Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Scan – see – think – act.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	23.7 KB
ID:	1999603

    Engine:

    Engine Type: 2 cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, DOHC, 4 valves.
    Displacement: 321cc.
    Bore X Stroke: 68mm X 44.1mm
    Compression Ration: 11.2:1
    Maximum Power: [email protected]
    Maximum Torque: 3.0 [email protected]
    Clutch Type: Wet, Multiple Disc
    Fuel Injected.
    Ignition System: TCI
    Starter System: Electric.
    Transmission System: constant mesh, 6 speed.
    Final Transmission: Chain.


    Chassis:

    Frame: Diamond
    Front Suspension System: Telescopic forks.
    Front Travel: 130mm.
    Trail: 95mm.
    Rear Travel: 125mm.
    Front Brake: Hydraulic single disc, 298mm.
    Rear Brake: Hydraulic single disc, 220mm
    Front Tyre: 110/70 0127 M/D 54 H tubeless.
    Rear Tyre: 140/70-17M/C 66H Tubeless.

    Dimensions:

    Overall length: 2090mm.
    Overall width: 720mm
    Overall height: 1135mm
    Seat Height: 780mm
    Wheel base: 1380mm.
    Minimum Ground clearance: 160mm
    Wet weight(including full oil and fuel tank) 169kg.
    Fuel Tank capacity: 14Ltrs.
    Oil Tank Capacity: 2.4L.


    R3 SERVICE MANUAL.

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/aq8bvi...ice+Manual.pdf


    Ride and Feel:

    Goes like a fast bike, doesn’t feel like one. Super easy to ride. Super smooth, gear shifts are slick. Meter console shows gear which I am going into.
    I was cruising at 95kmph, then looked at the meter and slowed down thinking that it is still in running in period. 95kmph comes around 6000rpm.
    Bike can pick from as low as 3000rpm in 4th gear without knocking, any further below, it knocks.
    Road holding is superb today I tried a bit of cornering and mid corner corrections/line correction is easy to do.

    Ride Quality
    Ride is very smooth, the handle bars are narrower( if you are graduating from a ninja) but seem wider if you are graduating from Yamaha R15.
    High positioned clip-ons don't give any pain to forearms or palms. Seat is plush, enough padding. And suspension soaks up bumps easily, As if the bike is gliding through potholes.
    One point I would like to make. Sudden potholes or bumps over the road do not unsettle the rider.

    Power: 42ps. Bike is perfect in hiding all the power it has, no jerks in power delivery across the rev range (I tested till 7k rpm.) It remains smooth and calm.

    Slipper Clutch: No its not there in R3.
    And the need is felt, specially if you are graduating from Ninja300,
    I mean I never realized how many times I was using slipper clutch, Though I never took my Ninja 300 to a race track but whenever I used to downshift, I use to leave things for slipper clutch to take care. But this time on R3 it was a different feeling. While downshifting if I leave the clutch without matching the right rpms then a jerk comes to me. Need to be careful the next time.

    Control: Bike provides an awesome feedback and control, brakes have a better feel than Ninja.

    Running In: As per manual, 0-1000kms. @ less that 7k rpm.
    1000-1600kms @LESs than 8.5k rpm.

    Fuel: R3 needs to feed on high octane fuel, e.g. power from HP and the likes. The compression ratio of R3 is 11.6:1 with that high compression ratio bike needs a higher octane fuel to give a smoother ride and throttle feel. While in Ninja300 compression ratio was much lower 10.6:1, which meant that I could fill the bike at any of the petrol pumps. Though feeding her on high octane won't be a monetary problem, but I wonder at how many remote places I will find special fuel especially with the touring nature I have.

    Side Stand warning: Unlike other bikes it doesn't automatically kill the engine if you leave the side stand down and put the bike in gear. (I used to stop my bike wherever and then killing the engine by pulling the side stand down while the bike is in gear. Now I have to change this habit.)

    My reasons for buying R3 Black

    1. Stealth:
    Wherever I rode Ninja I used to get lots of unwanted attention, with poser boys criss-crossing my way, throwing sprint challenges. That made me uncomfortable, I mean I can't leave my bike parked anywhere without the tension of some poser jumping on it. And this unwanted attention got multiplied whenever I visited any small town. So I wanted a bike which is as good and doesn't catch as much attention.
    With Yamaha R3. People on the road behave normally. Maybe they are mistaking it to be another R15.


    Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC0022-2.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	1992117


    This writeup has some straight comparisons to Ninja 300, not to disparage any of the two, both are awesome, But just to explain my point better to you frens.

    (Friends, I am not very good with writing reviews, so please keep pouring in with your questions and I will answer as many as I can, with pics offcourse and eventually keep adding them here, for the reference of all.)

    I am preparing a detailed writeup, will upload soon with lots of pics.
    Thanks to Xbhp Community, today I got an opportunity to write an Ownership Review.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by ankit mishra; 06-19-2017, 02:12 AM. Reason: updating constantly.

    My Leh Trip:
    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


    Because I love U...

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



    Two troubled Lads:

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

    https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

  • #2
    re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Approved!

    Congratulations! Let the saga begin.

    You can give first hand impressions on N300 vs R3 since you have both. Lucky bugger.
    Got a $5 head? Get a $5 helmet.
    Because everyone who passes, isn't a martyr!

    Bullet Service Guide CBR 250R Parts Manual Fz16 service manual - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1-...VFQmJzakk/view
    Hero Moto Corp Bikes' Parts RE STD 350 Wiring Diagram (CI) Service Manual - Classic 350/500
    ZMR parts - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-U...it?usp=sharing
    P200NS Spares' prices - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...taGd5R2c#gid=0

    Comment


    • #3
      re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

      yes Divya bhai,

      I will bring a comparo of both.

      In the short ride that I did:

      Ninja feels aggressive with its grunt.

      R3 has polished mannerisms (refinement)

      Click image for larger version

Name:	ninja1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	1919989

      My Leh Trip:
      http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


      Because I love U...

      http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



      Two troubled Lads:

      http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

      https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

      Comment


      • #4
        re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

        [QUOTE=ankit mishra;1175428]Click image for larger version

Name:	r3.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	107.5 KB
ID:	1992095

        Engine:

        Engine Type: 4 cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, DOHC, 4 valves.[/QUOTE
        Displacement: 321cc.


        Think it should be 2 cylinder
        Last edited by bharatheshk; 09-18-2015, 09:17 PM.
        Yamaha RX 135 5 Speed - 2000 -(current)
        Yamaha R15 v1 - 2009 - 2016 ( Sold )
        Yamaha R3 - 2015 - (current)

        Comment


        • #5
          re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

          Engine:

          Engine Type: 4 cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, DOHC, 4 valves.[/QUOTE
          Displacement: 321cc.


          Think it should be 2 cylinder[/QUOTE]

          Rectified bro, I copy pasted the specs from some site. and ... wham.!
          Thanks for correcting me.

          My Leh Trip:
          http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


          Because I love U...

          http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



          Two troubled Lads:

          http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

          https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

          Comment


          • #6
            re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

            What the hell. This is sheer greed. Why do you have to have so many bikes. There are so many hungry people in India, so many guys who don't have access to proper latrines, so many bikers still riding rattly old duke 200s. You should donate the Ninja(to me)
            On a serious note, congrats Ankit. You would be the go to guy for advice for someone who has 4 lacs and torn between the Ninja and R3.
            Last edited by Doga; 09-19-2015, 01:24 AM.
            The hero always RIDES into the sunset!

            My Touring Logs-
            French Riviera
            https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/38345-biking-french-riviera.html
            Scotland-
            http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...-3600-kms.html
            France -Normandy and Paris on the CBR
            http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...adventure.html
            KTM chronicles-
            http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...hronicles.html

            Comment


            • #7
              re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

              Looks gorgeous in black! Congrats on the buy man! I see you've got the best of both worlds there!

              Wishing you a million miles! Glued to this thread! More photos and updates please!

              Comment


              • #8
                re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                Heartiest congratulations Ankit! Wish you have many stories with the R3 as you did with the Ninja. Damn! You are the luckiest person to have the 2 finest 300cc bikes the world has seen. Congratulations again!

                Sent from my XT1052 using xBhp Connect mobile app
                The way you ride is the way you are..

                My Harley baraat!! |
                Ooty through a bike's perspective | KTM Duke 200 : A 20000 km experience

                Comment


                • #9
                  re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                  Originally posted by Deathmate.Zed View Post
                  Heartiest congratulations Ankit! Wish you have many stories with the R3 as you did with the Ninja. Damn! You are the luckiest person to have the 2 finest 300cc bikes the world has seen. Congratulations again!

                  Sent from my XT1052 using xBhp Connect mobile app
                  Guess what I am reading baraat biker style blog right now thats being lucky.


                  Originally posted by Jon Niranjan Paul View Post
                  Looks gorgeous in black! Congrats on the buy man! I see you've got the best of both worlds there!

                  Wishing you a million miles! Glued to this thread! More photos and updates please!
                  thanks you bro, yes, sunday I will take her for a spin and then share the pics along with ride notes.

                  Originally posted by Doga View Post
                  What the hell. This is sheer greed. Why do you have to have so many bikes. There are so many hungry people in India, so many guys who don't have access to proper latrines, so many bikers still riding rattly old duke 200s. You should donate the Ninja(to me)
                  On a serious note, congrats Ankit. You would be the go to guy for advice for someone who has 4 lacs and torn between the Ninja and R3.

                  eeuu. that eccentric sense of humour. haha,
                  I mean how does me owning two bikes relate to people owning proper lavatories,
                  is duke rattling now? I owned it till 30k kms, it had vibes creeping in though.

                  we will ride together some day.

                  My Leh Trip:
                  http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


                  Because I love U...

                  http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



                  Two troubled Lads:

                  http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

                  https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                    Originally posted by ankit mishra View Post
                    eeuu. that eccentric sense of humour. haha,
                    I mean how does me owning two bikes relate to people owning proper lavatories,
                    is duke rattling now? I owned it till 30k kms, it had vibes creeping in though.

                    we will ride together some day.
                    Sure buddy! I don't know how the duke is doing. I have not been in India for almost an year now. I fear the bike would just fall apart the moment I try cranking
                    I am dying to hit the roads. Purchasing gear to kill time here
                    Yes, let's plan a ride together in Nov/Dec. Where are you these days? Delhi?
                    The hero always RIDES into the sunset!

                    My Touring Logs-
                    French Riviera
                    https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/38345-biking-french-riviera.html
                    Scotland-
                    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...-3600-kms.html
                    France -Normandy and Paris on the CBR
                    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...adventure.html
                    KTM chronicles-
                    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...hronicles.html

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                      wow, congrats bro... black R3 with that background is looking awesome...
                      KTM RC390 - Current
                      Yamaha R15 v2 - Sold
                      Hero Hunk - Sold
                      An IT Engineer by profession and a rider by soul.


                      Delhi to Sach Pass - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...h-ka-darr.html
                      Delhi to Mana - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...xperience.html
                      Delhi to Munsyari - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...ttrakhand.html
                      Spiti circuit - http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/3...cuit-solo.html

                      Facebook

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                        Congratulations on having an amazing bike. Having one of the two is a wish for many and you have both. Take very good care of them.

                        If you can, ride RC390 too and make a complete comparo of 300cc class.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                          Guys post more photos
                          Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                          Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                          TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                          TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                          KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                            Whats the price ....

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                              Many hearty Congrats bro.Thats a pretty good bike. Ride safe
                              I don't like people riding fast and that's why I overtake them

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X