Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Castrol Power 1

Learn & practice evasive maneuvers.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Poll: New to biking

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

Page 2830 of 2832 FirstFirst ... 183023302730278028202826282728282829283028312832 LastLast
Results 28,291 to 28,300 of 28319
Like Tree6812Likes

Thread: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

  1. #28291
    Addicted vinchel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Mangalore
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    It's around 20 days since I bought my 200 na (bs6). The engine coolant level is near minimum level now. Is it possible to add distilled water like car coolant? Which is the coolant normaly used? Cc an I find it in Petrol pumps?
    Reduce 1 km/hr speed, add 1second 2 ur life.

  2. #28292
    Rusted yashasvi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    jaipur, rajasthan
    Posts
    421
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by vinchel View Post
    It's around 20 days since I bought my 200 na (bs6). The engine coolant level is near minimum level now. Is it possible to add distilled water like car coolant? Which is the coolant normaly used? Cc an I find it in Petrol pumps?
    Yes you can use distilled water no issues, coolant just has higher boiling point and better heat dissipation properties.
    It's only when you are running the engine at higher rpms and during long durations that coolant is helpful.

    In normal running the radiator fan doesn't even start, ns engine is that relaxed, after lock down go the service center and get the coolant topped up, my friend uses Castrol coolant, he bought from Amazon.

    Once my vw polo had a minor accident and the radiator got busted, the coolant leaked ofcourse. On the service center's recommendation i repaired the radiator with m-seal, filled it with normal water and drove back to my home, 350 kms, five people in car, 100 kmph average speeds and peak Rajasthan summers.

    So no worries
    Peace

  3. #28293
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    875
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    In an emergency, you can top up with distilled water, if it is available. Don't use tap water or anything now as the level is just above minimum and not below it. There should be sufficient coolant inside the hoses and radiator.

    Normally, you will top up with pre-mixed coolant.

    For Future:
    1. The SVC will do the top up for you.
    2. If you want to replace the coolant yourself:

    Bajaj recommends Castrol Radicool or Motul Motocool. Don't use Castrol heavy duty meant for trucks. It has nitrites that is beneficial to cast iron block lorry engines - should not be used in NS. Choose SFO-premix if you choose Castrol. Motul Inugel also can be used as the bottle says it is fit for two wheelers.

    For NS/RS, any coolant fit for Aluminum engines/radiator can be used.

    Congrats on getting BS6 NS200!
    Quote Originally Posted by vinchel View Post
    It's around 20 days since I bought my 200 na (bs6). The engine coolant level is near minimum level now. Is it possible to add distilled water like car coolant? Which is the coolant normaly used? Cc an I find it in Petrol pumps?
    vinchel likes this.


  4. #28294
    Rookie Motokarkhana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    bhaktapur
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    I dont recommend to use distilled water or other car coolant I guess you can find total's coolant best and cheap

  5. #28295
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    875
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Motokarkhana View Post
    I dont recommend to use distilled water or other car coolant I guess you can find total's coolant best and cheap
    Yes. As of now he needs to do nothing as the level is above minimum. After lockdown, getting topped up at SVC is the way since his NS is brand new. Does Total have a dedicated two-wheeler coolant?
    vinchel likes this.


  6. #28296
    Addicted Manoj Sivaraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by vinchel View Post
    It's around 20 days since I bought my 200 na (bs6). The engine coolant level is near minimum level now. Is it possible to add distilled water like car coolant? Which is the coolant normaly used? Cc an I find it in Petrol pumps?
    Usually from the factory all fluids won't be filled upto the brim. It's SVC's responsibility to check these during Pre Delivery Inspection.
    They will do a small top up to ensure the reservoir stays at perfect level.
    Don't worry it's just the reservoir that's low. You radiator will be perfectly filled.
    If you are going for a topup I recommend to use the same brand. Most use Castrol radicool and motul inugel expert.
    If you wanna upgrade to a better coolant go with honda motorcycle coolant as it's silicates free and cheap per litre.
    Silicate free coolant improves your coolant pump seal life.

    Also have a practice to replace coolant every year or every 15k kms. Will result in cleaner radiator as well as less flushing and cleaning work.
    Congrats on your new purchase..

    Regards
    Manoj Sivaraman..
    vinchel likes this.

  7. #28297
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    245
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Manoj Sivaraman View Post
    If you are going for a topup I recommend to use the same brand. Most use Castrol radicool and motul inugel expert.
    If you wanna upgrade to a better coolant go with honda motorcycle coolant as it's silicates free and cheap per litre.
    Do you have a picture of the Honda motorcycle coolant, not able to find the exact one searching online.

    Thanks
    Srvn
    Manoj Sivaraman likes this.

  8. #28298
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,288
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    254 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Srvn View Post
    Do you have a picture of the Honda motorcycle coolant, not able to find the exact one searching online.

    Thanks
    Srvn
    This is the one, HONDA RADIATOR LIQUID, and Manoj is right. This is blue colored premixed coolant.

    Cheers!
    VJ Name:  SAVE_20200406_170956.jpg
Views: 58
Size:  43.3 KB
    Manoj Sivaraman likes this.
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  9. #28299
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    245
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    This is the one, HONDA RADIATOR LIQUID, and Manoj is right. This is blue colored premixed coolant.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Thanks Vijay!

    How much does Honda radiator liquid cost? How is the performance?
    Have been using Castrol Radicool Heavyduty as per ktm recommendation for past 2 replacement cycles. So far has worked out cheaper with optimum performance.

    Thanks
    Srvn

  10. #28300
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    875
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Srvn View Post
    Have been using Castrol Radicool Heavyduty as per ktm recommendation for past 2 replacement cycles. So far has worked out cheaper with optimum performance. Thanks Srvn
    What bike do you have now, I thought you had a Gixxer 155. Try to avoid Radicool heavyduty - according to it's MSDS, it has nitrites that will help prevent corrosion of cast iron engine blocks of trucks. For Duke/NS, it spells trouble - it will deposit/form a coating on the internal walls. Also, I think heavyduty is concentrated and not pre-mixed.


Similar Threads

  1. Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 Owners Experiences
    By amandeepkamboj19 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3061
    Last Post: 2 Days Ago, 09:02 PM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj Pulsar RS 200 Owners Review and Experience
    By thunderbird_m6 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 5661
    Last Post: 12-26-2019, 08:29 PM
  3. Review And How to Install new K&N[BA-2201] For Pulsar
    By I.S.Avinash in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-01-2016, 11:26 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 02:06 AM
  5. [Help]: Pulsar 220 Owners
    By chaman19 in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 10:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •