Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. Join the #16YearsOfxBhpCelebrations click here.

WE DESIGN ON

Lenovo ThinkPad
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always use both brakes to reduce speed.

Our Partners

User Tag List

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 77
Like Tree64Likes

Thread: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

  1. #11
    Searching... snehithpereira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Mumbai
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyrus_the_virus View Post
    Man I deleted it like 30secs after I posted it and you managed to quote me anyways I realized I was read skipping
    With due fairness to you, confusion is expected . Just realized that its a poorly constructed paragraph with a natural tendency to get confusing ( my poor writing skills )

    @xpranav thanks for the comprehensive feedback, about the scotchlite tape, I noticed that ir was missing but I really didn't find it tht handy so didn't mention it.

    Look forward to your review of the ares. There is Seven Sisters trip in the pipeline , plan to pick up the Ares before tht
    Last edited by The Monk; 09-30-2013 at 06:18 PM. Reason: Consecutive Posts

  2. #12
    Rusted yellowspunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    1,215
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by snehithpereira View Post
    I don't recall any claims on my end that the gloves are water resistant/proof. I clearly mentioned my experience with them and I didn't seem to have the trouble, it could be the fact tht I had medival tape wound around my fingers or just my luck.

    Before giving me a beat down on giving misguiding reviews I highly recommend you read the section that says to the readers essentially the part where I say it's a review based on my experience.
    To the average reader it would seem like these gloves are waterproof/resistant from what you have wrote. That is misleading. You failed to mention you used tape in the review. All I'm saying is, a lot of people will use your review and it should be factually correct, whether its Bangalore rain or Delhi rain, rain is rain and the experience does not change the fact that water does seep through and the glove gets sloggy.

    I may come off as rude, but I have been burned previously cause of such reviews in this very forum and I do not want other users to face the same. Yes, I have since then taken all reviews with a pinch of salt. But since nobody is being paid to post these reviews I was hoping people will be honest about the product.

    Quote Originally Posted by snehithpereira View Post
    after almost 120 odd kms of usage in extreme rain conditions at various occasions and once an hour and half of continuous riding in heavy rains I didn’t find any water seeping in issues. Apart from this I had another 200 odd kms of light rain usage, and again no seeping in of any kind.
    Last edited by yellowspunk; 09-29-2013 at 11:51 PM.
    snehithpereira likes this.
    Regardless, Life shall go on.

  3. #13
    Searching... snehithpereira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Mumbai
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowspunk View Post
    To the average reader it would seem like these gloves are waterproof/resistant from what you have wrote. That is misleading. You failed to mention you used tape in the review....

    ... But since nobody is being paid to post these reviews I was hoping people will be honest about the product.
    I agree I failed to mention the part of tape in the rain durablity part and only mentioned it for the cold durability part. I humbly apologise for not being clear about it. Blame my inexperience in writing as I have no malafide interest here to sway people in the wrong direction.

    I was being honest about the product as per my experience with, like you mentioned nobody is being paid for their views, atleast I can vouch I am not being paid for it.

    With this note I shall make a necessary edit to the main post.

    Thanks.

    Edit: did the necessary changes
    Last edited by snehithpereira; 09-30-2013 at 12:06 AM.
    nadz11.ns and Sid_dha_raj like this.

  4. #14
    Moderator B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    TN/TS Ooty/Telangana
    Posts
    8,068
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    245 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Good review, Snehith. Very detailed and concise.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    snehithpereira likes this.
    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
    The girl said, 'NO!'


    And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


    THE END

  5. #15
    into a corner xpranav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NDLS/MFP
    Posts
    946
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by snehithpereira View Post
    @xpranav thanks for the comprehensive feedback, about the scotchlite tape, I noticed that ir was missing but I really didn't find it tht handy so didn't mention it.

    Look forward to your review of the ares. There is Seven Sisters trip in the pipeline , plan to pick up the Ares before tht
    Oh lord! I had forgot to complete my bit ............ will do it soon now and with the inside-out review of Perseus too
    snehithpereira likes this.

    Warm Regards,
    Pranav


    Use riding gears because Safety doesn't happen by Accident

    Spot me covered in:
    Vega Shadow - SPG Icarus - SPG Ares - SPG Perseus

    Honda CBF Stunner - Oct'11 to till date | Barky's Baby: Honda CBF 125 Modification

  6. #16
    Searching... snehithpereira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Mumbai
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
    Good review, Snehith. Very detailed and concise.

    Cheers!
    VJ
    Thank you for the feedback

    Quote Originally Posted by xpranav View Post
    Oh lord! I had forgot to complete my bit ............ will do it soon now and with the inside-out review of Perseus too
    Looking forward to it. BTW even I was planning on a detailed review of Perseus shortly

  7. #17
    into a corner xpranav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NDLS/MFP
    Posts
    946
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    @snehithpereira.......... I hope you may request mod for a change in name of the thread

    SpartanProGear ARES - all leather full gauntlet touring gloves

    (Kindly note that the following words are as per my personal+humble opinion only after using a pair of these gloves for around 1000 kms in city)

    Name:  1.jpg
Views: 1427
Size:  97.4 KB

    The biggest USP of this Ares (as I believe) is the feel of the product. If you have used a leather based gloves then you will fall in agreement with the fact that it takes some time to break-in or fit-in as per the geometry of your palm. I never felt that Ares required any break-in ........... Why ?? ............ because the leather is so sot and supple that it is ready for any geometry (given that you choose the correct size). When I was at the Meandering India, New Delhi to pick one pair of all leather gloves for me (the very first) I was blown by the feel of ARES. The other reputed competitors in the same price range do not have such a supple and way-too-good leather feel.

    Name:  2.jpg
Views: 1634
Size:  96.5 KB

    The knuckles have carbon fibre finish (read here) for top notch protection in its class and so have fingers. The little finger has an extra layer of leather for comfort as well as protection. The awesome-est part of its geometry is the pre-curved stitching. It prevents excess stretching of leather at any location and works perfectly for motorcycle riding purposes.

    Name:  3.jpg
Views: 1918
Size:  96.5 KB

    As you may see in the pic that ARES has been ventilated with the leaf-like stitched layers of leather at the finger joints and at the end of knuckle. The primary purpose is to promote cooling by evaporative effect when the bike is on the move, while adding up protection too.

    Name:  4.jpg
Views: 1486
Size:  94.4 KB

    I have been using the leaf-like flap at the knuckles for carrying my parking card at malls after I suit up to exit, saving a lot of effort so. The gauntlet is also perforated to help in cooling ........... please note that these are good only for summer. For winter you need to buy an inner warm liner.

    Name:  5.jpg
Views: 1404
Size:  94.5 KB

    The three-way straps work good and are ergonomic. For city rides, I only need to handle the two straps only to fit it, while the third one is left as it is.

    Name:  6.jpg
Views: 1378
Size:  96.9 KB

    Name:  7.jpg
Views: 1360
Size:  96.8 KB

    Name:  8.jpg
Views: 1333
Size:  95.7 KB

    The gauntlet also has got this hook to attach the two to each other or jackets.

    Name:  9.jpg
Views: 1357
Size:  91.7 KB

    Name:  10.jpg
Views: 1362
Size:  96.8 KB

    Name:  11.jpg
Views: 1339
Size:  94.1 KB

    I have enclosed the above pics to show the kind of stitching at fingers. The external stitching serves the purpose very well and is really good for long hours of driving. Overall I am a happy customer with my purchase.
    Last edited by xpranav; 11-28-2013 at 08:29 PM.

    Warm Regards,
    Pranav


    Use riding gears because Safety doesn't happen by Accident

    Spot me covered in:
    Vega Shadow - SPG Icarus - SPG Ares - SPG Perseus

    Honda CBF Stunner - Oct'11 to till date | Barky's Baby: Honda CBF 125 Modification

  8. #18
    Searching... snehithpereira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Mumbai
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    @xpranav , lovely review. Seems like this pair has all that I found missing in the Centaur.

    P.S: I too use the leaf flap for similar purposes, apparently it is a very common practice, wasn't aware of it till informed by the seller

    P.P.S: Have PM'ed the mods to do the needful with regards to the thread name

  9. #19
    into a corner xpranav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    NDLS/MFP
    Posts
    946
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by snehithpereira View Post
    @xpranav , lovely review. Seems like this pair has all that I found missing in the Centaur.

    P.S: I too use the leaf flap for similar purposes, apparently it is a very common practice, wasn't aware of it till informed by the seller

    P.P.S: Have PM'ed the mods to do the needful with regards to the thread name
    Please pay a visit to nearest SPG seller and take a feel of these ............. the supple nature is evident from the very first trial. Anyways, should I drop a few words on Perseus ? I have got a few clicks ready with me

    Warm Regards,
    Pranav


    Use riding gears because Safety doesn't happen by Accident

    Spot me covered in:
    Vega Shadow - SPG Icarus - SPG Ares - SPG Perseus

    Honda CBF Stunner - Oct'11 to till date | Barky's Baby: Honda CBF 125 Modification

  10. #20
    Searching... snehithpereira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Mumbai
    Posts
    850
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by xpranav View Post
    Please pay a visit to nearest SPG seller and take a feel of these ............. the supple nature is evident from the very first trial. Anyways, should I drop a few words on Perseus ? I have got a few clicks ready with me
    Thanks for the suggestion but I have managed to get myself a good deal on a pair of Dianese gore-tex gloves, so they are going to be my next upgrade

    Would be nice to hear your views on The Perseus :thumbup: , I myself have been thinking of posting a detailed review of the same, but somehow just keep postponing it

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pulsar 200 NS Owners Review and Experiences
    By chintan99 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 28247
    Last Post: 1 Week Ago, 01:17 AM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Royal Enfield Classic 350 Owner's Review and Experiences
    By RIO in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 554
    Last Post: 06-25-2019, 09:27 PM
  3. Biking Gloves
    By raghavtlwr in forum Bicycles
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-01-2013, 01:18 AM
  4. My R6 Track Experiences
    By rwanchu in forum Superbike And Imports
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 05:57 PM
  5. Gloves
    By ajyrdy in forum Help Me!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 02:15 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •