Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Dawn & dusk make slight hard to adjust.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

  1. #1
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    9,632
    Mentioned
    412 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Whacky! The first word which comes to mind when you lay eyes on the new Suzuki Intruder 150.



    As I headed to Lavasa for the first ride of the Intruder 150, I couldn’t help but wonder at Suzuki’s choice of location for a cruiser motorcycle. Lavasa has been made famous by motorcyclists of Pune as the perfect ghat section, which isn’t the natural home for a cruiser. But as I rode the curves I was pleasantly surprised to be proved wrong, more on that later…

    Visual Appeal

    There are a few motorcycles in the world which bring together a common motorcyclists consensus about its aesthetics. The Suzuki Intruder 150 isn’t one of them. It is difficult to brand it gorgeous or bad looking. The front will leave you delighted and the rear not so much. I am not someone who generally cares about looks, because it is so subjective. But the Intruder leaves me perplexed. The bike looks muscular and intimidating from the front three quarters with the big headlight dome, 41mm chunky forks and the flowing plastic shrouds. It gives an impression of a motorcycle larger than its 150 mill. From the rear, well let's say it would have looked better with a larger section rear tyre, though understandably Suzuki couldn't do that with a 150cc engine. The end result is a bit out of proportion.


    In detail the Intruder has quality plastics and components. At no point of time will you find anything looking cheap. The only thing which sticks out like a sore thumb are the RVMs; chrome where there is almost none on the rest of the motorcycle. Simple black ones would have sufficed.








    Gixxer Sibling


    Look beneath and the Intruder 150 is basically the same as the successful Gixxer 155. The same engine, chassis and suspension with all of it tweaked for the cruiser layout. The Intruder uses a different gearing ratio, with the rear sprocket having an extra tooth. The Airbox is also different, a bigger intake and a different exhaust is employed on the Intruder. The chassis is essentially the same. A longer swing arm and a different rake angle increase the wheelbase and give the bike decidedly cruiser ergonomics. These along with the cosmetic changes add 8 kg over the Gixxer.


    Whether you like how the motorcycle looks or not, you surely cannot ignore it. Wherever we rode the bike, people would stop to stare and click pictures. But the proof of the pudding is in the eating and the Intruder turned out to be one delicious package. If you can forget the appearance for a minute (and it is pretty darn hard to do that!) then you will truly appreciate the Intruder for what it is. Throw a leg over the saddle and settle in, because you are in for a proper joy ride.










    Mill at work


    The sweet motor from the Gixxer makes its appearance as you thumb the starter and the Intruder rumbles to life and settles into a steady rhythm. The same tractable motor does a fantastic job of getting you around the blocks, riding at 1st Gear slow traffic speeds or even providing sufficient grunt to keep you happy mid-corner. Of course even the 14 Nm struggles to accelerate up a slope with a pillion. But the fact that you expect it to do so, just shows how good this 154.9cc mill is.


    The 5-speed gearbox is slick, with a heel-toe type shifter, which is easy to use with riding boots. Though I did manage to get my boot stuck between the footpeg and gear lever once. The clutch is light and will be comfortable to use for heavy traffic and I didn’t experience false neutrals at any point of time.









    Braking and comfort


    Brakes are as good as the Gixxer, progressive and with good feel and bite. You can get it stopped in a hurry. The safety net of ABS is always present in case you find yourself in a sticky situation, though it is a single channel unit. The tyres and wheels are the same as the Gixxer and therefore perform as per expectation.


    The saddle is plush and broad and the pillion should be reasonably happy as well, while the footpeg-saddle-handlebar triangle was near perfect for my 5’11’’ frame. Though I reserve my comment till we take it for a substantially longer spin. The suspension is firm and tuned for better handling, though it did manage to absorb the bumps and potholes on the post-monsoon Lavasa roads.










    Handling


    What really makes you sit up and take notice is the handling. The bike handles almost as well as the Gixxer 155, which is a very big deal. It is light, nimble and can be thrown around with aplomb. It feels stable through the corners and does a decent job of changing direction. Slow speed U-turns are also disposed off with ease. Even the mild bit of off-pavement excursions we threw at it was swallowed wholeheartedly. That is when you realise why Suzuki held the first ride on the curves of Lavasa. This cruiser shines in the corners.














    Lighting on the bike is taken care of by a 35W halogen with an LED pilot lamp and taillamp, though the trafficators miss out on the LED treatment.


    Conclusion


    The Intruder 150 is very much a Gixxer 155 in different clothing. A bike which will bring a smile on the face of the rider. Buy it if you like or are indifferent to the looks, don’t if you think it is a monstrosity! This is a big step-up from the limited competition in every respect. The price is Rs 98340/- Ex-Showroom Delhi, which is a cool 17k more than the Bajaj Avenger 150. Commuters and college kids will be happy to have more options in this niche segment. Which of the two will they buy? We are very keen to find out.







    Suzuki Intruder 150 Review Tech Spec





    Photos: Mohit Gena
    Last edited by The Monk; 2 Weeks Ago at 04:26 PM.
    SatSon, KK_HakunaMatata and nadir like this.
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  2. #2
    Addicted atulmnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    wow monk. I was just reading intruder launch thread and was wondering when will i read xBhp review. And then i just saw new thread under Reviews section and was so happy. Thanks for the review.

    I liked the looks of the bike from front. Rear is an issue but we all know it so don't want to say anything.
    Prices are wrong for gixer155 and intruder.
    Last edited by atulmnh; 2 Weeks Ago at 03:51 PM.

  3. #3
    Rusted rreneav1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Gzb, Delhi & Chennai
    Posts
    4,164
    Mentioned
    270 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    @The Monk, wonderfully put up as always.. Just few pointers.. The cost of Gixxer 155 and Intruder M1800 is 1,59,000/- are you sure about this?
    Splendor - 2000 to 2006
    Karizma - 2003 to 2009
    P180 - 2006 to 2009
    Hunk - Oct 2007 til now
    ZMR - 2010 to Forever
    RX135(2000) - 2013 til now
    Ninja 250R (2010) - 2016 til now
    RayZ - 2015 til now
    Ninja 650 (2014) - 2017 til now


    Delhi to Narkanda
    Delhi to Coimbatore
    Delhi to Nepal

  4. #4
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    9,632
    Mentioned
    412 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by rreneav1987 View Post
    @The Monk, wonderfully put up as always.. Just few pointers.. The cost of Gixxer 155 and Intruder M1800 is 1,59,000/- are you sure about this?
    Absolutely sure We took the average of the two. Correcting it now! Thanks
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    I currently own a Pulsar 220, I love it an all but, long drives are absolutely painful on it. If I go for Intruder will it be a step back??

    Thank for the review.

  6. #6
    Rusted sambit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Cuttack,Odisha
    Posts
    1,250
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Such beautiful pictures there.
    As you correctly pointed out, first 3 quarters are best looker for the bike, all pics have been taken from there only. No pics from rear. does it look that bad!!
    HH Dawn - TVS Star City - Yamaha Gladiator - TVS RTR 180 - Honda CBR 250R - Yamaha R3

  7. #7
    Addicted Siddhanth Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana
    Posts
    178
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by sambit View Post
    Such beautiful pictures there.
    As you correctly pointed out, first 3 quarters are best looker for the bike, all pics have been taken from there only. No pics from rear. does it look that bad!!
    Not bad. Just disproportionate.
    :D

  8. #8
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    9,632
    Mentioned
    412 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by atulmnh View Post
    wow monk. I was just reading intruder launch thread and was wondering when will i read xBhp review. And then i just saw new thread under Reviews section and was so happy. Thanks for the review.

    I liked the looks of the bike from front. Rear is an issue but we all know it so don't want to say anything.
    Prices are wrong for gixer155 and intruder.
    Cheers

    Quote Originally Posted by Hero View Post
    I currently own a Pulsar 220, I love it an all but, long drives are absolutely painful on it. If I go for Intruder will it be a step back??

    Thank for the review.
    I also own a Pulsar 220. The two bikes are so different that they cannot be compared. I personally am no fan of cruiser motorcycles be it an Intruder 150 or a Rocket III! I don't like the foot forward position.

    But if you like cruisers, then you should seriously give it a thought. The bike is better than the Avenger 150, though the price difference is also a LOT!

    Quote Originally Posted by sambit View Post
    Such beautiful pictures there.
    As you correctly pointed out, first 3 quarters are best looker for the bike, all pics have been taken from there only. No pics from rear. does it look that bad!!
    Thanks We at xBhp love clicking beautiful pictures as you have probably noticed over the last few years! So here is a stock image of the bike since you insist

    Name:  angle 13.jpg
Views: 2336
Size:  42.9 KB
    sambit and gs150r_gilbert like this.
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  9. #9
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    250
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    Everything looks good except the rear , it has that scooter feeling but need to see in person before judging.

  10. #10
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Suzuki Intruder 150 Review

    The pillion seat looks small.. similar to Gixxer. I heard they have a back rest option too to give cruiser look. Is it true?
    The handle position looks odd ( like a scooter) especially from the front. Trust we get tubeless tyres.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Baby suzuki intruder's brochure leaked...!!!
    By Naveen1985 in forum News
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 03:14 PM
  2. harley 883 or aqila pro 650 or suzuki intruder 800
    By Jasvinder Singh in forum What Bike?
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2015, 12:44 PM
  3. [Photo Feature]: Suzuki Intruder : Bully Customs Special
    By Sunny in forum Superbike And Imports
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-17-2013, 10:50 AM
  4. [Photo Feature]: Motography with the Big Baby - Suzuki Intruder M1800R
    By InsaneRider007 in forum Superbike And Imports
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-04-2013, 02:00 PM
  5. Earthmover: Suzuki Intruder Tested!
    By Sunny in forum Bike Reviews
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 04:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •