Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Check engine oil level before every ride.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 3 of 91 FirstFirst 12345671353 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 905
Like Tree401Likes

Thread: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #21
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek_G View Post
    They charge for consumables I guess (chain cleaner, lube spray)
    Hmm, I will be doing it in 1.5 week, will give you an update after that.

  2. #22
    Addicted Anunay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    Are you sure that the battery will not dry out quickly? I was also thinking about the same but was also thinking to get a 6Ah OEM battery. But before that I need to adjust the headlights; when I adjust the low beam to a certain height, the high beam goes up and when I adjust the high beam, the low beam comes so close that I get very less time to react; unexpected bumpers for no reasons, potholes, no street lights, careless drivers are very common in Kolkata.


    Isn't this under the free service?
    55 watt on one side will work like charm. You can run that till 2 years. No effect on battery. I tested this on my old FZ..

  3. #23
    Addicted Anunay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    So what the SVC guys did on the 1st service?


    On my first service
    1. Tappet valve adjustment.
    2. Chain adjustment.
    3. Tightened bolts of engine which were causing vibes.
    4. General lubrication(Chain).
    5. Added hand gripper and R15 logo tank pad.
    6. Oil change, (yamalube sport, semi synthetic).
    Total Rs1068.
    Service done was quite satisfactory.
    SriKi.GSpian and Vivek_G like this.

  4. #24
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Recently I noticed a really bad thing, scratch marks inside the headlight , on the transparent part. Took it to SVC, at first they also seems to be concerned, but later checked with other motorcycles and they all seems to have this. Is it a quality issue? Do you guys have noticed it?

    Name:  DSC00282.jpg
Views: 4401
Size:  65.6 KB
    1/320 sec, f/8, ISO 200

    Here is an picture for a better understanding. What can be done now?

  5. #25
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    This is a tough one
    Posts
    752
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    Recently I noticed a really bad thing, scratch marks inside the headlight , on the transparent part. Took it to SVC, at first they also seems to be concerned, but later checked with other motorcycles and they all seems to have this. Is it a quality issue? Do you guys have noticed it?

    Here is an picture for a better understanding. What can be done now?
    Its a quality issue, if they are on the inside then it means while assembling the headlight, someone wasnt careful enough. If it is bothering you or if it is visible significantly when looking at it normally or if it is distorting the light, make the SVC take an action with this regard, get it replaced under warranty if possible.

    Did you not notice those scratches during PDI?

  6. #26
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by RoyalIndian View Post
    Its a quality issue, if they are on the inside then it means while assembling the headlight, someone wasnt careful enough. If it is bothering you or if it is visible significantly when looking at it normally or if it is distorting the light, make the SVC take an action with this regard, get it replaced under warranty if possible.
    It is visible significantly when the headlights are turned on. And as I told earlier, the SVC guys were concerned but they also inspected other vehicles, 1 R15 v2, 1 R15s, Fz, which also had the same issue. At that time I was sure that arguing with the mechanics will not give me any results.

    Quote Originally Posted by RoyalIndian View Post
    Did you not notice those scratches during PDI?
    No, actually I inspected for scratches from outside, which was shinning. Now who would have thought that I'll ever see scratches inside the headlights. What should I do now, tell the SVC to change it or report it to Yamaha?

  7. #27
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    This is a tough one
    Posts
    752
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    It is visible significantly when the headlights are turned on. And as I told earlier, the SVC guys were concerned but they also inspected other vehicles, 1 R15 v2, 1 R15s, Fz, which also had the same issue. At that time I was sure that arguing with the mechanics will not give me any results.



    No, actually I inspected for scratches from outside, which was shinning. Now who would have thought that I'll ever see scratches inside the headlights. What should I do now, tell the SVC to change it or report it to Yamaha?
    Just because other units have the same problem does not mean its not a problem. I really got pissed when I took my activa for service and told them that one of the problems is that the Speedo needle is bouncing for the first 40km/hr and the guy was like "Its ok sir, all Activas have same problem" and he was going to dismiss that issue. I said if thats the case then fix it. They cleaned the Speedo cable and the wormgear in the front wheel. The bouncing reduced significantly but its still there.

    Since the scratches are on the inside, its clearly the Sellers fault. So tell the SVC to change it under warranty. If they dont comply, talk to the manger of the showroom. If that doesnt work write a Complaint email to Yamaha.

    Also when did you buy the bike? If its recent, then you will have sightly more oomph to your dispute.

    Heres the link to send them a complaint Email: http://www.yamaha-motor-india.com/contact-us.html

    That page has a Toll Free number to call them, ring them up before sending an Email and see how that goes
    Last edited by RoyalIndian; 12-13-2015 at 07:20 PM.

  8. #28
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by RoyalIndian View Post
    Since the scratches are on the inside, its clearly the Sellers fault. So tell the SVC to change it under warranty. If they dont comply, talk to the manger of the showroom. If that doesnt work write a Complaint email to Yamaha.

    Also when did you buy the bike? If its recent, then you will have sightly more oomph to your dispute.
    I am guessing that it's not seller's fault too, as the headlights comes as an assembly which can not be opened so easily.

    And it's new and the 1st service will happen this week.
    Last edited by Rajarshi Mandal; 12-14-2015 at 08:28 AM.

  9. #29
    Rusted krishna77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Dum Dum, Kolkata
    Posts
    5,272
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    I am guessing that it's not seller's fault too, as the headlights comes as an assembly which can not be opened so easily.

    And it's new and the 1st service will happen this week.
    If you are going to get your bike serviced in the Yamaha Factory Outlet in Kestopur, have a talk with Goswami da(head engineer). He is one of the best persons you can talk to regarding this. He will be able to give you the true and real fact.

  10. #30
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Can anyone confirm the OTR price of R15s in Bangalore? I enquired at pearl yamaha, it is Rs.1,37,416.

    Sent from my SM-N750 using xBhp Connect mobile app
    Typical old racer - you wobble when you walk, not when you ride

Page 3 of 91 FirstFirst 12345671353 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3763
    Last Post: 8 Hours Ago, 03:59 PM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By tanay in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1545
    Last Post: 3 Days Ago, 12:51 PM
  3. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 10680
    Last Post: 6 Days Ago, 06:29 PM
  4. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj V15: Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By shadcool786 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 11-18-2018, 05:14 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: 08-13-2018, 12:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •