Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always wear a helmet.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 2 of 91 FirstFirst 1234561252 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 905
Like Tree401Likes

Thread: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #11
    Rookie Vivek_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Here's my little contribution to this thread

    Got mine a month back after saving for first few months of my first job. Initially I was all set for CBR 150R, but then to my utter delight, Yamaha launched this out of nowhere. first service done last Saturday, then got to open the throttle a bit (2-3 short bursts till 80 kmph @7K rpm). Run-in period is surely testing patience.....

    So, we have all three colors here!
    Name:  IMG_20151112_165838.jpg
Views: 15681
Size:  103.7 KBName:  IMG_20151112_165911.jpg
Views: 9157
Size:  102.5 KBName:  IMG_20151112_170119.jpg
Views: 7018
Size:  103.8 KB

    Cheers and ride safe!
    Pinaki and Rajarshi Mandal like this.

  2. #12
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Congrats @Vivek_G and @INDIANkNIgh. What the mileage are you guys getting? Do you guys find the seating position comfortable in city traffics?

    Quote Originally Posted by InDIaNkNIghT View Post
    Need some suggestions on how to keep bike scratch less while washing?
    please suggest a bike wash
    and also a helmet lock for this dude. don't know where to put the helmet. I cant carry everywhere
    Use a decent quality micro fiber cloth for washing, dusting, etc. And to lock the helmet/s there's an ankle underneath the seat.But carrying an extra helmet is really a problem as the bike is new and I want it scratch less, but you will find two nylon ribbons just under the seat which you can make use of, or buy a helmet lock.
    InDIaNkNIghT likes this.

  3. #13
    Rookie Vivek_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    Congrats @Vivek_G and @INDIANkNIgh. What the mileage are you guys getting? Do you guys find the seating position comfortable in city traffics?
    Thanks!
    About mileage- I guess 35-38... not sure. Will calculate once it hits reserve
    Comfort- No back or wrist pain at all from day one (I'm 5 ft 8). Pillion makes it difficult though, especially when braking. They lean over you, putting pressure on your wrists, but that's it.

  4. #14
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    OK, did a small mod

    Name:  DSC00278.jpg
Views: 6205
Size:  25.3 KB

    And now it's burning 8W less.
    srt99 likes this.

  5. #15
    Addicted Anunay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Completed 930 km and 1st sevice.
    Vibes are almost gone. Still I am not going beyond 5k rpm. But tested top speed. 138 kmph. Mileage is awesome, 42kmpl in City. But battling with neck pain on right side(slowly decresing). Added thicker handgrip and tank pad with R15 logo.
    The engine feels refreshing now. Will post more detail soon.
    srt99 and asish4niki like this.

  6. #16
    Addicted Anunay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    Congrats Anunay.
    It's my second week and I'm still struggling to get past 100Km, no, I didn't got my number plate installed yet . But coming from Pulsar 150 UG2, which I rode almost 10 years+, I felt, or still feeling uncomfortable with this motorcycle because of the riding posture and for somewhat stiff suspension. Howerver, the power, torque and the handling is very good, even with a pillion.

    Quoting from your pros and cons here are some of my thoughts.

    My only big problem is the riding posture, I was really sad , for the first 2 days I got wrist pain, then it goes away and comes the back pain, then comes the neck pain. And yes, I'm still trying to adjust myself. Now I feel somewhat adjusted, but I really cannot comment on this as I didn't got any opportunity to go for at least 10KM drive at a stretch.

    The small problems are:
    1. With 12V 4A battery, they could have given LED parking, indicator and/or tail lights.
    2. There's no foot rest with the saree guard.

    Can anyone comment on how is Osram Silverstar HS1?
    There is not much of wrist pain as I grab the tank with my thighs while braking. But neck pain is giving me trouble. I will move on to 55w low beam bulb as it will work fine with 4amp battery. I was using with my old fz and it worked fine.
    asish4niki likes this.

  7. #17
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Anunay View Post
    Completed 930 km and 1st sevice.
    So what the SVC guys did on the 1st service?

  8. #18
    Rookie Vivek_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    So what the SVC guys did on the 1st service?
    1. Oil change (Yamalube 15W50 semi synth- Rs 550)
    2. Oil filter change (Rs 167)
    3. Chain lubing and cleaning (Rs 100)
    4. Clutch and brake lever free play adjustmnt
    5. Chain slack adjustment
    6. Washing and polishing
    Rajarshi Mandal likes this.

  9. #19
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Anunay View Post
    I will move on to 55w low beam bulb as it will work fine with 4amp battery. I was using with my old fz and it worked fine.
    Are you sure that the battery will not dry out quickly? I was also thinking about the same but was also thinking to get a 6Ah OEM battery. But before that I need to adjust the headlights; when I adjust the low beam to a certain height, the high beam goes up and when I adjust the high beam, the low beam comes so close that I get very less time to react; unexpected bumpers for no reasons, potholes, no street lights, careless drivers are very common in Kolkata.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek_G View Post
    3. Chain lubing and cleaning (Rs 100)
    Isn't this under the free service?
    kaziroks likes this.

  10. #20
    Rookie Vivek_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post


    Isn't this under the free service?
    They charge for consumables I guess (chain cleaner, lube spray)

Page 2 of 91 FirstFirst 1234561252 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3764
    Last Post: 32 Minutes Ago, 02:41 AM
  2. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 10687
    Last Post: 2 Hours Ago, 01:11 AM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By tanay in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1553
    Last Post: 3 Hours Ago, 11:31 PM
  4. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj V15: Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By shadcool786 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 11-18-2018, 05:14 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: 08-13-2018, 12:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •