Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Check engine oil level before every ride.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 105 of 133 FirstFirst ... 55595101102103104105106107108109115 ... LastLast
Results 1,041 to 1,050 of 1324
Like Tree543Likes

Thread: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #1041
    Addicted 44horses's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    MAQ KA19 CBE
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    [QUOTE=abhiiceman;1313406]Yesterday while riding in bumper to bumper traffic fan wasn't running, I was happy thinking engine isn't heating, then to my shock when I looked at the console, engine temperature was at 7bars, then somehow fan started running my itself at low rpm then later came to high rpm then the temp settled. And today same case peak traffic fan wasn't running and I didn't had my attention towards that, I casually glanced the console and then there was this engine temperature waring with all the bars lit up in red, it was dense traffic was in the middle of the road then the engine stalled had to push towards left bike didn't start then waited for 5mins and tried, engine started but fan still wasn't running turned of. Then again after 5mins started the engine and reved it to max , there was some smoke from the exhaust but somehow the fan started at low rpm then gradually reached high rpm and the temps were back to normal


    check if there is enough coolant, if not check the engine oil colour to find greenish traces; it would've mixed with it, it wud be a serious problem if u run it in that condition.
    Hope its not the case!

  2. #1042
    Rusted abhiiceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    1,169
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by leech View Post
    @abhiiceman - do you think that's a software glitch? Is there a way to make the fan run at high rpms only?
    Don't think it's a software glitch as prior to this have never observed fan starting at low rpm and then gradually increase its speed instead it always starts like a jet engine.
    [QUOTE=44horses;1313436]
    Quote Originally Posted by abhiiceman View Post
    Yesterday while riding in bumper to bumper traffic fan wasn't running, I was happy thinking engine isn't heating, then to my shock when I looked at the console, engine temperature was at 7bars, then somehow fan started running my itself at low rpm then later came to high rpm then the temp settled. And today same case peak traffic fan wasn't running and I didn't had my attention towards that, I casually glanced the console and then there was this engine temperature waring with all the bars lit up in red, it was dense traffic was in the middle of the road then the engine stalled had to push towards left bike didn't start then waited for 5mins and tried, engine started but fan still wasn't running turned of. Then again after 5mins started the engine and reved it to max , there was some smoke from the exhaust but somehow the fan started at low rpm then gradually reached high rpm and the temps were back to normal


    check if there is enough coolant, if not check the engine oil colour to find greenish traces; it would've mixed with it, it wud be a serious problem if u run it in that condition.
    Hope its not the case!
    There's no decrease in coolent level or any change to the engine oil Color. But just the fan stops working. Think the fan gone kaput or the dirt might be the issue as bike is completely dirty have to give it a wash and try. Nope it won't resurface.


  3. #1043
    Addicted 2wice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Sounds like you have a faulty fan.

    The fan always runs at the max RPM as far as I've noticed. I doubt it's a software issue.

    You have warranty. Just pop into the service center and tell them. They'll probably idle the bike for a few minutes to see if the fan kicks in. If it doesn't, congrats! You now have a brand new fan for free.

  4. #1044
    Addicted 2wice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Now let's talk Top speeds.

    Tried out the older duke a few days ago. The new one definitely has a stronger mid range and feels way more relaxed at higher RPMs. But regarding Top speed the old one still comes out on top.

    Given a decent road, the old one would be able to go slightly past 170 with some effort from the rider. Crossing 160 wouldn't be too much effort and you'd be able to go regularly past it without too much effort.

    One the new one however, you'd need to put some effort into getting it past 160 and I haven't be able to get past 166 yet. The new one definitely has a lower top speed than the earlier one.

    This is more of a question for thought than a concern or me trying to get a higher top speed. Honestly, I'm perfectly satisfied with the speeds the bike can do. I wanted to try and understand why this difference would be present.

    See, I've searched and compared the gearing of both models. Despite what some reviews may say, the gearing is exactly the same for all gears. The primary drive and the final drive ratios are also exactly the same (All info is from the respective motorcycle manuals, and yes, I'm sure that they were different manuals for each bike).

    So forget about gearing, now the only two factors remaining are engine power and weight. The weight increase is about 10kgs. While not a lot,I would say that this weight increase would mostly be detrimental to acceleration and handling. For top speed, where most of the power produced is used to overcome aerodynamic drag, I don't think that this weight difference would have much of an impact (atleast not enough to account for the speed difference).

    This leaves the engine. Although the 2017 bike has slightly better torque, the power, which is relevant for this top speed question, is exactly the same between both bikes (some sources say 44, some say 43.5). Although they are the same, I'm guessing that their power curves are different. The new model may be making its peak power at a lower RPM than the old model. Since the power curve tends to dip after the peak power point, it might actually be making lower power after this even though the RPM is higher. So as a result,just an example, the new one may be making its peak power when the bike is at 160 vs the old one makes its peak power at 170. After this RPM point since the engine is making lower power, the bike just may not have enough power to push much further. I think I may have seen a power curve comparison b/w the two bikes, I'm not sure though. If it exists, and if someone finds it, please post it here.

    If the above assumption is correct, then getting a higher top speed on the new model can be achieved by simply putting a smaller rear sprocket (44T or 43 T) or a larger front sprocket (16T). This way the bike should be hitting its peak power point at a higher speed.

    The only other thing I can think of is that maybe the new model has a higher drag coefficient than the old model. This would make sense since even a small difference in the drag coefficient would be significant at a high speed (Since power required increases as the cube of velocity).

    What do you'll think? Have you'll been able to hit higher speeds (then maybe its just my bike ) Let me know. Might be interesting.

  5. #1045
    Addicted Cruisemonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    JALANDHAR
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hi, can anyone tell me the speed v/s rpm for duke 390 2017

  6. #1046
    Addicted Cruisemonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    JALANDHAR
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Cruisemonk View Post
    Hi, can anyone tell me the speed v/s rpm for duke 390 2017
    For 6th gear

  7. #1047
    Rusted Chandan92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Raipur, Chhattisgarh
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Guys can anyone let me know whether brake pads of new duke 390 are sourced from brembo, yes I know it's sintered, I am asking because one of my friend purchased brake pads for his old gen duke 390 and after taking out package he saw brembo logo was embossed on brake pads.

  8. #1048
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Indirapuram
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Chandan92 View Post
    Guys can anyone let me know whether brake pads of new duke 390 are sourced from brembo, yes I know it's sintered, I am asking because one of my friend purchased brake pads for his old gen duke 390 and after taking out package he saw brembo logo was embossed on brake pads.
    As I know, Duke has BYBRE brake pads which are cost effectively developed by Brembo. BYBRE stands for BY BREMBO!

  9. #1049
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    The new brake pads that come with the Duke 390 2017 are HH sintered pads made by BREMBO, not bybre. I've verified this myself. The pads cost 1700.

  10. #1050
    Rusted Chandan92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Raipur, Chhattisgarh
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ankurhero View Post
    As I know, Duke has BYBRE brake pads which are cost effectively developed by Brembo. BYBRE stands for BY BREMBO!
    For your information BYBRE and BREMBO are not same, bybre is cheaper version of brembo but it's not brembo, in bybre you will never see brembo logo embossed on it.

    Quote Originally Posted by chip94 View Post
    The new brake pads that come with the Duke 390 2017 are HH sintered pads made by BREMBO, not bybre. I've verified this myself. The pads cost 1700.
    Thanks! Needed this statement only.

Similar Threads

  1. Bajaj Dominar or KTM Duke 390 (2017)
    By msuthar25 in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-22-2017, 11:43 AM
  2. 2017 KTM Duke 390, 250 and 200 launched
    By sunilg in forum News
    Replies: 272
    Last Post: 05-16-2017, 06:50 PM
  3. 2017 KTM 390 Duke Review: Rioters!
    By The Monk in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-21-2017, 06:11 PM
  4. Replies: 242
    Last Post: 02-23-2017, 01:40 PM
  5. Is it Worth Waiting for 2017 KTM Duke 200 ?
    By pratyush997 in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-01-2016, 01:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •