Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always use both brakes to reduce speed.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 57
Like Tree82Likes

Thread: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #41
    Rusted hypheni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Calcutta
    Posts
    762
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Kapil Kumar View Post
    Second service review:

    Being a new center, they left a good impression with 10% discount on service charges too.
    Here is the detailed charges for the service:
    I had purchase same grade/brand of engine oil as it was cheaper online, but i was told engine oil had to be used from service center else it will void te warranty. I had no other choice instead of agreeing to them.

    FYI: its just my personal opinion and recommending them, you guys are welcome to give it a try on your own
    I'm just trying to understand the parallel twin servicing costs in India. As I checked your earlier post and commented too, you paid around 4000 for 1st service and for 2nd you paid 5000. In both the services you paid some sort of labour charges which I believe should not be there in free servicing.

    Did you changed any parts so far? As I can see you just changed engine oil and filter twice, correct me if I am wrong.
    Kapil Kumar likes this.

  2. #42
    Rusted
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    394
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by hypheni View Post
    I'm just trying to understand the parallel twin servicing costs in India. As I checked your earlier post and commented too, you paid around 4000 for 1st service and for 2nd you paid 5000. In both the services you paid some sort of labour charges which I believe should not be there in free servicing.

    Did you changed any parts so far? As I can see you just changed engine oil and filter twice, correct me if I am wrong.
    IIRC, you don't get any free services with Benelli and Kawasaki. You have to pay for all services.
    They use so called expensive oil, which runs over 1.5K without taxes and ~2k with taxes. Add few parts like oil filter, air filter, now the spares cost is around 3K. add another 1.5K labor and some taxes sprinkled over labor, you see around 5K.
    These are common to all multiple cylinder bikes in india. Smaller bikes use a little less oil, so that cost comes down slightly.

    Major services like 20K or 15K, where you need to do throttle body sync and other complex stuff, you can see your bills crossing well over 10K. If you replace chain, get forks serviced and some other major stuff, i think you will be seeing a bill over 40K or 50K (If tires included). (These bikes chain sprockets cost ~10K to 20K depending on bike CC). That's in BMW cars servicing costs range.

    These are white elephants. You can buy a Duke 390 and enjoy every bit of it with slightly cheaper costs (Even duke 390 isn't that cheap to maintain.) but much better than these multi-cylinder bikes. Once we have good number of local garages which can service these multi cylinder bikes, the cost comes down significantly. Till then, this will be the situation.

  3. #43
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences


  4. #44
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon2 Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    AMC (Annual Maintenance Contract) Plan Update for 302R.

    Sorry for delay post as was too busy in travel and personal life, here is the update on the AMC plan.
    After first free service, i wanted to avail the AMC Plan, but it was not launched for 302R by the time i reached 2nd service.

    I purchased the AMC plan from Benelli whitefield Showroom (Brindavan Motors) in Bangalore.
    Please make sure you initiate the process by paying the amount in well advance, as it takes almost 1 month to activate the same.(i hope in future it takes few days)

    Name:  AMC PLan.jpg
Views: 481
Size:  18.5 KB




    I dropped the bike for the 3rd service. It included the washing, normal service, engine oil and filter change.
    The service was quick as i picked the up the bike around 4 PM.

    This time i was little upset when i went to pick up the bike as there was little scratch at the bottom of fairing
    After some discussion with Kiran/Sibhu, they were kind enough to replace the fairing sticker which had scratch. It wasted almost 45 minutes but i was glad to see my EVA back to the shinning colors.

    Feel free to ask any question/doubts

    Happy riding

  5. #45
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    mumbai
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Hello everyone,

    Novice Xbhpian here, but i want to share my joy of owning this beautiful machine the best way i can. Ill try keeping it short, but its 1 years experience that i have to dot down.
    Lets get down to it.

    HERE IS MY PRECIOUS GINA

    Name:  IMG_7390.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  78.3 KB
    Name:  IMG_7394.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  100.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_7447.jpg
Views: 413
Size:  102.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_7448.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  101.6 KB

    ALRIGHT ENOUGH TEASING!

    Name:  IMG_7440.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  110.5 KB
    Name:  IMG_7398.jpg
Views: 415
Size:  113.2 KB
    Attachment 242543


    THE PRELUDE

    I have always been a car-guy, not that I hated motorcycles (can't hate anything that has an engine) but my parents always had a fear of motorcycles because of vague, distant stories of fatal accidents, so I couldn't get a bike until recently. Not having owned a bike i was never attached to them, however, In my undergraduate years i worked on tuning an R6 engine (which was awesome FYI), since then i was really intrigued by the character of a motorbike engine (mainly the crazy redline
    ). I started studying bikes and their engineering aspect but never the biking aspect of it until around May 2017 when I spent a couple days with one of my friends Hyosung Gt250R, while he was out of town. That bike, with its big bike feel, fully committed ergonomics and that V-twin characteristic exhaust can be charming to someone not interested in biking. In the couple days i realised that, I can follow my passion (performance motoring) in bikes for much more cheap than i can in cars. Most hyperbikes come under 30 lacs, which is the average cost of a luxury sedan. So you guys get why i decided to get a bike.

    After that decision started an uphill battle of convincing my MOTORCYCLOPHOBIC (thats actually a word i looked it up) parents to allow me to get a bike. it included everything from crying to fighting, from casual discussion to powerpoint presentations on safety gear and so on. They had a persistent response overtime i talked about the bike, and it was very monotonous and monosyllabal. overtime i said I would like a bike please, they constantly replied with "NO!" THATS IT, NO EXPLANATIONS NO DISCUSSIONS. After some gruelling months of emotional rollercoasters my dad finally agreed, which leads us onto the decision making process.

    The decision making process was very simple as this was the time of the whole 'lets cause minor inconvenience to the public by forcing BSIV norms in the name of environmental benefit" (just kidding i stand by the BSIV norms, but that just sounds funnier). i had worked on an R6 engine for over 2 years, there was no way i was going o be happy with the rattly exhaust note of a single cylinder, which weeded out the extremely common KTMS and CBRS. The BSIV norms meant the Hyosung which was my impulsive choice was out of stock and the Yamaha R3 which would've been the ideal choice was discontinued. Which left me with the option of either waiting for the Hyosung or the Ninja 300. I went to the Kawasaki showroom to test ride the Ninja, but again was not impressed with the bike as i felt it lacked character. Yes, overtime i would come to love it with its Intricately detailed engineering, but in the moment to me it didn't justify its price tag. Not to mention the lack of ABS which for me as a novice rider was absolutely essential. Disappointed, i left the showroom and strolled to the Benelli showroom right next to it. They had the TNT300 and the infamous 600i, and they were kind enough to give me a test ride on both even though i mentioned the 600 is out of my budget (almost bought it though). The TNT300 sounded wicked to me, i was like how could this be sounding better than a Kawasaki? I was pleasantly surprised.

    This is where i would like to share that i was only interested in a fully faired sports bike (because they look cool haha). I said this to the salesmen at Benelli and was about to leave, when he mentioned there might be a fully faired version coming soon. *DUM DUM DUUUMM* PLOT TWIST. They informed me about the 302r tornado (albeit secretly), i looked it up and as i heard a 300 fire up in the background i thought, this could be it! Incase you are wondering how strong of an intuition that was, I went ahead and booked the bike the next day, NOT HAVING SEEN THE BIKE, THE BIKE NOT HAVING BEEN LAUNCHED! To top it all the launch date wasn't even confirmed. this was then followed by a painfully long waiting period of around 2 months where I patiently and very calmly, harassed the sales person ten times a week, and probably slowed down DSK's website looking for launch clues. what can i say, i don't like to be kept waiting.

    The day finally came where the bike was in the showroom under covers waiting to be launched. The photos on the top of the post is after we took the covers off. i got to see it in the godown a day earlier and decide which colour i wanted(more on that later). GINA was going to be the first 302r to come out of the showroom in Mumbai, and i liked that exclusivity. There was a huge party at the showroom on launch day, they did really treat their customers well. there was a cake cutting, and then the big key was handed over, which was followed by the first crank, i can still hear it roar. It looked absolutely gorgeous, hardly anyone can disagree.


    Name:  IMG_7450.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  95.4 KB
    Name:  IMG_7429.jpg
Views: 417
Size:  114.1 KB
    Attachment 242560
    Name:  IMG_8992.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  110.8 KB
    Name:  IMG_8993.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  113.5 KB

    I will leave it at these pictures fellas, because they're worth drooling over (to me at least haha). I have had the bike for over a year now, and i will follow this post with an ownership review, which will include maintenance costs and worth of the bike and so on. I am new to forums so i apologise for errors, but i will make sure to write another post with all details. keep looking for it.

    OPEN TO ANY QUESTIONS

    RIDE ON!
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by zain_andrabi; 07-31-2018 at 10:51 PM.

  6. #46
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Nicely compiled, welcome to family brother
    Even i was anxious when 302R was launching and crawling web/videos for any launch update

    Can u please remove 2nd last photo of riding without basic gear, its against the xBHP policy
    #RideSafe #RideON

    Quote Originally Posted by zain_andrabi View Post
    Hello everyone,

    Novice Xbhpian here, but i want to share my joy of owning this beautiful machine the best way i can. Ill try keeping it short, but its 1 years experience that i have to dot down.
    Lets get down to it.

    HERE IS MY PRECIOUS GINA

    Name:  IMG_7390.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  78.3 KB
    Name:  IMG_7394.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  100.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_7447.jpg
Views: 413
Size:  102.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_7448.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  101.6 KB

    ALRIGHT ENOUGH TEASING!

    Name:  IMG_7440.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  110.5 KB
    Name:  IMG_7398.jpg
Views: 415
Size:  113.2 KB
    Attachment 242543


    THE PRELUDE

    I have always been a car-guy, not that I hated motorcycles (can't hate anything that has an engine) but my parents always had a fear of motorcycles because of vague, distant stories of fatal accidents, so I couldn't get a bike until recently. Not having owned a bike i was never attached to them, however, In my undergraduate years i worked on tuning an R6 engine (which was awesome FYI), since then i was really intrigued by the character of a motorbike engine (mainly the crazy redline
    ). I started studying bikes and their engineering aspect but never the biking aspect of it until around May 2017 when I spent a couple days with one of my friends Hyosung Gt250R, while he was out of town. That bike, with its big bike feel, fully committed ergonomics and that V-twin characteristic exhaust can be charming to someone not interested in biking. In the couple days i realised that, I can follow my passion (performance motoring) in bikes for much more cheap than i can in cars. Most hyperbikes come under 30 lacs, which is the average cost of a luxury sedan. So you guys get why i decided to get a bike.

    After that decision started an uphill battle of convincing my MOTORCYCLOPHOBIC (thats actually a word i looked it up) parents to allow me to get a bike. it included everything from crying to fighting, from casual discussion to powerpoint presentations on safety gear and so on. They had a persistent response overtime i talked about the bike, and it was very monotonous and monosyllabal. overtime i said I would like a bike please, they constantly replied with "NO!" THATS IT, NO EXPLANATIONS NO DISCUSSIONS. After some gruelling months of emotional rollercoasters my dad finally agreed, which leads us onto the decision making process.

    The decision making process was very simple as this was the time of the whole 'lets cause minor inconvenience to the public by forcing BSIV norms in the name of environmental benefit" (just kidding i stand by the BSIV norms, but that just sounds funnier). i had worked on an R6 engine for over 2 years, there was no way i was going o be happy with the rattly exhaust note of a single cylinder, which weeded out the extremely common KTMS and CBRS. The BSIV norms meant the Hyosung which was my impulsive choice was out of stock and the Yamaha R3 which would've been the ideal choice was discontinued. Which left me with the option of either waiting for the Hyosung or the Ninja 300. I went to the Kawasaki showroom to test ride the Ninja, but again was not impressed with the bike as i felt it lacked character. Yes, overtime i would come to love it with its Intricately detailed engineering, but in the moment to me it didn't justify its price tag. Not to mention the lack of ABS which for me as a novice rider was absolutely essential. Disappointed, i left the showroom and strolled to the Benelli showroom right next to it. They had the TNT300 and the infamous 600i, and they were kind enough to give me a test ride on both even though i mentioned the 600 is out of my budget (almost bought it though). The TNT300 sounded wicked to me, i was like how could this be sounding better than a Kawasaki? I was pleasantly surprised.

    This is where i would like to share that i was only interested in a fully faired sports bike (because they look cool haha). I said this to the salesmen at Benelli and was about to leave, when he mentioned there might be a fully faired version coming soon. *DUM DUM DUUUMM* PLOT TWIST. They informed me about the 302r tornado (albeit secretly), i looked it up and as i heard a 300 fire up in the background i thought, this could be it! Incase you are wondering how strong of an intuition that was, I went ahead and booked the bike the next day, NOT HAVING SEEN THE BIKE, THE BIKE NOT HAVING BEEN LAUNCHED! To top it all the launch date wasn't even confirmed. this was then followed by a painfully long waiting period of around 2 months where I patiently and very calmly, harassed the sales person ten times a week, and probably slowed down DSK's website looking for launch clues. what can i say, i don't like to be kept waiting.

    The day finally came where the bike was in the showroom under covers waiting to be launched. The photos on the top of the post is after we took the covers off. i got to see it in the godown a day earlier and decide which colour i wanted(more on that later). GINA was going to be the first 302r to come out of the showroom in Mumbai, and i liked that exclusivity. There was a huge party at the showroom on launch day, they did really treat their customers well. there was a cake cutting, and then the big key was handed over, which was followed by the first crank, i can still hear it roar. It looked absolutely gorgeous, hardly anyone can disagree.


    Name:  IMG_7450.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  95.4 KB
    Name:  IMG_7429.jpg
Views: 417
Size:  114.1 KB
    Name:  IMG_7452.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  95.6 KB
    Attachment 242560
    Name:  IMG_7490.jpg
Views: 390
Size:  116.4 KB

    I will leave it at these pictures fellas, because they're worth drooling over (to me at least haha). I have had the bike for over a year now, and i will follow this post with an ownership review, which will include maintenance costs and worth of the bike and so on. I am new to forums so i apologise for errors, but i will make sure to write another post with all details. keep looking for it.

    OPEN TO ANY QUESTIONS

    RIDE ON!

  7. #47
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    mumbai
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Kapil Kumar View Post
    Nicely compiled, welcome to family brother
    Even i was anxious when 302R was launching and crawling web/videos for any launch update

    Can u please remove 2nd last photo of riding without basic gear, its against the xBHP policy
    #RideSafe #RideON
    Hey Kapil, I'm still learning the whole forum editing softwares and so on, i hope i have edited out that photo out and added photos with my gear on. i can't believe i didn't add the gear photo, because i had noticed we both have the same jacket and the same bike. Very like minded the two of us haha.

    Let me know if the photo is edited out, thanks. Ill update the thread with ownership experience this weekend. thanks.

    also a big request on this thread,

    FIRST PERSON TO UPLOAD THE "SHOP MANUAL" FOR THE 302R GETS DECLARED THE BEST GUY I EVER KNOW!

    NOT THE BIGGEST PRIZE I KNOW HAHA, THATS ALL I CAN OFFER I GUESS.

    THANKS
    Kapil Kumar likes this.

  8. #48
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    ha ha ha , indeed, but u picked diff color

    Good way to start off, keep blogging about 302R journey in Traveling section

    Quote Originally Posted by zain_andrabi View Post
    Hey Kapil, I'm still learning the whole forum editing softwares and so on, i hope i have edited out that photo out and added photos with my gear on. i can't believe i didn't add the gear photo, because i had noticed we both have the same jacket and the same bike. Very like minded the two of us haha.

    Let me know if the photo is edited out, thanks. Ill update the thread with ownership experience this weekend. thanks.

    also a big request on this thread,

    FIRST PERSON TO UPLOAD THE "SHOP MANUAL" FOR THE 302R GETS DECLARED THE BEST GUY I EVER KNOW!

    NOT THE BIGGEST PRIZE I KNOW HAHA, THATS ALL I CAN OFFER I GUESS.

    THANKS

  9. #49
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by zain_andrabi View Post

    FIRST PERSON TO UPLOAD THE "SHOP MANUAL" FOR THE 302R GETS DECLARED THE BEST GUY I EVER KNOW!

    NOT THE BIGGEST PRIZE I KNOW HAHA, THATS ALL I CAN OFFER I GUESS.

    THANKS
    I have service manual for BN302, maybe it helps...

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zR_...w?usp=drivesdk

    I am searching for service manual for BN251 (TNT25).
    zain_andrabi likes this.

  10. #50
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    mumbai
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Benelli 302R Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by zain_andrabi View Post
    Hello everyone,

    Novice Xbhpian here, but i want to share my joy of owning this beautiful machine the best way i can. Ill try keeping it short, but its 1 years experience that i have to dot down.
    Lets get down to it.

    HERE IS MY PRECIOUS GINA

    Name:  IMG_7390.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  78.3 KB
    Name:  IMG_7394.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  100.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_7447.jpg
Views: 413
Size:  102.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_7448.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  101.6 KB

    ALRIGHT ENOUGH TEASING!

    Name:  IMG_7440.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  110.5 KB
    Name:  IMG_7398.jpg
Views: 415
Size:  113.2 KB
    Attachment 242543


    THE PRELUDE

    I have always been a car-guy, not that I hated motorcycles (can't hate anything that has an engine) but my parents always had a fear of motorcycles because of vague, distant stories of fatal accidents, so I couldn't get a bike until recently. Not having owned a bike i was never attached to them, however, In my undergraduate years i worked on tuning an R6 engine (which was awesome FYI), since then i was really intrigued by the character of a motorbike engine (mainly the crazy redline
    ). I started studying bikes and their engineering aspect but never the biking aspect of it until around May 2017 when I spent a couple days with one of my friends Hyosung Gt250R, while he was out of town. That bike, with its big bike feel, fully committed ergonomics and that V-twin characteristic exhaust can be charming to someone not interested in biking. In the couple days i realised that, I can follow my passion (performance motoring) in bikes for much more cheap than i can in cars. Most hyperbikes come under 30 lacs, which is the average cost of a luxury sedan. So you guys get why i decided to get a bike.

    After that decision started an uphill battle of convincing my MOTORCYCLOPHOBIC (thats actually a word i looked it up) parents to allow me to get a bike. it included everything from crying to fighting, from casual discussion to powerpoint presentations on safety gear and so on. They had a persistent response overtime i talked about the bike, and it was very monotonous and monosyllabal. overtime i said I would like a bike please, they constantly replied with "NO!" THATS IT, NO EXPLANATIONS NO DISCUSSIONS. After some gruelling months of emotional rollercoasters my dad finally agreed, which leads us onto the decision making process.

    The decision making process was very simple as this was the time of the whole 'lets cause minor inconvenience to the public by forcing BSIV norms in the name of environmental benefit" (just kidding i stand by the BSIV norms, but that just sounds funnier). i had worked on an R6 engine for over 2 years, there was no way i was going o be happy with the rattly exhaust note of a single cylinder, which weeded out the extremely common KTMS and CBRS. The BSIV norms meant the Hyosung which was my impulsive choice was out of stock and the Yamaha R3 which would've been the ideal choice was discontinued. Which left me with the option of either waiting for the Hyosung or the Ninja 300. I went to the Kawasaki showroom to test ride the Ninja, but again was not impressed with the bike as i felt it lacked character. Yes, overtime i would come to love it with its Intricately detailed engineering, but in the moment to me it didn't justify its price tag. Not to mention the lack of ABS which for me as a novice rider was absolutely essential. Disappointed, i left the showroom and strolled to the Benelli showroom right next to it. They had the TNT300 and the infamous 600i, and they were kind enough to give me a test ride on both even though i mentioned the 600 is out of my budget (almost bought it though). The TNT300 sounded wicked to me, i was like how could this be sounding better than a Kawasaki? I was pleasantly surprised.

    This is where i would like to share that i was only interested in a fully faired sports bike (because they look cool haha). I said this to the salesmen at Benelli and was about to leave, when he mentioned there might be a fully faired version coming soon. *DUM DUM DUUUMM* PLOT TWIST. They informed me about the 302r tornado (albeit secretly), i looked it up and as i heard a 300 fire up in the background i thought, this could be it! Incase you are wondering how strong of an intuition that was, I went ahead and booked the bike the next day, NOT HAVING SEEN THE BIKE, THE BIKE NOT HAVING BEEN LAUNCHED! To top it all the launch date wasn't even confirmed. this was then followed by a painfully long waiting period of around 2 months where I patiently and very calmly, harassed the sales person ten times a week, and probably slowed down DSK's website looking for launch clues. what can i say, i don't like to be kept waiting.

    The day finally came where the bike was in the showroom under covers waiting to be launched. The photos on the top of the post is after we took the covers off. i got to see it in the godown a day earlier and decide which colour i wanted(more on that later). GINA was going to be the first 302r to come out of the showroom in Mumbai, and i liked that exclusivity. There was a huge party at the showroom on launch day, they did really treat their customers well. there was a cake cutting, and then the big key was handed over, which was followed by the first crank, i can still hear it roar. It looked absolutely gorgeous, hardly anyone can disagree.


    Name:  IMG_7450.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  95.4 KB
    Name:  IMG_7429.jpg
Views: 417
Size:  114.1 KB
    Attachment 242560
    Name:  IMG_8992.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  110.8 KB
    Name:  IMG_8993.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  113.5 KB

    I will leave it at these pictures fellas, because they're worth drooling over (to me at least haha). I have had the bike for over a year now, and i will follow this post with an ownership review, which will include maintenance costs and worth of the bike and so on. I am new to forums so i apologise for errors, but i will make sure to write another post with all details. keep looking for it.

    OPEN TO ANY QUESTIONS

    RIDE ON!
    CONTINUING ON....

    THE FIRST RIDE

    If the first post wasn't clear enough, i was in love with the way GINA looked, sounded and especially grabbed attention. I was on my way home after the immaculate delivery ceremony and the attention this bike grabs is just out of this world. Maybe because people hadn't seen it before as well, whatever the case be, I was loving it. I made a couple buddies on my way home who were riders commuting home and were awestruck by the design and sound. I found that even in heavy traffic the bike doesn't heat up or throw a lot of heat at my legs, the cooling system works flawlessly. I got home and flaunted the bike a bit to my friends, obviously didn't let anyone have a ride till the break-in period was complete. One thing was clear this was my new baby that i would be caring after like a worried mother.

    Name:  1st ride.jpg
Views: 306
Size:  101.9 KB

    The next weekend me and my buddy on his Hyosung GTR went for a short ride (100kms not much). I was carefully breaking in her engine and gearbox, making sure to use all the gears, not going close to the redline whilst using the whole throttle range. I was kinda upset it was raining, because that made my brand new bike not so "brand new" anymore, but what did i expect Mumbai coastal highway to be like in the monsoon season?. Nevertheless I was loving the ride. I noticed a few things on my first few rides, before the first service. The tyres were excellent! Metzelers gave exceptional grip in the dry and were not too bad in the wet. I have heard people complaining about them in the wet, but only when they're comparing them to the Angel GT, apart from that i think its best-of-the-rest. Yes, the PILOT ROAD 4 gives higher mileage and far better grip in the wet, but then just doesn't come close to the Metzelers in the dry. Also i felt the Feedback from my tires was amazing in the wet. While switching lanes, crossing the white lines, I could feel the reduction in traction for that split second without having my heart in my mouth. That really developed my confidence a lot.

    Name:  1st wash.jpg
Views: 299
Size:  105.8 KB
    Name:  agvride.jpg
Views: 303
Size:  95.0 KB
    Name:  ridegrp.jpg
Views: 305
Size:  102.6 KB

    THE INEVITABLE!


    I had completed over 2000 kms in two months (Since i was jobless at the time ). Having completed the first services and break-in period, I was loving it and exploring the limits of my skill level. I knew Gina had way more potential since i was just starting to learn. I had spent time learning counter steering, reading TWIST OF THE WRIST (which i absolutely recommend if you want to become a fast and safer rider). But all of this was only leading to one thing.. As the riders in America tend to say "THERE ARE ONLY TWO TYPES OF RIDERS, ONE WHOS BEEN DOWN AND ONE WHOS GOING DOWN". Since i was a learning rider, some would say it was inevitable that i would be going down sooner or later.

    I was leaving for a ride with the "Benellians" group and was on my way to the meet up point. There is a tight right hand curve as soon as i get on the highway which i know very well. i have been on that road almost every time i have gone for a ride. So i was confident of the corner, i could take good amounts of lean through it and exit at close to 100kmph. It was around 6 am and the road was empty. I could feel the bike roar under me as i approached that curve close to 120, and started to trail brake, Till this point it was all smooth i could complete the turn without any issues, had done it loads of times. That is when i noticed there was a huge pile of just mud and rocks which was dropped there by a dumpster i think, covering half of the outside lane. Now this is where my theoretical knowledge and book reading fell short in front of my lack of riding experience. I had read lines such as " You always Go where you look" and " If you brake mid corner will reduce your turning", but these meant nothing when i was startled by the fact that one of the lane was blocked. I looked straight to the pile and in the split second my eyes got locked onto it, and my fingers started applying brake pressure ( my Brain was panicking and trying to stay calm at the same time, which is why i didn't grab the brakes instead applied gradual pressure). My bike started standing up and i headed straight to the pile, flew off it, felt myself sliding on my back for about 200metres. I didn't faint or fade out but the next thing i recollect is standing up and taking my gear off.

    This is when i realised My investment in quality jacket and gloves had paid off. i recollected the fact that i was sliding for a good time, but My body just had minor scuffs on my elbows. As i removed my gloves i could feel my left forearm had a hairline fracture, which must've been because of the jerk when i flew off or when i landed. Apart from that i was absolutely unhurt. Felt like a miracle at the time.

    Name:  crash r.jpg
Views: 303
Size:  113.7 KB
    Name:  crash side.jpg
Views: 340
Size:  113.1 KB
    Name:  crash1.jpg
Views: 349
Size:  100.6 KB

    I then walked over to GINA which had been picked up by a few people, and started to examine it. Considering the fall it took I was expecting way more damage, i was expecting the faring to be shattered to pieces. Notice the frame slider which had taken the impact and was bent taking away a lot of energy, which also majorly saved my right leg being crushed under the bike. I was devastated. this was my first weekend after i had got my first job, and i knew the future weeks would be a hurdle considering the commute i had to go through everyday. Also, an amusing fact i noticed was that, the whole right side fearing and clip ons with the brake assemble and frame slider was ruins, but the indicator was perfectly intact and it kept blinking at me as i sat there Maybe that was her telling me, hey I'm hurt but I'm fine. While I processed these facts the Benelli Road side assistance Tow truck arrived (relatively quickly, took about 1.5hrs to my location). The following pictures were taken by my friend and are very touching every time I look at them. As Gina got loaded on the trailer, I Looked at her and with my elbows and knees bleeding, My forearm having a fracture, I stood there in tears realising that i had hurt my precious Gina quite a lot.

    Name:  crash2.jpg
Views: 311
Size:  115.1 KB
    Name:  crash3.jpg
Views: 300
Size:  114.4 KB
    For readers who think Personification of a bike and having feelings for it is overkill, IT WAS BECAUSE OF THE ADRENALINE RUSH

    Fast forward to a couple months later, i had almost healed my left arm, and the plaster was off. The bike was almost ready but was waiting for a few cosmetic parts with minor scratches( small bits in the fearing) to arrive. I am still waiting on them 8 months later due to the DSK fiasco. but they're not a mechanical part and just have a few scratches on them so it doesn't matter that much. The repair bill came out to about 1.4 lacs and the most expensive parts to be replaced were,

    Front Right Fork- 14K
    Exhaust Muffler and Belly pan - 16K
    Headlight cluster
    Right side Fearing assembly
    Right Foot peg and passenger peg assembly
    frame slider-7K
    Brake lever with master cylinder
    Right Clip on
    Mirrors
    etc

    After looking at the billing, I Thanked my lucky stars and gave blessings to the absolutely awesome human being who came up with this magnificent concept of VEHICLE INSURANCE. I am not sure what the competing companies spare parts are, but this should give an idea to people who want a comparison. The servicing team at Ishna Benelli (Andheri-Mumbai) were really supportive and good according to me. there were issues with spare parts availability but that wasn't the dealers fault of course, it was a major issue with DSK as we all now know. The important part why i say the team was good was because they were completely honest about the spare parts and their availability. The important thing was, by the time my fracture had healed completely, the bike was ready for me to take home.

    Over the three months i was healing, i constantly speculated if i would have the confidence and the skill level when i would be back on the bike, Also taking into account all the countless people who were advising me to sell off the bike (mainly my parents), or advising me to hang up my boots and use the bike for city riding (or lending it to friends when they need it haha). So having just got my bike back and having processed all these mind boggling advice, the first weekend, I got a new jacket and gloves (my helmet had not taken any impact at all, but i did lose the chin curtain and a vent in the chaos), got on my bike and left for Lonavala with a buddy on his bullet 350.

    Name:  IMG_8571.jpg
Views: 306
Size:  105.0 KB
    Name:  IMG_8630.jpg
Views: 295
Size:  98.1 KB
    Name:  IMG_8997.jpg
Views: 296
Size:  110.3 KB

    Lonavala is approximately 180kms one way, so it wasn't a small ride considering my experience and the completely undeserved catastrophe i had three months ago. I was reluctant to ride fast at first, but slowly i got my confidence back, which is why i chose to go for over a 100kms distance. Since this episode i have completed over 7000 kms absolutely love the bike to bits and have increased my riding skill majorly. I have a RAW riding video on youtube which i uploaded recently as my first video. its a raw footage which has no music or major edits, just the bike roaring, a damp(unfortunately) canyon road a few friends thats all. Ill add the link at the bottom for people who are interested.

    THE FUTURE
    Currently, I am waiting for my Garage to be rebuilt, once i have that, I will be measuring my suspension sag and the adjust the preload for optimal sag. I have adjusted the rebound settings on the front fork but it didn't make much of a difference, it could be due to unadjusted sag, so i will try that again once my sag is adjusted. I then plan to add Steel braided brake lines and EBC brake pads as my first mod, which is more of a brake upgrade. i feel the rear shock is a bit too soft for me so if i can afford ill invest in an aftermarket shock someday. After these, i will then add performance mods like exhaust, air filter and a power commander. I am currently designing a tail tidy which i will get manufactured from a supplier who does CNC machining. ill let you guys know how it goes.
    I also plan to get the bike wrapped in a years time. I like the current paint scheme but its just too vanilla for me. I didn't go for the silver-green because, when had gone to the showroom to select the colour, the shade of the green on the faring and the shade of green on the front fender/tail was slightly different to me. Now to most it won't be an issue, but i am little OCD (okay maybe a lot). So i plan a wrap maybe a matte black with red accents. we will see. Thats what i have in mind. I will update as and when i do mods. Enjoy the RAW video if you like it.





    I will also be adding another video soon, stay tuned for that.

    RIDE ON!!
    Last edited by zain_andrabi; 08-17-2018 at 02:04 AM.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha FZ 25 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By manish197 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 6393
    Last Post: 1 Hour Ago, 11:54 AM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 3775
    Last Post: 14 Hours Ago, 11:14 PM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Aprilia SR 150 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By Journeykanth in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 903
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 07:21 PM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1867
    Last Post: 3 Weeks Ago, 08:42 PM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Bajaj V15: Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By shadcool786 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 11-18-2018, 05:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •