Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

#xBhpAxorHelmet #2

Axor
Castrol Power 1

Clean visor equals clear vision.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    SPARTAN CENTAUR: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review
    The Hunt:Change of Events:
    It was D-Day and I headed down to LGU along with fellow xBhpian [MENTION=48174]chaosaddict[/MENTION] to do my purchasing on 16thFirst Look:
    It was love at first sight, even before I could try the Spartan gloves, I looked at the Rynox ones I was about to pick up, keep them on the side and take the Spartan Centaur in my hands, this was the first time I was seeing a pair of Spartan gloves in flesh and I must say, by far they looked far superior than the others I had in mind.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	rynox-kombat-gloves.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	1978801Click image for larger version

Name:	1236378_598509260194842_1136591741_n.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	1978802
    Material and Protection:Click image for larger version

Name:	20130927_150311.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	1978803

    Padding at finger joints:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	20130927_150346.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	1978804

    The Semi Gauntlet:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	wrist padding.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	94.9 KB
ID:	1978805

    Build QualityClick image for larger version

Name:	Poly strap.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	1978806

    Under side:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	dexterous.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	1978808

    Weather Compatibility EDIT:
    Several other users of the same product claim that the gloves are a complete rain disaster. Though I conveyed my views in the above section, until I can further validate my opinion by using these gloves in rain without any kind of taping on my fingers, please ignore the above paragraph and for all purposes consider these gloves as bad during rains

    Edit complete Click image for larger version

Name:	breathable2.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	1978807

    Click image for larger version

Name:	20130927_150758.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	1978811

    Coming to the cold usage, well these gloves do such a good job in the heat and this very nature could make them your worst enemy when riding in a cold night or winters. The gloves are breathable to a flaw. When riding at night, especially on the Ghats and those lengthy straights between Bangalore and Hassan, I had major difficulty with cold breeze seeping in. Time for The Great Indian Jugaad, I rolled medical tape around my fingers and slipped the gloves back on. Good to go now. I have no idea if this is the case with even the other gloves or just this. However now I got to buy another pair of gloves with some kind of thermal insulation to use during colder riding conditions. My recommendation: Do not buy these if you ride a lot in cold weather conditions, unless you can figure out a work around for the cold wind getting in.

    These gloves seem to fit my usage as I would rather have breathable gloves and manage the cold than have insulated gloves and roast in the heat.

    Comfort:Summary:Click image for larger version

Name:	when worn.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	1978809


    Click image for larger version

Name:	20130927_150538.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	97.4 KB
ID:	1978810

    Note to the folks at Spartan Pro Gear: I noticed that my Spartan Helios comes with an external gloves securing clip, but I failed to see any loop on the Spartan Centaur that could be used to secure them on the jacket. Seems to me like a glaring omission, considering both are SPG products and yet do not compliment each others features. [MENTION=29015]Sunnyside_up![/MENTION] Sir any clarity on this would be appreciated.

    Pros:
    Great build quality.
    Excellent looks.
    Good safety Padding/ knuckle protectors
    Semi gauntlets are great fit for beefy wrists.
    Great water resistance.

    Cons:
    Expensive.
    Lack of extra padding on the Carpal/Heel region of the gloves for protection during slides.
    No extra secure strap for the extra snug fit. (some kind of two, opposite directional straps would probably give that extra snug fit)
    Outside stitches of the finger region would be a welcome change.

    To the Readers:
    Last edited by snehithpereira; 09-30-2013, 12:04 AM.
    ____________________

    Planned, Unplanned and then Re-Planned - Ooty Ride

    SPARTAN CENTAUR Gloves: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review

    The Boss Returns: Rebuilding 1991 Suzuki Shogun - In Progress

    I coined the term - " Closet Biker "

  • #2
    re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

    Review Approved
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

    Comment


    • #3
      re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

      Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
      The gloves are not advertised as waterproof gloves, but I got to point out that after almost 120 odd kms of usage in extreme rain conditions at various occasions and once an hour and half of continuous riding in heavy rains I didn’t find any water seeping in issues. Apart from this I had another 200 odd kms of light rain usage, and again no seeping in of any kind. I guess this is because of the excellent position of the breathable points and also their tiny nature that hardly lets any water in.
      I have to disagree with this. I picked up the same pair of glove from let's gear up and had the same confusion between the Rynox and the Spartan.

      This soakes water like a sponge. It took a full day and half under the fan to dry out completely and considering my soaked jeans dry out under 8hrs, that is a bit too much on the higher side. Although I will not complain because this is not advertised as water resistent or water proof and Sapna did tell me that the Rynox has better water resistance than the spartan. So no complaints but it does soak water, and a lot! My 200 bucks artificial leather simple gloves actually keeps at bay more water.
      Last edited by Cyrus_the_virus; 09-28-2013, 02:41 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

        i trying find gloves for slim hands.
        I'm a responsible rider.It doesn't matter what you ride,but what matters is how you ride.

        Comment


        • #5
          re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

          [MENTION=38603]The Monk[/MENTION] , thanks for the approval


          [MENTION=23956]Legend Racer[/MENTION], I just said tht they were a great fit for my beefy wrists, however you could ask fellow xBhpian [MENTION=60363]Srvn[/MENTION] his comfort level with the same gloves, he has exceptionally thin hands


          Originally posted by Cyrus_the_virus View Post
          I have to disagree with this. I picked up the same pair of glove from let's gear up and had the same confusion between the Rynox and the Spartan.

          This soakes water like a sponge. It took a full day and half under the fan to dry out completely and considering my soaked jeans dry out under 8hrs, that is a bit too much on the higher side. Although I will not complain because this is not advertised as water resistent or water proof and Sapna did tell me that the Rynox has better water resistance than the spartan. So no complaints but it does soak water, and a lot! My 200 bucks artificial leather simple gloves actually keeps at bay more water.
          I was actually told the same by her, but I really didn't notice any issue with my pair and yeah the time period that you have mentioned for it to dry is really high, mine practically dried as I was riding, just about 30 mins of precautionary drying below the fan, on my part once I got home
          Last edited by snehithpereira; 09-28-2013, 06:20 PM.
          ____________________

          Planned, Unplanned and then Re-Planned - Ooty Ride

          SPARTAN CENTAUR Gloves: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review

          The Boss Returns: Rebuilding 1991 Suzuki Shogun - In Progress

          I coined the term - " Closet Biker "

          Comment


          • #6
            re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

            @snehithpereira ........... nice and illustrated review ......... I wasn't literally expecting such a thorough one
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            I had a look at the Spartan Ares but I found it a tab bit over priced and hence didn't bother adding it to my list.
            I agree to you that Ares is a bit overpriced, but my best guess is that it is all because of that butter-soft leather material and the uncanny comfort feel. Luckily I did try the Canyon and they were great but the reason I disliked them was that, it was not nicely tucking my jacket beneath the cuffs. Other than that I must admit a super leather and stitch quality. When I paid a visit to the Adventure18 in Delhi they told me that the Rynox Warehouse in Mumbai has collapsed and thus they have zero supply and stock from them as of now
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            It was love at first sight, even before I could try the Spartan gloves
            So was me when buying Ares
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            when I tried it along with the jacket I had no issue with sleeves in it either
            That sounds great. Actually when I visited the shop they had a fresh stock from SPG but didn't have the Centaur
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            the thermoplastic polyurethane wrist strap (this is my visual favourite)
            Keep us posted about it after a few months. The only point where I felt doubtful was this.
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            compared to all the other gloves in this segment these seem to have the most refined looks (my opinion).
            +1wooh !!
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            However now I got to buy another pair of gloves with some kind of thermal insulation to use during colder riding conditions.
            With the arrival of winter you will find winter inner liner for gloves too. Keep checking 'em. There is no point for an insulated riding pair of gloves until you have to wander around the good European/Himalayan Cold
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            The only possible drawback I could notice in the comfort department is that the stitches are on the inside. If the stitches for the fingers were on the outside of the gloves they would add to the comfort, I am not complaining but that would be a welcome change. This is however not much of a problem if you have trimmed nails.
            Ares has it in the way how you are desiring it to be +1
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            Note to the folks at Spartan Pro Gear: I noticed that my Spartan Helios comes with an external gloves securing clip, but I failed to see any loop on the Spartan Centaur that could be used to secure them on the jacket. Seems to me like a glaring omission, considering both are SPG products and yet do not compliment each others features. @Sunnyside_up! Sir any clarity on this would be appreciated.
            If you allow me to help you out here with my opinion I would say that "because Centaur is not a touring but a street pair of gloves". You can, in the same frequency, complain about the missing scotchlite piping and then I will say the same (though Ares is too missing the scotchlite even with its premium tag). Ares has the clip.
            Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
            Cons:No extra secure strap for the extra snug fit. (some kind of two, opposite directional straps would probably give that extra snug fit)Outside stitches of the finger region would be a welcome change.
            You get these with Ares Never really expected a thread upon a pair of gloves review .............. feels like I should jack your thread in a few weeks to pour in my review over the SPG Ares
            Last edited by xpranav; 09-29-2013, 04:20 PM.

            Warm Regards,
            Pranav


            Use riding gears because Safety doesn't happen by Accident

            Spot me covered in:
            Vega Shadow - SPG Icarus - SPG Ares - SPG Perseus

            Honda CBF Stunner - Oct'11 to till date | Barky's Baby: Honda CBF 125 Modification

            Comment


            • #7
              re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

              Originally posted by Cyrus_the_virus View Post
              I have to disagree with this. I picked up the same pair of glove from let's gear up and had the same confusion between the Rynox and the Spartan.

              This soakes water like a sponge. It took a full day and half under the fan to dry out completely and considering my soaked jeans dry out under 8hrs, that is a bit too much on the higher side. Although I will not complain because this is not advertised as water resistent or water proof and Sapna did tell me that the Rynox has better water resistance than the spartan. So no complaints but it does soak water, and a lot! My 200 bucks artificial leather simple gloves actually keeps at bay more water.
              Completely agree. Have used this glove in rain as well as my own spartan pegasus gloves, they are not one bit water proof or resistant, just as the manufacturer claims! (FYI leather is not water resistant) Light rain for few minutes here and there is fine but definitely not heavy rain and most definitely cannot withstand one and a half hour of rain! It becomes a waterlogged sponge and makes your hand super cold at high speeds.

              Please do not post misguiding reviews.
              Last edited by yellowspunk; 09-29-2013, 04:47 PM.
              Regardless, Life shall go on.

              Comment


              • #8
                re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                Originally posted by yellowspunk View Post
                Completely agree. Have used this glove in rain as well as my own spartan pegasus gloves, they are not one bit water proof or resistant, just as the manufacturer claims! (FYI leather is not water resistant) Light rain for few minutes here and there is fine but definitely not heavy rain and most definitely cannot withstand one and a half hour of rain! It becomes a waterlogged sponge and makes your hand super cold at high speeds.

                Please do not post misguiding reviews.
                I don't recall any claims on my end that the gloves are water resistant/proof. I clearly mentioned my experience with them and I didn't seem to have the trouble, it could be the fact tht I had medival tape wound around my fingers or just my luck.

                Before giving me a beat down on giving misguiding reviews I highly recommend you read the section that says to the readers essentially the part where I say it's a review based on my experience.
                ____________________

                Planned, Unplanned and then Re-Planned - Ooty Ride

                SPARTAN CENTAUR Gloves: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review

                The Boss Returns: Rebuilding 1991 Suzuki Shogun - In Progress

                I coined the term - " Closet Biker "

                Comment


                • #9
                  re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                  [MENTION=22289]Cyrus_the_virus[/MENTION] I did mention one and half hour, this was the leg in my journey, where the chilly wind/rain combination was too cold for me to handle and I had to roll medical tape around my hand before proceeding.

                  I know that these gloves aren't waterproof but I had no issues. But now reading your own bitter experience along with [MENTION=26288]yellowspunk[/MENTION]'s I guess the snug fit by the medical tape prevented water logging. That's my best guess
                  ____________________

                  Planned, Unplanned and then Re-Planned - Ooty Ride

                  SPARTAN CENTAUR Gloves: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review

                  The Boss Returns: Rebuilding 1991 Suzuki Shogun - In Progress

                  I coined the term - " Closet Biker "

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                    Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
                    @Cyrus_the_virus I did mention one and half hour, this was the leg in my journey, where the chilly wind/rain combination was too cold for me to handle and I had to roll medical tape around my hand before proceeding.
                    Man I deleted it like 30secs after I posted it and you managed to quote me anyways I realized I was read skipping

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by Cyrus_the_virus View Post
                      Man I deleted it like 30secs after I posted it and you managed to quote me anyways I realized I was read skipping
                      With due fairness to you, confusion is expected . Just realized that its a poorly constructed paragraph with a natural tendency to get confusing ( my poor writing skills )

                      @xpranav thanks for the comprehensive feedback, about the scotchlite tape, I noticed that ir was missing but I really didn't find it tht handy so didn't mention it.

                      Look forward to your review of the ares. There is Seven Sisters trip in the pipeline , plan to pick up the Ares before tht
                      Last edited by The Monk; 09-30-2013, 06:18 PM. Reason: Consecutive Posts
                      ____________________

                      Planned, Unplanned and then Re-Planned - Ooty Ride

                      SPARTAN CENTAUR Gloves: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review

                      The Boss Returns: Rebuilding 1991 Suzuki Shogun - In Progress

                      I coined the term - " Closet Biker "

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                        Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
                        I don't recall any claims on my end that the gloves are water resistant/proof. I clearly mentioned my experience with them and I didn't seem to have the trouble, it could be the fact tht I had medival tape wound around my fingers or just my luck.

                        Before giving me a beat down on giving misguiding reviews I highly recommend you read the section that says to the readers essentially the part where I say it's a review based on my experience.
                        To the average reader it would seem like these gloves are waterproof/resistant from what you have wrote. That is misleading. You failed to mention you used tape in the review. All I'm saying is, a lot of people will use your review and it should be factually correct, whether its Bangalore rain or Delhi rain, rain is rain and the experience does not change the fact that water does seep through and the glove gets sloggy.

                        I may come off as rude, but I have been burned previously cause of such reviews in this very forum and I do not want other users to face the same. Yes, I have since then taken all reviews with a pinch of salt. But since nobody is being paid to post these reviews I was hoping people will be honest about the product.

                        Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
                        after almost 120 odd kms of usage in extreme rain conditions at various occasions and once an hour and half of continuous riding in heavy rains I didn’t find any water seeping in issues. Apart from this I had another 200 odd kms of light rain usage, and again no seeping in of any kind.
                        Last edited by yellowspunk; 09-29-2013, 11:51 PM.
                        Regardless, Life shall go on.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                          Originally posted by yellowspunk View Post
                          To the average reader it would seem like these gloves are waterproof/resistant from what you have wrote. That is misleading. You failed to mention you used tape in the review....

                          ... But since nobody is being paid to post these reviews I was hoping people will be honest about the product.
                          I agree I failed to mention the part of tape in the rain durablity part and only mentioned it for the cold durability part. I humbly apologise for not being clear about it. Blame my inexperience in writing as I have no malafide interest here to sway people in the wrong direction.

                          I was being honest about the product as per my experience with, like you mentioned nobody is being paid for their views, atleast I can vouch I am not being paid for it.

                          With this note I shall make a necessary edit to the main post.

                          Thanks.

                          Edit: did the necessary changes
                          Last edited by snehithpereira; 09-30-2013, 12:06 AM.
                          ____________________

                          Planned, Unplanned and then Re-Planned - Ooty Ride

                          SPARTAN CENTAUR Gloves: 10 DAYS, 3228 KMs: the Experience & Review

                          The Boss Returns: Rebuilding 1991 Suzuki Shogun - In Progress

                          I coined the term - " Closet Biker "

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                            Good review, Snehith. Very detailed and concise.

                            Cheers!
                            VJ
                            Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
                            The girl said, 'NO!'


                            And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


                            THE END

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              re: SPARTAN GLOVES: Review and Experiences

                              Originally posted by snehithpereira View Post
                              @xpranav thanks for the comprehensive feedback, about the scotchlite tape, I noticed that ir was missing but I really didn't find it tht handy so didn't mention it.

                              Look forward to your review of the ares. There is Seven Sisters trip in the pipeline , plan to pick up the Ares before tht
                              Oh lord! I had forgot to complete my bit ............ will do it soon now and with the inside-out review of Perseus too

                              Warm Regards,
                              Pranav


                              Use riding gears because Safety doesn't happen by Accident

                              Spot me covered in:
                              Vega Shadow - SPG Icarus - SPG Ares - SPG Perseus

                              Honda CBF Stunner - Oct'11 to till date | Barky's Baby: Honda CBF 125 Modification

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X