Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Stop braking before you start turning.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Originally posted by krish2778 View Post
    Had misplaced the key in apartment parking lot. Found it later on. So could not risk keeping the bike on the same lock set.

    Cheers
    Ride Safe
    Krishna
    Oh, good decision.

    Comment


    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

      Originally posted by pkhammu2005 View Post
      Got my oil pump replaced today. On a short ride back, didn't feel any difference other than slight feel that the clutch & gear seems to b more smoother to operate.
      Me too, very smooth but could be the new oil doing the job.

      Comment


      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

        Who says you can't carry 'sabzi's in a sports bike :P
        Attached Files

        Comment


        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

          Originally posted by pulsarcraz View Post
          Who says you can't carry 'sabzi's in a sports bike :P
          One part of me just died😐

          Comment


          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

            Originally posted by themachinehead View Post
            One part of me just died😐
            Psst... Was not carrying in the handle bar at all Just showing off .

            Comment


            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

              Originally posted by Gollum View Post
              12th June,

              Still no call from service center for recall
              Anyone here got any updates?
              Update:
              Got a call from VInayak Yamaha Bangalore on Thursday 14 July
              Took it there in the evening, they said that since its late I will get it the next day.
              Went back the next day, Friday 15 July, The Tech lead said that the bike is ready.
              I take the delivery and go only about 4 minutes into steady moving traffic and BOOM, ENgine heat goes full HOT
              I had no Idea what had happened. Went back to the showroom and the mechanic says, "Sir, its new coolant, it will take time to work"

              This was the ignorance of the mechanic.

              I was firm with him and asked to bring the supervisor.

              After that he asked me to wait inside and they will look into the issue.

              In a while another R3 owner arrived with the same issue.

              It was getting late now so I decided to leave telling them to get the issue sorted or the video of my goPro goes online.

              The Supervisor said that he will get this sorted and give me a call the next day.

              16th July, I go back and the guy tell me that they forgot to add the Radiator fluid/coolant.

              Talk about quality of service.

              On top of that I saw even more dents on my radiator as they did all the troubleshooting on my bike.

              I would not recommend anyone to go to Vinayak Yamaha for getting their R3 serviced.

              Video Coming soon
              Attached Files
              Last edited by Gollum; 07-18-2016, 07:42 AM.
              Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
              Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
              TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
              TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
              KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

              Comment


              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                Update:
                That's shoddy. But didn't you check the coolant levels before signing the job card at the svc?
                Got a $5 head? Get a $5 helmet.
                Because everyone who passes, isn't a martyr!

                Bullet Service Guide CBR 250R Parts Manual Fz16 service manual - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1-...VFQmJzakk/view
                Hero Moto Corp Bikes' Parts RE STD 350 Wiring Diagram (CI) Service Manual - Classic 350/500
                ZMR parts - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-U...it?usp=sharing
                P200NS Spares' prices - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...taGd5R2c#gid=0

                Comment


                • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                  Originally posted by Divya Sharan View Post
                  That's shoddy. But didn't you check the coolant levels before signing the job card at the svc?
                  I don't know how to check that.
                  Moreover, the guy said that the coolant level is ok when I came back to the svc after encountering the issue.
                  Not all customers would know everything about their vehicle.
                  Last edited by Gollum; 07-18-2016, 10:15 AM.
                  Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                  Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                  TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                  TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                  KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                  Comment


                  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                    Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                    Update:
                    Got a call from VInayak Yamaha Bangalore on Thursday 14 July
                    Took it there in the evening, they said that since its late I will get it the next day.
                    Went back the next day, Friday 15 July, The Tech lead said that the bike is ready.
                    I take the delivery and go only about 4 minutes into steady moving traffic and BOOM, ENgine heat goes full HOT
                    I had no Idea what had happened. Went back to the showroom and the mechanic says, "Sir, its new coolant, it will take time to work"

                    This was the ignorance of the mechanic.

                    I was firm with him and asked to bring the supervisor.

                    After that he asked me to wait inside and they will look into the issue.

                    In a while another R3 owner arrived with the same issue.

                    It was getting late now so I decided to leave telling them to get the issue sorted or the video of my goPro goes online.

                    The Supervisor said that he will get this sorted and give me a call the next day.

                    16th July, I go back and the guy tell me that they forgot to add the Radiator fluid/coolant.

                    Talk about quality of service.

                    On top of that I saw even more dents on my radiator as they did all the troubleshooting on my bike.

                    I would not recommend anyone to go to Vinayak Yamaha for getting their R3 serviced.

                    Video Coming soon
                    How can they forget to add the coolant!? Thats pure insubordination. Some service centers shouldn't take charge of higher cc bikes tbh... Won't that mistake, screw up the engine? Stupid SVC...

                    Comment


                    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                      Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                      I don't know how to check that.
                      Moreover, the guy said that the coolant level is ok when I came back to the svc after encountering the issue.
                      Not all customers would know everything about their vehicle.
                      Erm, well. Your bike has 2 inspection windows - 1 for oil and another for coolant. Keep a continuous tab on them. Read the owners manual.
                      Got a $5 head? Get a $5 helmet.
                      Because everyone who passes, isn't a martyr!

                      Bullet Service Guide CBR 250R Parts Manual Fz16 service manual - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1-...VFQmJzakk/view
                      Hero Moto Corp Bikes' Parts RE STD 350 Wiring Diagram (CI) Service Manual - Classic 350/500
                      ZMR parts - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-U...it?usp=sharing
                      P200NS Spares' prices - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...taGd5R2c#gid=0

                      Comment


                      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                        Originally posted by Deathwing View Post
                        How can they forget to add the coolant!? Thats pure insubordination. Some service centers shouldn't take charge of higher cc bikes tbh... Won't that mistake, screw up the engine? Stupid SVC...
                        I ran the bike a total of 12 minutes like that but under 3k RPM. The Bike did not switch off due to overheating.
                        Another Owner (not a member here) had the same issue.

                        I would say that this was just carelessness or lack of training as the mechanic was calling people up to ask for help on what to do next.

                        ----consecutive posts auto-merged-----

                        Originally posted by Divya Sharan View Post
                        Erm, well. Your bike has 2 inspection windows - 1 for oil and another for coolant. Keep a continuous tab on them. Read the owners manual.
                        I'll do that, this is not my splendor of which I know a lot about.
                        Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                        Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                        TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                        TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                        KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                        Comment


                        • Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                          Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                          I don't know how to check that.
                          Moreover, the guy said that the coolant level is ok when I came .
                          SVC work is definitely shoddy, but always check coolant, engine oil level before taking vehicle. It's basic things you can check nothing advanced just keep the bike straight and check both engine oil and coolant level.

                          Comment


                          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                            Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                            I would say that this was just carelessness or lack of training as the mechanic was calling people up to ask for help on what to do next.

                            Hi

                            Glad atleast he called someone for help when he was not able to proceed.
                            I hate mechanics who do a half a** job of a service and handover our dear bikes.
                            most of us trust our servicing guys and value their opinion only to later find out that they had been screwing our rides all along.
                            All the more heart burn with expensive dream bikes.
                            Wish it was easy to service our bikes on our own especially for those like me with not so deep pockets.

                            Cheers.
                            You Start Your Life with a Full Pot of Luck and an Empty Pot of Experience, the Object is to Fill the Pot of Experience Before you Empty the Pot of Luck.....!!

                            Comment


                            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                              Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                              Update:

                              I go back and the guy tell me that they forgot to add the Radiator fluid/coolant.
                              This reminds me an incident which happened to my friend. When he took the delivery of his Hunk, the guys there forgot to put engine oil.
                              My friend didnt check it ( he dont know anything about motorcycle) and he left the showroom. after few kms some burning smell started to come and then he saw the smokes coming from the engine. after that the engine got seized. This happen just after he took the delivery.
                              He had lot of fight and finally he got replaced the engine ( i told him he should have asked for new bike )

                              Guess we need to be more careful even when small things are concerned.


                              <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< START WIDE AND FINISH TIGHT >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

                              TVS Apache RR 310 : 2018
                              Hero Honda HUNK : 2011-2018

                              Comment


                              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                                Originally posted by Chandan92 View Post
                                SVC work is definitely shoddy, but always check coolant, engine oil level before taking vehicle. It's basic things you can check nothing advanced just keep the bike straight and check both engine oil and coolant level.
                                Good pointers! The only difficulty is keeping the bike upright and at the same time check the oil-levels all by yourselve (If you are alone i.e).

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X