Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Look further to stay alive.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

  1. #1
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    I upgraded to RE C350 in October 2014, from the Honda CB Twister, and at the same time upgraded to DSG Carbon Gloves from those beginner Probiker gloves.

    I got the gloves from Laxmi Motors, Pune after trying and testing for the size myself other than messing around with the online sizing charts . Price was 3000 bucks.

    The glove cover was a complete mess-up by DSG. It said PRIMAL GLOVES - SIZE L but the actual gloves inside were DSG CARBON GLOVES - XL size. Gladly I knew because of the research I had done, so knowing that DSG people put a Primal sticker over the Carbon one. Sad thing to start with. Sigh. I told the folks over Laxmi about this. I hope they have taken care of this.

    Now coming to the gloves,
    1. FIT and FINISH

    I have an XL hand, and it fit me well. Sufficiently spaced inside with no pressure points.
    The leather is really thick and impeccable quality. full grain leather, you bet. And the unfinished leather on the inside absorbs sweat very nicely.
    Grip on my bike is good and VIBRATION DAMPENING is too good. No numb fingers at all.
    Breaking in - Took me about 1000km to break them in. Fingers are pre-curved and it gets better with more riding.
    Full gauntlet design - Fits over/under the jacket sleeve and offers a good wrist protection as it is doubly padded.
    Name:  2015-01-22 11.51.05.jpg
Views: 2733
Size:  107.6 KB


    2. BUILD QUALITY

    The glove is built with strong, sturdy stitching and absolutely made to take a beating.
    The Velcros are no joke and do their job well. Still I feel it is a little loose now a days due to repeated streching of the velcros.

    I spilled two times during this, first time it was on a highway, two hooligans crashed into me while left-cutting me. Threw me on the highway tarmac at about 40kmph and it was already full with shattered glass because of a previous accident. The palm double padding not only saved my hands, but they themselves are so well built, that there was no evidence of abrasion on the leather itself.

    Second time I skidded on Matunga bridge at 20kmph because of braking on some loose gravel. Same result. No injuries. Not even a sprain.

    Two stitches over the tip of right ring finger were torn during the second fall, which is understandable because the threads took the toll to protect me.

    I got them mended from my sister who knows tailoring (with a weird green thread) and it works great now .

    Name:  2015-01-22 11.50.24.jpg
Views: 2473
Size:  102.6 KB


    3. VENTILATION

    Due to the full leather structure, thankfully no vents on the fingers. The air flows from under the knuckle carbon fibre padding. Works fine in winters and kept my hands warm on early morning chilly rides. Yet to be tested in rains as monsoon has just hit mumbai yestarday. Will update once done.

    4. MAINTENANCE

    I didn't use any leather conditioners as for now, but whenever I am out for a ride, I smear my hands with a little coconut oil and wear the gloves. That seens to do the job. The gloves are good as new and except for the little two green stitches, no sign of wear and tear. Extreme summers and humid conditions, no fading of the leather noted at any part. Leather is the best part. Such a thick and sturdy leather gives me confidence while riding.


    5. FINGER DEXTERITY

    I heard a lot of fuss about dexterity from people using full gauntlet leather gloves. I found no such issue after breaking in. I can even zip my chains and operate the mobile phone with thumb and index fingers, which only seem to be touchscereen sensitive. I can button my denim jacket, and click photos with a camera. I think that is a lot from a glove which is probably sporting the thickest leather out there in this range.



    6. Verdict

    To keep it simple and sweet, I would say, after 10k km of touring plus few long rides ( I use the gloves even in city because no one is safe while on a bike, regardless the place) The gloves are one fine pair, full grain genuine leather requiring no maintenance, taking a beating ( but with two stitches giving way after a 20 metre skid over the hand, mainly on the ring finger)

    I am going to keep using the gloves because even after 10k km of use, and I see no reason not to. I am a careless guy, and those survived even in my hands, that speaks a lot for me. Touring and long riding is great fun with these gloves. DSG has quality material, but they behave like dumb children when it comes to aftersales service and customer relations. That, and careless packaging. But, for the glove itself, one hell of glove!

    Cheers! Ride more, Ride safe!

    Name:  2015-01-23 13.08.33.jpg
Views: 2351
Size:  117.6 KB
    Last edited by DocOnTwoWheels; 07-18-2015 at 02:23 AM.
    krishna77 and nadz11.ns like this.

  2. #2
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    10,019
    Mentioned
    435 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Thread Approved

    First post of yours is a very useful review. Thanks a lot
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  3. #3
    Addicted Aurobindo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Thanks for the review doc. My DSG Carbon has been going good for 3K now. As you said, it's a perfect full gauntlet gloves for touring. The leather is really good at preventing chills creeping in at long hauls and saving u from any damage.

    I only wish it had a small slider on the Palm. The last time I fell the Palm took the entire brunt, although my hand wasn't injured I wished it had a small slider to prevent the minor damage that happened to the glove.



    Sent from my CHM-U01 using Tapatalk
    DocOnTwoWheels likes this.
    Love ur Ride and keep it maintained, its what brings u safely back to home

  4. #4
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Yeah, I guess they gave a carbon fibre hypothenar slider to the Primals.
    Slider helps to extend the life of the glove, no doubt. but a thicker slider might cause an uncomfortable change in riding grip, leading to pain in wrists.
    Mine are intact after two spills so I personally am going to trust DSG now onwards.
    Anyway, a slider would have bee a nice edition, no doubt.
    Thanks mate! and cheers!
    Ride well and safe !
    Maxsteel likes this.

  5. #5
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Quote Originally Posted by DocOnTwoWheels View Post
    Yet to be tested in Rains.

    EDIT - Post Monsoon Test

    Kilometres Done in Rains - 1500km

    PERFORMANCE IN RAINS :

    Well, as everybody knows that full gauntlet leather gloves are not to be used in rains purposefully, still I used mine because of the protection they insure which is a little wiggly with those waterproof gloves. I can trade safety for cold-wet hands.

    I, being a doctor by profession, am used to the use of starch powdered latex gloves. And I used the same ones in the ride under the DSG carbons to prevent my hands from getting wet. Worked like a charm. But after a while I got rid of them because I wanted to review it without the latex gloves on.

    These are my observations - After using the gloves in heavy rain for about 3 hours. Surprisingly, drizzles and moderate showers did not seep water in. It took a pretty larger downpour for the water to find its way. Impressed!

    1. The leather absorbs a remarkable amount of water making them heavy after removal. Still, on hands it didn't feel that heavy.

    2. The leather gets slack and loose fitting after getting wet.

    3. Cold Cold Cold freezy cold hands!

    4. Protection - Abrasion resistance and carbon fibre knuckles, you win. No fallacy at this area.

    5. Effect on build was minimal and one stitch at the right middle finger tip gave away. Bad stuff, DSG. But then I have battered these for long.

    So far, very well. I have been using a good tip a friend of mine gave me from the leather industry. Here it goes :

    Always use a little black shoe polish or leather conditioner (cream, not solution) before wetting the glove. It will repel the water during mild rains.

    When the gloves are drenched, just keep them hanging away from sunlight but in a well aired space ( fungus :-/ ) and let it dry on its own.

    NEVER, I repeat, Never

    1. Squeeze water out of the glove ( Washes away natural oils alongwith, dries faster but welcome cracks and crumpling and stiffning and goodbye finish)

    2. Dry with a hot air blower or a cold one, perhaps. Or the Sunlight. Nuh-uh.

    The rate of elimination of water from leather must be constant and too fast attempted drying leads to the distortion in the isomeric equilibrium of the organic oils and hydrocarbons. Result - Crumples hard gloves which give you pain the the fingers no worse than rheumatoid arthritis.



    Looking forward in churning out more and more from these gloves. Cheers!

    Ride Hard, Ride Safe.

  6. #6
    Guitar God Ajeet Padhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    New Delhi/Noida
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    How are these compared to Primals ? How well are they suited for sport/street/track purposes ?

    I'm planning to get some gear soon after getting a bike ( RC 390 most likely ) . I would prefer the best protection in the best pricing ( being Indian :-p ) , for now .
    These gloves from DSG seem like they are a beast .

    Also , TBG gears , how are those compared to DSG ones ? ( sorry if this is Off Topic )

  7. #7
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajeet Padhi View Post
    How are these compared to Primals ? How well are they suited for sport/street/track purposes ?
    Primal is a later model, which is almost the same as carbon, but it has an additional hypothenar palm slider and pinky finger slider. Which is good.
    On the contrary, there are vents on the fingers which is a strict turn-off for riding in monsoon. Water getting in is a big disappointment. Primal is supposed to be a better ventilated one in summers, but that makes it even worse in monsoon and winter. And Carbon is by no means inferior in ventilation either.
    I'm not endorsing the carbons here, but it is what it is.

    Also. the sliders on palm is definitely better, but it may lead to pain in wrists during long tour, because we have to adjust the grip according to the sliders. Just a thought. I have used primal only for like a 6km stretch.

    TBG gloves are overpriced IMO. No offense, just a personal opinion.

    Keep riding safe! Let us know what you go for!
    Ajeet Padhi likes this.

  8. #8
    Guitar God Ajeet Padhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    New Delhi/Noida
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Quote Originally Posted by DocOnTwoWheels View Post
    On the contrary, there are vents on the fingers which is a strict turn-off for riding in monsoon. Water getting in is a big disappointment. Primal is supposed to be a better ventilated one in summers, but that makes it even worse in monsoon and winter. And Carbon is by no means inferior in ventilation either.
    I'm not endorsing the carbons here, but it is what it is.

    Also. the sliders on palm is definitely better, but it may lead to pain in wrists during long tour, because we have to adjust the grip according to the sliders. Just a thought. I have used primal only for like a 6km stretch.

    TBG gloves are overpriced IMO. No offense, just a personal opinion.

    Thanks a ton for your input amigo .... Those vents did made me doubt their use in monsoons . Are the Carbons waterproof ?

    I don't think TBG is overpriced . They are featuring such materials and protection that riding gears twice their prices are providing . They are like just a thousand bucks or two more than the DSG or Cramster gear .

    Yeah , riding gears also require breaking in ... or so I have read


    EDIT : I noticed that the Carbons have a wrist protector ( that silver thing ) ... Do Primals have those too ? I'm a musician by profession so my hands are way , way too precious for me )
    Maxsteel likes this.

  9. #9
    Rusted itsmevini123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    2,210
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Very nice and helpful review
    DocOnTwoWheels likes this.
    KTM RC390 - Current
    Yamaha R15 v2 - Sold
    Hero Hunk - Sold
    An IT Engineer by profession and a rider by soul.


    Delhi to Sach Pass - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...h-ka-darr.html
    Delhi to Mana - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...xperience.html
    Delhi to Munsyari - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...ttrakhand.html
    Spiti circuit - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...cuit-solo.html

    Facebook

  10. #10
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: DSG Carbon Gloves Review - 10,000 km and counting

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajeet Padhi View Post
    EDIT : I noticed that the Carbons have a wrist protector ( that silver thing ) ... Do Primals have those too ? I'm a musician by profession so my hands are way , way too precious for me )
    Carbons don't have the so-called carbon fibre wrist protectors like those in primals, just the doubly padded leather at the wrist area which is pretty much sufficient. The silver thing is the reflective material.
    I happen to be a non-professional harmonium and guitar player too, so I can assure you that I have looked at my gloves with this POV too, and it all came out pretty well after two spills on hands.
    Last edited by DocOnTwoWheels; 07-23-2015 at 12:43 AM.
    Maxsteel likes this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TBG Gloves: Let's Gear Up Bangalore production. Long-Term Review.
    By rishabh153 in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-19-2017, 09:28 PM
  2. SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences
    By snehithpereira in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 08-09-2017, 07:29 PM
  3. Pro biker gloves Review
    By captain666 in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-24-2015, 05:45 AM
  4. Counting Days to get Brand new ZMA
    By bhargava_sr in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-08-2012, 12:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •