Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Dawn & dusk make slight hard to adjust.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

  1. #1
    Sadakchhapp black asp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bangalore/Bhubaneswar
    Posts
    711
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    My 10 month review of solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace threshold Boots.


    This is my first thread and review on Xbhp so I would like to apologize in prior for any mistakes.




    Solace Defender Plus


    The need
    My jacket was nearing 4 years old. It was a spartan Icarus with basic CE level 1 armours.
    So the hunt was on for an upgrade.


    The spark
    My brother lost his jacket while on a trip to ooty. So this was excuse enough to go out and search for a new jacket.


    We had already decided to get a Textile jacket this time because we had already used mesh jackets and felt that a textile will be more safe. The only bugging issue was the uncomfortable nature of the jackets that come bundled with any textile jackets(read poor ventilation). That didn't mean we closed our eyes to other mesh jackets. We considered them too.


    If one looks on a higher level there are many jackets from many manufacturers available in India but on a lower level these were my observations.
    Cramster- Having heard bad reviews about it this brand was given less preference.
    DSG Genesis and DSG Triton- These had met all the criteria and looked awesome but sadly with basic CE armours(as per their website ) these didnt tick off all the boxes.
    TBG Knight- This was the jacket that came close to being bought. Its a very good jacket and has happy customers. This checked off all almost all the criteria. Though being almost 2000 bucks dearer than the defender plus this was still an option. It came with sas-tec armors that are far superior to than the basic CE armours that came with the DSG and Cramster ones.
    Solace Defender Plus- One day while randomly browsing through my liked pages in my Facebook account i saw i had randomly liked a page called solace riding gears in 2014. I didn't hear from them or any user about their products after that so was doubtful if the company is operational at all or not. On visiting the page i found out that they are well functional and located close by. I also found out that they have a textile jacket called Defender plus which is a full Textile jacket and came with sas tec level 2 armours for shoulders and elbows and a Multi layer CE level 2 armour for the back. The jacket looked interesting so i contacted them via phone with the given contact number and got the exact details of the place .
    I went to the place next week to check out the defender plus jacket. Sadly couldn't take pics of the purchase but putting a pic of the jacket form their website here for reference.
    Name:  defender.JPG
Views: 1374
Size:  23.9 KB
    These were my initial observations of the jacket.
    The jacket is full textile with 600D fabric(new ones are 750D).
    The armors are Sas tec in the elbows and shoulders and are unlike any other armors i have seen till now.
    It has an integrated rain liner with a detachable Thermal liner.
    The build quality looked top notch with the stitches and stretch panels looking sturdy and seemed tough.
    This was purchased after a long session of Q&A with Mr. Dalip Kumar who was patient enough to explain all the tiny bits in detail. The cost was 7100 INR back in October.


    The jacket was used for short rides initially and finally on December i had to visit my native town bhubaneswar which is almost 1500 kms away from Bangalore.
    It was during this ride that the actual quality of the liner came out. The armors didn't bite on long stretches which usually is the case with my old jacket.
    The adjustment straps made sure the armors stayed in place and the inegrated rain liner was a boon as almost half of my ride was in rains.
    The Thermal liner made sure i didnt freeze as it was winter time in Odisha and temperatures do go really low. The only gripe was it being a textile jacket you will heat up fast if you stop
    for long with the main zipper zipped in shut. The trick is to loosen up the main zip and let the air flow in if you are down to a crawling speed. The ride was good and the jacket was fine on the return trip also.A few months afterwards my brother was using this jacket and had a very nasty crash on loose gravel. it was a pretty nasty crash as he was doing around 60-70kmph.
    The jacket took the impact and thanks to the well designed retention straps the armors stayed in place and didnt move from their place thus preventing additional damage.
    The jacket after the crash is shown below.
    Name:  Def 2017-07-10 at 12.23.25 PM (1).jpg
Views: 1316
Size:  20.2 KB
    Name:  Def 2017-07-10 at 12.23.25 PM.jpg
Views: 1288
Size:  20.2 KB
    The best thing is even though the crash was a bit serious the jacket didnt even tear or give up its stitch in one single place.
    it was just muddied and after one wash it was back to be used again. Had it been a mesh jacket the jacket would have been a write off and may be the mesh could have melted and casued additional damage.
    The compromise with comfort that was decided prior to buying this jacket was proven correct.


    Solace Threshold boots


    While buying the jacket i saw that solace have a boot in their product list too. Its called Threshold and is supposed to be a track boot. It looked interesting and
    ignited thought of getting a pair of proper riding boots but i preferred to delay the purchase as i needed time to research on what other options i had. The budget was 8-10k max.
    So keeping this in mind i started searching for proper full length riding boots(safety shoes or ankle length boots were discarded completely from the list).
    These are the options that i had while keeping the mentioned requirements in mind.
    Falco liberty
    Tarmac venom
    Ryo Raptor 2
    Solace Threshold
    XDI


    Alpinestars sidi TCX etc were discounted because of budget constraints.


    Falco liberty(7700 INR approx)- Tried it the build is good and top notch very good pricing too.
    Tarmac venom(10000 INR)- The costliest of the bunch and looks the part of a track boot too. Sadly it had too many screws plastic panels and
    joints and the retention mechanism was complex. It would be a good choice if you are a trackday nut but if you want the best of both worlds then probably these are not for you.
    Ryo Raptor 2(8000 INR)- Looks good and awesome but sadly the feel is flimsy and the leather didn't seem that good. Didn't bother giving it a second thought.
    XDI(8500 INR)-No place in Bangalore to try and buy so these boots were dropped off the list.
    Solace Threshold(7200 INR)- These boots were tried in the last and luckily they had a newer variant for it. The new variant came in with a foldable curtain kind of thing between your leg and the zipper in the boots. These are there to prevent extra folding of the boots when you try to wear them and in a way prevent water from seeping in through the zipper too.
    As again Mr. kumar was grilled for an hour with my constant and sometimes even non sensical questions to which he explained everything politely and correctly.


    The boots were tested thoroughly on my ride to Odisha where most of the ride was done in rains.
    I have completed almost 10k kms with the boots and they are still strong.




    IN a nut shell both of the peoducts are good at what they claim to do but i would like to put in a few positives and negatives of both.


    Solace Defender Plus


    Pros-
    Awesome level of protection thanks to the heavy duty cordura and Sas- Tec armours
    Option of customization according to your size and to an extent color too. Infact this is the only Indian Manufacturer i have heard till now to do so.
    Good rain protection
    Bang for buck



    Cons-


    It can be a microwave in certain situations
    Main Zipper was flimsy in my model but the newer models have better zippers.


    Threshold Boots


    Pros-
    Build quality and material used is top notch.
    Zippers and velcor work as expected.
    Good quality ankle toe and shin protection.
    Water proof if you ride in rains without submerging yourself till knees.
    Again like the jacket Kick ass pricing.


    Cons-
    Well only one i can think of the inside part of the heel tends to be in contact with the heel plates in the bike and get scored.


    Verdict for both-


    Definitely recommended or at least worth a try before dismissing the brand as another unknown entity.

    P.S. More pics of the present state of both the products will be added when i access my personal computer.

    CHEERS
    Last edited by black asp; 07-31-2017 at 06:32 PM.
    Maxsteel and i22 like this.
    Yamaha RXZ 5 speed (sold)
    Bajaj Pulsar 220 DTS fi( sold)
    Bajaj Discover 112(2006)
    Yamaha R15 V2(2011)
    Yezdi 250 model B(1978)
    RX 135 4 speed(1998)
    Yamaha Rajdoot 350(1989-unrestored)
    Bajaj Pulsar 220 DTS-i (2011)Crashed and sold :'(
    Bajaj Pulsar 220 DTS-i (2009-Fastest Indian)

  2. #2
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    10,019
    Mentioned
    435 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Review Thread Approved

    Thanks for sharing. Waiting for the photos now!
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  3. #3
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Just wanted to add something more to the group.
    I have also been using solace defender plus for 3 months and ridden around 4k kms in this jacket. Also posting lots of pics of the jacket.
    Here is my take on it :-
    Solace defender plus Pro's and Con's -

    Pros :-

    1) Comfortable.
    2) Fitting of the jacket.
    3) Sastec armour better than knox as it takes shape of the body ,it's a soft viscoelastic armour which gets hard on impact.
    4) ‎Quality of stitches and overall quality of used material.( Which is 750d cordura not available in an jacket in this price)
    5) ‎Waterproof as co says( haven't got the chance to test that in rains)
    6) ‎Elbow protection (see in pics below)
    7) ‎Stretch panels on arms and back to ease the movements of limbs.
    8) ‎Quality of the zippers is good in my opinion.(Ykk zippers)
    9) Connection zipper for pants.

    Cons :-

    1) In stop go traffic you will feel warm and you have to be above 20-25 Kmph for the airflow
    2) ‎For me not having chest protectors or even pockets for them.
    3) ‎Storage becomes less when winter liner is removed (for eg there are 5 pockets with liners and without liners there is 3 pockets with 2 outer ones and one inner one and one keychain holder too)
    4) T‎here is no rain liner as jacket has the type of REISSA in the construction and it is non-removable.

    It all depends on preference if you want same features in a mesh jacket with full level 2 sastec you can go for tbg mesh jacket for 9600
    But this will fetch you 7500 with level one back armour and level two for shoulders and elbows.

    As i wanted a textile jacket as protection, triumphs over anything for me , also mesh will tear a part in a crash trust me , go as per your preference and what suits you the best.Try before you purchase.
    Cheers

  4. #4
    Rusted krishna77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Dum Dum, Kolkata
    Posts
    5,371
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Nice and helpful review!

  5. #5
    Rusted nadz11.ns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Jammu, J&K
    Posts
    3,239
    Mentioned
    66 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Can you post pics of Shoulder and Elbow armours ?
    Somesh1902 likes this.

    Ride safe and have fun.
    Regards
    Nadeem


  6. #6
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Quote Originally Posted by nadz11.ns View Post
    Can you post pics of Shoulder and Elbow armours ?
    Level 2 Sastec armours for both elbow and knee
    Here is the link for both knee and elbow which are in the jacket :-

    http://solaceintl.in/index.php?route...product_id=125

    http://solaceintl.in/index.php?route...product_id=126

  7. #7
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Very Nice and Helpful Review. I will find the nearest dealer and check out both Jackets and Shoes in Person.

  8. #8
    Rookie Maxsteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Navi Mumbai
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Why is Solace name been so unpopular. For past week I have been researching on it, more I read about Solace more I am liking it. Its proper design of safety & comfort (sas-tec armour does fit comfortably) for riders.Many are auggesting Scala, Rynox (hard armour) & MotoTorque (they have unbranded CE2 Armours)

  9. #9
    Rusted MidnightEvil Parth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Haldwani,Uttarakhand
    Posts
    947
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxsteel View Post
    Why is Solace name been so unpopular. For past week I have been researching on it, more I read about Solace more I am liking it. Its proper design of safety & comfort (sas-tec armour does fit comfortably) for riders.Many are auggesting Scala, Rynox (hard armour) & MotoTorque (they have unbranded CE2 Armours)
    Solace is very behind in online promotion spend, much like Viaterra. They both are an enthusiast's Indian value flavour.
    Maxsteel likes this.

  10. #10
    Sadakchhapp black asp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bangalore/Bhubaneswar
    Posts
    711
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Long Term review of Solace Defender Plus jacket and Solace Threshold boots

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxsteel View Post
    Why is Solace name been so unpopular. For past week I have been researching on it, more I read about Solace more I am liking it. Its proper design of safety & comfort (sas-tec armour does fit comfortably) for riders.Many are auggesting Scala, Rynox (hard armour) & MotoTorque (they have unbranded CE2 Armours)
    The answer to this may get me banned from here
    Yamaha RXZ 5 speed (sold)
    Bajaj Pulsar 220 DTS fi( sold)
    Bajaj Discover 112(2006)
    Yamaha R15 V2(2011)
    Yezdi 250 model B(1978)
    RX 135 4 speed(1998)
    Yamaha Rajdoot 350(1989-unrestored)
    Bajaj Pulsar 220 DTS-i (2011)Crashed and sold :'(
    Bajaj Pulsar 220 DTS-i (2009-Fastest Indian)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SOLACE - Defender Plus Jacket Ownership Review
    By Zen Walker in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-01-2017, 01:35 AM
  2. Threshold Riding Boot from SOLACE
    By rahul_raj1990 in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-11-2017, 01:28 PM
  3. Solace Riding Boots - ROHA and Jazzy (Video review)
    By harish.krovvidi in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2017, 01:24 PM
  4. Solace SPRINT Riding Jacket Review
    By Mystic Rider in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-10-2016, 04:39 AM
  5. Review- SOLACE Sprint mesh jacket who saves my life
    By amalbhagat in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-30-2016, 08:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •