Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always use both brakes to reduce speed.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

  1. #1
    Super Moderator sunilg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ghaziabad
    Posts
    8,243
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    We got a couple of helmets from Vega Helmets for review some time back. These helmets have the brand name Axor stamped upon them. When enquired, Vega told us that this is their own brand that they are manufacturing in India and China. And the Axor Helmets will be sold primarily in India and China along with Italy, where it is apparently designed.

    Name:  KF6A0962.jpg
Views: 10530
Size:  64.9 KB

    Name:  12805697_10153951399904493_4361440832498744451_n.jpg
Views: 10236
Size:  104.5 KB

    Ive been using the Axor Streamline model of late during my commute to office from home and back. The Axor Streamline is retailing at INR 2690/- at Vega Indias website and is available in two sizes medium and large. The one that fit me was Large (to give you a reference, the size M of Daijiya fits me perfectly, size M of MT Revenge feels a little too tight for my comfort).

    Name:  IMG_3519.jpg
Views: 9266
Size:  70.8 KB

    For the price, the overall finish and the paint and lacquer quality on this helmet is really praiseworthy! It feels nice to hold and behold. The graphics (yellow/white/black) on the Streamline look contemporary and eye catching. The silver coated visor just enhances its visual appeal. The overall shape of the helmet is compact and it doesnt look too big even on people with short body build.

    Name:  20160309_143827.jpg
Views: 9249
Size:  68.0 KB

    Name:  20160309_143904.jpg
Views: 9435
Size:  63.1 KB

    Name:  20160309_143924.jpg
Views: 9509
Size:  67.9 KB

    Features wise, the Axor Streamline has detachable interior lining, multi-step sliding tip chin strap lock, detachable breath deflector, dual channel vents for air flow inside the visor, and a scratch resistant visor. How much resistance against scratches this visor has needs to be checked over a longer period. The visor also has multi-step opening mechanism. The chin strap locking mechanism is multi-step sliding type.

    Name:  20160309_144005.jpg
Views: 9060
Size:  54.8 KB

    The plastic opening and closing mechanism of the top vents was a little too slippery and hard to adjust while riding, especially with riding gloves on.
    The chrome on the visor was a little too much for my taste and it could block as much as 50% light entering the helmet (dont ask me how I reached that number!), making it really difficult to ride post sunset with your visor down. There is no mention of the weight of the helmet on either the helmet or the helmet box; however, our guesstimate says that it must be around 1300 grams, which is pretty similar to other helmets at this price point. It doesnt really feel too heavy to wear and I didnt feel any discomfort per se even after wearing it for more than 4-5 hours at a stretch.

    The visor changing was a piece of cake, though you need a bit of practice to master this art. All you need is to just press that round plastic button to unlock it from the helmet. Though while putting the visor back, the little spring tended to jump out and hide in some unreachable corner behind the sofa. So you need to be careful with that.

    Name:  20160309_144326.jpg
Views: 9189
Size:  39.2 KB

    Name:  20160309_144345.jpg
Views: 8995
Size:  49.2 KB

    Name:  20160309_144741.jpg
Views: 8969
Size:  50.3 KB

    Safety wise, the Axor Streamline has got DOT and ISI certification. The thickness of the padding is medium at best. It feels comfortable to wear and doesnt block much of your view either in the front or in the periphery of your vision while you are wearing it.

    As I said earlier, Ive ridden with this helmet on within the city limits only and have hardly tested how it performs on the highway. The wind noise in city speeds as expected is zero. Ill update this blog as soon as I get to hit the highway.
    Last edited by sunilg; 03-09-2016 at 04:34 PM.
    (Been There Done That) x 3.25

  2. #2
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    This is a tough one
    Posts
    752
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    That DOT certification looks shady, is it legit? Since DOT is FMVSS 218 applicable for U.S only I think, and Vega is selling this helmet only in China India and Italy, then why DOT certification?
    Last edited by RoyalIndian; 03-09-2016 at 06:11 PM.

  3. #3
    SCUBA Diver Shaktiv3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Port Blair, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
    Posts
    156
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Quote Originally Posted by RoyalIndian View Post
    That DOT certification looks shady, is it legit? Since DOT is FMVSS 218 applicable for U.S only I think, and Vega is selling this helmet only in China India and Italy, then why DOT certification?
    To attract people who know that DOT is better than ISI. For sale in ITALY it needs a ECE certification right??
    Well-trained reflexes are quicker than luck.

    People Visiting the Andaman Islands. Ping me/Call me (9474208824) for any help/information.

  4. #4
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    This is a tough one
    Posts
    752
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaktiv3 View Post
    To attract people who know that DOT is better than ISI. For sale in ITALY it needs a ECE certification right??
    Yes, thats correct

  5. #5
    Addicted RedWingRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Uttar pradesh
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    looks compact.
    you are right.

    btw reasons for opting this one?

    any other options in this price range.

    dont know why but visor seems to have a cheapish quality and finish., (correct me if i am worng here)
    kany1991 likes this.

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Hi Sunil,
    Any update if you have had the opportunity to ride with AXOR on the Highway or at high speed especially in terms of Wind Noise?
    How is the overall rigidity & Visor Scratches after few months of use?
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Just bought 1 from a store in Pune , to go with my recent purchase of a CBR 250.
    The store guy said Vega has given up the AXOR brand. In its place kranoskranos aka Spartan is now manufacturing in China, designed in Italy.
    Very good fit. My odd head size.
    Lots of noise. Poor ventilation.
    Good visor . Easy to interchange. Switch between the clear n the silver. It does help with the heat factor vis the eyes. This even tho I wear shades.
    But here is the INTERESTING part. He sold this to me MRP 4200 for 3500/-. No isiisi certification.
    And you got yours for 2700/-
    is this true Or the usual dealer hokey pokey to earn a quick buck.
    Don't wanna mention the dealers name as when I'm sure of my faves I'll confront him and post. Would even try to video.
    Help me brother XBHPians .

  8. #8
    ER Doctor MotoBlizzard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    1,106
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Quote Originally Posted by sanoronha View Post
    Just bought 1 from a store in Pune , to go with my recent purchase of a CBR 250.
    The store guy said Vega has given up the AXOR brand. In its place kranoskranos aka Spartan is now manufacturing in China, designed in Italy.
    Very good fit. My odd head size.
    Lots of noise. Poor ventilation.
    Good visor . Easy to interchange. Switch between the clear n the silver. It does help with the heat factor vis the eyes. This even tho I wear shades.
    But here is the INTERESTING part. He sold this to me MRP 4200 for 3500/-. No isiisi certification.
    And you got yours for 2700/-
    is this true Or the usual dealer hokey pokey to earn a quick buck.
    Don't wanna mention the dealers name as when I'm sure of my faves I'll confront him and post. Would even try to video.
    Help me brother XBHPians .
    1. Vega has NOT given up on Axor helmet series
    2. Kranos WAS a helmet series from MT. MT is not related to Vega in anyway. Kranos was in production since before 2014 (2014 is when I first got my kranos Helmet)
    Kranos series of helmets have now been replaced by an updated series called as MUGELLO helmets
    3. SpartanProGear is the distributor for MT helmets in India
    4. If your helmet did not have any kind of safety certification then most likely you got sold a counterfeit helmet.
    For My Gixxer Related videos: Click HERE

    Join My Facebook Suzuki Gixxer Group
    : Click Here

    [My Motorcycles]
    2013 - 2016: Honda Activa
    2016 - Current:
    Suzuki GSX150F

  9. #9
    Rookie raahul11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ahmednagar, Pune, Nashik, Mumbai
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Hello, dear fellow riders,

    I am in search of a helmet and found something interesting. I went a shop looking for it and my friend was wearing MT reflexion.
    The shopkeeper showed us Axor Stealth.
    Now if you see the designs, they are exactly identical, it is clear that Vega has made a copy of MT. Now my question is, being one of the top brands in India, how can they do that? or is there any connection between MT and Vega.

    Experts, please enlighten!

    Note: Follow the links for respective models.

    Riding is not just a skill, it's an attitude

  10. #10
    Addicted Skanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Namma Bengaluru
    Posts
    236
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Axor Streamline Helmet Review

    Used Axor helmet for few months and I feel the weight distribution of the helmet is bad. After few minutes of wearing, I get headache and I cannot wear it more than 45mins straight. Better to avoid. Moved on to THH TX 27 currently and its working great.
    Live to Ride!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Mt blade helmet review
    By Yatheesh S Yashashvi in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 08-03-2018, 12:12 AM
  2. MT Axxis Helmet Review
    By Shaktiv3 in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-31-2016, 06:58 PM
  3. Ls2 wolf (air go) helmet review
    By ted 06 in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-29-2015, 05:30 PM
  4. SOL SL68s Unicorn II Helmet Review
    By Ron Syl in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-01-2014, 07:10 PM
  5. Review: SOL SL68S Odyssey Helmet
    By hatebreeder in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-28-2014, 12:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •