Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always use both brakes to reduce speed.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

  1. #1
    Rusted BloggingWheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Jamshedpur/Kolkata
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon2 Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    A dream that culminated into a ride of a lifetime when I woke up. And one of the sources that supported this solo ride was Viaterra. Viaterra sponsored my riding luggage in the form of the Fly GT and Claw. Post this ride it can be well established that the Fly GT has never been as extensively reviewed before this. And literally, as the title of the review reads - Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain - these fantastic pieces of luggage went through all of the mentioned forces of nature and even more in 20 days of extreme riding and all of 7000 kms!!


    I shall be focusing exclusively on the Viaterra Fly GT review here. It is a new product from the stable of Viaterra. And there are hardly any reviews for this product out there. I sincerely hope this review will help you decide between multiple tail/tank bags and get the best bang for your buck.


    Name:  Fly_L_01.JPG
Views: 11740
Size:  46.2 KB

  2. #2
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,524
    Mentioned
    824 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    Approved!

    This is going to be nice.

  3. #3
    Addicted vinayduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    Suggest to also read up the reviews of this bag on riderzone. This is not recommended as per that review.

    Post launch of Velox. It has been the best one for Duke & This Aug Viaterra is launching a tail bag which would integrate with velox and have that pattern as well. Capacity 32 L. Expandable to 40 L...

    Sent from my GT-N7100 using xBhp Connect mobile app

  4. #4
    Rusted BloggingWheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Jamshedpur/Kolkata
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    Thanks for the approval Divya! Vinay, I suggest you read the complete review first!

    ----consecutive posts auto-merged-----

    Part 1: Product Overview, Features, Accessories, Price

    Features:

    Quoting straight from the Website itself:

    • Ample amount of padding all around – to cushion from vibrations/jolts
    • 3 external pockets - to carry more stuff (one at the top and two at the sides)
    • Mounting straps/backpack straps are attached to the bag - no need to carry straps as extra mounting fittings
    • Unique zipped compartment at the bottom to conceals the mounting straps
    • Standard rain cover – seamless construction, made of a single sheet of fabric

    Price Tag
    Name:  DSC_0404.jpg
Views: 1743
Size:  92.0 KB

    Shoulder Straps
    Name:  DSC_0409.jpg
Views: 1731
Size:  107.2 KBName:  DSC_0411.jpg
Views: 1718
Size:  101.7 KB


    Side Pockets
    Name:  DSC_0412.jpg
Views: 1722
Size:  52.6 KB
    Name:  DSC_0413.jpg
Views: 1763
Size:  98.4 KB


    Compartment to neatly bundle the mounting straps
    Name:  DSC_0414.jpg
Views: 1697
Size:  83.8 KB

    Name:  DSC_0416.jpg
Views: 1695
Size:  108.6 KB

    Simple but sturdily stitched mounting straps
    Name:  DSC_0418.jpg
Views: 1673
Size:  74.2 KB

    Handy little pocket at the back
    Name:  DSC_0419.jpg
Views: 1883
Size:  100.0 KB



    Specifications:
    • ~16 Lts carrying capacity
    • 1680 x 1680 Denier synthetic material
    • 150 x 150 D inner lining
    • YKK zippers
    • 3M reflective material
    • Fittings from an ISO 9001 certified vendor

  5. #5
    Rusted abhi7013's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    bangalore
    Posts
    1,443
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    Quote Originally Posted by BloggingWheels View Post
    Handy little pocket at the back
    Name:  DSC_0419.jpg
Views: 1883
Size:  100.0 KB



    Must say, this bag is a lot VFM and all thanks to @Divya Sharan for guiding me to buy it! It is quite rugged but i have to say, for carrying a camera, this bag needed a bit more cushioning specially at the bottom, as that is why this bag is meant for.
    Also the part i've quoted regarding the "handy packet at the bottom", is meant for a rain cover for the bag. Did you receive it? Cause when i was buying the bag, the guy had forgotten to put in the cover which he had removed out for some reason. Had to go back to get it all the way! Very thoughtful of you in starting a thread regarding this topic!
    ZMR- PGMFI re-defined

  6. #6
    Rusted BloggingWheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Jamshedpur/Kolkata
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    Vinay..thanks for that link. But dude, that is for the Fly. And here I am reviewing the Fly GT. Both are quite different bags and target different users. Kindly hold your horses bro! More is to come. Biased or not, it is for the readers to decide - the actual usage review is yet to come.

  7. #7
    Addicted vinayduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    Ok done horses held 😊

    Sent from my GT-N7100 using xBhp Connect mobile app

  8. #8
    Rusted BloggingWheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Jamshedpur/Kolkata
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Part 2: Mounting/Dismounting the bag

    Part 2: Mounting/Dismounting the bag

    The bag has a 3 strap retention system that works nicely. 2 straps go on either side of the tank, wrapping around the gaps in the footrest holders (L&R). The other strap is to be wrapped around the frame part between the tank and the handlebar stem. Take care not to pull the strap over the clutch, accelerator cable(s) and the electrical wire(s) composite. It puts undue stress on the cables, resulting in decreased life of those. Snuggle in the strap from below/beneath the cables instead. It also will give you a firmer clasp of the retention strap. Pulling and tightening this single strap prevents lateral movement of the bag on the tank. There is no question of any horizontal movement if the straps have been well fastened using the fantastic simple yet effective "D-Rings".

    With all the safety equipment you'd be wearing especially gloves - it becomes a bit hassle when one has to untie the upper strap to get access to the petrol cap. I think that is one compromise that one has to make with every tank bag. But a few hundred kilometres into the ride and I had already adjusted to this. Gradually I learnt that I could gain access to the filler cap just by lightly loosening the strap around the handlebar support stem, slide the bag downwards towards a little left/right and voila! You have access to the petrol cap. Not to mention that it prevents a whole lot of super fine dust and water entering the tank! That surely is a relief for long distance riders.


    Challenges faced while mounting on Hero Hunk

    Name:  DSC_0025.jpg
Views: 2905
Size:  96.4 KB

    One big 'problem' that surfaced when I was trial mounting the bag(s) - Fly GT and Claw was the construction of the footrest holders of the Hunk. The gaps are smooth and rounded from the exterior but behind, the edges are sharp as a knife! That alarmed me and the way it would put cutting stress on the straps would surely mean disaster for my Viaterra GT and Claw. Long rides accelerate product damage by leaps and bounds. I used small strips of paper tape/finishing tape of 'cover' those edges and make them more rounder. Also, I cut sections from a discarded but good motorcycle tube and passed the straps through them. You can check the pictures for reference. These tube sections now acted as a barrier against the constant rubbing of the strap on the sharp edges and also eliminated any chance of snapping of the straps due to the friction! Nice DIY there! Post ride, I patted myself for that ingenuine idea there! :P The final result of this? The straps are as good as new post completion of the ride. The Velcro on the straps ends are a simple but extremely effective design feature that prevents loose strap ends from hanging around causing a potential disaster of any sort. 4 thumbs up to Viaterra for that!


    Tube sections cut and the straps were put through
    Name:  DSC_0548.jpg
Views: 1588
Size:  95.3 KB

    Name:  DSC_0549.jpg
Views: 1601
Size:  81.6 KB

    Name:  DSC_0555.jpg
Views: 1576
Size:  89.6 KB




    Even though underneath the bag, there is soft material, I used a soft clean cotton cloth on which I mounted the bag on. Long distance riding accelerates damage/scratches by leaps and bounds - therefore this step. Inspite of taking such extreme care of the tank, a small plastic chain end was silently moving on a small portion of the left scoop (on which the words HUNK gleam boldly); I had not seen that and it left a slight 'ring' like scratch mark on the scoop's paint. This is the same zipper which is used to close the strap(s) holding compartment on the backside of the bag. So you need to take care of that.


    Notice the upper red arrow: Shows the long cut section of the tube used to secure the claw underneath the mudguard to prevent any cutting stress on the straps!
    The lower arrow shows the tube sections in the gap of the footrest holder assembly and the mounting straps through.

    Name:  DSC_0355.jpg
Views: 1876
Size:  97.0 KB


    You can mount the Fly GT as a tail bag also. Since I was already carrying the very versatile Claw, I did not require the Fly GT to be mounted on the tail section of the motorcycle.

  9. #9
    Rusted BloggingWheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Jamshedpur/Kolkata
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Capacity

    Part 3: Capacity

    Viaterra Fly GT Loaded:


    Things I had packed inside the Fly GT:
    (* Sizes are approximate, for your guidance only)


    1. A diary (215mm x 160 mm x 25 mm) and few pens, pencils, 1 ruler (small)
    2. A 25 tissue, wet tissue pack.
    3. My Raincoat set (this was taken out from the Claw and accommodated in the Fly GT for the sake of convenience in taking it out)
    4. Sunscreen Lotion - 1 bottle 190mm
    5. Moisturizer Lotion - 1 bottle 198 mm
    6. Lip balm -1
    7. Comb
    8. Motorcycle documents + ID proof photocopies
    9. Tissues - random number
    10. Electral packs - at least 5 at any given point of time.
    10. My kit bag - 240mm x 130mm x 90mm (fully blown)
    11. Sun-glass Cover - 160mm x 65mm x 30mm (Hard)
    12. Deo Bottle - 142mm x 50mm(dia.)
    13. Few happy dent chewing gums, 100g hard candies
    14. Sony Cybershot Digital Camera
    15. A packet with chargers - Mobile charger, camera battery charger, spare keys, Camera data cable, spare memory cards, etc.*
    16. My helmet cover/soft bag inside the little chain at the bottom of the bag! That's what's called efficient space management!
    17. The rain-cover of the Fly GT itself.

    *the charger packet was replaced with the raincoat in places where I expected rain.


    One thing that has to be kept in mind is that it isn't a DSLR bag. Therefore, I could pack in most essential and handy items inside the FLY GT without having to worry about DSLR. Anyway, I wasn't carrying a DSLR (my biggest regret ) And it served me perfectly well for nearly a month. Again, this is not a very big tank bag. Comparing Fly GT to the Rynox (I haven't used it) at least from the reviews isn't fair. Though both are tank bags, this is more suitable for a moderate packing WITHOUT a DSLR whereas people have loaded a hell lot more into a Rynox. But this surely is a VFM considering its price point, utility and the ability to fit a metal as well as a non-metal tank.

    A key to packing right and packing well it to NOT just throw in stuff that you need but arrange them and keep them in places/gaps from where it can be easily accessible. e.g. the digicam was kept close to the chain and not underneath the pile of stuff because for obvious reasons of convenience. I pack very judiciously and manage gaps inside a luggage system quite well. That helps maintain a consistent looking bag rather than a ill-fitted bag with things trying to poke out/break free from within. Damages your bag as well! Take your pick.

  10. #10
    Rusted nadz11.ns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Jammu, J&K
    Posts
    3,239
    Mentioned
    66 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Viaterra Fly GT Review: The 7000km Sun, Sand, Snow and Rain review!

    One query, if you try to fit cloths (t-shirts, jeans etc) how many can you fit in this ?
    I know this isn't a big one, but still it would be nice if we could stuff 3-4 pieces of clothing in it.

    Ride safe and have fun.
    Regards
    Nadeem


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Viaterra CLAW, Nelson-Rigg Spirit 30 & Cramster Colt - Review
    By aargee in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 132
    Last Post: 11-27-2016, 11:34 PM
  2. ViaTerra FLY - Review
    By kaydee_bangalore in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-14-2015, 03:55 PM
  3. Product Review: Crampbuster
    By animeher in forum Motorcycle Accessories/Riding Gear Review
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 12:06 AM
  4. [Photo Feature]: Rain rain rain, green greener and greenest.. Rain ride in Ghats
    By Lonely Rider in forum The Tourer
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-28-2011, 06:40 PM
  5. hot rod mag rd 350 review 1974.
    By koolsun216 in forum Thumpers,2-Stroke And Exotics
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-24-2008, 10:56 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •