Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

#xBhpAxorHelmet #2

Axor
Castrol Power 1

Careful with that leaking water tanker ahead.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Poll: New to biking

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

Page 2837 of 2838 FirstFirst ... 18372337273727872827283328342835283628372838 LastLast
Results 28,361 to 28,370 of 28371
Like Tree6843Likes

Thread: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

  1. #28361
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,451
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    265 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
    I have negligible experience working on this Motorcycle but when it comes to obvious signs of oil starvation the first suspect would always be the oil pump.

    Does all variants of the KTM engine come with dual oil pumps or is it limited to a few?

    P.S.
    A friend of mine who is a mechanic wanted to know if you guys who faced oil starvation had used any oil additives or used materials that leave a lot of lint to clean the oil filter cavity.
    Apart from the Duke 390 and 250 all other models of the Bajaj KTM clones use the single feed oil pump. The evacuation pump or the scavenge pump is present on the D390 and the 250. I did use Liqui Moly shooter oil additive on my Duke, and it's a worthless investment to be looked for and considered for. No lint, no nothing. On most KTMs and KTM Clones, you will have metal shavings on the strainer located below the engine but that's pretty much it. Personally, we haven't come across lint or any fabric material for that matter. Though you have to proactively clean the strainer and replace the oil filter, as they do catch up quite some filth.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    ashwinprakas and kiran2508 like this.
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  2. #28362
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Ranajoy Kundu View Post
    Has someone noticed the tiktik sound that comes from the engine of both the Pulsar NS200 and RS200? My friend bought his Pulsar NS200 in June 2019 and he had that sound from the beginning, but it was subtle and wasn’t so noticeable. My Pulsar RS200 2015 model also had that sound and upon closer inspection on January 2020, it was found that my one of my cam lobes has eroded off by upto a millimetre. The mechanic, who is well known to me said that this has happened due to high speed riding and that the engine oil can’t lubricate the cams properly at high rpm’s, although i doubt it because at high rpm, the oil pump works faster which should pump more oil. I always used Motul 7100 20w50 oil. Anyway, i trusted him as i do ride the bike extensively and also take it to the highways at least three times a month and do high speeds. They replaced the cam and now the engine sounds smooth.
    Going back to my friend’s NS200, the tiktik sound was somewhat contained till February 2020, he completed 9k kms by then and stuck to Bajaj Dtsi 10000 20w50 as he wanted warranty. At 9k kms he decided to switch to the Dominar 400’s oil, that is the Bajaj Dtsi 10000 10w50 and after that the sound just kept on increasing to a point when the tiktik sound was audible more than the exhaust sound in idle and the sound increased with increase in rpms. I thought maybe the tappet clearance were out, and a simple visit to svc would solve it, so we visited svc on June 2020. We waited until the tappet clearance was done, and started the engine for test and surprisingly the sound was still there. The mechanic who worked on my bike opened the head and upon inspection, it was found that one of the cam lobes was eroded the exact same way as my RS’s. The same lobe, even the pattern and depth was exactly the same. It was really surprising to see a very well maintained bike with 11k kms on odo with an eroded camshaft. The svc guys replaced it free of cost, as the bike was still under warranty and their statement was the same. “The bike gets ridden very fast due to which oil cannot reach the cylinder head properly and lubricate it”.Upon asking if its a manufacturing defect, they are denying any. My friend rides very sedately in city and rides fast occasionally on highways, the rest of the time cruising at around 90-100km/h. My brother owns a 200NS 2013 model with 39k kms on odo amd his bike hasn’t had the issue, although the bike was ridden pretty fast. Since that time onwards, i have seen many NS200s with the same loud tiktik sound which increases upon increase in rpm and i am pretty sure that if not all, most of them have got this camshaft issue. I think that this is a manufacturing defect, and it has affected a big percentage of NS and RS200. It would be very grateful if you throw some light and maybe share your experiences if you have got any. Thanks!
    Hi!

    Thank You for sharing this issue.
    I own a 2012 BS3 Pulsar 200 NS. So far I have only ridden it under 26000 km.
    I have practiced my riding skills on it, ridden fast on empty roads and daily commutes.
    But never I faced this issue.
    Yes I have maintained well and the svc has been honest to me when it came to maintenance of engine, carburetor.
    Yes, my carburetor has been changed once as it malfunctioned automatically due to wear and tear unexpectedly.
    But no other major changes.

    Your issue could be serious.
    It could be manufacture defect.
    I suggest get in touch with your Regional Manager of Bajaj.
    Because the logic given by svc is not possible. Because the Pulsars are designed to be revved harder but use of throttle has to be progressive. One has to accelerate progressively and correctly.
    A11Z

  3. #28363
    Rusted kiran2508's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Bengaluru
    Posts
    510
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
    P.S.
    A friend of mine who is a mechanic wanted to know if you guys who faced oil starvation had used any oil additives or used materials that leave a lot of lint to clean the oil filter cavity.
    The only additive I can think of I've ever used is those engine flush which SVC force upon you even if you deny it, I'm not sure if they even indeed used add it and do the entire flush or just billed it blindly without doing the job. That's the only one I can think off which might leave a lint

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Apart from the Duke 390 and 250 all other models of the Bajaj KTM clones use the single feed oil pump. The evacuation pump or the scavenge pump is present on the D390 and the 250. I did use Liqui Moly shooter oil additive on my Duke, and it's a worthless investment to be looked for and considered for. No lint, no nothing. On most KTMs and KTM Clones, you will have metal shavings on the strainer located below the engine but that's pretty much it. Personally, we haven't come across lint or any fabric material for that matter. Though you have to proactively clean the strainer and replace the oil filter, as they do catch up quite some filth.
    Thanks for the info on Liqui Molly, they have been pushing a lot of marketing from last year, but I din't want to take the risk of trying their products my bike. Now I've my doubts cleared on them by your post.

    And yes you are right for the 2nd part, KTM/Pulsars do shed a lot of metal shavings even when ridden sanely, having owned TVS and Bajaj/KTM products, the internal engine robustness and build is indeed on the sub-par side when compared to TVS and do wear out much quickly.

    On a positive good side though the spares are unbelievably dead cheap, while dealing with by 390 rebuild I found out that the whole 200NS half engine rebuild the spares will just cost less than Rs.4500 (Rs.2.3K for the block assy, Rs.800 for cams, valves spring timing chain assy etc etc Rs.1K). I'd say this dead cheap pricing is the only saving grace.
    Last edited by kiran2508; 07-19-2020 at 01:57 AM.
    Bajaj SuperFE 150 - Forever in my heart
    Bajaj Discover 135 DTSi Sports - 2009 to Current
    KTM RC390 - 2015 to Curr​ent
    TVS Jupiter - 2016 to Current

  4. #28364
    Addicted mallikarjunsadanand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    135
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Guys, found the leakage just below the suspension. Below the nitrrox box. I heard the nitrrox box is filled with a gas, then where this liquid could be coming out from ?


    Rear brake oil I doubt it .... Because the amount of oil leak is more and brakes are working perfectly fine.

  5. #28365
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    914
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Either the shock absorber is leaking or the drain/waste pipe of the airfilter box has come off. See last few posts of RS200 thread. Shock absorber also has oil inside - in some vehicles, you can actually drain the old oil and refill new.
    Quote Originally Posted by mallikarjunsadanand View Post
    Guys, found the leakage just below the suspension. Below the nitrrox box. I heard the nitrrox box is filled with a gas, then where this liquid could be coming out from ?


    Rear brake oil I doubt it .... Because the amount of oil leak is more and brakes are working perfectly


  6. #28366
    Addicted vinchel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Mangalore
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Hope everyone is doing fine. I have completed around 3k km on my BS6 NS200 and its really the perfect bike in its segment (but I still miss the seat comfort and smoothness of my TVS Victor ). Been getting roughly 38-43km mileage (mostly rash driving and quick acceleration etc..) which I feel is better for a 23 hp engine. I wish to purchase the below 3 accessories to smoothen my ride
    1. Seat cover : been through most of the seat covers offered in roadside/shops but they dont seem that comfortable. I am looking for a ventilated type seat cover (which would help in the long cruising.)
    2. Visor : I ve got so many advices that visor would help in air flow resistance (if not I would like to get one for the looks ). Are the common model visors (found online like : https://www.amazon.in/Attractive-Off...Bajaj%3APulsar ) a perfect fit for the NS200?
    3. Lastly a luggage carrier (like royal himalayan) : To carry light luggage and better for the looks again !!

    Suggestions/Recommendations/Advice are most welcome
    Reduce 1 km/hr speed, add 1second 2 ur life.

  7. #28367
    Rookie lokeshc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by i_rock098 View Post
    Hello guys, I am a new owner of a red pulsar 200ns which I got two days ago.

    Ever since I got the bike I have been following the manuals method of breaking in and keeping the bike at low speeds. If I am correct the speeds indicated for the first 1000km turns out to be about less than 4k RPM in every gear. Now my question is, is it alright to occasionally go above that rpm limit? I am honestly not enjoying the bike at such low rmp, the low end feels a lot like my old xtreme, that is to say nothing special like I was expecting to blow my mind. Though the bike really comes to its own in the mid and top end above 5k rpm that's the kind of fun I want from this bike. Now at the present moment since I left my job I don't need to drive as much and will b be using it occasionally, so completing 1000-2000km at these insanely low speed and rmp is going to be a chore I feel. What do you guys suggest?
    Adding my experience. When i first bought the bike, i saw way too many videos on the breaking in topic. I went on a 120 kms highway ride. Maintaining the speed between 40 - 60 and gradually went up to 90 once or twice. RPM was not above 7k i believe(forgot this part). After 350kms i force an engine oil change and rode the bike sanely without hard acceleration but i touched 90kms every now and then. This was done gradually. Most of the time i was doing 50-65 kmph. At 500 kms i made the mandatory service and again oil was changed. now after 15k kms, no issues. Engine performance good. Hits 151 on the speedo on highways. Mileage, if i dont ride rashly, is 35 in the city. Highways i get 34 if i cruise at 80 - 100kmph.

    ----consecutive posts auto-merged-----

    Hi guys. Just a question. I changed the oil to Motul 7100 20W50 and the mechanic has 100ml more from the 1.5L Motul bottle(bottle has markings and 200ml is left). Would a 100ml excess cause any issues? I plan to hit the highway and I will be riding pretty harsh often touching 120kmph and maybe ill try a top speed run.
    Would this kind of riding cause any issue because of the 100ml engine oil excess? Please let me know yours thoughts. Thanks in advance.

  8. #28368
    Rookie Leo Swithin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Kollam
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Hey guys my bike has been seeing rust here and there. Day by day, I find new ones. Its becoming quite disturbing and worrying. Bike is only 3k ridden BS4. Any reasons i am contsantly facing this? Please help, this is getting me pissed off!!

  9. #28369
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Bengaluru
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    I am facing some problem with ABS. My ABS will keep on on speeds even after 20 km. When i engage clutch i could see 0 in my speedometer when ABS light is on. Recently i got it changed from Service center as per their recommendation after 2 weeks again same problem. I just completed 250 KM ride in this ride i am unable to see speed on speedometer its started showing 0 and shows some numbers which doesnt match the speed.

    Dont know what could be the problem. All this started when i kept my bike alone in lockdown for 80 days without touching. please help me

    Its 2019 model driven only 3450km
    Last edited by praveencs532; 2 Weeks Ago at 02:33 PM.

  10. #28370
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,451
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    265 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by praveencs532 View Post
    I am facing some problem with ABS. My ABS will keep on on speeds even after 20 km. When i engage clutch i could see 0 in my speedometer when ABS light is on. Recently i got it changed from Service center as per their recommendation after 2 weeks again same problem. I just completed 250 KM ride in this ride i am unable to see speed on speedometer its started showing 0 and shows some numbers which doesnt match the speed.

    Dont know what could be the problem. All this started when i kept my bike alone in lockdown for 80 days without touching. please help me

    Its 2019 model driven only 3450km
    Can you elaborate on what was replaced at the SVC and what was their prognosis?

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj Pulsar RS 200 Owners Review and Experience
    By thunderbird_m6 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 5672
    Last Post: 2 Days Ago, 11:36 AM
  2. Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 Owners Experiences
    By amandeepkamboj19 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3061
    Last Post: 06-03-2020, 09:02 PM
  3. Review And How to Install new K&N[BA-2201] For Pulsar
    By I.S.Avinash in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-01-2016, 11:26 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 02:06 AM
  5. [Help]: Pulsar 220 Owners
    By chaman19 in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 10:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •