Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Fatigue, sleepiness, & alcohol are the same.

Our Partners

User Tag List

View Poll Results: How would you rate the overall build and quality of the motorcycle?

Voters
49. This poll is closed
  • Good/Okay

    8 16.33%
  • Bad

    4 8.16%
  • Excellent

    9 18.37%
  • Could Have Been Better

    13 26.53%
  • I am damn happy with my motorcycle

    10 20.41%
  • For the price it's okay

    5 10.20%
Page 1087 of 1089 FirstFirst ... 87587987103710771083108410851086108710881089 LastLast
Results 10,861 to 10,870 of 10887
Like Tree6520Likes

Thread: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

  1. #10861
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by s1d View Post
    stop verbal discussions and start putting it in writing i.e. email to the insurance company at regular intervals. if you discussed something with the local insurance surveyor, put it in writing with your objection if any to the insurance company.. so you have a track record.
    plastics and tires will be 50% or lesser.. rims shouldn't be that low.. and there will a depreciation taken in to account if yours is not nil dep policy. read the policy wording that came with your policy (not random ones these guys cook up)

    you can then mark a copy to the IRDAI at a later stage if they screw you.
    Thank you s1d.
    I am trying to reach him from the past 2 days and he is ditching my calls. Anyways i raised a complaint with the customer care now regarding.
    They told me the survey has to be finished in 2 days and today is the 6th day. also that Why I didn't raised the complaint on the 3rd day itself and waited for 6 days.

    Also the funny thing is the insurance surveyor has told the customer care on the 2nd day that he is not able to contact me. haha. i mean seriously.
    Also the thing is i cant repair the bike from my own money unless the survey is done which I don't know as he is not receiving my calls.

    Kind of in a stuck situation. moreover now weekend so expect things to move on Monday only.

  2. #10862
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    So guys after 8 days to and fro ordeal with the insurance guys, they have denied the claim citing all stupid reasons on the planet.
    And i have decided to go ahead and repair the bike with my own money for now and later visit this morons at their head office by directly talking to their managers.

    So the things which i have told the SVC guys to check are as follows :

    1. Both the rims and tires
    2. T stem and the handle bar as B7ACKTHORN suggested.

    Please suggest if there is anything else to be checked.

    Thank you.

  3. #10863
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,200
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    250 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by sujithbvm View Post
    So guys after 8 days to and fro ordeal with the insurance guys, they have denied the claim citing all stupid reasons on the planet.
    And i have decided to go ahead and repair the bike with my own money for now and later visit this morons at their head office by directly talking to their managers.

    So the things which i have told the SVC guys to check are as follows :

    1. Both the rims and tires
    2. T stem and the handle bar as B7ACKTHORN suggested.

    Please suggest if there is anything else to be checked.

    Thank you.
    Sujith, don't worry about the insurance for now. You definitely can handle them later. That's about it, the rims will be replaced, so are the tires. The T stem bearings and the T stem bolts for proper torque. Do keep a log of all the bills, everything handy, so that it can be used in case for a claims fight. Do keep us posted on the replacement status quo.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  4. #10864
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Sujith, don't worry about the insurance for now. You definitely can handle them later. That's about it, the rims will be replaced, so are the tires. The T stem bearings and the T stem bolts for proper torque. Do keep a log of all the bills, everything handy, so that it can be used in case for a claims fight. Do keep us posted on the replacement status quo.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Sure will keep updated. I will get by bike today back after 9 days. Finally!!!
    Thank you B7ACKTHORN.

  5. #10865
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Just got a call from the SVC. they told that there is a very slight bent in the rear tire as well and they will make it proper using lathe.
    I dont know if I should go ahead with this or replace the back rim. The back rim will set me back my 6000 rs.

    They saw the slight bent now when they removed it to fix the rear tire.

    Also can you tell me the make of the tire. Its Michelin Pilot Street 150/60 R17 right. Please correct me if I am wrong.

    https://www.amazon.in/Michelin-Pilot...s%2C286&sr=8-3

  6. #10866
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,200
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    250 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by sujithbvm View Post
    Just got a call from the SVC. they told that there is a very slight bent in the rear tire as well and they will make it proper using lathe.
    I dont know if I should go ahead with this or replace the back rim. The back rim will set me back my 6000 rs.

    They saw the slight bent now when they removed it to fix the rear tire.

    Also can you tell me the make of the tire. Its Michelin Pilot Street 150/60 R17 right. Please correct me if I am wrong.

    Yes. The tire in the link is the MPS Radial 150/60, stock size for the Duke 390. Regarding rim replacement, you can either mend it, if you're on tight budget, if the bend isn't too much, even though replacing offers peace of mind. But, extremely mild bend, being mended isn't a problem per se.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  7. #10867
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Yes. The tire in the link is the MPS Radial 150/60, stock size for the Duke 390. Regarding rim replacement, you can either mend it, if you're on tight budget, if the bend isn't too much, even though replacing offers peace of mind. But, extremely mild bend, being mended isn't a problem per se.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Got the bike back yesterday like brand new, touch wood. The tire is manufactured in the 44th week of 2019, which seems to be fair and new rim in the front.
    Total cost of damage is 12020 Rs plus 800 rs for some lathe work to straighten the rear rim.

    One front rim, one rear tire and front wheel nut and bolt. Only 3 things and bill is 12k.
    I dont think i saw my rear rim as bent as I feel the SVC guys made that up on call to me yesterday to rip me off more of 800 Rs.
    So ya total of 12820.

    Now today morning i got a mail from the insurance guy to send him copy of my first year insurance. Dont know why. I dont know if he knows i fixed my bike already from my pocket.
    I have got all the bills. Now just need to fight it out with the insurance agency to get it claimed.

    Happy to be back with my white fury ..

    Thank you all for your support and valuable inputs specially B7ACKTHORN.

    Cheers

  8. #10868
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,200
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    250 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by sujithbvm View Post
    Got the bike back yesterday like brand new, touch wood. The tire is manufactured in the 44th week of 2019, which seems to be fair and new rim in the front.
    Total cost of damage is 12020 Rs plus 800 rs for some lathe work to straighten the rear rim.

    One ..

    Thank you all for your support and valuable inputs specially B7ACKTHORN.

    Cheers
    That's good news. Secondly, mail all your billings copy to the insurance guys, probably they might entertain the claim. But, it's worth trying once again and make sure they get it this time as to why the claim wasn't honored. Take it easy on them.

    Ride safe.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    sujithbvm likes this.
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  9. #10869
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    That's good news. Secondly, mail all your billings copy to the insurance guys, probably they might entertain the claim. But, it's worth trying once again and make sure they get it this time as to why the claim wasn't honored. Take it easy on them.

    Ride safe.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Ya B7ACKTHORN. Will email the bills and go meet the higher ups in the office and try to convince them as 13k is not a small amount. I can leave the tire as anyways the tire had done 12500 kms and had to be changed in sometime, but the rim at 5.5k is pretty steep in my opinion.

    Apparently there has been 4 rim bends in the last week only at the same place who came to that showroom. God only knows in total how many happened.
    After this incident thinking to get RSA as it will help in this kind of scenarios.

  10. #10870
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Gurgaon
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBandit View Post
    Any Duke 390 owners from Delhi-NCR?

    I am facing SVC issues with the one in Gurgaon. Last 2-3 trips to the SVC have completely shattered my hope of any positive help/support from the guys there. Would love to try others even if it is a short ride out of the city. Any recommendations?

    Also, since my last service I have been facing issues with front brakes and mileage. Braking seems to be lagging and there is a sharp noise coming out of the brakes while applying the levers. Riding style is the same as before but the fuel efficiency has been dropping to 19kmpl every now and then? What could be the issue?
    Reposting to get response on the first bit. Still looking for feedback on SVC in Delhi-NCR region.

    The second one is quite mind boggling. I took the bike to the service centre couple of days after I posted here. One look at the bike and the service supervisor said that the brake pads have worn out and would have to be changed. I obliged and requested them to do the needful. After inspection, the rear ones were on the verge of being worn out and the front ones completely worn out. I was told that there could be some damage to the front disk owing to this.

    To my dismay, when I enquired the guys that why was not this pointed out in December they had no answers. Clearly, the brake pads were in a similar condition from the last service as the total distance rode was hardly 500kms.



    To top it all, they even told me I might have to replace the front disk if the damage was critical which the supervisor assured me later that wasn't the case. I don't know what and whom to believe as there is hardly any ownership from the dealer whenever things go south.



    It's not about spending money or changing parts, the issue remains if the problem was evident a month back why wasn't it brought to notice? Why wasn't it rectified? Why the consumer wasn't informed if the service team knew about it? Why do I have to bear the labour charges for getting the same done? Why weren't the brake pads cleaned during service?


    Sharing some pictures of both front and back disk pads for your reference.
    Front -
    Name:  IMG_20200210_180228.jpg
Views: 92
Size:  85.7 KB
    Back -
    Name:  IMG_20200210_175050.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  61.4 KB

    Wrote to the head office and they kind of agreed on the point of lack of responsibility of the dealer, whereas the dealer is just trying to wash his hands off this situation and closes every feedback call as resolved. Today he replied pretty sure after the company guys asked him to by telling me that my complain is nothing but negative vibes. WOW!!!!


Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3979
    Last Post: 4 Days Ago, 09:16 PM
  2. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1870
    Last Post: 10-31-2019, 12:12 AM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: 10-20-2019, 12:09 AM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •