Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like minded biker friends. We have one common religion - Bikeism.

T-shirt
Magazine
Castrol Power 1

Always wear a helmet.

Our Partners



User Tag List

Page 1 of 108 123451151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 1080
Like Tree586Likes

Thread: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

  1. #1
    Roasting all the way tanay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,150
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    This thread has been in the making since 2010. Better late than never eh.

    Technical Specifications:
    Name:  Mojo.jpg
Views: 13503
Size:  104.2 KB

    On to my favorite topic - Zauba data.
    So these are some of the parts that are imported -
    1) Tyres from China -
    Name:  Tyres.JPG
Views: 13188
Size:  32.8 KB

    2) Alloy wheels from China -
    Name:  AlloyWheels.JPG
Views: 13158
Size:  27.7 KB

    3) Brake Calipers from Spain (manufacturer: J Juan) and brake discs from China
    Name:  Brake_Calipers.JPG
Views: 13094
Size:  28.7 KB
    Name:  Brake_Discs.JPG
Views: 12864
Size:  27.3 KB

    4) Heatshields, frame parts and a ton of other bits from Italy which will eat up too much space here -
    Name:  Heatshields.JPG
Views: 12743
Size:  28.9 KB
    Name:  Misc.jpg
Views: 12995
Size:  92.3 KB


    A brief history of why the Mojo -
    I have been riding a Pulsar 200 since 2008 and while it does a good job as a city commuter, I somehow never felt it up to the task of highway cruising. It may be that I am especially sensitive to noise, vibrations and harshness, or perhaps I possess a higher degree of mechanical sympathy - but the fact remains that I could never rip my bike at speeds of 90 - 100 continuously on the highways, a habit that resulted in me being the champion of the 'Slow' group on all rides with friends.
    The benefit of riding the Pulsar at peak torque - 6K rpm or 78 - 80 kmph is extremely high efficiency. I have managed 900 kilometres on a single tankful of Goa petrol before it ran out totally leaving me to push the bike to a petrol pump nearby. I got 54.xx kmpl this March in Munsyari, Uttarakhand.

    I have had plenty of slips, falls and crashes on the Pulsar - this was the bike I learnt to ride on. But the slips and falls have stopped occurring now (Thank you God) so I think I can ride pretty ok without crashing and trashing expensive machinery.

    Lately I had been looking at an upgrade while retaining the Pulsar for city duties. The Tiger 800XCx was the most tempting of the lot but it would require me to get a loan. Plus the high taxes in Karnataka put me off that plan.

    I thus ditched the big-bike plan till I can move back to Delhi, my hometown. And it was clear that I am looking for a bike I can do big rides on - this bike would not be used for weekend jaunts. Accordingly:

    1. The bike should be comfortable - spending hours on the saddle should come easily. I can do Delhi-Jaipur nonstop on the Pulsar, this has to exceed that.
    2. I am coming off a large dose of NVH. The bike should be VERY smooth and silent at 100 - 130 kmph. I do not intend to go beyond that speed range and will be mostly found riding at ~100 kmph anyway.
    3. The bike should not cost a lot and the spares should be cheap and easily available. I have got this mindset from the Pulsar. Can't change it now I guess.
    4. Looks and style are not a criteria


    The Mahindra Mojo was showcased in 2010. Want a blast from the past? Here: http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/news/150...rage-xbhp.html

    The bike caught my attention when it was being promoted as a tourer late this year. But I was skeptical of buying an unproven product - this is Mahindra's first foray into this segment and I was thinking of waiting it out and letting some people do the beta testing.
    A chance test-ride call at the Whitefield showroom in Bangalore was rather an eye-opener -
    1. The engine NVH levels were very good indeed. I had honestly not expected something like this in a first attempt bike
    2. I was fitting very nicely on the bike and it was fitting my requirements


    Keeping the above points in mind and disregarding my fears, I booked it (YOLO ) and got delivery on the 19th of November.
    Now I did not click any pics at the showroom as I was alone, but I have one from Friday's ride to Mysore - Bylakuppe.
    Name:  20151120_104040.jpg
Views: 13471
Size:  84.0 KB

    Side note: This bike is much bigger than the 200. Here's a side-by-side pic from the front, note the tank, handlebar and seat height difference -
    Name:  Front.jpg
Views: 13888
Size:  98.3 KB

    Here is another from the back -
    Name:  Rear.jpg
Views: 15890
Size:  97.0 KB

    My mom always said buy a four wheeler....
    I think I've done that as of yesterday
    Last edited by tanay; 11-26-2015 at 02:25 PM.
    200 | 300

  2. #2
    Moderator The Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gurgaon/ Kanpur
    Posts
    9,268
    Mentioned
    405 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Thread Approved

    Congrats
    Biking is not about what you have between your legs, its all about how well you use it!!!!!!!

    Give your details here if you want to help your fellow xBhpian stranded in your city

    Touring Blog: Cycling in Mongolia!

  3. #3
    Addicted
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by tanay View Post

    My mom always said buy a four wheeler....
    I think I've done that as of yesterday
    Buddy congrats first of all for taking the plunge .Happy miles munching .
    I wish mojo had a little bit comfy pillion . If you ever ride with pillion please share the comments of pillion .PLEASE .

  4. #4
    Rusted jbm_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    1,092
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by tanay View Post

    Keeping the above points in mind and disregarding my fears, I booked it (YOLO ) and got delivery on the 19th of November.
    My mom always said buy a four wheeler....
    I think I've done that as of yesterday
    Congrats Bro. Had been waiting for someone to start this ever from the day 1 of launch. You brought a big smile today. Many more congrats and wishing you million miles of ride with this cruiser. Personally I loved Mojo a lot, even was ready to swap my NS with that. But somehow was disappointed with limited availability, price tag and Non-ABS. Anyway, still none has the daring courage to compete this cruiser.

    Glued to this, Have lots of questions right now, but would be glad if you can share these for now
    1. What is the total on-road cost?
    2. Did you get Mahindra discounts?
    3. What would be the riding RPM at about 100 kph in gear 6?.
    4. Heard that Mahindra had plans to replace tires of low cost, is it so?.
    5. How's the exhaust?. Does dual exhaust help giving good note?.
    6. Does it feel really that heavy as many criticized?.

    that's it for now....
    Congrats again... buddy...!!!

  5. #5
    Roasting all the way tanay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,150
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by max007 View Post
    Buddy congrats first of all for taking the plunge .Happy miles munching .
    I wish mojo had a little bit comfy pillion . If you ever ride with pillion please share the comments of pillion .PLEASE .
    Thanks! I have had a couple of pillions by now and the seat seems fine for short city rides. The seat is well padded but it is small in size and the pillion will always be pushing the rider forward to try and get more space. So I don't think it will work for long rides but I always tour solo so I can't tell exactly.

    Some people are doing workarounds like this (from the Mojo Owners whatsapp group) -
    Name:  MJ.jpg
Views: 14566
Size:  107.9 KB
    and some are also trying to make the seat bigger.

    Quote Originally Posted by jbm_guy View Post
    Congrats Bro. Had been waiting for someone to start this ever from the day 1 of launch. You brought a big smile today. Many more congrats and wishing you million miles of ride with this cruiser. Personally I loved Mojo a lot, even was ready to swap my NS with that. But somehow was disappointed with limited availability, price tag and Non-ABS. Anyway, still none has the daring courage to compete this cruiser.

    Glued to this, Have lots of questions right now, but would be glad if you can share these for now
    1. What is the total on-road cost? - Here is the link with the post-5K hike prices - Mahindra Mojo - Buyers Guide
    2. Did you get Mahindra discounts? - No discounts, the first batch buyers got a riding jacket and an overnight ride to Chikmagalur on company bikes + extended warranty of 5 years total and 2 year Road Side Assist
    3. What would be the riding RPM at about 100 kph in gear 6?. - The sixth gear is almost exactly 18 kilometres per 1000 rpm. So 5K rpm = 90 kmph, 100 comes up around 5.5K rpm. The run-in limit is 5K so I can still do 90 kmph in this period.
    4. Heard that Mahindra had plans to replace tires of low cost, is it so?. - Have heard of this as well but no concrete info. I plan to put in a 140 section rear later. I am also waiting for the exact cost of a set of the OEM tires - nobody knows for sure at the moment
    5. How's the exhaust?. Does dual exhaust help giving good note?. - Yes the dual exhaust does indeed give a very good note. It sounds like a dual cylinder bike and the deceleration pops are great
    6. Does it feel really that heavy as many criticized?. It is indeed heavy when pushing/pulling in the parking but once on the move I did not see a problem

    that's it for now....
    Congrats again... buddy...!!!
    Thanks! See answers above

    I have done 700 kilometers by now. I will complete running in by tonight/tomorrow and give it for the first service on 23/24 November.
    The engine has smoothened out a bit and tractability has improved slightly - the bike is pulling from 58 kmph in sixth, earlier it could do that from 61 kmph
    I have not calculated the fuel efficiency yet.

    An absolute must-have accessory is the rear tyre hugger, without which, get ready for mud all over the rear half of the bike including the rider too.
    200 | 300

  6. #6
    Rusted adp228@gmail.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Malviya Nagar, New Delhi
    Posts
    421
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Congratulations Tanay!!!! The bike looks good in red color...attention grabber...the most practical bike in India right now....

    PS: Get that saree guard removed...
    Regards,

    Adhip Varma

    Blog: http://www.adhipvarma.blogspot.com/

    Bajaj Pulsar 150 (2007-2014)

    Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS (2014 - 2017)

    Mahindra Mojo (2017 - Present)

  7. #7
    Rusted krishna77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Dum Dum, Kolkata
    Posts
    4,434
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    98 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Congrats.
    Did the seat height bother you in the city?

    Sent from my Xperia L.

  8. #8
    Roasting all the way tanay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,150
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by krishna77 View Post
    Congrats.
    Did the seat height bother you in the city?

    Sent from my Xperia L.
    Thanks - the seat height is generally not a problem for me as I am tall but the footpegs interfere when trying to push the bike while sitting on it. They are positioned forward and exactly at the place where the legs would be if one is standing on the bike. So the rider would have to stand with his legs further apart to avoid the pegs.

    This is something to be kept in mind in the city but I will be using this for touring so I do not see much of a problem.
    200 | 300

  9. #9
    Moderator Divya Sharan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bangalore/Bokaro
    Posts
    8,386
    Mentioned
    806 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by tanay View Post
    This thread has been in the making since 2010. Better late than never eh.

    I have managed 900 kilometres on a single tankful of Goa petrol before it ran out totally leaving me to push the bike to a petrol pump nearby. I got 54.xx kmpl this March in Munsyari, Uttarakhand.
    Congrats sir jee! A wait worth it and you made a great choice.

    I really want to know how you managed 900 km on a tankful with the 13+2 L tank in your P200.

  10. #10
    Roasting all the way tanay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,150
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Mahindra Mojo Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Quote Originally Posted by Divya Sharan View Post
    Congrats sir jee! A wait worth it and you made a great choice.

    I really want to know how you managed 900 km on a tankful with the 13+2 L tank in your P200.
    Thanks! I managed it because the P200 has a 17 (or 18?) litre tank and since I was at Goa, I had the petrol pump attendant cram so much into the tank that some petrol was sprayed out when I banged the lid shut can't get cheaper petrol you know, got to make the most of it!
    200 | 300

Page 1 of 108 123451151101 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. KTM Duke 390 - Ownership Reviews and Experiences
    By atul_chang in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 9933
    Last Post: 1 Day Ago, 02:05 PM
  2. [Ownership Thread]: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences
    By ankit mishra in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 2718
    Last Post: 2 Days Ago, 07:57 PM
  3. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 1775
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 10:52 PM
  4. Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 09:48 AM
  5. [Ownership Thread]: Benelli TNT 600i - Owners' Reviews & Experiences
    By deepak82 in forum Motorcycle Ownership Experiences
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •