Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Accelerate quick but brake easy.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #31
    re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Originally posted by ankit mishra View Post
    Yes Bro, from dimensions it seems that R3 is bigger but once you sit on both the bikes you realize that Ninja 300 feels big.
    Ninja is bulky, seems wide and long.
    Yamaha R3 seems tall(height) and yes equally long.
    both bikes provide awesome control over the road and are comfortable to ride.
    (Though I guess Ninja provides more gravity to personality)
    hehehe.

    Do you want me to post pictures of both side by side??? I will do that. if you frens want it. Though I understand its a Yamaha R3 thread.
    Thank you Ankit!!

    I was asking the owners from day 1 for the pics with a pillion view but nobody did that yet. Hopefully you can arrange some pics from front and side angles carrying a pillion to see how it fairs with R15.

    Comment


    • #32
      re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

      Originally posted by ankit mishra View Post


      [B]Frens,

      Please keep pouring in your questions that will help me design the review and will help others who wish to understand the bike in making a wise decision.
      I am sorry if this has been asked before.
      But VIBRATIONS!!!
      are they present?
      If yes, at what RPM?
      Which portion of the Bike are they felt at?
      Does the Pillion rider feel it if not the rider?
      Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
      Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
      TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
      TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
      KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

      Comment


      • #33
        re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

        Congratulations to the owners!!

        Black and red looks absolutely smashing!!! Enjoy.
        Instagram highway.to.hill
        YouTube Highway To Hill

        Comment


        • #34
          re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

          Originally posted by Pulsar220F View Post
          Thank you Ankit!!

          I was asking the owners from day 1 for the pics with a pillion view but nobody did that yet. Hopefully you can arrange some pics from front and side angles carrying a pillion to see how it fairs with R15.
          The pillion position is better than R15v2 but not as good as R15v1,also nothing to hold onto except a seat strap.

          ----consecutive posts auto-merged-----

          Originally posted by Gollum View Post
          I am sorry if this has been asked before.
          But VIBRATIONS!!!
          are they present?
          If yes, at what RPM?
          Which portion of the Bike are they felt at?
          Does the Pillion rider feel it if not the rider?
          Till now no vibrations as such upto about 7k rpm,slight buzzing of the footpegs at about 5krpm,i think it is typical yamaha -very smooth.Let's wait for the running in to be completed.
          Last edited by bharatheshk; 09-22-2015, 03:49 PM.
          Yamaha RX 135 5 Speed - 2000 -(current)
          Yamaha R15 v1 - 2009 - 2016 ( Sold )
          Yamaha R3 - 2015 - (current)

          Comment


          • #35
            re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

            What are the run in requirements?

            Comment


            • #36
              Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

              Originally posted by ankit mishra View Post



              Since you're also in Mumbai(Navi Mumbai), we should catch up for a small city ride bro, before you head out to bigger ventures.! what say?

              Comment


              • #37
                Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                Originally posted by ankit mishra View Post
                Ride Quality
                Ride is very smooth, the handle bars are narrower( compared to Ninja300) but seem wider if you are graduating from Yamaha R15.
                High positioned clip-ons don't give any pain to forearms or palms. Seat is plush, enough padding.
                And suspension soaks up bumps easily, As if the bike is gliding through potholes.

                One point I would like to make. Sudden potholes or bumps over the road do not unsettle the rider Or the calm nature of the bike.



                Frens,

                Please keep pouring in your questions that will help me design the review and will help others who wish to understand the bike in making a wise decision.
                Hi brother,

                Many many congratulations on your new black lady.. She looks absoleutly stunning. I have few questions :-

                1) Is she faster than KTM RC-390 ? (0-100 km/hr)
                2) Which bike has the most neck-snapping insane accleration out of the three ? ( R3 ,,,RC 390,,,,NINJA 300). Is the power delievery crazy or linear ?
                3) How does she fare in braking department against KTM with ABS ?
                4) I know, its a new bike, but still any idea about top speed ? I have read somewhere, that her top speed is around 190 km/hr.
                5) Tyres ? Are they equally good or better than metzellers ? (especially in the rain, wet conditions on our "AMAZING" roads). Should I worry about skidding
                when throttling out of the corner ?

                6) How does she sound ? :- Parallel twins are said to be much better in music as compared to single cylinder units.
                KTM sounds pretty bad.
                Does she sends beautiful symphony to the ears while acclerating through gears ?

                THANKS......
                Last edited by portedyammie; 09-22-2015, 09:15 PM.

                Comment


                • #38
                  Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                  Originally posted by portedyammie View Post
                  KTM sounds pretty bad.
                  THANKS......
                  That may be one's own perception. Actually I love the fast drumming sound of the KTMs.
                  R15S - Current
                  Honda Dio - Current
                  TNT 600i - Sold
                  Classic 500 - Sold
                  Pulsar 220 dtsi - Sold
                  Yamaha YBX125 - Sold

                  Comment


                  • #39
                    Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                    Originally posted by TheArcher84 View Post
                    That may be one's own perception. Actually I love the fast drumming sound of the KTMs.
                    If you had ridden the rx series, you would love the KTMs .
                    Failure should never go to heart & success should never go to head,both makes a person to fall in life-Winston Churchill


                    Yesterday is history.
                    Tomorrow is a mystery.
                    Today is a gift, That is why it is called \"Present\".

                    Enjoy every moment.

                    Comment


                    • #40
                      Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                      Originally posted by MR ACE View Post
                      If you had ridden the rx series, you would love the KTMs .
                      hi brother,

                      I do ride a fully ported Yamaha RX-135 5 speed. And she sounds insane. That's why I didn't like the subdued sound of KTM. But otherwise, KTM sounds ok.

                      Click image for larger version

Name:	Snapshot_20150322_13.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	1920127


                      Actually, I like KTM. She is the closest bike to be called "perfect". I was just asking about comparison between R3 and KTM, as I am planning to buy KTM RC-390 in few months.
                      Last edited by portedyammie; 09-22-2015, 11:28 PM.

                      Comment


                      • #41
                        Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                        Hearties congratulations to the owners. May you guys have many many happy and safe miles on your bikes. I own a 18 month old R15 and am loving each and every mile on it. And now I know what I'll be upgrading to in a few years. Do post some more pics please.
                        I would like to thank my legs for supporting me, my arms for being always by my side and my fingers; I could always count on them.

                        Comment


                        • #42
                          Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                          Originally posted by portedyammie View Post
                          Hi brother,

                          Many many congratulations on your new black lady.. She looks absoleutly stunning.

                          Thanks bro.

                          1) Is she faster than KTM RC-390 ? (0-100 km/h)
                          I guess KTM-RC390 has more insane acceleration, due to power to weight ratio, its comparable to even some of the 600cc bikes.
                          but what matters is how you are going at that speed rather than just attaining the high speeds.

                          KTM looks wow though. I clicked this pic, some time back with my Ninja 300 have a look.
                          [ATTACH]192523[/ATTACH]


                          KTM RC and Ninja 300 in one frame.
                          [ATTACH]192526[/ATTACH]


                          [ATTACH]192527[/ATTACH]


                          I my opinion Ninja looks better, ooh your opinion you decide.
                          I will ask my fren to get his RC and then will click it with R3.


                          2) Which bike has the most neck-snapping insane accleration out of the three ? ( R3 ,,,RC 390,,,,NINJA 300). Is the power delievery crazy or linear ?
                          RC390, neck snapping acceleration. Its a mad bike.
                          Ninja 300 and R3, both are fast, calm and composed.



                          3) How does she fare in braking department against KTM with ABS ?
                          Braking in R3 is good.
                          And I will not compare Yamaha R3 with KTM RC390 in braking terms, Because KTM RC390 has metzeler tyres for excellent feedback and then ABS to protect you in case you go wrong.
                          Compared to Ninja 300, The braking of R3 is good, with "more feedback". Maybe they both stop at the same distance technically.


                          4) I know, its a new bike, but still any idea about top speed ? I have read somewhere, that her top speed is around 190 km/hr.
                          haha, Frens are so demanding these days.
                          I have ridden my Ninja at a speed of 180kmph. And it maintains its composure at that speed as well.
                          Yamaha R3. its still in running period. And I am instructed not to cross 7k rpm.


                          5) Tyres ? Are they equally good or better than metzellers ? (especially in the rain, wet conditions on our "AMAZING" roads). Should I worry about skidding
                          when throttling out of the corner ?
                          NOPS. Tyres are not good in R3.
                          infact, I had a great opportunity to ride Yamaha R15. and I feel MRF tyres have more traction in R15.
                          In R3, Tyres seem very very inadequate.
                          I am going to change them soon to Metzeler or Michelin.



                          6) How does she sound ? :- Parallel twins are said to be much better in music as compared to single cylinder units.
                          Does she sends beautiful symphony to the ears while acclerating through gears ?
                          Ninja sounds better, it has a throaty grunt.
                          Yamaha R3, ... I was riding today and stopped for a pic, a guy walked up to me and asked if its a twin cylinder and he wanted to know about bike.
                          He left telling me to install after market slipon on it.

                          In my opinion Yamaha R3, doesn't sound that bad, not very great though.
                          And yes, I am gonna upload lots of pics in sometime.

                          THANKS......
                          Originally posted by Karan Aj View Post
                          Since you're also in Mumbai(Navi Mumbai), we should catch up for a small city ride bro, before you head out to bigger ventures.! what say?
                          yes bro definitely we can catch up on some of the rides.
                          And true, I am planning to ride long. still waiting for her running to complete.

                          Originally posted by Smith01 View Post
                          What are the run in requirements?
                          Till 1000kms= below 7k rpm. That gives a speed of 107-110kmph.
                          Till 1600kms=below 8.5k rpm. ( I haven't reached that limit yet)


                          Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                          I am sorry if this has been asked before.
                          But VIBRATIONS!!!
                          are they present?
                          If yes, at what RPM?
                          Which portion of the Bike are they felt at?
                          Does the Pillion rider feel it if not the rider?
                          No Vibrations.
                          Ninja and Yamaha R3. they both are vibe free and keep the rider relaxed for a very long time, this is specially beneficial when you are touring across states.
                          No pillion rider stays more comfy.
                          Today I had to do panic breaking( due to some moron tempo guy) with a fren sitting behind and bike didn't loose its composure at all. Super stable.
                          And yes, I won't be exaggerating if I say, that I didn't feel the need of ABS.
                          Neither I felt the need of ABS in Ninja. Though it would have been better. Maybe I am a sedate rider, though I often touch 160kmph.



                          Originally posted by Pulsar220F View Post
                          Thank you Ankit!!

                          I was asking the owners from day 1 for the pics with a pillion view but nobody did that yet. Hopefully you can arrange some pics from front and side angles carrying a pillion to see how it fairs with R15.
                          one pic for you... tell me if you want more.
                          Click image for larger version

Name:	r3-with-r15.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	106.4 KB
ID:	1920199
                          Attached Files
                          Last edited by ankit mishra; 09-23-2015, 08:58 PM.

                          My Leh Trip:
                          http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


                          Because I love U...

                          http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



                          Two troubled Lads:

                          http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

                          https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

                          Comment


                          • #43
                            Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                            Thanks bro.

                            1) Is she faster than KTM RC-390 ? (0-100 km/h)
                            I guess KTM-RC390 has more insane acceleration, due to power to weight ratio, its comparable to even some of the 600cc bikes.
                            but what matters is how you are going at that speed rather than just attaining the high speeds.

                            KTM looks wow though. I clicked this pic, some time back with my Ninja 300 have a look.



                            KTM RC and Ninja 300 in one frame.
                            [pic]


                            I will ask my fren to get his RC and then will click it with R3.


                            2) Which bike has the most neck-snapping insane accleration out of the three ? ( R3 ,,,RC 390,,,,NINJA 300). Is the power delievery crazy or linear ?
                            RC390, neck snapping acceleration. Its a mad bike.
                            Ninja 300 and R3, both are fast, calm and composed.


                            3) How does she fare in braking department against KTM with ABS ?
                            Braking in R3 is good.
                            And I will not compare Yamaha R3 with KTM RC390 in braking terms, Because KTM RC390 has metzeler tyres for excellent feedback and then ABS to protect you in case you go wrong.
                            Compared to Ninja 300, The braking of R3 is good, with "more feedback". Maybe they both stop at the same distance technically.


                            4) I know, its a new bike, but still any idea about top speed ? I have read somewhere, that her top speed is around 190 km/hr.
                            haha, Frens are so demanding these days.
                            I have ridden my Ninja at a speed of 180kmph. And it maintains its composure at that speed as well.
                            Yamaha R3. its still in running period. And I am instructed not to cross 7k rpm.


                            5) Tyres ? Are they equally good or better than metzellers ? (especially in the rain, wet conditions on our "AMAZING" roads). Should I worry about skidding
                            when throttling out of the corner ?
                            NOPS. Tyres are not good in R3.
                            infact, I had a great opportunity to ride Yamaha R15. and I feel MRF tyres have more traction in R15.
                            In R3, Tyres seem very very inadequate.
                            I am going to change them soon to Metzeler or Michelin.



                            6) How does she sound ? :- Parallel twins are said to be much better in music as compared to single cylinder units.
                            Does she sends beautiful symphony to the ears while acclerating through gears ?
                            Ninja sounds better, it has a throaty grunt.
                            Yamaha R3, ... I was riding today and stopped for a pic, a guy walked up to me and asked if its a twin cylinder and he wanted to know about bike.
                            He left telling me to install after market slipon on it.

                            In my opinion Yamaha R3, doesn't sound that bad, not very great though.
                            And yes, I am gonna upload lots of pics in sometime.

                            THANKS......



                            hi brother,

                            Thank you so much for giving such a precise and lovely feedback. Actually, I am more inclined towards KTM, and planning to buy her in the next few months, that's why asked you so many questions. I hope, you didn't feel bad about it. . However, I am still waiting for your detailed ride report, once, run-in period will be over. It will be great to read and know about this awesome new weapon from the YAMAHA.

                            ALL THE BEST......

                            CHEERS.......
                            Last edited by portedyammie; 09-23-2015, 12:18 AM.

                            Comment


                            • #44
                              Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                              Originally posted by ankit mishra View Post

                              one pic for you... tell me if you want more.
                              [ATTACH]192522[/ATTACH]
                              Thank you very much for the pic but I may not be clear with the requirement. I wished to see two people sitting on R3 and someone else taking the pic of them. That's why I said if you can arrange to take a pic with a pillion...
                              Anyway thanks again for the effort. In kerala R3 has not even arrived, even none of the dealers I checked with, knows anything. Some said this month end display will come, same shop same seller but another guy after some days said it will take 3 more months to come.
                              You people are lucky to have these bikes at your disposal very early. Here ninja 300r costs 4.55 lacs on road [emoji36] [emoji36], don't know what they will put on R3.
                              Last edited by Pulsar220F; 09-23-2015, 01:52 AM.

                              Comment


                              • #45
                                Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                                Pictures: Feast your eyes..


                                Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0021-Edit-2.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	1920206


                                Shark Eyes.

                                Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0039-2.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	1920208



                                Dashboard, switchgear is of superb quality, with a solid and a chunky feel to it.

                                Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0009.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	98.3 KB
ID:	1920205


                                I didn't like the wires that can be seen crossing ahead of the meter console.
                                Though they aren't that big a hindrance.

                                Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0047.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	1920209


                                Sharp Tail Light.

                                Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0008-Edit.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	85.3 KB
ID:	1920210



                                The logo on the Tail section. Wherever Yamaha logos are there they are tastefully done in metal, They feel good to touch to.

                                Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0022-2.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	1920207
                                Last edited by ankit mishra; 09-23-2015, 02:35 AM.

                                My Leh Trip:
                                http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


                                Because I love U...

                                http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



                                Two troubled Lads:

                                http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

                                https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X