Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Check the helmet from inside.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Poll: How much mileage does your Yamaha FZ25 give?

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

Page 501 of 653 FirstFirst ... 401451491497498499500501502503504505511551601 ... LastLast
Results 5,001 to 5,010 of 6528
Like Tree2981Likes

Thread: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #5001
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by brahmajan View Post
    Hi, I just bought my fz25 last week, and facing exactly the same issue. Engine overheat and paint burning smell. The SVC guys said the same also. I would like to know your bike's status now. Is it cleared ?
    You'll just need the engine to get used to the riding and engine oil. Break-in the engine for now, the heat will fade away soon.

  2. #5002
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Trivandrum
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by jass007 View Post
    You'll just need the engine to get used to the riding and engine oil. Break-in the engine for now, the heat will fade away soon.
    Thank you so much for the reply.
    I am waiting

  3. #5003
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bombay
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Checking back in to the thread after a while spending the last few months just riding and letting the bike settle in. Here are a few remaining issues I've noted now that I've crossed 9 months of use.

    Total km covered 2515 (daily running is low.. bike is used mon-fri for office commutes though distance is not more than 18km round trip)

    1. Gearshifts are NOTCHY! AF! - this was a really huge annoyance for me with my P200 and trust me I'm annoyed as hell to see that even Yamaha didn't get it right with the FZ25. This when their gearshifts on various FZ16 and other FZ variants I've rode over the years were effortless. In fact I used to think Yamaha had some of the best gearshift mechanisms. No matter what I've tried and even after complaining to the service guys, it continues to remain hard and notchy when sitting up and often doesn't even down shift correctly. The SC guys respond by adjusting the clutch tightness everytime.. I've noticed no real improvement still.
    2. Rear wheel locks under sharp braking. In fact the rear on the FZ just loves to lock. There's a fine limit to the rear brake application.. beyond which it just locks and you skid. The only good thing in this? She never gets uncontrollable, the skid and the lock is never rude enough to upset your line significantly and doesn't slide enormously sideways. In fact she has a rather neutral handling behaviour even though the rear is firmly locked.
    3. Engine oil level is a tad hard to read with no easy visual indicator. Also contemplating to switch engine oils (don't recall if the oil was changed last service since they said my running was low)
    4. The switching on glitch with the console keeps happening intermittently. The SC guys always say the console is not in stock with them.. sore point with Yamaha service on this.

    Other than these few things, the bike has remained trouble free. If only I could somehow get the darn gearshifter to behave smoothly it would be awesome
    Last edited by Absoluthavoc; 05-15-2018 at 04:24 PM.

  4. #5004
    stig's_indian_cousin newwannaberider's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Kerala
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hi all. I have taken delivery of the bike in the 4th of this month. I have covered almost 750 kms and hasn't done the first service. I faced heating issue in B2B traffic and slightly on longer rides.

    But today my bike started showing signs of the infamous coin rattling sound. I can hear it very clearly both during riding and revving the bike. I want to know if i should be worried and inform the svc or wait for 1st service? Is there a permanent fix as it's very annoying and sound like an old 100cc bike now. Thanks in advance

  5. #5005
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by newwannaberider View Post
    Hi all. I have taken delivery of the bike in the 4th of this month. I have covered almost 750 kms and hasn't done the first service. I faced heating issue in B2B traffic and slightly on longer rides.

    But today my bike started showing signs of the infamous coin rattling sound. I can hear it very clearly both during riding and revving the bike. I want to know if i should be worried and inform the svc or wait for 1st service? Is there a permanent fix as it's very annoying and sound like an old 100cc bike now. Thanks in advance
    As posted on the forum, some owners have reported that they are not facing the issue post 10000kms, I have recently done my 2nd service at 5000kms and I regret to tell you that the rattling sound is still present in my bike especially when it heats up in traffic. I will wait till 10000 kms to check if it goes away or else I will get my valve clearance adjusted.

  6. #5006
    stig's_indian_cousin newwannaberider's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Kerala
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Kabil View Post
    As posted on the forum, some owners have reported that they are not facing the issue post 10000kms, I have recently done my 2nd service at 5000kms and I regret to tell you that the rattling sound is still present in my bike especially when it heats up in traffic. I will wait till 10000 kms to check if it goes away or else I will get my valve clearance adjusted.
    To be honest, i hate the noise since its a brand new bike. is there any way to reduce it?

  7. #5007
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by newwannaberider View Post
    To be honest, i hate the noise since its a brand new bike. is there any way to reduce it?
    I haven't found any solution myself. Get a good helmet and just ignore the sound or get the tappets adjusted on your next service maybe that will help to reduce the sound to some extent.

  8. #5008
    Rusted Akash.Yadav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    1,085
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Absoluthavoc View Post
    Checking back in to the thread after a while spending the last few months just riding and letting the bike settle in. Here are a few remaining issues I've noted now that I've crossed 9 months of use.

    Total km covered 2515 (daily running is low.. bike is used mon-fri for office commutes though distance is not more than 18km round trip)

    1. Gearshifts are NOTCHY! AF! - this was a really huge annoyance for me with my P200 and trust me I'm annoyed as hell to see that even Yamaha didn't get it right with the FZ25. This when their gearshifts on various FZ16 and other FZ variants I've rode over the years were effortless. In fact I used to think Yamaha had some of the best gearshift mechanisms. No matter what I've tried and even after complaining to the service guys, it continues to remain hard and notchy when sitting up and often doesn't even down shift correctly. The SC guys respond by adjusting the clutch tightness everytime.. I've noticed no real improvement still.
    2. Rear wheel locks under sharp braking. In fact the rear on the FZ just loves to lock. There's a fine limit to the rear brake application.. beyond which it just locks and you skid. The only good thing in this? She never gets uncontrollable, the skid and the lock is never rude enough to upset your line significantly and doesn't slide enormously sideways. In fact she has a rather neutral handling behaviour even though the rear is firmly locked.
    3. Engine oil level is a tad hard to read with no easy visual indicator. Also contemplating to switch engine oils (don't recall if the oil was changed last service since they said my running was low)

    Other than these few things, the bike has remained trouble free. If only I could somehow get the darn gearshifter to behave smoothly it would be awesome
    Ans. 1 - get them to check the clutch plates. My friend has a P200NS and he had similar hard gear shifts problem. At around 7000 kms, his clutch plates went kaput and he had to pay for it.

    Ans. 2 - release some oil from the rear disc brake reseevoir and that should make it less prone to locks. I had that problem in my Duke 200 and releasing brake fluid helped. No problems of rear or front locking in my P220 though.

    Ans. 3 - If not changed then 6+ months on same oil may not be that good. Change the oil to a better brand - Shell, if I may suggest.
    Absoluthavoc likes this.
    Regards,
    Akash Yadav

    The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place. It will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it.

  9. #5009
    Addicted Harrisoncool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    218
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ramdante View Post
    Does it wobble even with your hands gripping the handlebars? My bike has a similar wobble issue post 65 km/h, but can only be seen when I take my hands of the hands of the handlebar. Also, it disappears post 75-80 km/h. I had complained about this during my last service, but no action was taken. Since it doesn't distract me much, I didn't push them again. Will again take it up during the 1st paid service.
    So far, I've tried 3 service centres, Paras (Mt road), Walters (tondiarpet), one in choolaimedu. All 3 have been average, except for Tondiarpet, who at least gives heed to the different complaints I give, and then resolves a few of them.
    When i push it beyond 75kmph i can feel it in my hands... at about 65kmph it shakes when i take off my hands. It wasnt there before, it is after they made adjustment recently.

  10. #5010
    Addicted Harrisoncool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    218
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by JyotishmanS View Post
    I had the same issue. I tried adjusting the coneset manually. Didn't help. I changed the entire coneset. Issue gone. Only wobbles below 20kph when i let go of hands and a little bit on bad roads. My suggestions:
    1. Check the entire coneset. The racer washer plates have been taken from the fz16 and are prone to misalignments.
    2. Check front forks for bends, oil seal ruptures and springs for any anomalies.
    3. Check handle for bends.
    4. Check if any cables are out of place.
    Will ask them to check the cone set. It all started after they adjusted my front fork setting. Service center was trying to resolve my issue, i felt as if i am seated in a curved frame. End result, my feeling remains the same in addition my front end wobbles.

Similar Threads

  1. Yamaha YZF- R15 S Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By Anunay in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 968
    Last Post: 1 Week Ago, 04:07 PM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3855
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 09:18 PM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Aprilia SR 150 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By Journeykanth in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 915
    Last Post: 10-09-2019, 12:35 AM
  4. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj V15: Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By shadcool786 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 08-27-2019, 10:09 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Kawasaki Z250 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By yeshwanthleo in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 07-31-2019, 02:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •