Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Red to green – let the cager go first.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to xBhp Forums v2020

Welcome to 2020 Edition of the xBhp Forums . As you might have already noticed, the forums have undergone a major upgrade to keep up with the times. This will make the forums faster and intuitive and much more mobile friendly.

The basic functioning of the forum remains the same.

We are still tightening the loose nuts and bolts and it will take some time.

However, in case you are facing any issues or problems accessing the forums or posting here, please do let us know.

Any feedback/suggestions are also welcome!

You can post your suggestions on this thread itself!


https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/forum-a...s-2020-welcome
See more
See less

Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • [Ownership Thread]: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

    The buildup Phase
    One of my friend was looking to get a bike so the phase where you research and compare the market was on in full swing.
    I have been riding a CBR 250R ABS since 2012 and have clocked more than 69000 km on it. I was too used to the power, feel and the handling of the bike. I had my eyes on the Ninja 650 from a long time but the models before 2017 were just too tourer like and curvy in nature (and without ABS. I know the importance of having ABS. It won't disturb/bother you until you need it. IMO, having the ABS watch your back is a good thing to have). So all the urges to upgrade would automatically go away. During my research for my friend's bike, I saw 2017 Ninja which was a completely revised model now and the upgrade bug bit me again. This time I went to the Kawasaki Showroom in Hyderabad and decided to see and explore. I booked the bike on 18 July 2017 without even test riding the bike. Then on my next visit I wanted to test ride and got a Z650 (which is the test ride vehicle with N650 engine and mostly everything else same) and then sat on the Ninja 650 (Black color was available for next day delivery too) for the look and feel of it.
    They did try to get me the Black one but A Ninja should have some green in it is what I felt and still feel. The KRT edition had a waiting for around 1-2 months. ( dealers were not much sure when) and insisted to go for Black one but I was determined to get a Green one, so I decided to wait for the green one.

    Delivery experience
    First it was tentative August then found out that the part from Japan will come towards September 1st week and will take around 2 week for assembly and dispatch.
    After a few rounds of follow up, I got the know on 12 Aug 2017 that finally my bike has started from the Bajaj Pune plant where they assemble the bikes and it will take 2 days to come to Hyderabad. So the next day i.e. 13th Aug 2017, I went to the showroom and completed all the payment related formalities so that when the bike arrives, I can go and receive the bike without any hassle. The bike was expected to be in Hyderabad by 13th Night but some driver delay issue pushed the date to Friday to Saturday to Monday. That's irritating and you feel like cancelling the whole thing but I kept my cool and went ahead. So it was Monday morning and this time I look leave for the day from work so that I can come and collect the vehicle. I called up Kawasaki as to when to come and take delivery and I was told that they need to delivery two Versys to some outstation costumers and that to come after lunch. I insisted to come and take delivery ASAP as it was 2 months since the booking.
    I reached Kawa showroom, met the people and there it was the NINJA 650 KRT waiting to be unboxed. They started to unbox it but wait Mohit the sales manager comes and asks me if he can unbox the Versys before as it doesn't come with the front wheel on and these guys need to fit it before delivery.
    Now, I had to wait for 90 odd minutes and watch all of Versys unbox and its wheel go on it and what not.
    Moment of frustration came when we resumed the unboxing and I found that it only took about 30 minutes to complete the unboxing and PDI (Pre delivery Inspection) for Ninja.

    The Bike
    The bike has a parallel twin 649cc engine which produces around 69 bhp power and 67 Nm torque. So it is a lot of power for a bike and you are faster than any other car (99%) on the road. But power also gives you the sense of responsibility.

    Now comes the Run-in/break-in period of the bike. Before everything else you should be aware that the Brakes are brand new and need little applying to get the stopping power you require.
    So I started slow and applied both breaks to have the stopping power needed to go out on the road. The new engine has a lot of engine braking (which goes away after 1st service) which I was liking as the need for applying breaks reduces a lot.

    I have covered about 3k kms till now on it and it is a superb combination of different parts put together in a harmony. Everything is where it needs to be.
    Did a 440 km solo ride on it and it was awesome. Did put the windscreen on highest setting and the wind blast in next to none. ( I’m 5'5) Seat is comfortable and spacious and the riding position is not too aggressive leading to long time at the saddle. This bike is a true mile muncher. Take it for short high speed bursts or long and I mean as long as you want to and it will do it without any trouble at all.
    With spirited highway right with speeds over 130 km/s mileage will be around 21-23 ish while at 90-120 km/s it increases to 25-27 ish. ODO indicated

    Clutch
    I personally felt the clutch to be a touch hard when you are in a stop go traffic. (Coming from CBR 250R back ground with super soft clutch) Otherwise, under normal running condition it does its job. Slipper clutch and assist is a good addition for those who miss that occasional down shift revmatchings and makes the clutch soft.

    Brakes
    Previous generation N650 owners had to go for break setup change. But this time the Nissin Breaks are just amazing. They have the perfect feeling and progression. Even breaking from speeds above 180 kphs, they give you a perfect blend of brutal stopping power in a progressive manner.
    ABS is standard and is functional.

    Engine
    Smooth and keeps betting smoother with mile munching. As for parallel twin, it does have little vibes but as I said little.
    The power band is available from as low as 2k rpm till redline. Can overtake without any gear shifts at any gear. Beautiful engine which you can run in any gear you like. 6th gear can be used from as low as 50 km/hr and the roll on time is amazing.


    Suspension
    Adjusted at soft preload for touring purpose. Feels like sitting on a medium cushioned sofa
    But they are not ideal for too aggressive/track day riding but they will be able to handle the track days (unless you are some MotoGP racer)

    Chain sprockets
    Requires cleaning and lubing every 500km and adjustment every 1000 km. Best way is to get a paddock stand and DIY ( Do it yourself).
    I personally think we do a better job at these things than at service centers as we have do it for our own vehicle.

    Lights
    Right headlight is always on low beam and the left one is the high beam. Initially High beam was not correctly aligned for me but once I got them to the needed alignment they are good and illuminate the road quite well. The lights are adjustable both vertically and horizontally.

    Exhaust
    The exhaust is an underbelly exhaust and doesn’t sound all that loud but has more bass than previous iteration. If you are wearing earplug/listening to music you won’t even hear the engine even when cruising at 6000 rpm in the 6th gear @ 130 km/hr. It has a grunty sound when you rev the engine but it is nowhere close to an i4 sound. Those looking for an i4 sound sorry you won’t get it here but this 2017 N650 is gruntier than ever.

    Ground clearance
    At 130 mm it is low. Which mean you will have to be careful of big potholes and those stupidly high speed breakers. You may scrap you low belly a few time for sure but be sure to be super slow while doing it so that your silence is in place and not on the ground.
    The plus side of this is that the bike is super stable at high speeds.
    And doubles riding is sort of big NO NO coz ground clearance decreases further and you scrap even those which you never did.

    Miscellaneous
    This bikes is around 193 kgs which is down from its 211 kg previous generation ones. Massive weight reduction and it shows. This bike is as flick able as a 250 cc bike if not more. You will start to love it more in Ghat roads.
    Fuel tank is 15 liters with 3.4 liter of reserve fuel with avg range of 230 kms in city and around 280 kms on highways.
    Mirror are good and provide great rear visibility.
    Rider seat is comfortable along with plenty of room for the rider to move around. Pillion seat is hard and i would suggest not to carry passengers on long tours.
    New dash comes with a gear shift indicator and is amazing to look at be it day time, night or under direct sun light. Also present is a gear shift indicator whose rpm can be adjusted. The analog tachometer changes color from white to pink to red as you approach the set shift indicator rpm. The gear shift indicator can be switched off also.


    Recommended Accessories (For the bike)
    These are the recommended accessories for the bike. Before buying these make sure you have your riding gears in place.
    Radiator Guard
    Swing arm spools
    Frame sliders
    Paddock stand (chain cleaning and lubing)

    Now some photo time
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170918_124839.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	110.2 KB
ID:	2000865
    Attached Files
    Last edited by arpan.bose; 12-28-2017, 04:45 PM. Reason: Adding some photos
    https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...ml#post1325675

    Ninja 650 2017 KRT
    CBR 250 R ABS 69000 KMS 2012 - 2017

  • #2
    Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

    KRT-ing approved!

    (Belated) Congratulations for the bike brother. Happy road munching! Keep us posted fairly regularly.
    Got a $5 head? Get a $5 helmet.
    Because everyone who passes, isn't a martyr!

    Bullet Service Guide CBR 250R Parts Manual Fz16 service manual - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1-...VFQmJzakk/view
    Hero Moto Corp Bikes' Parts RE STD 350 Wiring Diagram (CI) Service Manual - Classic 350/500
    ZMR parts - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-U...it?usp=sharing
    P200NS Spares' prices - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...taGd5R2c#gid=0

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

      Originally posted by Divya Sharan View Post
      KRT-ing approved!

      (Belated) Congratulations for the bike brother. Happy road munching! Keep us posted fairly regularly.
      Thank you so much. 6200 and counting...
      https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...ml#post1325675

      Ninja 650 2017 KRT
      CBR 250 R ABS 69000 KMS 2012 - 2017

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

        Originally posted by arpan.bose View Post
        Thank you so much. 6200 and counting...
        Congratulations bro.
        Would you mind sharing the cost info and accessories cost. Have seen many others seeking this info. It helps others a lot in planning their purchases.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

          Originally posted by kris123456 View Post
          Congratulations bro.
          Would you mind sharing the cost info and accessories cost. Have seen many others seeking this info. It helps others a lot in planning their purchases.
          Yeah, I am keeping a tab on those things too.

          Maintenance costs around 4900 for the 1st one and around 3.5-4k for 2nd one.
          For Kawasaki, they charge you based on what work is done on the bike so I take the manual with me and do the basic needed/ marked stuff.
          3 rd servicing will will be at 12k kms which has a lot of to do list so may cost more.

          Radiator guard costs around 7900 evotech performance.
          T rex frame sliders costed me around $89 roughly around 6k(got from US). Showroom ppl were quoting something around 11k.
          spools was around 1k.

          Tank pad for around $5 roughly 350
          Last edited by arpan.bose; 12-28-2017, 04:37 PM.
          https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...ml#post1325675

          Ninja 650 2017 KRT
          CBR 250 R ABS 69000 KMS 2012 - 2017

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

            Thanks a lot mate, I am very keen on this bike and my friend on z900. The only things which stopping is a high increased happened on parts and labour price post Bajaj separation, also parts unavailability is a common issue these days. Frankly I felt like more than benelli bikes. Please post your experiences with kawasaki

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

              Congratulations arpan.bose !!!

              Its a good choice for touring and daily commute with a beautiful parallel twin. The motorcycle looks awesome and have fun ride safe brother.
              TAKE CARE & RIDE SAFE

              ROYALFOX

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                Originally posted by yathi View Post
                Thanks a lot mate, I am very keen on this bike and my friend on z900. The only things which stopping is a high increased happened on parts and labour price post Bajaj separation, also parts unavailability is a common issue these days. Frankly I felt like more than benelli bikes. Please post your experiences with kawasaki

                Kawasaki Hyderabad are doing okish. Not amazing service but can make do. Technicians do try to do their best job but it is better if you are present while they work on your vehicle(which personally I have done since my CBR days).
                I take the service manual with me and as per the service and KMs make them do what the manual says.
                They recently got the diagnostic tool and throttle body sync tools and are trying to improve.


                Originally posted by royalfox View Post
                Congratulations arpan.bose !!!


                Its a good choice for touring and daily commute with a beautiful parallel twin. The motorcycle looks awesome and have fun ride safe brother.

                Thanks buddy.
                https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...ml#post1325675

                Ninja 650 2017 KRT
                CBR 250 R ABS 69000 KMS 2012 - 2017

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                  1st Ride with the Ninja
                  With the weekend approaching after the delivery of the bike, I was excited and charged up.
                  Fellow Kawasaki owners decided to have a ride to welcome their newest member with a short ride to Anantagiri Hills in Vikarabad.


                  The meeting point was a chai shop at the start of the Vikarabad Road @ 6:30 am.


                  Me and Ashish Hegde who owns a Versys 650 which is parked right opposite to my Ninja ( we stay in the same block ) started around 6 and reached at 6:30.


                  Ashish V650, Ashish N1000, DP Z800, Karthik V650, Avinash V650, Raju V650, Sahil (Owns Z800 but came on his FZ25) all showed up for the ride.
                  Ashish N100 and DP were running a little late and Avinash followed up with them a few times. Still remember Avinash saying "bailgari chala rahe ki superbike zara Jaldi aao".
                  While they were travelling, everyone was busy with Avinash's versys. The concern was his front shockers which apparently were too stiff due to some issue. ( Later issue was found to be very high front tire pressure and resolved)
                  They reached in around 30 mins and everyone gathered and greeted each other. I realized that we have a Versys 650 overload in the group.


                  From there we started for the Anatagiri Hill which is around 80-90 kms. The road to Vikarabad isn't an open highways so I was happy to go there for the first ride with my Ninja as I won't have to catch up other guys that much being limited to 4K RPM. I was in the run-in phase of the bike so no hard acceleration and revs limited to 4k.(The manual says till 800 KMs maintain RPMs below 4K and from 800-1600 KMs below 6K with service at 1000 KMs. At 4K RPM in the 6th Gear the bike does 88 Kmph which is quite good and acceptable and 6K its about 127 kmph.




                  So we reached there around 8:45 am without any hassle and went directly to the viewpoint. we clicked pictures mostly of our bikes at different places with different bike alignments and some pics of ourselves as well. After that we went to the Telangana tourism Restaurant nearby and had a satisfying breakfast as everyone was very hungry.


                  Once everyone was done we set out to ride back to Hyderabad.


                  Some clicks:
                  Attached Files
                  https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...ml#post1325675

                  Ninja 650 2017 KRT
                  CBR 250 R ABS 69000 KMS 2012 - 2017

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                    Requesting the mods to shift this to superbike thread. I missed this thread due to the multiple ownership threads of normal bikes cluttering the feed.

                    Tia.
                    [MENTION=38603]The Monk[/MENTION] [MENTION=41586]Divya Sharan[/MENTION]

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                      It was a beautiful Wednesday Morning 18th Oct 2017 to be precise and a holiday for some reason. The next day I was travelling to home town Kolkata and be there for about a 10 days and would miss my Ninja for sure.
                      A perfect set-up to go for a Solo long ride but what I had in mind was the Airport only. My friend Lohit had a flight to catch at around 7 am from RGIA which is around 40 kms from the city. I was in a mood to ride so I offered to drop him at airport to which he agreed ( had to tell him that I won't go fast :P and that highway riding is different ) as he was travelling with only one bag. We started aroound 6 am from Gachibowli and took the Inner ring road / underpass road of PV Nasimha flyover to Samshabad to Airport. It took around 30 mins to reach the Airport with cruising speeds of around 90-100 kph.

                      After dropping my friend, it was time to decide whether to go on or to return back. I had fuelled-up last night and 40 odd KMs doesn't do justice to that right!! So I decided to take the Ninja for a spin and nearest place was Nagarjuna Sagar Dam which was around 200 KMs towards Srisailam.

                      The road towards Nagarjuna Sagar Dam is mostly a two-lane two-way road with occasional stretches of one way roads and some under construction roads. In these types of roads, people, wildlife, motorists can randomly emerge from any direction, so the slower you go the safer you are. With experience and courage, you figure out the comfortable speeds that you can ride at especially SOLO and on these type of roads, be 10-20 KMS below that possibly near 80-100 KMPH mark which is exactly the speeds at which I ride when Road is good but with above restrictions.

                      So, from airport I continued towards further towards the Srisailam highway and took the road to Adibatla. From the adibatla junction I took right and got onto the Nagarjun Sagar highway. It was little cold early in the morning and at dense forest areas, the temperature dropped drastically. Continued with a safe speed of 90-110 kmph for about 50-60 minutes then decided it is time for some food. The Sun was up and the temperature rose to comfortable levels and shops/ breakfast joints also opened up in the small towns that I was passing by. Stopped at a dosa shop and had masala dosa. Best breakfast you can have while on the road. Simple, fast and easy on the stomach. J
                      Set sail for the destination again. This time there were few super straight road and with a little twist of the throttle boom 170 on the speedo. Then not safe roads and wildlife and what not stuff came to the mind and back to 100 kmph.
                      The scenes started to change and from land everywhere to water bodies at one side. The corners became swiping curves with ups and downs. Stopped at couple of places to take some photos. Then reached the Dam for which I was headed. Due to heavy cyclonic rainfall for past month, the water level was expected to be high but to my surprise levels were down.
                      The Etipottala waterfalls in nearby from the Dam accompanied by the good curves. So, that became the next destination. Took around 30 minutes to reach the waterfall and the park before the waterfall was empty. Last time I was here it was flooding with people.
                      Took some photos and roamed around a little. Then decided to head back for Hyderabad.
                      By the time, I crossed nagarjuna sagar, I started feeling sleepy and decided to have coffee somewhere. I knew there was a restaurant on the way to headed there. It was around 11 am and the restaurant was not open yet. I asked them if I could sit and wait for them to start serving to which they agreed and I sat on the chair. An idea came to mind like an electric spark, why not sleep a little while they get over their preparation phase and have coffee. Put my head down with some adjustments took power naps of about 20-30 minutes. Woke up and again went to inquire if I can get the coffee now. They were able to ready the coffee this time. Drank the coffee and left for Hyderabad.
                      With Ninja you don’t actually need breaks from fatigue (which I will find out in my next long ride) if you have slept properly the night before. The riding position and seats are very comfy with the visor adding to the comfort by deflecting most of the wind blast away.
                      Rode nonstop and reached Hyderabad around 2:30 p.m. Had lunch and went straight to bed.

                      Let the photos recap the story.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_141922.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	100.3 KB
ID:	1956781Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_091936.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	1956770Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_091929.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	99.9 KB
ID:	1956769Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_090448.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	1956768Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_090440.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	1956767Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_090428.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	101.0 KB
ID:	1956766Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_090418.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	107.9 KB
ID:	1956765Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_084740.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	1956764Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171015_143441.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	102.3 KB
ID:	1956762Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_092008.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	114.1 KB
ID:	1956771Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171018_092943.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	1956772
                      Attached Files
                      https://www.xbhp.com/talkies/motorcy...ml#post1325675

                      Ninja 650 2017 KRT
                      CBR 250 R ABS 69000 KMS 2012 - 2017

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                        Congratulations. Happy mile munching. Hope you got all the essential safety gear.

                        I got one myself recently. Its a fun to ride machine.
                        Sharp looks. Sweet engine. Comfortable riding. Explosive power.

                        I am taking her out only for weekends rides. It's painful to see it parked 6 days a week.

                        Here are some pics







                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                          Tail tidy (DIY)



                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                            Originally posted by Invincible View Post
                            Tail tidy (DIY)

                            img]
                            I guess you have changed tyres to metz. Which one it is 160 or 180?

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Ninja 650 2017 KRT Ownership Review

                              Originally posted by Chandan92 View Post
                              I guess you have changed tyres to metz. Which one it is 160 or 180?
                              No, they are stock tyres. Dunlop. I guess they are 160/60

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X