Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

The slower the vehicle, the quicker it can turn.

Our Partners

User Tag List

View Poll Results: How would you rate the overall build and quality of the motorcycle?

Voters
49. This poll is closed
  • Good/Okay

    8 16.33%
  • Bad

    4 8.16%
  • Excellent

    9 18.37%
  • Could Have Been Better

    13 26.53%
  • I am damn happy with my motorcycle

    10 20.41%
  • For the price it's okay

    5 10.20%
Page 1003 of 1088 FirstFirst ... 35039039539939991000100110021003100410051006100710131053 ... LastLast
Results 10,021 to 10,030 of 10876
Like Tree6515Likes

Thread: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

  1. #10021
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,125
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    248 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by coolmaverickguy View Post
    Hello guys, my bike is 2014 model and so far it has completed 41000 km.
    Till now i haven't changed my battery. Today is showing low battery and unable to start my bike.
    I was going through the manual and it's says that the stock battery is 12v 8ah. I'm unable to find battery of similar specification on net. All of them are 12v 9ah [be amaron or exide]. i'll first give the battery to charge it and see if it's working. If i have to purchase a new one, will the 12v 9 ah battery will be okay ?

    Cheers
    Installing a bigger battery per se, isn't that bad idea. Though, a bigger battery is able to provide good CCA when required, the same battery when discharged with high draw components means, the alternator has to work hard, which results in heat which is inversely proportional to the alternator life. So, it's always advisable to use stock battery. If you're sure, your charging rate is higher than your draw rate, then there shouldn't be any problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by Shourya014 View Post
    Hello i need some help with engine issues! I am loosing my oil much quickly i have faced this issue 3 times topped up oil nearly 400 ml each time within a span of 600 kms each time! And i cannot see any smoke from the exhaust to determine the piston problems. Nor is there any leakage as i have my private parking and its clean every morning i remove my bike from its place theres no drop of engine oil! Can anyone help. Sorry to post in duke section mine is 2014 rc390 clocked 48k kms.
    Interesting! Two bikes in a row with oil vanishing issues, exactly at around 40k, back to back in two days. I'd suggest you start off with a compression test, check how well the compression is, if we have a poor compression, oil can burn during normal riding, and even more during spirited riding which is hard to notice. Secondly, always check your engine oil level when the engine is slightly warmed up, this way, the oil is more fluid and with the bike upright, should give you a approximate figure.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  2. #10022
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    394
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Installing a bigger battery per se, isn't that bad idea. Though, a bigger battery is able to provide good CCA when required, the same battery when discharged with high draw components means, the alternator has to work hard, which results in heat which is inversely proportional to the alternator life. So, it's always advisable to use stock battery. If you're sure, your charging rate is higher than your draw rate, then there shouldn't be any problems.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    I think,
    The charging voltage is same for all batteries, including inverter batteries. It’s from 14 to 15.5 V
    The drain voltage is 12V at battery specific amps

    Alternators often stop working after batteries are charged. However with bigger batteries, they work a little more. Nothing wrong in that.

    In return, you get more cranks per change and ability to run more horns and lights.
    Also cranking gets much smoother with bigger batteries.

    Alternators rarely fails. They fail if battery dies and doesn’t hold charge. In such a scenario, alternators work relentlessly and fail.

    your alternator need to charge only drained power, which remains same with your old or new battery. Because your stater motor and other parts consumption is same. So, additional work by alternators is applicable only on first charge, until battery is full.

  3. #10023
    Rusted Ezilkannan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
    Posts
    951
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    I have a weird stalling issue wherein everytime I pull in the clutch and close the throttle, the engine stalls. It happens only on cold starts (I do wait for the engine to warm up to 2 bars). Has anyone else faced this issue? Mine is a 2014 model.
    zestbiker and Shourya014 like this.
    2013 R15(Sold) | 2014-?? Duke 390

  4. #10024
    Addicted Shourya014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezilkannan View Post
    I have a weird stalling issue wherein everytime I pull in the clutch and close the throttle, the engine stalls. It happens only on cold starts (I do wait for the engine to warm up to 2 bars). Has anyone else faced this issue? Mine is a 2014 model.
    Same here as well same model! But it stops after engine warmed up.

  5. #10025
    Addicted niku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    245
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezilkannan View Post
    I have a weird stalling issue wherein everytime I pull in the clutch and close the throttle, the engine stalls. It happens only on cold starts (I do wait for the engine to warm up to 2 bars). Has anyone else faced this issue? Mine is a 2014 model.
    This is what I used to tell you as well bro. But my issue is little more specific as it happens whenever I had filled IOC petrol.
    For me the stalling happens only when downshifting from 6 or 5.
    2013 model.
    Pegasus - 2011* - Hero Honda Karizma ZMR
    Stallion - 2013* - Hero Karizma ZMR
    Nemesis - 2016* - KTM Duke 390
    Enchantress - 2018* - Aprilia SR 150 Race

    --- Exploring Kanyakumari ---

  6. #10026
    Rusted Ezilkannan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
    Posts
    951
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by niku View Post
    This is what I used to tell you as well bro. But my issue is little more specific as it happens whenever I had filled IOC petrol.
    For me the stalling happens only when downshifting from 6 or 5.
    2013 model.
    For me its a different issue, and no, even if I fill at Shell it happens. Stalling at 5th gear downshifts can be more dangerous.
    2013 R15(Sold) | 2014-?? Duke 390

  7. #10027
    Confused nawaz390's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Hello Guys,

    I am back with a new issue, actually two :

    1. Coolant vanish/ evaporation : Had been following up with KTM SVC, VIP Road, Kolkata since last month. They suggested to go for a Head-Gasket job, to which I agreed. Bike was kept for almost a week, and they returned it on 25 Nov (Saturday). I had to pay Rs. 2374 for consumables, and the rest was covered under warranty. I have attached a detailed bill for reference by future victims as the KTMs seem to be plagued by this issue.
    Name:  IMG-20171127-WA0015.jpg
Views: 410
Size:  89.1 KB
    Name:  IMG-20171127-WA0014.jpg
Views: 343
Size:  92.9 KB
    Name:  IMG-20171127-WA0013.jpg
Views: 390
Size:  101.4 KB

    2. Tik-Tik noise: This has been occurring since past 2 days when I received the motorcycle from them after head-gasket job. The noise was never present before, and I am left wondering if there is some loose mechanical part inside the engine. Visited the SVC today morning, and the head mechanic suggested to ride for 1000kms more and check if this keeps occurring.
    Video link of the issue: https://youtu.be/AawHBZ7iCZw

    I am thinking of keeping emailing KTM customer support, and see what they have to say.
    Meantime, request your advice as well..!!

    Thanks in Advance.

    Cheers,
    Nawaz

  8. #10028
    Addicted Pawan Kajla's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    new delhi
    Posts
    136
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezilkannan View Post
    I have a weird stalling issue wherein everytime I pull in the clutch and close the throttle, the engine stalls. It happens only on cold starts (I do wait for the engine to warm up to 2 bars). Has anyone else faced this issue? Mine is a 2014 model.
    It can also be caused by throttle body, so clean your bike's throttle body.

  9. #10029
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,125
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    248 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by nawaz390 View Post
    Hello Guys,

    I am back with a new issue, actually two :

    1. Coolant vanish/ evaporation : Had been following up with KTM SVC, VIP Road, Kolkata since last month. They suggested to go for a Head-Gasket job, to which I agreed. Bike was kept for almost a week, and they returned it on 25 Nov (Saturday). I had to pay Rs. 2374 for consumables, and the rest was covered under warranty. I have attached a detailed bill for reference by future victims as the KTMs seem to be plagued by this issue.


    2. Tik-Tik noise: This has been occurring since past 2 days when I received the motorcycle from them after head-gasket job. The noise was never present before, and I am left wondering if there is some loose mechanical part inside the engine. Visited the SVC today morning, and the head mechanic suggested to ride for 1000kms more and check if this keeps occurring.
    Video link of the issue: https://youtu.be/AawHBZ7iCZw

    I am thinking of keeping emailing KTM customer support, and see what they have to say.
    Meantime, request your advice as well..!!

    Thanks in Advance.

    Cheers,
    Nawaz
    From what I can observe, you've replaced most of the upper engine end of the spectrum, head gasket, water pump seals, valve cover gasket and a few other consumables. My question pertains to why was the exhaust camshaft replaced and rocker arm (DLFC)? I reckon it was the exhaust rocker arm that was replaced. Would like to know were there any explanations from the SVC side as to why these parts were replaced and diagnoses, if any were carried prior to that.

    Tick tick noise pertains to shim. Since your rocker arm was replaced, I reckon if the correct sized shims were used. Secondly, you could have pushed them to replace your timing chain and your tensioner along.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Last edited by B7ACKTHORN; 11-28-2017 at 12:59 AM.
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  10. #10030
    Confused nawaz390's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    From what I can observe, you've replaced most of the upper engine end of the spectrum, head gasket, water pump seals, valve cover gasket and a few other consumables. My question pertains to why was the exhaust camshaft replaced and rocker arm (DLFC)? I reckon it was the exhaust rocker arm that was replaced. Tick tick noise pertains to shim. Since your rocker arm was replaced, I reckon if the correct sized shims were used. Secondly, you could have pushed them to replace your timing chain and your tensioner along.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Thank you! As per your reply, it seems I should push them for the timing chain and tensioner now.
    I am sorry I do not have knowledge about the technicalities, and therefore , I would choose to rely on the knowledge present in this forum.

    Meanwhile, I have also emailed KTM customer service, and they have responded saying they would get in touch with the service centre and resolve my issue soon.
    Fingers crossed now..

    Cheers,
    Nawaz

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3943
    Last Post: 1 Hour Ago, 09:35 PM
  2. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1870
    Last Post: 10-31-2019, 12:12 AM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: 10-20-2019, 12:09 AM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •