Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Squeeze that brake, don’t grat a handful.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 5 of 386 FirstFirst 1234567891555105 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 3858
Like Tree3386Likes

Thread: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #41
    Rusted Ankey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Dehradun
    Posts
    1,394
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hearties congratulations to the owners. May you guys have many many happy and safe miles on your bikes. I own a 18 month old R15 and am loving each and every mile on it. And now I know what I'll be upgrading to in a few years. Do post some more pics please.
    ankit mishra likes this.
    I would like to thank my legs for supporting me, my arms for being always by my side and my fingers; I could always count on them.

  2. #42
    Rusted ankit mishra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    new-delhi
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by portedyammie View Post
    Hi brother,

    Many many congratulations on your new black lady.. She looks absoleutly stunning.

    Thanks bro.

    1) Is she faster than KTM RC-390 ? (0-100 km/h)
    I guess KTM-RC390 has more insane acceleration, due to power to weight ratio, its comparable to even some of the 600cc bikes.
    but what matters is how you are going at that speed rather than just attaining the high speeds.

    KTM looks wow though. I clicked this pic, some time back with my Ninja 300 have a look.
    Name:  RC390.jpg
Views: 6694
Size:  106.4 KB


    KTM RC and Ninja 300 in one frame.
    Name:  ninja-RC.jpg
Views: 17208
Size:  104.6 KB


    Name:  ninja-with-Rc.jpg
Views: 16531
Size:  108.4 KB


    I my opinion Ninja looks better, ooh your opinion you decide.
    I will ask my fren to get his RC and then will click it with R3.


    2) Which bike has the most neck-snapping insane accleration out of the three ? ( R3 ,,,RC 390,,,,NINJA 300). Is the power delievery crazy or linear ?
    RC390, neck snapping acceleration. Its a mad bike.
    Ninja 300 and R3, both are fast, calm and composed.



    3) How does she fare in braking department against KTM with ABS ?
    Braking in R3 is good.
    And I will not compare Yamaha R3 with KTM RC390 in braking terms, Because KTM RC390 has metzeler tyres for excellent feedback and then ABS to protect you in case you go wrong.
    Compared to Ninja 300, The braking of R3 is good, with "more feedback". Maybe they both stop at the same distance technically.


    4) I know, its a new bike, but still any idea about top speed ? I have read somewhere, that her top speed is around 190 km/hr.
    haha, Frens are so demanding these days.
    I have ridden my Ninja at a speed of 180kmph. And it maintains its composure at that speed as well.
    Yamaha R3. its still in running period. And I am instructed not to cross 7k rpm.


    5) Tyres ? Are they equally good or better than metzellers ? (especially in the rain, wet conditions on our "AMAZING" roads). Should I worry about skidding
    when throttling out of the corner ?
    NOPS. Tyres are not good in R3.
    infact, I had a great opportunity to ride Yamaha R15. and I feel MRF tyres have more traction in R15.
    In R3, Tyres seem very very inadequate.
    I am going to change them soon to Metzeler or Michelin.



    6) How does she sound ? :- Parallel twins are said to be much better in music as compared to single cylinder units.
    Does she sends beautiful symphony to the ears while acclerating through gears ?
    Ninja sounds better, it has a throaty grunt.
    Yamaha R3, ... I was riding today and stopped for a pic, a guy walked up to me and asked if its a twin cylinder and he wanted to know about bike.
    He left telling me to install after market slipon on it.

    In my opinion Yamaha R3, doesn't sound that bad, not very great though.
    And yes, I am gonna upload lots of pics in sometime.

    THANKS......
    Quote Originally Posted by Karan Aj View Post
    Since you're also in Mumbai(Navi Mumbai), we should catch up for a small city ride bro, before you head out to bigger ventures.! what say?
    yes bro definitely we can catch up on some of the rides.
    And true, I am planning to ride long. still waiting for her running to complete.

    Quote Originally Posted by Smith01 View Post
    What are the run in requirements?
    Till 1000kms= below 7k rpm. That gives a speed of 107-110kmph.
    Till 1600kms=below 8.5k rpm. ( I haven't reached that limit yet)


    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum View Post
    I am sorry if this has been asked before.
    But VIBRATIONS!!!
    are they present?
    If yes, at what RPM?
    Which portion of the Bike are they felt at?
    Does the Pillion rider feel it if not the rider?
    No Vibrations.
    Ninja and Yamaha R3. they both are vibe free and keep the rider relaxed for a very long time, this is specially beneficial when you are touring across states.
    No pillion rider stays more comfy.
    Today I had to do panic breaking( due to some moron tempo guy) with a fren sitting behind and bike didn't loose its composure at all. Super stable.
    And yes, I won't be exaggerating if I say, that I didn't feel the need of ABS.
    Neither I felt the need of ABS in Ninja. Though it would have been better. Maybe I am a sedate rider, though I often touch 160kmph.



    Quote Originally Posted by Pulsar220F View Post
    Thank you Ankit!!

    I was asking the owners from day 1 for the pics with a pillion view but nobody did that yet. Hopefully you can arrange some pics from front and side angles carrying a pillion to see how it fairs with R15.
    one pic for you... tell me if you want more.
    Name:  r3-with-r15.jpg
Views: 17651
Size:  106.4 KB
    Last edited by ankit mishra; 09-23-2015 at 08:58 PM.

    My Leh Trip:
    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


    Because I love U...

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



    Two troubled Lads:

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

    https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

  3. #43
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New delhi
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Thanks bro.

    1) Is she faster than KTM RC-390 ? (0-100 km/h)
    I guess KTM-RC390 has more insane acceleration, due to power to weight ratio, its comparable to even some of the 600cc bikes.
    but what matters is how you are going at that speed rather than just attaining the high speeds.

    KTM looks wow though. I clicked this pic, some time back with my Ninja 300 have a look.



    KTM RC and Ninja 300 in one frame.
    [pic]


    I will ask my fren to get his RC and then will click it with R3.


    2) Which bike has the most neck-snapping insane accleration out of the three ? ( R3 ,,,RC 390,,,,NINJA 300). Is the power delievery crazy or linear ?
    RC390, neck snapping acceleration. Its a mad bike.
    Ninja 300 and R3, both are fast, calm and composed.


    3) How does she fare in braking department against KTM with ABS ?
    Braking in R3 is good.
    And I will not compare Yamaha R3 with KTM RC390 in braking terms, Because KTM RC390 has metzeler tyres for excellent feedback and then ABS to protect you in case you go wrong.
    Compared to Ninja 300, The braking of R3 is good, with "more feedback". Maybe they both stop at the same distance technically.


    4) I know, its a new bike, but still any idea about top speed ? I have read somewhere, that her top speed is around 190 km/hr.
    haha, Frens are so demanding these days.
    I have ridden my Ninja at a speed of 180kmph. And it maintains its composure at that speed as well.
    Yamaha R3. its still in running period. And I am instructed not to cross 7k rpm.


    5) Tyres ? Are they equally good or better than metzellers ? (especially in the rain, wet conditions on our "AMAZING" roads). Should I worry about skidding
    when throttling out of the corner ?
    NOPS. Tyres are not good in R3.
    infact, I had a great opportunity to ride Yamaha R15. and I feel MRF tyres have more traction in R15.
    In R3, Tyres seem very very inadequate.
    I am going to change them soon to Metzeler or Michelin.



    6) How does she sound ? :- Parallel twins are said to be much better in music as compared to single cylinder units.
    Does she sends beautiful symphony to the ears while acclerating through gears ?
    Ninja sounds better, it has a throaty grunt.
    Yamaha R3, ... I was riding today and stopped for a pic, a guy walked up to me and asked if its a twin cylinder and he wanted to know about bike.
    He left telling me to install after market slipon on it.

    In my opinion Yamaha R3, doesn't sound that bad, not very great though.
    And yes, I am gonna upload lots of pics in sometime.

    THANKS......



    hi brother,

    Thank you so much for giving such a precise and lovely feedback. Actually, I am more inclined towards KTM, and planning to buy her in the next few months, that's why asked you so many questions. I hope, you didn't feel bad about it. . However, I am still waiting for your detailed ride report, once, run-in period will be over. It will be great to read and know about this awesome new weapon from the YAMAHA.

    ALL THE BEST......

    CHEERS.......
    Last edited by portedyammie; 09-23-2015 at 12:18 AM.

  4. #44
    Rusted Pulsar220F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Trivandrum
    Posts
    273
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ankit mishra View Post

    one pic for you... tell me if you want more.
    Name:  r3-with-r15.jpg
Views: 17651
Size:  106.4 KB
    Thank you very much for the pic but I may not be clear with the requirement. I wished to see two people sitting on R3 and someone else taking the pic of them. That's why I said if you can arrange to take a pic with a pillion...
    Anyway thanks again for the effort. In kerala R3 has not even arrived, even none of the dealers I checked with, knows anything. Some said this month end display will come, same shop same seller but another guy after some days said it will take 3 more months to come.
    You people are lucky to have these bikes at your disposal very early. Here ninja 300r costs 4.55 lacs on road , don't know what they will put on R3.
    Last edited by Pulsar220F; 09-23-2015 at 01:52 AM.

  5. #45
    Rusted ankit mishra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    new-delhi
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Pictures: Feast your eyes..


    Name:  _DSC0021-Edit-2.jpg
Views: 5012
Size:  70.7 KB


    Shark Eyes.

    Name:  _DSC0039-2.jpg
Views: 5178
Size:  75.6 KB



    Dashboard, switchgear is of superb quality, with a solid and a chunky feel to it.

    Name:  _DSC0009.jpg
Views: 9548
Size:  98.3 KB


    I didn't like the wires that can be seen crossing ahead of the meter console.
    Though they aren't that big a hindrance.

    Name:  _DSC0047.jpg
Views: 5584
Size:  97.7 KB


    Sharp Tail Light.

    Name:  _DSC0008-Edit.jpg
Views: 4975
Size:  85.3 KB



    The logo on the Tail section. Wherever Yamaha logos are there they are tastefully done in metal, They feel good to touch to.

    Name:  _DSC0022-2.jpg
Views: 5094
Size:  37.6 KB
    Last edited by ankit mishra; 09-23-2015 at 02:35 AM.

    My Leh Trip:
    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


    Because I love U...

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



    Two troubled Lads:

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

    https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

  6. #46
    Casual rider Gollum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ankit mishra View Post
    Pictures: Feast your eyes..


    [ATTACH]192530[/ATTAH]


    Shark Eyes.

    [ATTACH]192532[/ATACH]



    Dashboard, switchgear is of superb quality, with a solid and a chunky feel to it.

    Name:  _DSC0009.jpg
Views: 9548
Size:  98.3 KB


    I didn't like the wires that can be seen crossing ahead of the meter console.
    Though they aren't that big a hindrance.

    [ATTACH]192533[/ATTCH]


    Sharp Tail Light.

    [ATTACH]192534[/ATACH]



    The logo on the Tail section. Wherever Yamaha logos are there they are tastefully done in metal, They feel good to touch to.

    [ATTACH]192531[/ATACH]
    On the Black model, is the center of the tank made of plastic or is it just matte finish?
    Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
    Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
    TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
    TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
    KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Present)

  7. #47
    Rusted Sarvajit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    5,742
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Not just the centre strip, the entire tank is made of plastic/fibre. The actual metal tank is inside it, like in the FZ.

    Sent from my Note 3 Neo using xBhp Connect mobile app
    Divya Sharan likes this.
    Quench my thirst with gasoline!

  8. #48
    Casual rider Gollum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarvajit View Post
    Not just the centre strip, the entire tank is made of plastic/fibre. The actual metal tank is inside it, like in the FZ.

    Sent from my Note 3 Neo using xBhp Connect mobile app
    Wait..what?
    what about the blue one? same?
    what are they charging 3.8L for? plastic?
    Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
    Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
    TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
    TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
    KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Present)

  9. #49
    Rusted Pulsar220F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Trivandrum
    Posts
    273
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ankit mishra View Post
    Bro, I am not in New Delhi, I am in Navi Mumbai. And here it is raining. And yes the price that I have quoted is of Navi Mumbai registration.
    .
    Do the dealer register the bike for you? Most cases I've seen the guys who goes to register from dealer side rides very harsh and race with every other vehicle on road.

  10. #50
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum View Post
    Wait..what?
    what about the blue one? same?
    what are they charging 3.8L for? plastic?
    No buddy, check out the pictures carefully, there's an twin cylinder engine, alloys, informative instrument cluster, comfortable seats, etc etc and also the Yamaha reliability, and a CKD produced bike along with those 'Plastics' that come along for 3.8L

Similar Threads

  1. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 10819
    Last Post: 22 Hours Ago, 05:35 PM
  2. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1870
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 12:12 AM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: 4 Weeks Ago, 12:09 AM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •