Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always keep the chain well lubricated.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 102 of 288 FirstFirst ... 252929899100101102103104105106112152202 ... LastLast
Results 1,011 to 1,020 of 2872
Like Tree1057Likes

Thread: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #1011
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon14 Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by abhiiceman View Post
    Yes it's the buggy firmware to blame for, restrict yourself from using the Bluetooth functionality till we get a fix for that else you would be loosing the odo reading Everytime it resets.
    Oh yeah, I had not given thought on the ODO reading reset issue.
    Thanks mate

  2. #1012
    Addicted
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gurugram
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Have had the Duke for a week but hardly had time to ride.I had the vanishing gear indicator once, but after that i havent looked at the console. Paired the phone, used the bike to play songs on the Sena - Check, heard songs for 10 seconds to see if it works.

    I love the way the bike moves, super light and flickable. Took it through all the water and slush I could find today, great fun lol. Also found a way to shut the fan up, ride fast through water and let the water spray all over the radiator. That shuts it up.
    Need to use the clutch quite a bit at low speeds and gear 1-2, but a light slipper clutch helps there. It hates anything below 3K rpm, a pleasure over that.

    Will probably be away for a few days now, more when i get back into the saddle.
    2017 KTM Duke 390
    2010 Ninja 250R

  3. #1013
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by sammyboy76 View Post
    Have had the Duke for a week but hardly had time to ride.I had the vanishing gear indicator once, but after that i havent looked at the console. Paired the phone, used the bike to play songs on the Sena - Check, heard songs for 10 seconds to see if it works.

    I love the way the bike moves, super light and flickable. Took it through all the water and slush I could find today, great fun lol. Also found a way to shut the fan up, ride fast through water and let the water spray all over the radiator. That shuts it up.
    Need to use the clutch quite a bit at low speeds and gear 1-2, but a light slipper clutch helps there. It hates anything below 3K rpm, a pleasure over that.

    Will probably be away for a few days now, more when i get back into the saddle.
    I too had the vanishing gear indicator problem from day 1 but since i don't use my mobile while riding i was not able to get a picture so the ASC guys were not convinced. They kept on insisting that i might not be slotting the gears properly.
    Also i was facing a lot of khat khat sound in lower gears from some days. Got it checked out. Shocking to me, the radiator assembly screw were loose ( the servicing was done 2 weeks back ). Anyhow they tightened it and no extra sounds now. I need to keep checking the bolts and nuts every 2 weeks.
    It like new now and feels awesome to ride. Loving it.

    Cheers !!

  4. #1014
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Bengaluru
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post


    Rubbing from the rear can be caused by three things, a chain that is dry or a chain that is excessively tight or a combination of both, and finally a loose chain itself. If you hear rubbing or squeaking noise from the front side/wheel of the motorcycle, remove your brake pads, glaze them using a medium grit sandpaper and install them back.

    Thanks for the suggestion.
    I had taken the bike to SVC. Rear brake pads were glazed with sandpaper and installed back, Mechanic resisted to do this for the front brakes as rubbing noise is commonfrom the front. Also, chain adjustment was alright. I have completed around 50-60 kms after it and I still hear the rubbing noise while braking.

    I have made couple of observations.
    1. Rubbing noise is faint if I apply only the front brake and it apparently increases when I apply the rear brakes.
    2. Rear wheel seems to have more resistance I noticed this while trying to rotate the wheel to lube the chain. Please confirm if this is normal ?

  5. #1015
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hello guys, I am Amey Pednekar, from Bangalore. I am new to the forum. Bought the orange beast in the 1st week of August and have already clocked 1600kms.

    I am planning a trip to Varanasi via Kolkata next month, during Diwali and am looking for accessories for the bike. Completely confused as to which saddle bag to buy. Ideally would have wanted to go with the Gods Triton X1- 75ltr, but I doubt that it would hit the exhaust. Anyone have any other suggestions? Also, I want to buy a windscreen, but most of them are too expensive and no guarantee that they would fit. One friend suggested to take the Fazer windscreen, which would come pretty cheap and KTM service guys can fit it for me. Let me know if you guys have any suggestions.

  6. #1016
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    7,946
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    243 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Post Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by amey027 View Post
    Hello guys, I am Amey Pednekar, from Bangalore. I am new to the forum. Bought the orange beast in the 1st week of August and have already clocked 1600kms.

    I am planning a trip to Varanasi via Kolkata next month, during Diwali and am looking for accessories for the bike. Completely confused as to which saddle bag to buy. Ideally would have wanted to go with the Gods Triton X1- 75ltr, but I doubt that it would hit the exhaust. Anyone have any other suggestions? Also, I want to buy a windscreen, but most of them are too expensive and no guarantee that they would fit. One friend suggested to take the Fazer windscreen, which would come pretty cheap and KTM service guys can fit it for me. Let me know if you guys have any suggestions.
    You can try the Cramster Colt, which is good for upswept exhausts, you can also consider Viaterra Claw, you have Dirtsack. The latter has them in orange color and fits the KTM quite well, though these are for the pre-2017 models whose exhaust were underbelly. Viaterra or Cramster should be a best bet. The visor of the FZ though was suitable for the old one with little modifications, I am not sure how it might pan for the 2017 cluster.

    Check iamabikerdotcom in YouTube, they have a new video regarding visor setup on the 2017 Duke 390

    Cheers!
    VJ
    WindPacer likes this.
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  7. #1017
    Rookie Sayeeshk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    porvorim
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Ktm duke 390 2017

    Hii guys. Need advice. I hav a 2017 duke 390 n run over 2500 kms. Jus wanted to know whtr bmc air filter shud do ne difference performance wise cos i was thinking to upgrade. Ne suggestions will be appreciated.

  8. #1018
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hey Guys,

    500Km Update.

    Got the Reflect-ON ceramic coating done. But I still have that low oil pressure issue. After half an hour in traffic, when the bike is idling, the low oil pressure warning lamp lights up, if I rev the engine a little bit, it goes away, and this cycle goes on... But yesterday, the warning came on the screen. I restarted the bike and everything was back to normal...
    This is pretty annoying. Anyone else had this experience ???
    If u can't explain it to a six year old; You don't understand it yourself!!

  9. #1019
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hey guys,
    Posting on behalf of my friend,
    His bike has done around 3000Km and is 2 month old. Yesterday after washing the bike in the night he kept it n this morning there was condensation in the tail lights and the lights were flickering.
    Is it a fault by the manufacturer or what should be done?
    Thanks.
    R.V

  10. #1020
    Addicted
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gurugram
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    So I finally got back to Gurgaon after having been out for a while and it was time to take the Duke out for a short spin. I just haven't had a chance since I got it so was really looking forward to it.

    Woke up at 6:30 am, was ready by 7am, then the great wallet hunt started.
    30 mins looking for my wallet inside the house, then 5 mins in the car, then another 5 mins lookin for the jeans I wore day before, where it was found finally.

    Then went to the bike, realised i had forgotten one glove at home, then back home to look for the other glove.

    and finally managed to leave home at 8am.

    Did a short 210 kms towards Jaipur on the NH8 and was back home by 11:05.

    Here are the First impressions - You will find me talking about my 2010 Ninja 250, but that is natural since I have had that for 7 years now and is my reference point.I still love it to bits though.

    The sitting posture is very comfortable, you feel like you are almost sitting on the front tyre but the footpegs are slightly rearset, a semi agressive riding position (if there is a word like that) . The knees fit perfectly in the tank recesses so you are able to hold on to the bike well. The bike has only one breakin instruction, not to cross 7500 rpm, which is like 114 kmph or so in 6th gear. It revs through gears quick, so one needs to keep an eye on the rpm meter, did manage to touch 8k a few times.

    The gear shifts were a revelation, butter smooth upshifts, and slipper clutch meant banging down the gears without a worry. Loved it. Very flickable, changes direction really quickly. Amazingly , I felt that the engine was smoother at 6k than my ninja (250), and thats saying a LOT. Lower end though sucks till 4k , I always hated the lowend of the ninja but its infinitely better than this 390.

    I kept braking hard to bed the brakes in, by the time I was done they were stopping the bike really well. Ninja brakes are a different level of feel, you know what exactly they are upto at any moment of time. But then this is new and ABS means you dont have to worry about it while grabbing them hard. Did the same to the rear so they are gettig better too.

    The ride by wire has made the bike really responsive, there is hardly any lag but all that is only after 4k rpm.

    Not a fan of the LCD position, one has to look down quite a bit to read the screen. Changing the songs on the sena is fantastic now, thanks to the buttons on the bike. Did use it quite a bit and it was very intuitive to use.

    The fan is loud and throws hot air on the left leg, wasn't too much of a hassle for me as i always ride with Jeans/riding pants and riding shoes.

    I knowingly tried to not take a break for 150 kms, to see how the seat felt.It was quite comfortable, and has quite a bit of space to move around. The rear seat is just at the right place, and gives good support to your lower back when you move back. Again, for reference, I have done about 730 kms on the Ninja in a day max. (over 500 a few times)and though that seat was hard, It provided excellent support and space to move around in.I think this seat might work okay for long rides, but have to do more rides before I can really comment on this.

    I finally understand why there is a perception that most of the KTM riders are rash. This bike makes you feel like you have twice the amount of skills you really have. That can lead to a lot of overconfidence. It just zips through gaps, brakes on a dime, tyres grip really well, even when new. The last time I rode on this road on the ninja, it was floating around in places because of poor road surface, on this one, not a thing.

    All in all, brilliant brilliant fun. It didnt scare the shit out of me while keeping me entertained, and there are still 3k rpm more to play with.

    Last edited by sammyboy76; 09-10-2017 at 05:24 PM.
    2017 KTM Duke 390
    2010 Ninja 250R

Similar Threads

  1. Bajaj Dominar or KTM Duke 390 (2017)
    By msuthar25 in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-22-2017, 11:43 AM
  2. 2017 KTM Duke 390, 250 and 200 launched
    By sunilg in forum News
    Replies: 272
    Last Post: 05-16-2017, 06:50 PM
  3. 2017 KTM 390 Duke Review: Rioters!
    By The Monk in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-21-2017, 06:11 PM
  4. Replies: 242
    Last Post: 02-23-2017, 01:40 PM
  5. Is it Worth Waiting for 2017 KTM Duke 200 ?
    By pratyush997 in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-01-2016, 01:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •