Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Practice slow-speed riding.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 31 of 31 FirstFirst ... 212728293031
Results 301 to 309 of 309
Like Tree107Likes

Thread: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

  1. #301
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Hello.

    I have recently (3 weeks ago) purchased a TVS Jupiter scooter (BS IV).

    Overall the scooter seems good. Still have to test the mileage.

    I have one query, though: When driving at a slow speed of say 22 kmph, if I reduce the throttle position to zero, then the scooter starts gradually slowing down as expected. However at a certain speed (say 20 kmph) I notice that the scooter decelerates at a greater rate than before(I can sense a small jerk,as if the wheels are not moving freely). Then, at a smaller speed of say 15 kmph, everything is back to normal and the scooter starts decelerating at the normal rate again, and I get the sense that the wheels are again moving freely.

    Why is it that the wheels appear to be less free at a speed ranging from 15 kmph to 20 kmph? Is this behaviour normal?

    I must add that the scooter is due for first free service next week.

    Regards and hoping for a reply from someone.

  2. #302
    Addicted Vipergts07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Does anyone have the service manual for Jupiter?

  3. #303
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Quote Originally Posted by Vipergts07 View Post
    Does anyone have the service manual for Jupiter?

    It is available in PDF form on the net.

    Just Google search for TVS Jupiter service manual. Download it from the official TVS Motors site.

  4. #304
    Addicted Vipergts07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Need the service manual, not user manual. If you have/remember the link readily, kindly paste it here.
    Quote Originally Posted by MKMK View Post
    It is available in PDF form on the net.

    Just Google search for TVS Jupiter service manual. Download it from the official TVS Motors site.
    #bpk likes this.

  5. #305
    Dani Pedrosa #26 Fan hgps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gorakhpur/Lucknow
    Posts
    359
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Quote Originally Posted by hgps View Post
    Writing this post as a disappointment over TVS for making unreliable and pathetically built Jupiter. The horrible ownership experience continued with two Jupiters that have been purchased so far within last 2 years.
    Both the scoots were purchased by my wife. Highlighting ownership experiences and issues that i can remember in last 2 Years.

    1. 2016 TVS Jupiter - standard drum equipped - Always serviced as per schedule

    Up(down)grading from a Mahindra rodeo. While under powered and lacked features, Jupiter offered excellent stability and comfort. Nightmare started after just 1 month of purchase. It used to randomly stall when slowing down and refused to start for 3-4 seconds. This was outright dangerous sometimes. Also caused embarrassment numerous times. Stalling issue was so severe that it used to stall 6-7 times during her 5KM commute to our college. Apart from this stalling issue, It also proved to be unreliable, Leaving her stranded three times in last 2 years, Everytime this happened, It refused to start, no cranking or any kind of light was operating. First time, the issue was found to be a blown fuse (No electrical modifications on the vehicle), while other two times, it started automatically after being towed back home by her. Battery terminals were checked after first and second occurance of this issue but it occurred again after a couple of months. Did i mention it used to stall all the times and refused to start for 3-4 seconds? I myself got fedup and got the idle rpm increased and stalling issue reduced by 50%. Did i also mention that it returned a pathetic average of 30kpl despite being ridden sanely between 30-45kmph. As if this wasn't enough, at around 9000KMs on the odo and 1.5 years since it was purchased. The scoot started vibrating terribly when accelerated from standstill. Gave it to the service center and clutch assembly, bell etc were replaced. Damages? 6k because these apparently are wear and tear items. Mechanical failure at just 9000KMs and constant issue of stalling was making ownership miserable. That combined with non existent front brake bite was ensuring a very bitter ownership experience. We were convinced that we have got a lemon considering my friend's wego was doing just fine even after 9 Years. 3 months ago. When it was at around 14,000KMs on odo, same issue of vibrations when accelerating cropped up again and this was it. Decided to ditch it for good and get a new scoot. (Its still being used occasionally by her father)

    Lets write down issues that cropped up during ownership
    1. Stalling issues
    2. Reliability issues - leaving owner stranded 3 times
    3. Clutch or transmission issue twice
    4. other minor issues like poor brakes, key not opening fuel lid etc.



    2. 2018 TVS Jupiter classic disc just 700KMs as on now.

    Gave TVS another chance, and bought a classic disc variant. Initial impression was good. Front disc offers nice bite but those circular classic mirrors offer very poor visibility and are difficult to adjust. Nothing serious though. We were convinced that our old scoot was a lemon and this ownership is not going to be a nightmare the old one's was. We were wrong. On a fine day just 5 days old jupiter refused to start. It was dragged back to home. Apparently fuse was somehow managed to get out of its socket. Installed it back in and it started fine. At 300 KMs on odo, self starter died. No self start in a brand new 15 days old jupiter. after being ridden with just kick starter for next 400KMs. It was given for a service and they said starter was jammed. Right now it is back from service center and working fine since last 3 days. (around 750KMs as of now).


    Lets write down issues that cropped up during ownership
    1. Poor QA? Scoot refused to start one fine day as fuse was out of its socket.
    2. Starter motor jammed within 300KMs

    How come both of her jupiters suffered such failures? Both were serviced as per recommendation and ridden sanely. Such issues do not seem to be limited to Jupiter. A close friend's brand new Apache RR310 came with faulty gear indicator and a plastic part near radiator broke within 400KMs of ownership. These experiences made me question about reliability of TVS vehicles.
    Update on 2018 Jupiter classic: This happened. Odo reading 7100 KMs. No accidents or drops. exhaust simply fell off while riding, shearing pipe coming from headers. Luckily i was barely riding at 30-40kph when this happened. Wonder what would have happened considering my usage requires 10Kms of highway riding including multiple flyovers.

    Name:  IMG_20191214_193917.jpg
Views: 172
Size:  84.5 KB

    other highlights during last one year of ownership apart from the ones quoted in previous post, speedometer died once. Rear brake works in a pulsating manner ever since i rode the scooter in rains 6 months ago. got rear drum cleaned multiple times. No result.
    Last edited by hgps; 12-21-2019 at 07:59 PM.
    #bpk likes this.
    There is no destination, I just want to keep riding.

    Honda CBR 650F / CBR 250R ABS Repsol (Sold) / Yamaha FZ-S

  6. #306
    Rusted #bpk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Tezpur , Assam
    Posts
    1,906
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Quote Originally Posted by hgps View Post
    Update on 2018 Jupiter classic: This happened. Odo reading 7100 KMs. No accidents or drops. exhaust simply fell off while riding, shearing pipe coming from headers. Luckily i was barely riding at 30-40kph when this happened. Wonder what would have happened considering my usage requires 10Kms of highway riding including multiple flyovers.

    Name:  IMG_20191214_193917.jpg
Views: 172
Size:  84.5 KB

    other highlights during last one year of ownership apart from the ones quoted in previous post, speedometer died once. Rear brake works in a pulsating manner ever since i rode the scooter in rains 6 months ago. got rear drum cleaned multiple times. No result.
    All TVS vehicles have some irritating yet dangerous problems, my 6k run jupiter used to stall even after warm up, later i adjused carburetor and the problem disappeared, TVS's quality has gone down !

  7. #307
    Addicted Vipergts07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Does the starter motor get covered under warranty? It's 2.5 yrs old.

  8. #308
    Dani Pedrosa #26 Fan hgps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gorakhpur/Lucknow
    Posts
    359
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Quote Originally Posted by hgps View Post
    Update on 2018 Jupiter classic: This happened. Odo reading 7100 KMs. No accidents or drops. exhaust simply fell off while riding, shearing pipe coming from headers. Luckily i was barely riding at 30-40kph when this happened. Wonder what would have happened considering my usage requires 10Kms of highway riding including multiple flyovers.

    other highlights during last one year of ownership apart from the ones quoted in previous post, speedometer died once. Rear brake works in a pulsating manner ever since i rode the scooter in rains 6 months ago. got rear drum cleaned multiple times. No result.
    Update: Weird sound that i was hearing when going over bumps was from lose airbox. Apparently my jupiter lost its airbox tightening bolt as well as exhaust bolt within a span of 1 month.

    Another issue i have been facing occasionally is power loss when accelerating. When it happens, scooter feels like its out of petrol when accelerated. Riding at slow 20kmph is fine but even slight opening of throttle, it starts to feel like its out of petrol, lot of jerks and engine dies sometimes. Is it something to do with carburetor? Odo is currently at 9500 KMs.
    There is no destination, I just want to keep riding.

    Honda CBR 650F / CBR 250R ABS Repsol (Sold) / Yamaha FZ-S

  9. #309
    Addicted Vipergts07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: TVS Jupiter Owners Review and Experience

    Has the carb being opened/cleaned in the 9500 kms? Might as well if not. Carb has small parts which are consumable in nature. Post which would suggest using something like a fuel additive like stp moto booster every few tankfulls to keep it clean and corrosion free.
    Quote Originally Posted by hgps View Post
    Update: Weird sound that i was hearing when going over bumps was from lose airbox. Apparently my jupiter lost its airbox tightening bolt as well as exhaust bolt within a span of 1 month.

    Another issue i have been facing occasionally is power loss when accelerating. When it happens, scooter feels like its out of petrol when accelerated. Riding at slow 20kmph is fine but even slight opening of throttle, it starts to feel like its out of petrol, lot of jerks and engine dies sometimes. Is it something to do with carburetor? Odo is currently at 9500 KMs.

Page 31 of 31 FirstFirst ... 212728293031

Similar Threads

  1. Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences
    By chintan99 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 28290
    Last Post: 1 Day Ago, 07:49 AM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj Pulsar RS 200 Owners Review and Experience
    By thunderbird_m6 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 5661
    Last Post: 12-26-2019, 08:29 PM
  3. TVS Wego vs Jupiter
    By activator in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 12:39 PM
  4. Wego or Jupiter
    By Shreeni0403 in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-21-2014, 01:34 PM
  5. Jupiter's Travels
    By Nirvana in forum General Biking Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 03:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •