Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Accelerate quick but brake easy.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 24 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 231
Like Tree65Likes

Thread: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

  1. #1
    Rusted Nairrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Kannur, Kerala
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Search for a New Scooter

    I have been in the lookout for a Scooter since middle of November 2015. I have visited TVS showroom and seen the Jupiter. I already own a TVS Wego and I know the most of the details of Jupiter, I did not ask many questions nor did ask for a test drive. TVS showroom guys were well known to me (I already bought two vehicles from them since last 5 years (TVS Jive and TVS Wego) and even ready to bring a Jupiter to my home for test drive. They didnt have the latest Jupiter ZX model and the old one looks very old ( without any change of features) for me. (Even the latest TVS Wego comes with Combi Breaking System which was missing on my Wego, but the Jupiter missing that too).

    Then, I went on to check the websites of scooter manufacturers and Automobile Forums and noticed that Hero Motors launched two new scooters few months back, namely Hero Duet and Hero Maestro Edge. So, I did some comparisons of both Scooters along with others (in terms of Engine/performance/features etc) mainly like TVS Jupiter, Mahindra Gusto, Yamaha Ray, Suzuki etc.

    My main requirements are External fuel filling, Digital (Digi/Analog ok) Console, Pass switch, Side Stand indicator etc.

    Mahindra Gusto has all these features except external fuel filling and also they dont have a service station near my place (only showroom) hence did not consider this one.

    TVS Jupiter has Pass switch, external fuel filling, 12 wheels but old model console and no Side stand indicator and CBS or IBS.

    Yamaha and Suzuki Scooters As said above, did not consider them because none of their models comes with External fuel filling feature.

    Did not try Honda, because many of my neighbours have Honda scooter and some of them are not happy with After sales service(too much crowded)....

    Eventually, I have shortlisted Hero Duet and Hero Maestro Edge (also kept an option of Jupiter but not with much preference)

    Towards end of November 2015, I have visited the Hero Showroom to see the Maestro Edge which was my first preference but they told me Maestro Edge yet to be launched in Kerala(or whole of South India) hence they shown me the Hero Duet. Most of the features are almost same of Maestro edge except the wheels of Hero Duet are 10 instead of 12 for front wheel and 10 for rear wheel on Maestro Edge. I got quotation for Hero duet and told them that I will wait for few days to see if Maestro Edge will be launched in Kerala...?

    In the meantime, I sent an email to Hero motors regional office and after waiting about 7/8 days time, got reply from them advising that Maestro Edge will be launched in Kerala in January 2016. I have decided to wait till January 2016, not only for the launching of Maestro Edge, but also I dont want to buy a vehicle in the year end (further, I bought the Tvs Wego during February 2015 and dont want to buy another one in the same year).

    On 4th January 2016, I got a call from Hero showroom here (from whom I took the quotation for Hero Duet), advising that they have got some news that the Maestro Edge launch delayed and likely will be launched only in March 2016. I have sent another email to Hero Motors (from whom I got earlier reply) to clarify the situation. They also confirmed that Launch of Maestro in Kerala is further delayed and now they expect some time in end February or first half of March 2016.[anger]

    In the 2nd week of March 2016, I received an Email advising that TD vehicle has arrived at the dealer showroom(main office) and the vehicle will be possibly launching by end of March or early April 2016.

    On 22nd March,2016, I have received a call from the local dealer advising that they have received few vehicle and booking can done, if interested. Accordingly, I have visited the showroom and paid Rs.1000 as advance however they told me that the vehicle will only be officially launched in Kerala only on 29th March 2016 and they can deliver my vehicle on 29th March or later..!. But unfortunately Black color was not readily available and I was told to wait around 10 days time for the next shipment on which they expect more Black color.

    On 6th April the dealer called me that fresh shipment arrived and asked me to make payment. Accrodingly made full payment on same day evening, but they were not in a position to advise when the registration can be done since there are some technical problem with the RTO (software problem or proceedural delay due to recent ruling from the MVD that Free helmet, ladies guard.,ladies foot etc to be given to the customer without any extra payment but none of the dealers were not willing to accept this and thereby total chaos in the RTO).

    Finally Registration was done yesterday (12th April), and I got delivery of the vehicle today noon time. On delivery the ODO meter shown only 3.5kms (may be the distance covered from the dealer office to the RTO). After taking delivery I drove around 3.5 kms i.e the distance from dealer office to my home.

    Between the speed at 20 to 30kmpl, it seems the scooter vibrating little bit but after that the engine is very smooth. May be the vibration will be stopped after 1st service..!!?

    Pictures will follow soon...
    Pinaki, jeswin and Brezon95 like this.

  2. #2
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,388
    Mentioned
    806 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Joshila ownership approved!

    Congratulations!

  3. #3
    Rusted Nairrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Kannur, Kerala
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Some SS:
















    (Console -Digi/analog)





    (Ignition Switch)















    (Underseat storage)





    (Fuel Tank Cap - fuel tank lid open condition)





    (Fuel tank lid closed position)





    (ODO/Trip meter, Fuel gauge)





    (Mat)





    (rear side of rear view mirror)





    (Handle bar with brake lever)





    (Exhaust Muffler)





    (Boot light)
    rreneav1987, jeswin and Brezon95 like this.

  4. #4
    Addicted Brezon95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    -
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Congratulations on your new scooter.
    Nairrk likes this.

  5. #5
    Rusted Nairrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Kannur, Kerala
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    The Scooter comes with 5 Year Warranty

    Maestro Edge is warranted for a period of 5 years or 50000 kms, whichever is earlier, from the date of purchase.

    It is mandatory to avail all free services from the Hero MotoCorp's authorized Workshop only, as per the recommended schedule, to be eligible for warranty benefits. So, basically what they says is that if we miss one free Service, then we will lose the warranty benefits..

    The Scooter comes with Maintenance Free Battery with Warranty for 18 months or 20000 kms or 21 months from the date of charging (whichever is earlier). 3 months idle period is allowed from the date of charging to date of sale on vehicle.

    The Scooter comes with 6 Free Services covering 18 months or 15000-15500 kms whichever is earlier.

    ----consecutive posts auto-merged-----

    Fuel Gauge

    The approximate amount of fuel quantiy available in the fuel tank is indicated by the number of vertical bars in the display. Each segment display approx 1.0 litre of fuel. If all the vertical bars are displayed it means fuel qauantity in the fuel tank is 5.5 litres.



    if only one vertical bar is displayed and blinks, this indicates that the fuel quantity is low and the fuel tank should be refilled as soon as possible.

    Immobilizer

    This scooter is provided with an immobilizer system. This is an anti-theft device built into the ignition system, which prevents the engine to start without an authorized key.

    Catalytic Converter

    The Scooter is equipped with a catalytic converter in the muffler. So, they recommend to use unleaded petrol.

    USB Charger
    A USB Charger with a cap is provided in the scooter to charge mobile safely while riding but there are no mobile holder or stand nearby which means while on move the mobile can be moved/rolled here and there due to vibration?

    The Scooter is equipped two luggage hooks - one is located in the front and another one in the year.
    Pinaki and pranav shet like this.

  6. #6
    Addicted pranav shet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Congratulations bro. Ride safe & happy long journey on new edge.
    Nairrk likes this.

  7. #7
    Addicted pranav shet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Keep updating the thread bro.

  8. #8
    Rusted Nairrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Kannur, Kerala
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    As explained, the scooter comes with mobile charging port. However I was little worried about mobile phone moving or rolling incase we need to charge whilst riding and when we apply sudden brake which may even damage the mobile phone. Later, I found that there are two compartments in the underseat storage area which are Document compartment and Tool kit/first aid kit holder. The document holder is just next to the USB and can fit the mobile phone easily without it rolling at any circumstances.


    (Tool kit/First aid kit holder)



    (Document compartment)

  9. #9
    Addicted pranav shet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    How is the engine refinement bro? How does it feel once it crosses 60 kmph? How is ride & handling?

  10. #10
    Rusted Nairrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Kannur, Kerala
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Hero Maestro Edge Ownership review and experience

    Quote Originally Posted by pranav shet View Post
    How is the engine refinement bro? How does it feel once it crosses 60 kmph? How is ride & handling?
    Its little lagging and/or vibrating at slow speed. However after 30kmph, the engine is very smooth (Yet to try 60kmph or more.. ).
    I have read some reviews wherein they specified that these vibration problem will be over after 1st or 2nd service. Otherwise she is worth for the money
    and each and every one who came across the sctooter liked it very much..
    pranav shet likes this.

Page 1 of 24 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hero maestro edge or Suzuki Access 2014
    By srinath2494 in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-17-2016, 04:00 PM
  2. Hero Maestro Edge and Duet Launched
    By The Monk in forum News
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-24-2016, 01:07 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2016, 06:06 PM
  4. [Ownership Thread]: Hero Maestro Ownership Experience
    By Night_Shade in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-11-2015, 12:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •