Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

#xBhpAxorHelmet #2

Axor
Castrol Power 1

Be smooth with your gear shifts.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 51 of 312 FirstFirst ... 4147484950515253545561101151 ... LastLast
Results 501 to 510 of 3111
Like Tree1126Likes

Thread: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #501
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by 3eRor View Post
    Hello Everyone,

    Got my Duke 390 delivered on 20th May after a long wait of more than 60 days. Till now I have covered around 800 Km and very happy with the bike. Faced only one issue as of now in which the head light turns off for 2 seconds and then turns on, other than this did not get any other trouble. I have been riding RE Thunderbird 350 2009 model so its really taking time for me to get adjusted to the seating position.Hopefully will get the bike serviced this Saturday.


    Now some queries:
    1) Can any one suggest if the below crash guard is a direct fit to 2017 Duke 390 and from where it can be ordered. Please let me know if someone has tried to get this.

    Attachment 230454

    2) Did any one try to raise the handle bar using risers available in the market. When I checked the front disk brake cable length it is not sufficient even if I want to raise by 1 Inch.The cable from the brake lever to the ABS unit below the tank is short so is there any possibility to get a little longer cable which can be used in place of the present one.


    Thanks
    For point 1 - WATCH THIS --->

    Someone answer for point 2 who owns this bike
    Ride HARD but Ride SAFE
    Cheers !!

    Javed

  • #502
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajay Vishwanath View Post
    well, it's spot delivery in Hyderabad
    Actually it might happen due to cancellation of existing bookings.
    It happened to me also when i went to book mine in Pune. They had a duke 390 available as someone has made a cancellation.
    But i wanted one from a fresh lot hence i opted one from the next batch.
    Javed Basheer likes this.

  • #503
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Good Afternoon Sumesh, Thanks a lot for your update, however, the led headlamps still go off for a brief second or 2 post firmware update. I happened to hear that FW ver 39 solved the occasional headlamp blanking issues but I have observed the issue to occur at least once during the day. I happened to check with service center folks who confirmed that the issue is not addressed with ver39 and claim to release ver44 by a fortnight. Not sure if other XBHPians have heard the same.

  • #504
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Bangalore/Masinagudi/OOTY
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    During the warranty period, all service centers of any make, recommend to use their own proprietary-sourced oil or oil that is officially supplied to the showroom. For a common man, what goes in isn't a big deal, but for a few enlightened ones, what goes in does matter. Usuallly, Bajaj and KTM officially repel any oil supplied by the owner. 300V or any other oil for that matter can be used. But, in case your engine happen to go through some trouble, the SVC would happily defer the case as owner negligence and write off the warranty. KTM recommends 7100 which is perfectly suited for the 390, they don't bother if the 7100 is self purchased or bought from them.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Hi VJ...

    What you are telling is correct.. I bought 300 V and kept .. not sure.. what to do with it.. may be after first service.. and after odo crossing 4k i myself will change and use it..

    Also Please help me with the below

    I was riding in around 80-100 KMPH today in city roads and suddenly i had to apply brake.. with little pressure in back brake and handful of front brake..

    Its not panic braking but kind of sudden brake than my usual progressive braking.

    Then i felt like front brake lost the bite.. as if there are no brake pads.. i lost the feel of the brake.. it was giving kreech sound and Tak sound with kind of jerk in the end as if some oil applied to the brake pads/disk.

    Noticed 2 3 times by trying again and again..

    is it due to ABS kicking in early??

    It only happens when riding above 75kmph.. any sudden brake below that seems normal to me..

    I never felt the same in 2016 duke 390.. I never went to situation where ABS kicked in my old bike..even with hard braking above 75kmph.







    Last edited by srisathiyan89; 06-06-2017 at 05:28 PM.

  • #505
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Chetan_NA View Post
    Good Afternoon Sumesh, Thanks a lot for your update, however, the led headlamps still go off for a brief second or 2 post firmware update. I happened to hear that FW ver 39 solved the occasional headlamp blanking issues but I have observed the issue to occur at least once during the day. I happened to check with service center folks who confirmed that the issue is not addressed with ver39 and claim to release ver44 by a fortnight. Not sure if other XBHPians have heard the same.
    If it was once in a day I would have lived with it...the other day I went for a short highway ride in the night and the flickering happened 4 times!!! now thats alarming for me... I hope in the next update KTM seriously resolves this...However, still happy with my ride enjoying every bit of it...

  • #506
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    I am glad to have put my decision on hold to buy the new 2017 Duke 390 after listening to all this.. Thank you all for sharing your experience
    Ride HARD but Ride SAFE
    Cheers !!

    Javed

  • #507
    Rusted WindPacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Kochi
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Javed, Plz don't be disheartened by these small small niggles that the team is discussing here regarding the new D390. From what i have heard and seen, it is a brilliant machine; however a new one into the market and we should give the manufacturers little bit of time to sort these small things out...post this, it would be a complete period of pure Adrenalin rush and blissful memories..till then relax and keep a close tab on this thread as to how things progress

    ATGATT !!!

    Cheers,
    WindPacer

    Quote Originally Posted by Javed Basheer View Post
    I am glad to have put my decision on hold to buy the new 2017 Duke 390 after listening to all this.. Thank you all for sharing your experience
    Javed Basheer likes this.
    "Take a deep breath It's Just a BAD DAY, Not a BAD LIFE" - courtesy "The Unknown"

  • #508
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by WindPacer View Post
    Javed, Plz don't be disheartened by these small small niggles that the team is discussing here regarding the new D390. From what i have heard and seen, it is a brilliant machine; however a new one into the market and we should give the manufacturers little bit of time to sort these small things out...post this, it would be a complete period of pure Adrenalin rush and blissful memories..till then relax and keep a close tab on this thread as to how things progress

    ATGATT !!!

    Cheers,
    WindPacer
    Oh trust me Windpacer I have been extensively researching about motorcycle for the past few months from Duke 390 R3 Street Triple Benelli 600i and z800 and I have lot of data on these bikes now.. I have also rides all of them for decent time

    I am just waiting for my next bike riding the NS 200 since 2013 I need an upgrade badly
    WindPacer likes this.
    Ride HARD but Ride SAFE
    Cheers !!

    Javed

  • #509
    Rusted IamAditya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Cherthala, Alappuzha, Kerala
    Posts
    852
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Bikes with sintered brake pads do make some sound while hard braking.

  • #510
    s1d
    s1d is offline
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3,882
    Mentioned
    162 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2017 Duke 390 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by 3eRor View Post
    1) Can any one suggest if the below crash guard is a direct fit to 2017 Duke 390 and from where it can be ordered. Please let me know if someone has tried to get this.
    My take on using such a crash guard or the other expensive 'frame slider' - Not necessary and might do more damage than protect for an everyday user and isn't economical for the so called protection it offers.
    The stock crash guard is pretty good in itself. It is soft enough to deform and take the impact (and very cheap to replace) without causing frame damage.
    This engine protection guard that you posted I think is made by a company called GA Engineering (mumbai). Am not sure if this is going to be soft enough to deform without transferring the force to the frame, resulting in frame damage. So essentially you might end up spending more.
    You'd be surprised to know the cost of a 390 frame (the old one was around Rs.8000) and I hope the new one (since it's a two piece unit) should cost you lesser depending on what part of the frame gets damaged during a crash.
    And trust me, I've seen tons of crashed/fallen dukes with their stock crash guard and 90% of them escape without the need for a frame replacement.. the stock crash guard/handlebar and levers absorb most of the impact.

    So if you are someone who uses the bike normally (i.e. not a stunt freak) then the stock crash guard is more than sufficient both from a protection and cost point of view. That's just my take on such stuff that in most cases is just unnecessary.. don't fall for some 'expert' running around with a camera reviewing these accessories. I look at practicality & price more than the bling or bragging factor.

    2) as for handlebar risers, contact viaterra.. they have a set of risers that work on the previous gen dukes without requiring longer cables. they should be able to clarify if their risers will suit the new 390.

    ----consecutive posts auto-merged-----

    Quote Originally Posted by srisathiyan89 View Post
    I was riding in around 80-100 KMPH today in city roads and suddenly i had to apply brake.. with little pressure in back brake and handful of front brake..

    Its not panic braking but kind of sudden brake than my usual progressive braking.

    Then i felt like front brake lost the bite.. as if there are no brake pads.. i lost the feel of the brake.. it was giving kreech sound and Tak sound with kind of jerk in the end as if some oil applied to the brake pads/disk.

    Noticed 2 3 times by trying again and again..

    is it due to ABS kicking in early??

    It only happens when riding above 75kmph.. any sudden brake below that seems normal to me..

    I never felt the same in 2016 duke 390.. I never went to situation where ABS kicked in my old bike..even with hard braking above 75kmph.
    Head to the svc and try riding another 2017 390 and notice if you see the same behavior. If the braking experience differs then ask the mechanic to test and fix it.
    Could be as simple as bleeding the brakes or cleaning the pads/rotors.
    And that 'tak' sound can also be from the 'cone-set' (i.e steering stem race/bearing), and might require them to adjust/tighten the steering stem bolt.
    Skanda and rachitsharma2000 like this.

  • Page 51 of 312 FirstFirst ... 4147484950515253545561101151 ... LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Bajaj Dominar or KTM Duke 390 (2017)
      By msuthar25 in forum What Bike?
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 05-22-2017, 11:43 AM
    2. 2017 KTM Duke 390, 250 and 200 launched
      By sunilg in forum News
      Replies: 272
      Last Post: 05-16-2017, 06:50 PM
    3. 2017 KTM 390 Duke Review: Rioters!
      By The Monk in forum Bike Reviews
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 03-21-2017, 06:11 PM
    4. Replies: 242
      Last Post: 02-23-2017, 01:40 PM
    5. Is it Worth Waiting for 2017 KTM Duke 200 ?
      By pratyush997 in forum What Bike?
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 10-01-2016, 01:20 AM

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •