid one.

    I got mine from Spartan Pro Gear. Buying was a simple task. Had to exchange a few emails and phone calls to confirm whether the helmet was in stock. Then do a money transfer to their account and they ship it to you.



    Price Break up was as follows:
    Helmet Cost – Rs. 5160/-
    Extra Iridium Visor Cost – Rs. 750/-
    Shipping & Handling – Rs. 500/- (I was instructed by SPG to inspect the package before accepting as the package was insured).


    Why SOL?

    Didn’t want Studds or Vega. When I was buying my helmet, I checked them out, and found those helmet had really cheap build. I also looked at Cross, but wasn’t very happy. Wanted Daijya, but many reviews said it caused whistling at high speeds. There was LS2, but they were all dark colored helmets. So it was SOL or any other higher brand. Everyone else was too expensive, and also, I was massively impressed with the quality of SOL.

    What are its features?

    · 19 vents. 9 intake vents and 10 large exhaust vents to get the hot air out
    o Found only 18 vents. Cannot find the last one.


    · Max air flow is achieved through shellstyro comfort liner vents.
    o True. Lots of airflow. So much, that once you get past 80kmph the wind noise inside the helmet is deafening. SPG did give me free Ear plugs though. I never use them.

    · High air flow top intake vents feature larger controls for use with gloves.
    o The Vent switches are big. You have 5 of them on the top, and only on your chin.

    · Lightweight, multiple shells and EPS liners for perfect fit.
    o Fit is amazing. Very snug. I use a balaclava in it though. Gives an even better fit.

    · DOT approved, lightweight thermo-poly alloy shell.
    o And still the helmet’s total weight is about 1.8Kgs. Funny!

    · Plush, removable, washable COOLMAX interior.
    o Removable indeed. And so far don’t look like the ones that will compress with time.

    · Removable, adjustable cheek pads with optional sized cheek pads.
    o Photos attached.

    · Padded chin strap with D-ring closure and retention snap.
    o D-Ring is a definite plus. I prefer D-Ring. Although the D-Ring didn’t have that release tongue.

    · Patented L.E.D. light on rear of helmet is incorporated into the rear vent.
    o I never use them. But it’s nice to have them. Always wondered if I reprogram it to flicker really fast, will it cause all the people following me to get seizures.

    · Anti-scratch optically corrected shield with easy tool-less removal.
    o Definitely not Anti-Scratch. I managed to scratch it. Maybe scratch resistant at max. Optically Corrected visor is a big plus. Once you wear it, after a while you forget there’s a visor in front, and often hit the visor when trying to scratch your eye. Visor has GMax written on it.

    Bought the helmet back in May on 2013. Looks to be in good condition so far.

    What I like about the helmet?

    1. Superior build quality.
    2. Great snug fit that you will bite your cheek when you try to talk.
    3. The Optically corrected visor. Apart from amazing clarity, if also helps when riding at night. Most helmet owners experience light dispersion all over the visor at night. I didn’t have any of that. Helped me keep the bugs off my face at night.
    4. 180 degrees view from inside the helmet.
    5. Airflow setup.
    6. There is fogging when standing in cold weathers, but as long as you are moving, no issues.
    7. Weight distribution. Even though it’s almost 2Kgs, you won’t feel off balance.
    8. The LEDs. Good when riding in the fog or if you get off the bike on a dark road.
    9. Odyssey styling designed by YF Design.

    What I don’t

    1. Deafening wind noise (although a lot of reviews say it’s very well controlled for the number of vents it has. But it very loud anyways).
    2. Batteries of the LED ran out quickly.

    3. Price. Very expensive. Almost so much, that I feel my bike isn’t as expensive for what it offers.
    4. Styling. A bit sharp instead of streamlined and aerodynamic. SL68SII had done massive improvements on the styling. They removed the LEDs though. And it was cheaper than this one. But, I didn’t find the color I was looking for.



    Photos

    Name:  DSC04527.jpg
Views: 19527
Size:  101.6 KB
    Side View 1

    Name:  DSC04528.jpg
Views: 21847
Size:  102.3 KB
    Side View 2

    Name:  DSC04530.jpg
Views: 16794
Size:  107.6 KB
    Front View (sorry about the dead bugs on the visor! )

    Name:  DSC04531.jpg
Views: 16150
Size:  106.4 KB
    Back View with LEDs. Bling!

    Name:  DSC04533.jpg
Views: 15939
Size:  99.2 KB
    Top View

    Name:  DSC04534.jpg
Views: 17047
Size:  104.1 KB
    Inside view with cushioning

    Name:  DSC04535.jpg
Views: 15179
Size:  99.7 KB
    Cushioning for the head.

    Name:  DSC04536.jpg
Views: 14884
Size:  67.0 KB
    Cheek Pads. Removable and washable.

    Name:  DSC04537.jpg
Views: 15116
Size:  100.5 KB
    Helmet without it's cushioning. Can See the Styrofoam shell.

    Name:  DSC04538.jpg
Views: 14606
Size:  102.3 KB
    SL68S written inside on the Styrofoam. With L and M. I guess L and M have same helmet size with different cushioning inside.

    Name:  DSC04539.jpg
Views: 14728
Size:  102.8 KB
    D-Ring retention strap of the helmet. Notice the D-Ring doesn't have a loosening tongue.

    Name:  Untitled-1.jpg
Views: 18388
Size:  113.8 KB
    Vents on the helmet. 18+1?


    Overall, yes it's expensive, and yes I could've gotten two helmets for the price of this. But, Its a really solid build, and you can't really put a price tag on life.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    10,019
    Mentioned
    435 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Topic Approved

    Thanks for sharing.
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  3. #3
    A[k]
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Jalandhar/Delhi
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by hatebreeder View Post
    This is my first review on this site. Hope it’s informative enough.


    The helmet buying fiasco actually started with not me, but a friend of mine who wanted to buy a helmet to go with his RE Classic 500. He almost decided on studds, only for me to come and completely discourage him. My argument was simple, yes, maybe they are good and cheap, but would you really try and save a few bucks and rather let your head take the beating? He already owned a studds so he agreed to look for other brands. Then bought an LS2 which was of the wrong size and then finally decided on the SL68SII Metal Man. His helmet was a size M, exactly the size I needed (My head circumference is 23.5inches). So when it was time for me to get a helmet, I simply got a size M in the color I wanted, which happened to be an SL68S – Odyssey.

    Overall, yes it's expensive, and yes I could've gotten two helmets for the price of this. But, Its a really solid build, and you can't really put a price tag on life.
    Very nice review there.....just one question...I am planing to buy either Metal Man or Unicorn....I like the design of Unicorn very much, but I am paranoid that if the LED lights and its battery would add to the weight of the helmet and if lights are usable at all?

    And do they look odd....the lights?..do they pop out of the design during daylight?...I am unsure if I can tell from photos.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Akshay

  4. #4
    Addicted hatebreeder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Goa
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by A[k] View Post
    Very nice review there.....just one question...I am planing to buy either Metal Man or Unicorn....I like the design of Unicorn very much, but I am paranoid that if the LED lights and its battery would add to the weight of the helmet and if lights are usable at all?

    And do they look odd....the lights?..do they pop out of the design during daylight?...I am unsure if I can tell from photos.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Akshay
    Thanks Akshay!

    Well, in my case, no. The lights are not at all usable. Cause I leave in the sun and get back before sundown. About the weight, look at the picture below. Thats the LED setup. 2 AAA batteries and 6 really tiny LEDs (the kind nokia phones keypad had as backlight). Where the helmet weighs a ton, the batteries and PCB are negligible.
    Name:  GMax-GM-68-S-Helmet-LED-Brake-Light-Kit.jpg
Views: 10234
Size:  97.2 KB

    Lights don't look odd. Often get unnoticed even, until you point it out. It's got a nice smoked strip on top which hides the PCB and the batteries. But you will end up paying quite a lot for those lights which you might never use (like in my case).
    @Ron Syl had written a beautiful review of his SOL Unicorn (http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/universa...tml#post958851). He claims that the lights are very good for night use. You could certainly use his opinion.

    Hope I could help.
    AkshayA and Mahesh Kumar like this.

  5. #5
    A[k]
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Jalandhar/Delhi
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by hatebreeder View Post
    Thanks Akshay!

    Well, in my case, no. The lights are not at all usable. Cause I leave in the sun and get back before sundown. About the weight, look at the picture below. Thats the LED setup. 2 AAA batteries and 6 really tiny LEDs (the kind nokia phones keypad had as backlight). Where the helmet weighs a ton, the batteries and PCB are negligible.

    Lights don't look odd. Often get unnoticed even, until you point it out. It's got a nice smoked strip on top which hides the PCB and the batteries. But you will end up paying quite a lot for those lights which you might never use (like in my case).
    @Ron Syl had written a beautiful review of his SOL Unicorn (http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/universa...tml#post958851). He claims that the lights are very good for night use. You could certainly use his opinion.

    Hope I could help.
    Thanks bro...it is really helpful ...I am just on the brink of purchasing it....but still have some doubts over its overall weight...what do you recon?...in terms of heaviness of the helmet?...I hear that SL68sII are lighter..the one your friend has....how does it compare in terms of weight?

    Thanks
    Akshay

  6. #6
    Rusted Ron Syl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    bangalore
    Posts
    1,005
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by hatebreeder View Post
    Thanks Akshay!

    Well, in my case, no. The lights are not at all usable. Cause I leave in the sun and get back before sundown. About the weight, look at the picture below. Thats the LED setup. 2 AAA batteries and 6 really tiny LEDs (the kind nokia phones keypad had as backlight). Where the helmet weighs a ton, the batteries and PCB are negligible.


    Lights don't look odd. Often get unnoticed even, until you point it out. It's got a nice smoked strip on top which hides the PCB and the batteries. But you will end up paying quite a lot for those lights which you might never use (like in my case).
    @Ron Syl had written a beautiful review of his SOL Unicorn (http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/universa...tml#post958851). He claims that the lights are very good for night use. You could certainly use his opinion.

    Hope I could help.
    Yes lights are helpful. The riders behind me say it. especially in foggy conditions and also night rides (obviously). its more of a use when u get off the bike during night rides. easier to spot the rider for others. its less useful while riding, more useful off the bike. and also if at all ur rear brake lights dont work then ur helmet will save u

  7. #7
    Addicted hatebreeder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Goa
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    @AkshayA, sorry for the late reply. I didn't see your query there. Well its about 400gms lighter I think. Mine is 1.8Kg and his was 1.4Kgs (not very sure though). But I never really noticed the weight. It feels heavy for a while, but then you get used to it. It's like owning a splendor for a really long time, finding it heavy and then switching to a bullet and suddenly realizing one day that the splendor is actually quite light. (Maybe not the most accurate example! :P)

  8. #8
    Rusted Dreamwalker987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    332
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by AkshayA View Post
    Thanks bro...it is really helpful ...I am just on the brink of purchasing it....but still have some doubts over its overall weight...what do you recon?...in terms of heaviness of the helmet?...I hear that SL68sII are lighter..the one your friend has....how does it compare in terms of weight?

    Thanks
    Akshay
    Quote Originally Posted by hatebreeder View Post
    @AkshayA, sorry for the late reply. I didn't see your query there. Well its about 400gms lighter I think. Mine is 1.8Kg and his was 1.4Kgs (not very sure though). But I never really noticed the weight. It feels heavy for a while, but then you get used to it. It's like owning a splendor for a really long time, finding it heavy and then switching to a bullet and suddenly realizing one day that the splendor is actually quite light. (Maybe not the most accurate example! :P)
    1650 Grams to be exact. I feel the helmet heavy.
    Life Motto: live, love, laugh... but when all goes wrong:ready, aim, FIRE!!...


    D.I.Y Motorcycle Shift Sock

  9. #9
    A[k]
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Jalandhar/Delhi
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by hatebreeder View Post
    @AkshayA, sorry for the late reply. I didn't see your query there. Well its about 400gms lighter I think. Mine is 1.8Kg and his was 1.4Kgs (not very sure though). But I never really noticed the weight. It feels heavy for a while, but then you get used to it. It's like owning a splendor for a really long time, finding it heavy and then switching to a bullet and suddenly realizing one day that the splendor is actually quite light. (Maybe not the most accurate example! :P)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamwalker987 View Post
    1650 Grams to be exact. I feel the helmet heavy.

    Thank you both...unfortunately my lid hunt has not been complete yet...I did not get a chance to see SOL in person due to non availability of stock, but I am kinda feeling that this helmet is really heavy..I was just about to post the query in helmets thread. Budget is 6K, but all I need is a very light helmet. I think I have to drop SOL :|

  10. #10
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Navi Mumbai
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Review: SOL SL68S – Odyssey Helmet

    Quote Originally Posted by hatebreeder View Post
    Well, in my case, no. The lights are not at all usable..
    Hey Bro the LED is very usefull during night time. By the way I need your help in finding a Clear Visor for my similar helmet. Where can i find it? if you still have your clear one and willing to let it go i don't mind taking it.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Visor Helmet full face helmet
    By iNaresh in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2013, 07:23 PM
  2. [Photo Feature]: A South Indian Odyssey....
    By gowtham_in in forum The Tourer
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-18-2012, 09:00 PM
  3. [Photo Feature]: The Kumaon Odyssey 2011
    By rpmboy in forum The Tourer
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-17-2011, 03:59 AM
  4. Southern Odyssey
    By harshitcyborg in forum The Tourer
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 03:15 PM
  5. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 08:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •