Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Avoid staying around those big vehicles.

Our Partners


9000 KMS AROUND INDIA FOR MOTORCYCLYING UNITY.
16th DEC'17 - 5TH FEB'18

SUPPORTED BY

indian suzuki nissan hp helmet Red FM

User Tag List

View Poll Results: How would you rate the overall build and quality of the motorcycle?

Voters
49. This poll is closed
  • Good/Okay

    8 16.33%
  • Bad

    4 8.16%
  • Excellent

    9 18.37%
  • Could Have Been Better

    13 26.53%
  • I am damn happy with my motorcycle

    10 20.41%
  • For the price it's okay

    5 10.20%
Page 1013 of 1013 FirstFirst ... 13513913963100310091010101110121013
Results 10,121 to 10,130 of 10130
Like Tree6239Likes

Thread: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

  1. #10121
    Addicted Imam Jafer Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by s1d View Post
    not in terms on bars.. using the diag tool you can see the temp in C at which the fan kicks in.
    i don't understand the last line of your post.. a head gasket failure (which is what you pointed out circled in your previous pic) will mostly cause the oil/coolant to mix. another possibility is the water pump seal which will also cause such issues.
    Will check with diag tool before and after the doing the replacement.

    Okay got it, my friend confused me by saying both are same

  2. #10122
    Street Hawk Puneeth max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post

    Too tight a chain can cause a rumbling sensation under the footpeg that you've experienced. Nonetheless, vibrations are always present at a certain RPM for a single cylinder engine. Would suggest you to have a look at your chain, and check the chain tension for tautness. If it's on the spec, nothing to worry, if it's too tight, de-slack them a pinch, as it releases the stress on the driveline. Do keep your observations posted.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    As you said, chain slackness was the culprit. Go it adjusted to the correct spec and now I can say that 80% of the vibrations are reduced.

    Puneeth
    Last edited by Puneeth max; 4 Days Ago at 04:38 PM.
    2009-2012 Apache RTR Fi (Sold)
    2012-2014 Pulsar 180 (Sold)
    2017- **** Duke 390

  3. #10123
    Addicted ganesh_bbr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hosur (TN) <-> Bangalore (KA)
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Chains will always wear unevenly. As long as your the Chain Adjustment Markings are in the low to mid level and not at the end, there is nothing to worry about. As a default, the Duke's chain requires frequent maintenance at around 500 kms, and even less depending on the conditions. Here maintenance pertains to cleaning, lubing the chain periodically and checking them for the right slackness.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Thank you, I should have been more precise on my earlier question.
    I understand the chain wears out unevenly, but this time it was too early and I have half adjustment left yet. The last 2 chains and the sprocket did not show such symptoms.

    This time, since the bike was parked for a while without regular usage and improper maintenance of chain this is occurring.

    My question again is, had someone sourced only the chain ? I am keen to replace only the chain and see what is exactly causing the issue.

  4. #10124
    s1d
    s1d is offline
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3,174
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ganesh_bbr View Post
    Thank you, I should have been more precise on my earlier question.
    I understand the chain wears out unevenly, but this time it was too early and I have half adjustment left yet. The last 2 chains and the sprocket did not show such symptoms.

    This time, since the bike was parked for a while without regular usage and improper maintenance of chain this is occurring.

    My question again is, had someone sourced only the chain ? I am keen to replace only the chain and see what is exactly causing the issue.
    ktm doesn't sell just the chain or just the sprockets. the pulsar 220 chain is probably compatible but i think would fall short in length.
    rather first check the condition of both the sprockets, post a pic here. give the chain a good scrub and wash with plenty of diesel and use a slightly thicker lube like 140 gear oil. i've recently found that using one of them fat paint brushes (the ones used for painting walls etc..) makes a great tool to clean and lube the chain.
    The real glory is being knocked to your knees and then coming back. That's real glory. That's the essence of it.

  5. #10125
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ganesh_bbr View Post
    Thank you, I should have been more precise on my earlier question.
    I understand the chain wears out unevenly, but this time it was too early and I have half adjustment left yet. The last 2 chains and the sprocket did not show such symptoms.

    This time, since the bike was parked for a while without regular usage and improper maintenance of chain this is occurring.

    My question again is, had someone sourced only the chain ? I am keen to replace only the chain and see what is exactly causing the issue.
    Hi there,
    I have sourced the chain and front sprockets separately from ktm Noida.

    The chain costs around 1900.

    You can buy the chain separately or as part of the kit.
    ganesh_bbr likes this.

  6. #10126
    Addicted ganesh_bbr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hosur (TN) <-> Bangalore (KA)
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by rohitghosh61 View Post
    Hi there,
    I have sourced the chain and front sprockets separately from ktm Noida.

    The chain costs around 1900.

    You can buy the chain separately or as part of the kit.
    That’s the exact info I was looking for. My town dealer did not provide me the chain separately, anyways will check with nearby Service Center.

    Thanks a lot !

  7. #10127
    Street Hawk Puneeth max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ganesh_bbr View Post
    That’s the exact info I was looking for. My town dealer did not provide me the chain separately, anyways will check with nearby Service Center.

    Thanks a lot !
    Try if you can source Rolon chain set. OEM chain expands quickly and needs adjustment for every 500-600 kms . I switched to Rolon chain set a few months back and I have done the adjustment only once that too after 1800kms.

    Regards,
    Puneeth
    ganesh_bbr likes this.
    2009-2012 Apache RTR Fi (Sold)
    2012-2014 Pulsar 180 (Sold)
    2017- **** Duke 390

  8. #10128
    Addicted ganesh_bbr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hosur (TN) <-> Bangalore (KA)
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Puneeth max View Post
    Try if you can source Rolon chain set. OEM chain expands quickly and needs adjustment for every 500-600 kms . I switched to Rolon chain set a few months back and I have done the adjustment only once that too after 1800kms.

    Regards,
    Puneeth
    I am from Bangalore, where did you source it from?

  9. #10129
    Street Hawk Puneeth max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ganesh_bbr View Post
    I am from Bangalore, where did you source it from?
    Contact BTM Auto service. They will get it for you
    ganesh_bbr likes this.
    2009-2012 Apache RTR Fi (Sold)
    2012-2014 Pulsar 180 (Sold)
    2017- **** Duke 390

  10. #10130
    Addicted ganesh_bbr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hosur (TN) <-> Bangalore (KA)
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Puneeth max View Post
    Contact BTM Auto service. They will get it for you
    Ok, Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 2960
    Last Post: 5 Days Ago, 10:09 AM
  2. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1791
    Last Post: 12-05-2017, 07:45 PM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: 11-25-2017, 08:17 PM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •