Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Scan – see – think – act.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 375 of 377 FirstFirst ... 275325365371372373374375376377 LastLast
Results 3,741 to 3,750 of 3765
Like Tree3332Likes

Thread: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #3741
    Addicted Ashwiin Napster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Bengaluru/Mysuru, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    [QUOTE=Ivin;1374000]Service Update. KMS run: 25,000. Total Cost : 3842/-

    Wheel Balancing
    This is something which bikers ignore or doesn't care for, Wheel balancing on a two wheeler! We can see weights on a new motorcycle from factory and we could see the same weight even after 5 years of usage which just means we have ignored that area. We have Madhus Enterprises near Langford Road who does a great job on 2 wheeler's wheel balancing and it was no different for me. The rear took in 35 gms of weight on the left side and I have to say I did feel the rear wheel to be more planted after the balancing. Minimum to no difference was felt in the handling department, but I do have a peace of mind that I am running with perfectly balanced wheels. [QUOTE=Ivin;1374000]

    I have had this thing in my mind for a while now. My front kinda feels offset for a while now. For long, i was thinking that the culprit is my Michelin tyres, since they're heavy, but i will get this done soon and check. My 11th service is due and will hopefully get it done sometime next week. Will visit the Michelin center at HSR Layout and get the wheel balancing done too. Thanks for bringing this up
    Ivin likes this.
    Honda Dio [2010 - 2011]
    Yamaha YZF R15 V2 [2011 - Present]
    Yamaha YZF R3 [2016 - Present]

    What's next? :)

  2. #3742
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    7,617
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    240 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Ivin View Post
    Service Update. KMS run: 25,000. Total Cost : 3842/-

    Cost Breakup -
    Oil - Motul 7100 10w40 - 1722/-
    Oil Filter - 478/-
    Air filter - 518/-
    Clutch Cable - 304/-
    Clutch Switch - 200/-

    Wheel Balancing
    This is something which bikers ignore or doesn't care for, Wheel balancing on a two wheeler! We can see weights on a new motorcycle from factory and we could see the same weight even after 5 years of usage which just means we have ignored that area. We have Madhus Enterprises near Langford Road who does a great job on 2 wheeler's wheel balancing and it was no different for me. The rear took in 35 gms of weight on the left side and I have to say I did feel the rear wheel to be more planted after the balancing. Minimum to no difference was felt in the handling department, but I do have a peace of mind that I am running with perfectly balanced wheels.
    Wheel balancing is the least a rider considers when replacing tires. But the enlightened ones do go by the dots on the tires, if they don't have the right vendor nearby. Nonetheless, balancing helps eliminate those unnecessary vibrations and handlebar oscillations on the front end, where weighing them is necessary. I see, oil filter is exorbitantly priced. I think taking the old filter to a car parts shop will give us a cheaper alternative. Nevertheless, appreciate the update mate.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  3. #3743
    Rusted Ivin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bangalore & God's Own Country, India
    Posts
    1,666
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Wheel balancing is the least a rider considers when replacing tires. But the enlightened ones do go by the dots on the tires, if they don't have the right vendor nearby. Nonetheless, balancing helps eliminate those unnecessary vibrations and handlebar oscillations on the front end, where weighing them is necessary. I see, oil filter is exorbitantly priced. I think taking the old filter to a car parts shop will give us a cheaper alternative. Nevertheless, appreciate the update mate.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    The common Maruti 1.2L filters should fit fine, though I do not want to take a chance. Oil filter prices were recently increased from 360/- TO 478/-. Not only oil filter, most of the parts have seen a marginal price increase.
    Ride, ride and ride.. But always do it responsibly..

  4. #3744
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Durgapur
    Posts
    208
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    I see, oil filter is exorbitantly priced. I think taking the old filter to a car parts shop will give us a cheaper alternative.
    Cheers!
    VJ
    Kawasaki charges Rs.750+ for a similar Denso unit (Yamaha also uses Denso). So Yamaha's pricing is way better.
    The same filter is used on their higher displacement bikes as well.
    YZF-R3 -> 2017 -> SOLD 2019
    CBR 250R -> 2017 -> SOLD 2017
    Ninja 650 -> 2016 -> SOLD 2018
    Blue Activa 125 -> 2016
    Black YZF-R15 v2 -> 2011 -> SOLD 2016
    Black Discover 125 DTS-i -> 2005

  5. #3745
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    7,617
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    240 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by hellgate View Post
    Kawasaki charges Rs.750+ for a similar Denso unit (Yamaha also uses Denso). So Yamaha's pricing is way better.
    The same filter is used on their higher displacement bikes as well.
    Indeed, HG. Yamaha does use Denso parts, but if a disposable part is available at a cheaper alternative, why not. Saves bucks right. Purolator and Elofic are great examples of Indian made filters sold aboard, re-badged. So, taking an old R3 filter to a reputed car parts shop would mean, it'd yield us better alternative at a cheaper price. Also, being a DIY guy, it helps one easy fetch the parts, in case a filter is required for every oil change.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  6. #3746
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Durgapur
    Posts
    208
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Indeed, HG. Yamaha does use Denso parts, but if a disposable part is available at a cheaper alternative, why not. Saves bucks right. Purolator and Elofic are great examples of Indian made filters sold aboard, re-badged. So, taking an old R3 filter to a reputed car parts shop would mean, it'd yield us better alternative at a cheaper price. Also, being a DIY guy, it helps one easy fetch the parts, in case a filter is required for every oil change.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    I do know that Purolator and other brands do offer oil filter for quite a low price. The old Santro oil filter is a straight fit in the R3 and N650. However considering the fact that I wont need a oil change every month, I am ok to spend that extra money just for peace of mind. While there is no data proving engine damage caused by these low cost filters, I still wouldnt want to risk things just for few hundred bucks on a machine that costs that few lacs.
    YZF-R3 -> 2017 -> SOLD 2019
    CBR 250R -> 2017 -> SOLD 2017
    Ninja 650 -> 2016 -> SOLD 2018
    Blue Activa 125 -> 2016
    Black YZF-R15 v2 -> 2011 -> SOLD 2016
    Black Discover 125 DTS-i -> 2005

  7. #3747
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    7,617
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    240 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by hellgate View Post
    I do know that Purolator and other brands do offer oil filter for quite a low price. The old Santro oil filter is a straight fit in the R3 and N650. However considering the fact that I wont need a oil change every month, I am ok to spend that extra money just for peace of mind. While there is no data proving engine damage caused by these low cost filters, I still wouldnt want to risk things just for few hundred bucks on a machine that costs that few lacs.
    Agreed. Definitely not complaining. Matter of fact, sticking to stock kinda removes the guesswork of whats and ifs out of the equation. But hey, free world, out there. Enjoy!

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  8. #3748
    Rusted ArnabC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Calcutta > Bangalore > Pune > Bangalore
    Posts
    469
    Mentioned
    49 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    My long-term review of R3 at 82K kms


    Going through this thread after a real long time and lots of things going on... <Repeated from earlier post>

    Here's my take on the bike:

    Overall Feeling

    The bike is a jack of all trades, provided you know how to handle the bike correctly. Some have said that it's not but trust me it's not the case. So, if you're planning for a R3 go ahead and ride it for yourself rather than relying on some baseless inputs from anyone. (Copied from my last review and still can't change a single word about it )

    Handling

    After 4 yrs. of usage, I can say, it's a sweet handler. The bike handles really well in traffic and I'm happy with its handling. The chassis, if familiar with the bike, can give you surprises, in a good way. You may think the bike may not handle well in crunch situations and then the chassis surprises you and put a smile on your face. Don't expect it to be cutting corners like designated corner craving bikes, but it does its bit and it excels some of the aforementioned bikes in certain scenarios. <Again copied from earlier review>

    Heating

    City Use

    It's a twin 321cc engine and yes it'll heat up for obvious reasons as there are two pistons so obviously heat generated will be more. I would say the way R3 handles the heat is really good. The fan is really silent and you've to notice carefully to understand if it's running. Also, as the bike has got a bigger engine, it needs air for the radiator to cool down the heated engine, which it does extremely well anyhow.

    I follow a rule to turn off the bike when in a traffic lights or I know there will be no movement for some time. Turn off the ignition and switch it on again and the bike will and should start without any issues whatsoever.

    One thing that can happen though, if you're using the bike in heavy traffic for some time now, the above process may result in showing up to 5 bar in the heating area. So, I will suggest not to turn off the bike and let the engine run, so as the coolant fan doesn't take all the power from the battery and making it dry.

    Highway Use

    Heating?? What heating?? Never faced any heating issues and it should not appear also.

    Engine, Gearbox & Clutch

    The engine is a gem. Truly. The gear shifts are so good and once you get to higher RPMs you're going to have a big grin inside your helmet all the time. As all know, the bike pulls from almost as low as 2.5K RPM but after 7K RPM there's a subtle punch which you'll feel and at 9K RPM that feeling just amplifies. Nothing to complain at all about the engine and even gearbox. Both are perfect and no complaints whatsoever. Clutch is light when thinking about the engine and can be adjusted as per your needs, as we all know that. Overall, I'm too much happy with this section.

    Looks

    Personal opinion - It can be a head turner if someone knows about the bike and it can be a R15 if someone doesn't. For me it's beautiful with an awesome set of eyes, sorry headlights.

    Headlights

    One of the most striking components of R3. Very good throw of light with good area covered and give you enough visibility to decide on your braking, thanks to the awesome reflectors and powerful stock Osram bulbs. On good highways, the headlights, on high beam, extend approx. up to 100-120 ft, good for going at 100-110 kmph. Even the low beam has a good spread and the beam lightens up the central part and not like R15 where only one side gets illuminated. I'm too happy with the stock lights and am now more confident about night riding.

    Brakes

    Brakes are definitely very good and have a real good bite. R3 brakes have given me confidence and as a mostly touring user I'm really happy with the brakes. To make the brakes more crisp, I've added in Spiegler brake lines and I could say that braking feedback has increased by around 30%. Not any extra words except the brakes are good and really confidence inspiring and quite enough for a bike weighing 170 kgs.

    Tires

    Used till now 4 sets, MRF Stock, MRF Test, Pirelli Diablo Rosso 2 and Michelin Pilot Street Radial.

    Till now I found the Pirellis to be the best for R3 among the tires I used/using. Heats up pretty quick and braking also improves due to the grip it provides.

    Michelins are good for people like us, who ride at moderate highway speeds but mostly long, as they last really long and VFM. Gravel grip is very good for Michelins but over time the rain grip is lost and the tire start acting weirdly, I'm not complaining though about 38K kms old tires. Using it for the last 38K kms now, and it will surely go another 10K from the looks of it, but I’m getting it changed to Rosso2 again next month.

    Seating Posture\Seats

    Another awesome feature of R3 is the seating posture. I did some long tours on my R15V2 and R3 is like a boon for me. I did Kolkata-B'lore in 2 days, first day rode for around 1100 kms till Rajahmundhry and next day the remaining 870 kms to B'lore and I'm still quite OK to go to office the very next day. With my R15V2 it would have been impossible both to attend office and to do Kolkata-B'lore in two days only. So be assured you'll not be tired.


    Seats could have been comfier but then I'm not complaining. If you're riding your bike for 27-28 hours you can't/shouldn't complain about the comfort. Pillion seat is definitely much more comfortable than R15V2. I did Goa also early Oct 2015 with a pillion and she never complained about the seats. Actually, before this ride she never went out for long rides, and she didn't complain after the long 1450 kms round trip and that too 400 kms in torrential rains, where sitting actually hurts a lot.

    Mileage

    Now coming to one of the most 'kitna deti hain' wala question. In city, I hardly got above 24-25 kmpl no matter how well I ride. In the highways, in between 95-115 kmph, sixth gear, I got around 34 kmpl with a tank range, before hitting reserve, close to 360 kms. With a speed range till 105 kmph the bike was returning 33-34 kmpl. Though I didn't check the tank range in particular as I was filling as soon it hit the single bar mark but still it's not before 320 kms. Once I tried to find out how much mileage the bike will give if I do 85-95 kmph, sixth gear, and the bike didn't hit reserve even after 382 kms and I'm sure if I continued it would've easily given till 400 kms.

    RVMs

    Not a good visibility but very well built. Blind spot mirror is a recommended add on.

    Vibes

    A big deal of discussion going through existing R3 owners nowadays. Some are having vibes in their R3s which can lead to hand numbness if ridden for long times. My bike, and some other friends here in B'lore, doesn't have this issue. I had it once when fueled up from an unknown petrol bunk and my left hand got numb but once that fuel got over, the vibes disappeared. Also, the stock engine oil is not good for a bike like this and I would suggest people changing to better oils after or at 5K ODO. I'm now using Motul 7100 10W40, and, whatever very minimum and acceptable vibes I had in my bike, it also reduced considerably further. But for those who're having the vibes, still now there has been no exact root cause of issue that has been found and analysis is still going on.

    Maintenance

    R3 is actually cheaper to maintain than my R15 till now as it has a longer service interval, double of R15, and the spare parts are also very well priced and lasts long if ridden correctly. I changed the rear brake plate, first time, & pads, second time, at 75K ODO and chain sprocket kit, second time, at 80K ODO.

    I did a rough calculation about the running cost and it came to Rs. 1.63/KM which includes all spares, engine oils, service and tires.
    PS: I mostly use in highways and stay within 7K RPM most of the times.

    Recommendations:

    I would recommend every one to stick to the recommended grading only as mentioned in the manual
    Manual says to change air and oil filter at every 10K kms. My suggestion change oil filter with every oil change and change air filter every 5K kms keeping in mind the awesome dust of India.

    Other Recommendations:

    Fork oil to be changed at every 10K kms, as per manual.
    Swingarm bush, both wheel bearing and cone-set greasing to be done every 10K kms, manual says at 10k, 15K and 20K kms respectively but I will recommend to grease all three at one go at every 10K kms.

    ================================================== =====================================
    So, this has been my brief overview on the R3, tested on my R3 only, till now. Ride it to understand it. I'm sure it'll bring a wide grin to you.
    Last edited by ArnabC; 1 Week Ago at 04:39 PM. Reason: Adding how many times brake pads and sprockets changed as it's leading to misconception
    Yamaha YZF R15 V 2.0 (Oct, 2012 - Present)
    Yamaha YZF R3 (Sep, 2015 - Present)

    My Review of Yamaha R3 at 82K ODO

    Ride a motorcycle if you want to live free, but above all ride it safe and make others' lives safe.

  9. #3749
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Durgapur
    Posts
    208
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Guy I am planning to sell off my R3 as I am moving out of Bangalore.
    If anyone is interested, please PM me.
    Bike Details:
    Yamaha YZF-R3 Black 2016 model.
    I am 3rd Owner (previous owner was my cousin and his brother).
    KMs-22083 and counting
    Bike has the following upgrades:
    1. K&N Air filter
    2. EBC Steel braided brake lines
    3. Osram H7 4200k HID (Premium)
    4. Pirelli Diablo Rosso II tyres front and rear
    5. 1 set of sealed front brake pad (Genuine Yamaha accessory)
    6. 1 set of sealed throttle cable (Genuine Yamaha accessory)
    7. 1 set of sealed clutch cable (Genuine Yamaha accessory)
    8. Battery replaced last month.
    9. Zero dep insurance till 7th Sept 2019.
    Last edited by hellgate; 3 Weeks Ago at 08:07 PM.
    YZF-R3 -> 2017 -> SOLD 2019
    CBR 250R -> 2017 -> SOLD 2017
    Ninja 650 -> 2016 -> SOLD 2018
    Blue Activa 125 -> 2016
    Black YZF-R15 v2 -> 2011 -> SOLD 2016
    Black Discover 125 DTS-i -> 2005

  10. #3750
    Addicted Itzli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    202
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by hellgate View Post
    Guy I am planning to sell off my R3 as I am moving out of Bangalore.
    If anyone is interested, please PM me.
    Bike Details:
    Yamaha YZF-R3 Black 2016 model.
    I am 3rd Owner (previous owner was my cousin and his brother).
    KMs-22083 and counting
    Bike has the following upgrades:
    1. K&N Air filter
    2. EBC Steel braided brake lines
    3. Osram H7 4200k HID (Premium)
    4. Pirelli Diablo Rosso II tyres front and rear
    5. 1 set of sealed front brake pad (Genuine Yamaha accessory)
    6. 1 set of sealed throttle cable (Genuine Yamaha accessory)
    7. 1 set of sealed clutch cable (Genuine Yamaha accessory)
    8. Battery replaced last month.
    9. Zero dep insurance till 7th Sept 2019.
    Interested, please clear your inbox as i am not able to send you a PM
    For mental health..

Similar Threads

  1. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1865
    Last Post: 2 Days Ago, 08:51 PM
  2. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 10690
    Last Post: 3 Days Ago, 10:26 PM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: 08-13-2018, 12:41 PM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •