Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

The slower the vehicle, the quicker it can turn.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 272 123451151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 2719
Like Tree2550Likes

Thread: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #1
    Rusted ankit mishra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    new-delhi
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1921
Size:  23.7 KB

    Engine:

    Engine Type: 2 cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, DOHC, 4 valves.
    Displacement: 321cc.
    Bore X Stroke: 68mm X 44.1mm
    Compression Ration: 11.2:1
    Maximum Power: 42ps@10750rpm
    Maximum Torque: 3.0 kgm@9000rpm
    Clutch Type: Wet, Multiple Disc
    Fuel Injected.
    Ignition System: TCI
    Starter System: Electric.
    Transmission System: constant mesh, 6 speed.
    Final Transmission: Chain.


    Chassis:

    Frame: Diamond
    Front Suspension System: Telescopic forks.
    Front Travel: 130mm.
    Trail: 95mm.
    Rear Travel: 125mm.
    Front Brake: Hydraulic single disc, 298mm.
    Rear Brake: Hydraulic single disc, 220mm
    Front Tyre: 110/70 0127 M/D 54 H tubeless.
    Rear Tyre: 140/70-17M/C 66H Tubeless.

    Dimensions:

    Overall length: 2090mm.
    Overall width: 720mm
    Overall height: 1135mm
    Seat Height: 780mm
    Wheel base: 1380mm.
    Minimum Ground clearance: 160mm
    Wet weight(including full oil and fuel tank) 169kg.
    Fuel Tank capacity: 14Ltrs.
    Oil Tank Capacity: 2.4L.


    R3 SERVICE MANUAL.

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/aq8bvi...ice+Manual.pdf


    Ride and Feel:

    Goes like a fast bike, doesn’t feel like one. Super easy to ride. Super smooth, gear shifts are slick. Meter console shows gear which I am going into.
    I was cruising at 95kmph, then looked at the meter and slowed down thinking that it is still in running in period. 95kmph comes around 6000rpm.
    Bike can pick from as low as 3000rpm in 4th gear without knocking, any further below, it knocks.
    Road holding is superb today I tried a bit of cornering and mid corner corrections/line correction is easy to do.

    Ride Quality
    Ride is very smooth, the handle bars are narrower( if you are graduating from a ninja) but seem wider if you are graduating from Yamaha R15.
    High positioned clip-ons don't give any pain to forearms or palms. Seat is plush, enough padding. And suspension soaks up bumps easily, As if the bike is gliding through potholes.
    One point I would like to make. Sudden potholes or bumps over the road do not unsettle the rider.

    Power: 42ps. Bike is perfect in hiding all the power it has, no jerks in power delivery across the rev range (I tested till 7k rpm.) It remains smooth and calm.

    Slipper Clutch: No its not there in R3.
    And the need is felt, specially if you are graduating from Ninja300,
    I mean I never realized how many times I was using slipper clutch, Though I never took my Ninja 300 to a race track but whenever I used to downshift, I use to leave things for slipper clutch to take care. But this time on R3 it was a different feeling. While downshifting if I leave the clutch without matching the right rpms then a jerk comes to me. Need to be careful the next time.

    Control: Bike provides an awesome feedback and control, brakes have a better feel than Ninja.

    Running In: As per manual, 0-1000kms. @ less that 7k rpm.
    1000-1600kms @LESs than 8.5k rpm.

    Fuel: R3 needs to feed on high octane fuel, e.g. power from HP and the likes. The compression ratio of R3 is 11.6:1 with that high compression ratio bike needs a higher octane fuel to give a smoother ride and throttle feel. While in Ninja300 compression ratio was much lower 10.6:1, which meant that I could fill the bike at any of the petrol pumps. Though feeding her on high octane won't be a monetary problem, but I wonder at how many remote places I will find special fuel especially with the touring nature I have.

    Side Stand warning: Unlike other bikes it doesn't automatically kill the engine if you leave the side stand down and put the bike in gear. (I used to stop my bike wherever and then killing the engine by pulling the side stand down while the bike is in gear. Now I have to change this habit.)

    My reasons for buying R3 Black

    1. Stealth:
    Wherever I rode Ninja I used to get lots of unwanted attention, with poser boys criss-crossing my way, throwing sprint challenges. That made me uncomfortable, I mean I can't leave my bike parked anywhere without the tension of some poser jumping on it. And this unwanted attention got multiplied whenever I visited any small town. So I wanted a bike which is as good and doesn't catch as much attention.
    With Yamaha R3. People on the road behave normally. Maybe they are mistaking it to be another R15.


    Name:  _DSC0022-2.jpg
Views: 25506
Size:  37.6 KB


    This writeup has some straight comparisons to Ninja 300, not to disparage any of the two, both are awesome, But just to explain my point better to you frens.

    (Friends, I am not very good with writing reviews, so please keep pouring in with your questions and I will answer as many as I can, with pics offcourse and eventually keep adding them here, for the reference of all.)

    I am preparing a detailed writeup, will upload soon with lots of pics.
    Thanks to Xbhp Community, today I got an opportunity to write an Ownership Review.
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by ankit mishra; 06-19-2017 at 02:12 AM. Reason: updating constantly.

    My Leh Trip:
    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


    Because I love U...

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



    Two troubled Lads:

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

    https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

  2. #2
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,386
    Mentioned
    806 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Approved!

    Congratulations! Let the saga begin.

    You can give first hand impressions on N300 vs R3 since you have both. Lucky bugger.

  3. #3
    Rusted ankit mishra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    new-delhi
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    yes Divya bhai,

    I will bring a comparo of both.

    In the short ride that I did:

    Ninja feels aggressive with its grunt.

    R3 has polished mannerisms (refinement)

    Name:  ninja1.jpg
Views: 30181
Size:  98.8 KB

  4. #4
    Addicted
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Madikeri , Kodagu.
    Posts
    113
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    [QUOTE=ankit mishra;1175428]Name:  r3.jpg
Views: 97789
Size:  107.5 KB

    Engine:

    Engine Type: 4 cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, DOHC, 4 valves.[/QUOTE
    Displacement: 321cc.


    Think it should be 2 cylinder
    Last edited by bharatheshk; 09-18-2015 at 09:17 PM.

  5. #5
    Rusted ankit mishra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    new-delhi
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Engine:

    Engine Type: 4 cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, DOHC, 4 valves.[/QUOTE
    Displacement: 321cc.


    Think it should be 2 cylinder[/QUOTE]

    Rectified bro, I copy pasted the specs from some site. and ... wham.!
    Thanks for correcting me.

  6. #6
    Rusted Doga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    What the hell. This is sheer greed. Why do you have to have so many bikes. There are so many hungry people in India, so many guys who don't have access to proper latrines, so many bikers still riding rattly old duke 200s. You should donate the Ninja(to me)
    On a serious note, congrats Ankit. You would be the go to guy for advice for someone who has 4 lacs and torn between the Ninja and R3.
    Last edited by Doga; 09-19-2015 at 01:24 AM.

  7. #7
    Rusted Jon Niranjan Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Chennai/Bangalore India - In between the by lanes.
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Looks gorgeous in black! Congrats on the buy man! I see you've got the best of both worlds there!

    Wishing you a million miles! Glued to this thread! More photos and updates please!
    Night shift junkie

  8. #8
    Rusted Deathmate.Zed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    609
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Heartiest congratulations Ankit! Wish you have many stories with the R3 as you did with the Ninja. Damn! You are the luckiest person to have the 2 finest 300cc bikes the world has seen. Congratulations again!

    Sent from my XT1052 using xBhp Connect mobile app

  9. #9
    Rusted ankit mishra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    new-delhi
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Deathmate.Zed View Post
    Heartiest congratulations Ankit! Wish you have many stories with the R3 as you did with the Ninja. Damn! You are the luckiest person to have the 2 finest 300cc bikes the world has seen. Congratulations again!

    Sent from my XT1052 using xBhp Connect mobile app
    Guess what I am reading baraat biker style blog right now thats being lucky.


    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Niranjan Paul View Post
    Looks gorgeous in black! Congrats on the buy man! I see you've got the best of both worlds there!

    Wishing you a million miles! Glued to this thread! More photos and updates please!
    thanks you bro, yes, sunday I will take her for a spin and then share the pics along with ride notes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Doga View Post
    What the hell. This is sheer greed. Why do you have to have so many bikes. There are so many hungry people in India, so many guys who don't have access to proper latrines, so many bikers still riding rattly old duke 200s. You should donate the Ninja(to me)
    On a serious note, congrats Ankit. You would be the go to guy for advice for someone who has 4 lacs and torn between the Ninja and R3.

    eeuu. that eccentric sense of humour. haha,
    I mean how does me owning two bikes relate to people owning proper lavatories,
    is duke rattling now? I owned it till 30k kms, it had vibes creeping in though.

    we will ride together some day.
    Deathmate.Zed likes this.

    My Leh Trip:
    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/29402-up-above-world-so-high.html


    Because I love U...

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/26120-because-i-love-u-part-4-dodo-holy-cow-page-18-a.html



    Two troubled Lads:

    http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/tourer/2...h-nirvana.html

    https://www.facebook.com/ankitmishra1

  10. #10
    Rusted Doga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by ankit mishra View Post
    eeuu. that eccentric sense of humour. haha,
    I mean how does me owning two bikes relate to people owning proper lavatories,
    is duke rattling now? I owned it till 30k kms, it had vibes creeping in though.

    we will ride together some day.
    Sure buddy! I don't know how the duke is doing. I have not been in India for almost an year now. I fear the bike would just fall apart the moment I try cranking
    I am dying to hit the roads. Purchasing gear to kill time here
    Yes, let's plan a ride together in Nov/Dec. Where are you these days? Delhi?

Page 1 of 272 123451151101 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 9933
    Last Post: 1 Day Ago, 02:05 PM
  2. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1775
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 10:52 PM
  3. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha Fascino: Owner's Reviews and Experiences
    By Bibhu in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 106
    Last Post: 06-10-2017, 10:52 AM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •