Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Tubeless tyres are better than tubed ones.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 80 123451151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 798
Like Tree359Likes

Thread: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #1
    Addicted Anunay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences



    Quick review after 600km

    Pros:
    1. Excellent mileage, 45kmpl in insane Banglore traffic(1st service still due)
    2. Light beam improved
    3. Seats are perfect for touring, for pillon even better!
    4. Bottom end torque feels nice.
    5. Pulls away like rocket after 5000 rpm. (Haven't tested beyond 6000 rpm, top speed at 7k is 95)

    Cons:
    1. Vibes from engine below 3k rpm(may get sorted out at 1st service, already spoke with Pacer yamaha guys)
    2. Rear view Mirror is gives kind of complex view.
    3. Foam used near the headlight adjustment screw could have been made of better quality.
    4. Bar end weights seems to be loose.
    5. Visor quality is poor. Still better than gixxer SF ,RS200. (But previously being from yamaha FZ family expected to be better).

    I will post my Full review and my story behind getting R15-s after completing 1st service. I will also post the review of the yamaha service centre , Pacer yamaha. I will be doing 1st sevice on 9th Dec. Hope to give you review by 12th.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,388
    Mentioned
    806 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Moved to 'Ownership Experiences' and approved!

    Congratulations.

  3. #3
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Congrats Anunay.
    It's my second week and I'm still struggling to get past 100Km, no, I didn't got my number plate installed yet . But coming from Pulsar 150 UG2, which I rode almost 10 years+, I felt, or still feeling uncomfortable with this motorcycle because of the riding posture and for somewhat stiff suspension. Howerver, the power, torque and the handling is very good, even with a pillion.

    Quoting from your pros and cons here are some of my thoughts.
    Pros:
    1. Can't really say anything about mileage because of the before said reason.
    2. The low beam is weak, 35W 2700K Osram OEM bulbs, lower lumens, the beam doesn't goes far enough. On the other side the high beams are really good, may be due to it's dual setup.
    3. Yes, seats are good.
    4. Yes, the torque is good as well as the power too. I can actually change the gear at 3.5K RPM easily.
    5. Didn't went beyond 4K RPM, the book says 5K till 500KM with no sudden rev.

    Cons:
    1. Yes, I also feel some vibrations too, but it's minor, and hope it will go away after 1st service.
    2. Very true.
    3. I think it's rubber.
    My only big problem is the riding posture, I was really sad , for the first 2 days I got wrist pain, then it goes away and comes the back pain, then comes the neck pain. And yes, I'm still trying to adjust myself. Now I feel somewhat adjusted, but I really cannot comment on this as I didn't got any opportunity to go for at least 10KM drive at a stretch.

    The small problems are:
    1. With 12V 4A battery, they could have given LED parking, indicator and/or tail lights.
    2. There's no foot rest with the saree guard.

    Can anyone comment on how is Osram Silverstar HS1?
    Last edited by Rajarshi Mandal; 12-02-2015 at 09:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,388
    Mentioned
    806 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Rajarshi Mandal View Post
    Can anyone comment on how is Osram Silverstar HS1?
    Much much better than the crappy stock bulbs. However, design of the reflector matters a lot. The same bulb would give better visibility in a round dome w.r.t designer domes.

  5. #5
    Addicted manub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bangalore, India, India
    Posts
    130
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Divya Sharan View Post
    Much much better than the crappy stock bulbs. However, design of the reflector matters a lot. The same bulb would give better visibility in a round dome w.r.t designer domes.
    Which bulb would you recommend for the stock battery? So that there's no battery drain issues.

  6. #6
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,388
    Mentioned
    806 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by manub View Post
    Which bulb would you recommend for the stock battery? So that there's no battery drain issues.
    The same one you mentioned! It's rated 35W for both beams and it wouldn't put any (additional) load on the battery.

  7. #7
    Rusted imrandkhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Congratulations. How is the seating position compared to V2? Is it same as V1?
    madhav766 likes this.
    I believe I can fly...

  8. #8
    Addicted vinay21987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Congrats on your new bike. Any idea about the waiting period for this bike especially for black color?

  9. #9
    Addicted Rajarshi Mandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Why this thread is going dull?

    Name:  DSC00271.jpg
Views: 24904
Size:  90.1 KB

    Here is my 150cc beast, did some 3M waxing.
    Quote Originally Posted by imrandkhan View Post
    Congratulations. How is the seating position compared to V2? Is it same as V1?
    Never rode v2, so can't really comment...

    Quote Originally Posted by vinay21987 View Post
    Congrats on your new bike. Any idea about the waiting period for this bike especially for black color?
    In Kolkata, it's readily available.

    Just curious to ask people who are used to the riding posture of R15, can you give some tips on riding position? Now I'm not having any wrist pain but back and neck hurts. I hold the handle loose, it's my habit, and I'm 5.6 ft tall.

  10. #10
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Only GOD knows
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon10 re: Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Name:  IMG_3657.jpg
Views: 65337
Size:  106.0 KB

    Got mine this Friday loving it. Thanks admin for activating my account

    Can someone suggest me where i can get devil eyes/ angel eyes.
    @Anunay @Rajarshi Mandal
    Need some suggestions on how to keep bike scratch less while washing?
    please suggest a bike wash
    and also a helmet lock for this dude. don't know where to put the helmet. I cant carry everywhere
    Last edited by InDIaNkNIghT; 12-07-2015 at 05:14 PM. Reason: more matter

Page 1 of 80 123451151 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By tanay in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1262
    Last Post: 3 Hours Ago, 08:35 AM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 2926
    Last Post: 11 Hours Ago, 12:33 AM
  3. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 10071
    Last Post: 1 Day Ago, 10:43 PM
  4. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 08:17 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj V15: Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By shadcool786 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 08-07-2017, 08:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •